mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
I wanted to write about an experience we had recently with "Security Theater," i.e., the needless application of illogical policies designed to present the illusion of heightened security while not actually making anything safer.

cut for length )

dude

Nov. 30th, 2009 11:08 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Wow, has it really been ten days since I last posted? And my auto-twitter-reposts are broken again? That's unfortunate, because I've been tweeting up a storm. Um, so to speak.

Anyway, I haven't been posting because, um, stuff? has been happening? you know? like, life? I dunno.

Did I post that I was in a minor car accident the Friday before last? It was totally annoying. I have spoken to the insurance company, who took down my version of events and said they will let me know whether I'm found at fault. If I am, you bet your ass I'll be appealing that shit. I can't believe that the jerk who hit me even bothered to call the insurance. I can't possibly imagine that his car sustained more than the deductible's worth of damage. But what-the-fuck-ever.

Then my car got dinged again today, in the SAME SPOT, by a guy at Isaac's afterschool! He was backing up their van, and it was dark and rainy, and I was standing on the sidewalk thinking "well, he's going to stop...he's going to...AUGH STOP!" and he, well, didn't. Not in time. It was just a little dent in the fender so I was like WHATEVER I JUST WANT TO GO THE HELL HOME and he was like "I'm going to talk to my boss" and I fled.

Apparently, while I was helplessly watching him back into my car, I yelled "Don't bash my car!" because Ruthie said about a thousand times on the way home "he bashed your car!" Oy.

Thanksgiving! I didn't post about it. Um, it was what it usually is. Family, food. Kids misbehaving and not eating barely anything. I think Ruthie had three bowls of ice cream. Over the weekend we had a playdate and went to the zoo and saw "Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs." It was cute.

The kids play together so much lately. It is awesome. Except for when it makes us all late to bed because I can't manage to untangle them long enough to get pajama'd and so forth.

That'll have to be enough for now because I'm beat.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This was supposed to be about the situations at both kids' childcare places, but the part about Ruthie got too long and I need to rewrite it to be coherent ;) so I'll just post this part for now.

Isaac's preschool gave me a "progress report" which I guess is the last one he will get. It basically said that he is brilliant, helpful, and an all-around great kid, which of course I knew. :) At the end it said something like "Isaac is a wonderful, helpful, amazing kid and we will really miss him." Okay, maybe they say that for every kid, but I can fool myself. ;)

I'm frustrated with the school system, though, because of the lack of communication. All to do with when school starts, and what to do about gaps in childcare coverage the first week of September. )

Anyway, I understand that this kind of egregious lack of communication / lack of consideration for the needs of working parents is par for the course with public-school systems, and I should just get used to it and live with it. I suppose I will, over time. But for now, I'm feeling extremely pissy about it. :P

more to come....
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruth frown)
Another thing I didn't get a chance to post about recently is an issue I had at Ruthie's daycare regarding their summer program. this got kinda long. and also ridiculous. the brief summary: director of the daycare center is an idiot. )

I do so wish there were another good option. Never mind the issues I've had with the center, but even aside from that, once Isaac starts school and my office moves, Ruthie's current daycare is going to become a very inconvenient location. If only there were a daycare somewhere along the route from Isaac's school to my new office, that would be so perfect...but alas, as far as I can tell, there ain't. And the only daycare center in the vicinity of my new office, as far as I've found, is way more expensive even than the current one, so uh, no. alas.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruth frown)
Oh man. Ruthie is definitely into Terrible Two territory. yikes.

the many moods of Ruthie, just in the span of one 18-hour period )

Well...I feel fairly sure that this stuff is normal for her developmental stage and not indicative of, e.g., a deep abiding unhappiness with her daycare, or anything like that. That's me projecting. ;) Still, it's hard not to notice that these behaviors are coming up just after she transitioned to the new room at daycare. Her old teachers never said anything about her crying for me during the day. The transition is hard and she'll adjust over time -- that's what I'm telling myself, anyway.

Speaking of the daycare transition and all that, this turned into kind of a long ranty rant about poor communication from the daycare people. With profanity and all that good stuff. )

ok, now I'm repeating myself, which is always a hallmark of a good rant gone bad, so I'll stop now. ;) Just be glad I'm sparing you the rant about our soon-to-be-former pediatrician!

banks suck

Feb. 7th, 2008 06:16 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
I am irritated at Wells Fargo right now.

My mom suggested that I look into refinancing my mortgage since the interest rates are (or were, until today) on the low side. So last night I went to the Wells Fargo website to check it out. They hold my mortgage currently so I thought it would make sense to start there.

Well, their website clearly said that you can call about refinancing up until 11pm, which I thought was great. I can't make personal calls at work (zero privacy in the office) and at night it's very difficult -- I tend to get five- or ten-minute windows of time, so I try to make my calls then, and I get tetchy if people want to call *me* during the evenings because I can't predict when my window will be.

So I called. And after punching in all my info, I get routed to an answering-service lady who says she will take my info and have someone call me back. Well, as I just said, that's not what I want. I want to talk to someone when I call, because when I call is when I can talk! I explained this to the lady, not terribly patiently, and she of course said nothing much because what could she do? She did say that she could make a notation in the file saying what time to call me. So, okay, begrudgingly I asked her to put in that they should call me after 6pm.

You won't be too surprised, I guess, to learn that at 4:45 a guy from the Boston office of Wells Fargo left me a message saying "gee, I see here on your message that I should call you after 6pm, but I can't do that, so here's my number if you want to call me."

Grrr!!!!!! Why does the fricking website say that you can call until 11pm if you can't actually get a person on the line at that time?! Argh. I am pissed.

By contrast, today I filled out an online form at Countrywide Mortgage saying that I was interested in refinancing, and I said to call after 6pm, and the guy from Countrywide called at 6:10. And after talking to me for about thirty seconds (long enough to find out what my current rate is and what I'm looking for in a refi), he cut to the chase and told me that refinancing is not going to be worthwhile for me right now, because the rates aren't enough lower than my current rate. I liked that he didn't try to bullshit me or sell me something regardless. He offered to put me on a list to get an email if/when the rates go down again, so I said yes, and then he bid me goodnight.

So, from my albeit brief experience, Countrywide gets a big thumbs-up. And Wells-Fargo can bite my shiny white ass. :P
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
Seriously people. The height of stupidity is posting to freecycle (or any Yahoo Group really) saying "I have a friend who would like to jone[sic] free cycleing[sic] but I can't remember how, can anyone help?" OMG. First of all, fucking learn to spell. Second, the instructions for accessing the group website are at the bottom of every post. And third, if you type freecycle or free cycle into Google, it pops up immediately.

Srsly, when I am queen of the world, you are so banned from the internets. Now get off my lawn. I said good day!

In other news, I have tons of awesome kid pix, but my website is currently down for server maintenance, so you'll have to wait. Woe!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Another irritating and frustrating conversation with an ING Direct staffperson, named Susan (for my reference). The long and the short of it is, she claims that the account will never be opened if I do not accept the terms and conditions. To do this, I would need to use my PIN (which is on its way to me via snailmail now) to log on to the website and click an "accept" button somewhere. If I don't do that within 45 days, the application times out, and although they keep all my personal information on file, nothing will happen. I won't have an account with ING Direct (although I will have a "customer number") and all will be peachy. Well, except for them having my personal info, but whatevs.

The irritating and frustrating part is that although I just summed it all up in three sentences, it was like pulling teeth to get all that info out of "Susan." It was ridiculous. It was almost like she deliberately chose the make-you-feel-stupid approach (you don't know that we're mailing you a PIN? How big of an idiot are you?) over the give-customer-the-info-she-needs approach. Has no one taught these people basic customer-service skills? Well, clearly not, because Susan, like all her predecessors, did not say anything resembling "I'm sorry about all this" or "I'm sorry you've decided not to open the account" or the like. Perhaps she, and all of ING Direct, is thinking of me: good riddance. In which case, the feeling is quite definitely mutual.

Anyway, I emailed my Wainwright Bank account info to the HR folks here at the office and asked them to transfer my direct-deposit to it tout-de-suite. Haven't gotten around to opening a Wainwright savings account yet, but no rush. I did stop into the Davis Square branch this morning to write myself a check from the old account and deposit it into the Wainwright account. The Wainwright branch is fairly cushy. It has a real working fireplace, free wifi, and free coffee, tea, and donuts for customers (and, apparently, for passing-by homeless people. He gave me a suspicious look like he thought I might object to him taking a Munchkin. Whatever, dude. It's not my problem. Have a Munchkin for all I care).

heh, but I digress. Anyway, now to go cancel anything that might be trying to automatically debit from my NetBank account. I think that's just my student loan, but better make sure. whee.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Updates on my posts from yesterday.

The washing machine issue )

So, I at least have clean laundry again, which is a very good thing.

The banking issue )

And now, I have to go pick up Ruthie from daycare and take her to the doctor. She'll be getting some number of shots. She has no idea, of course. Wish us luck.
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
There was an article in today's Globe about kids who are Red Sox fans and whether their parents are letting them stay up for the games. In case I haven't mentioned, it really irks me that the damn games all start at 8:30pm. A rant about the timing of games and the statement from a FOX network representative in the aforementioned article that pissed me off. )

In cheerier news, check out this awesome Sox-related parody of Dr. Seuss's "Fox in Socks." Hilarious.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruth frown)
First of all, just to update on the bed situation since I guess I kind of left that hanging. )

But anyway the real thing I wanted to post about was the highly irritating drama that took place at daycare over the past few days )

Okay, that got a bit long, but well...it occupied 90% of my brainpower the past couple of days because it was pissing me off so much. :P I'm calmer now, but still irritated. Mainly I'm just hoping this is not going to be a sign of things to come as far as what life is going to be like at the daycare now. sigh.

On the plus side, Ruthie is still doing great at daycare and today they posted a bunch of adorable pix that they took of the various toddlers doing various toddler-type activities. There were a couple cute shots of Ruthie eating snacks, playing, and listening to stories.

So anyway, that's what I've been up to the last couple days ;) Also I am now reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, which is extremely engaging and incredibly moving, thus far (almost halfway through). I have no clue where it's going to go....
mamajoan: me in hammock (us at fenway)
Well, the Red Sox game last night was pretty much teh awesome. It had a little of everything: two very popular players returning for the first time after lengthy absences due to injury; some big hits, some big mistakes by the opposing team (incl. a fielder dropping an easy pop-up, and a pitcher walking four batters in a row); a pair of brothers facing each other for the first time (one as a pitcher, the other as a batter); and of course, the enormous roar of delight from the crowd when the left-field scoreboard showed us that Tampa Bay had come back from a 5-0 deficit to lead the Yankees 6-5. (Aside from the awesomeness of that moment itself, it was also pretty funny to see the Red Sox pitcher on the mound whirling around from side to side in confusion, wondering why the crowd had suddenly burst into cheers in between pitches.) And of course, the Sox won the game, and the Yankees lost their game, so the Sox's magic number is down to 3 and things are getting pretty exciting here in almost-the-playoffs land.

The biggest downside of the game was the people sitting behind us: four overly beered-up men in their 40s on whom I shall now waste far more words than necessary. To sum up: they were obnoxious. )

After the game was over and most people had left and we were gathering up our stuff to leave, I saw something fall from the upper deck of seats and land a few rows ahead of me. I thought it was a baseball, so I ran after it. It turned out to be a cellphone. I looked up and saw a woman waving at me; she signaled that she'd meet me down below on the lower level, so mom and I went there and looked for her, but couldn't find her. I eventually turned the phone in at the service desk. I hope she got it back. (Funny: When I picked it up, I said "oh, I thought it was a ball," and my mom thought I said "I thought it was a bomb." So she was like, "you thought it was a bomb, and you ran TOWARD it?" LOL! Not likely!)

Alas, as much fun as the game was, I'm not sure it was worth getting home at 11:30 and getting to bed at midnight...especially since Ruthie woke me up at 2:30 and then again at 6:15. siiiiigh. And today appears to be a really bad allergy day, after a couple of not-so-bad-at-all days in a row lulled me into a false sense of security. ARGH. Why is there no antihistamine that works??

Um, but to sum up: fun game. w00t.

Later, a post about how many things are going on this weekend and next, and how I continue to not be multiple people so shall have to decide which ones to skip. :(
mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
Yesterday as I was arriving at Isaac's preschool to pick him up, one of the other kids was coming out with her mom. This mom is very visibly pregnant and, of course, has at least the one older child who must be at least 3 or 4. So I'm heading in the door and they're coming out, and this woman -- with, to reiterate, her 3-year-old daughter and her huge pregnant belly -- is lighting up a cigarette as she exits the building.

Go ahead and call me a judgmental bitch, because OMG! I just...I'm speechless. It was all I could do not to burst out, "Are you frickin' kidding me??" which would honestly have been in pure amazement, more than judgment or criticism. It truly blows my mind, in this day and age. OMG people. Am I just naive, or what?

In hopefully less incendiary news, it pains me to report that the thermos I bought for Ruthie is ridiculous. You see, it was the only one I could find at Target that did not have Barbie, Bratz, Johnny Depp, or Spiderman on it, and that that was not clearly intended for liquids. I just wanted a little insulated container in which to put hot/warm foods for Ruthie's lunch! But all I could find was this ridiculous, vaguely beer-keg-shaped thing, which (I blush to report) says "Bubba Grub" on it in large raised letters. I only bought it because it had a handle and a separate compartment for cold (or at least non-insulated) foods, which I thought would be handy; and it was only like $6 whereas the Barbie ones were $15.

But aside from the fact that it's ridiculous (is "Bubba Grub" really any better than Barbie?), it's also WAY too big for Ruthie, for goodness sake. Her lunch that I packed this morning -- a handful of grapes in the cool section, a little pile of mac-n-cheese in the insulated section -- looked ridiculously puny in that big ole thing. Yeesh.

I fail at toddler lunch packing. *headdesk*

bzz bzz

Aug. 3rd, 2007 10:45 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
Mom just came and took the kids away, and I have a ton to do before we leave for our trip. I probably will not post again for a bit -- not sure whether we'll have teh internets in Vermont.

But before I go, lemme just weigh in on the news that LJ is deleting/suspending user accounts again -- the apparent crime being drawing naughty pictures of HP characters. You can see at least one of the offending images, which one of the deleted users has posted on her GreatestJournal, here.

You'll also notice that LJ has quietly changed their code such that deleted accounts, when you use the "lj user=" tag, no longer show up with the little head icon and a line through the name. Now they show up merely in boldface, like so: [livejournal.com profile] ponderosa121 Is this LJ's way of trying to smack people down for using the moniker "Strikethrough 07" to refer to the last round of deletions? Not cool. Seriously, now it's like they're just TRYING to make large swathes of fandom leave.

I'm not even a Harry Potter fan, AT ALL, as many of you know. And yet...if anyone would care to point me in the direction of those tools that let you download/export your entire LJ? I'm going to give serious consideration to abandoning ship. This shit is just not okay.

Gotta go pack now. Laters.
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
Ugh, this makes me so mad.

So this guy whacked a puppy over the head with a baseball bat, then put it in a bag and threw it off a bridge -- but he tells the court he didn't intend to kill it. What? How stupid do you think the court is, pal?

Guerrero was released from federal prison in March 2004 after serving 57 months on a cocaine-peddling conviction in another state. Guerrero told Superior Court Judge Susan McGuirl he had changed his life since then.
Oh yeah. You've changed your life. Because beating puppies to death is SO much better than selling cocaine. Way to go.

ARGH.

dammit!

Mar. 30th, 2007 09:43 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (feminist)
Headline on boston.com right now reads: "Survey: Half of N.H. women victims of sexual or physical assault"
The subheader reads: "The report added that one-fifth of New Hampshire's females admitted to having been raped. (AP)"

"Admitted"??? What is this, the nineteenth fucking century? Isn't that kind of language beyond the pale yet?? "Admitted" like there's something shameful that a woman has to confess? "Admitted" like she has committed a crime rather than been the victim thereof?

For shame, headline writers. Back to the back of the class. Word choice matters, and you picked the wrong one. You fail at objective journalism and you fail at basic human decency.
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
I just took an online survey that asked about my living situation. The choices were: Married; Unmarried, living with partner; single, living with roommates; and single, living alone. Note the total lack of a "single, living with children" option.

I chose "single, living with roommates" as the closest option. But later on in the survey it started to seem like "single, living alone" might have been a better choice, since it was asking about a bunch of household decisions one might make. Presumably "roommates" are people who participate in such decisions along with me, whereas "single living alone" is closer to my situation wherein I am the sole decision-maker. But of course there was no option to go back and change my answer.

I hate it when these surveys are so poorly designed. It makes me wonder whether any valid data can ever actually be gleaned from them. :P
mamajoan: me in hammock (bagel yummy)
This morning as I walked through Harvard Square, I was given a free copy of today's Boston Globe. It was part of a promotion to let people know that there's a new Qdoba restaurant in the Square, which opened today. I don't know much about Qdoba except that they make Mexican food and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd is apparently a big fan.

Anyway, so they had taken today's Globe and folded an extra sheet of paper over it, mocked up to look like the front page of the Globe, but instead of actual news stories it had a press release/advertisement for the new Qdoba. And just skimming over it in the last two minutes of my walk to the office, I found at least six errors. :P Some of them were basic, stupid typos of the "should have run a spellcheck" variety ("coummunity", "suport") whereas others were more subtle grammar/punctuation issues (like a quotation without a close-quote at the end). Lame.

Yeesh, if they were going to spend all that money on getting the Globes, putting together this faux front page, hiring people to hand them out, etc., why not spend the extra $30 for an hour of a copyeditor's time? Come on, people.

Also, below the fold there are a couple of other "articles" about Qdoba's activities in the community -- and those are even worse. I couldn't even get beyond the first paragraph of any of them. I think Qdoba owes me a free burrito or something, for the pain they've caused me. ;)

Oh, speaking of which, after I managed to wrench my bleeding eyes past the text, I found a coupon at the bottom of the page -- buy one entree, get one free. Awesome. I sense a burrito in my future. And I don't even like burritos! :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
OK, I feel better today, for no discernable reason. And while I'm procrastinating on all the stuff I have to do today, here are some random links of interest.

* Via lots of people but first I think was [livejournal.com profile] jenwrites, you must see this AWESOME public service announcement from George Takei (aka Sulu in Original Trek). George, in case you've been living under a rock, is gay; and this video is his response to homophobic remarks made recently by an NBA basketball player.

* Via [livejournal.com profile] ceo, here's a story about a network administrator who is extremely good at his job.

* In the rage-honing department, read about how librarians and bookstores are refusing to shelve an award-winning children's book because it contains a dirty word. What word would that be? "Scrotum." Yes, you got that right: the proper anatomical term for a part of the body that all little boys inevitably get curious about at some point, is now considered obscene. Because heaven forbid any parents or teachers of small children should ever have to teach said children about their own bodies!

* In the just-plain-weird department, check out Stumpy, the four-legged duckling.

* In the breakfast department, note that today is Free Pancake Day at IHOP.

OK, that's enough for now. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 10:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios