mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This guy is my new hero. :)

Jeff Deck and Benjamin Herson have a different objective in mind as they motor across the country this spring in their '97 Nissan Sentra. [...] They seek, in short, to do for America's public signage what spell-check software has done for interoffice e-mail: smarten it up and make it easier on the eye. Their weapons: Wite-Out, markers, ink pens, tape, and nerves of steel.

Check out the blog for awesome examples and hilarity. Onward grammarian soldiers! :)

I forgot to mention in my "random things" post yesterday that I was very glad I hadn't gotten around to putting my old nonfunctional inkjet printer out with the trash this week, because there was a post on freecycle from an MIT student seeking nonworking inkjets for middle-school girls to take apart as science projects. Awesome!! So I shot her an email and she promptly came over the other night and took it away. I am pleased.

Also, I wanted to recount this rather bizarre episode that happened the other day )

lol, life is weird sometimes.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
(This post is locked so my mom won't see it because it's about a surprise for her.)

Here's a letter that Isaac wrote to his grandma last night while she and I were at chorus rehearsal. Apparently the story goes that he and the babysitter looked at the calendar to see which day of the week his birthday will be this year, and the babysitter, forgetting that Isaac spends Wednesdays with his grandma, said "cool, it's a weekday so you'll get to celebrate with your friends at school," and (she said) his face fell as he realized, "but I don't go to school on Wednesdays!" so she quickly turned it into "cool, you'll get to celebrate with your grandma," which cheered him right up. :) Whereupon he dictated this letter to the babysitter and then proceeded to write it out exactly as he had spoken it (with, she said, very minimal spelling help from her), which impressed her mightily. :)

A scan of the letter is behind this cut because it's on the large side. )

And here's a transcription:
"Dear gramma I know that I love you and my birth day is on a wednesday and I get to celebrate with you and later in the night Im going to invite all of my friends from school and you and we are going to eat the cake. Love Isaac Isaac" And on the back it says "From Isaac For Gramma." :) ♥

We're going to give it to grandma when we see her tomorrow. :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
Here's what Isaac and I did yesterday while I was half-dead from exhaustion. I rule! Go me. And Isaac rules too, 'cause he did most of it himself. Go us!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
what goes through their heads sometimes? :)

Tonight, out of the blue Isaac says "when Ruthie was in your belly, could you not eat anything?" LOL.

I tried to explain about the stomach and the womb being two different receptacles, but I don't think that went anywhere. Finally I just said that you can still eat but not as much because there's not much room. And then:

Isaac: What did I do when I was a baby?
me: Um...you cried.
Isaac: And what else?
me: um, and you nursed.
Isaac: And what else?
this went on for ages...he kept asking me to tell him other things he did when he was a baby and I couldn't think of anything, LOL, I suck.

Then later we were discussing what words he could spell with his floor puzzle. I suggested that he spell something with the fridge magnets, because we have more of them so he could make a really long word.

me: How about "antidisestablishmentarianism"?
Isaac: No. I want something with the P. How about "window"?
me: There's no P in "window."

Finally we agreed on "paint" and agreed that it starts with P-A. Isaac ran off, only to return a moment later.

Isaac: Mama, there IS a P in apple! There are two!
me: (confused) um...well, yes.
Isaac: Yeah because it's A-P-P-Y.
me: No, it's A-P-P-L-E.
Isaac: Yeah, A-P-P-L-E. (confused)
me: I thought you were spelling PAINT.
Isaac: Oh yeah! PAINT!
me: P-A...
Isaac: (runs off)
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
Isaac is enjoying using his alphabet floor mat puzzle to spell words, but he needs some help. First I have to help him come up with words to spell. Then I have to help him think of a second word to spell that doesn't use any of the letters in the first word (nor any repeated letters since we only have one of each). Then I have to coax him through sounding out the word:

Isaac: What comes after [the letter he just did]?
Me: What do you think?
Isaac: I dunno.
Me: Sound it out.
Isaac: [does] [says correct letter]
Me: That's right.
(Repeat until the word is done.)

Or:
Isaac: What comes after A?
Me: (silly voice) What do you think?
Isaac: (silly voice) I do not know.
Me: Sound it out.
Ruthie: Out!
Isaac: No Ruthie, we're not going out!
Ruthie: Light!
Isaac: Yeah Ruthie, I turned on the light!
Ruthie: Light!
Isaac: MAMA!! What comes after ... oh wait ... [sounds it out]

Or:
Isaac: (yelling from living room) What comes after I?
Me: (yelling from bedroom) Sound it out.
(pause)
(Isaac comes running into bedroom)
Isaac: What word were we spelling again?
Me: Lime.
Isaac. Liiimmm...M!
Me: That's right, M.
Isaac: And then what?
Me: And then there's an E.
Isaac: Oh, a silent E?
Me: Yep!

After he finishes spelling two words, he pretends they are trains, and they have a race. "Mama!" he'll yell, "the RANCH train is leaving first! The LIME train better catch up!"

picture of Isaac driving his word-trains )

Of course, at that point Ruthie usually goes and stands or lies down on one of the trains while Isaac is driving the other one across the floor...
see )

...which usually ends in destruction (Ruthie) and whining and complaints (Isaac). Alas.

mamajoan: me in hammock (ruth smiling 2)
I always remember how, around the age of 18 months, Isaac had what I call a language explosion. Some of you may recall me posting about it incessantly here at the time. He literally learned new words every day, and it was so fascinating and fun to observe (and occasionally frustrating when I couldn't figure out what he was trying to convey). Right around the time that he was 19 months old, the age Ruthie is now, I wrote a post here on LJ in which I said that I had put together a list of all the words Isaac could currently say, and it was over a hundred. (I still have that list on my computer, too. Of course I do.)

Well, Ruthie is nowhere near a hundred at the same age. And just to get this out of the way at the beginning, I am not worried about this. I know it's normal for the second child to talk later, and I know that Isaac was actually fairly precocious in this sense -- actually he has pretty much always been ahead of the curve on verbal skills; even now I can see it in his preschool friends, most of whom are not nearly as articulate as he is.

But Ruthie is definitely in a bit of a language explosion of her own at the moment, and it's just as much fun the second time around as it was the first. :)

So some of Ruthie's new words are jacket ("dack-ee"), off (yelled whenever she sees someone remove an article of clothing, or wants one of hers removed), applesauce ("ah-ba-ba" and I'm pretty proud of myself for figuring that one out), baby, bag, night-night, truck ("uck"). My favorite of the things she says now is something I can't really express in letters -- I guess it would be like "dee-ee!" but you can tell from the tone that it means "There it is!" It's hard to describe, but it's quite clear what it means; she says it whenever she spots something that we were looking for ("Ruthie, where's your shoe?" "Dee-ee!") and it's totally adorable.

Also she is starting to comprehend, and try to express, possession; after identifying an item, she'll say "mama!" meaning, this is mama's whatever. And sometimes I'll say, "no, that's Isaac's shoe" and she'll say "ah-dee!" (Isaac!) She doesn't seem to have a word for herself yet, although she quite definitely has "mine" down pat. ;)

Also, the other day Isaac told Ruthie that her diaper had a picture of Elmo on it, and she went "elbow!" and pointed to her arm. hee hee. She also says "knee" whenever she bangs/bumps any part of her leg on something, and "bonkie" when she bonks her head.

Oh, and speaking of her arm, she got bitten on it by another kid at daycare -- this was last week sometime; it made a mark but not a very dark one -- and now any time she hears anything that sounds even vaguely like "boo-boo," she'll say "boo-boo" and point to her arm.

She still sometimes says "up" when she means "down" (e.g. if I'm holding her and she wants to go onto the floor) which I think is too cute. And sometimes she'll say "uh-oh" for no discernable reason, usually leading to Isaac saying "no Ruthie, nothing is wrong and you didn't drop anything!" And try as I might, I can't get her to say any actual word for nursing -- she'll still sign for it, including if I say "Ruthie, say nursie!"

Anyway, this I say to those of you who are expecting babies or who have not-yet-talking babies: what a treat you have in store. :) This language-acquisition phase is really one of my absolute favorites. It's just so much fun, and so fascinating, like watching your baby blossom into a whole new little person -- a person who can communicate, which is really huge in terms not just of the child's development but also of your perception of the child. At least, that's how it has been for me. That, and also of course a really interesting window into the way the human brain works and how amazing it is.
mamajoan: me in hammock (d'oh scorpius)
I decided to change banks. But you know what they say about plans, humanoids, and rodents.... )

Ah, life! Full of joy and fascination. Or some shit like that. ;)

In other news, Ruthie's newest words are "up" and "down," two extremely useful words for a busy toddler. :) And Isaac is starting to make connections between words, and between letters, and so forth, in interesting ways. He's constantly asking me how you spell various words -- this isn't new, but what's new is that after I tell him how to spell one word, he'll remember a different word that I spelled for him a week ago, and he'll comment that they both have the same number of letters. Or they both start with B. And so forth. Pretty cool.
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
You know how sometimes you have a dream about someone, and then the next time you see them you feel all weird and have to keep reminding yourself that it was just a dream? Yeah. So, it's a kind of a good thing that one particular coworker is offsite today. And no, this has nothing to do with sex in any way.

details of the dream, plus a digression about Ruthie, sleep, and songs )

ahh, dreams. go figure.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie of borg)
Ruthie's only real word so far is "bye-bye" (with accompanying wave of hand). She really likes saying it, although she's not quite 100% clear on the concept. Sometimes after a round of bye-bye she's still surprised and upset when you, like, go away. The other day when I was dropping her off, I put her in [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd's lap and walked to the door and said "bye-bye!" and Ruthie's hand started waving automatically, and she said the saddest little "bye!"

When we're in the car she likes to say bye-bye to all the pedestrians we pass. She's very excited that I finally turned her carseat forward-facing; she has a whole new perspective on the world.

I've been trying to get her to say "mama" but so far every time she tries, it comes out as bye-bye. This can lead to some hilarity.
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Ruthie, say mama!
Ruthie: (fussing, reaching for me)
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Yeah, we know you know who she is, can you say it?
Ruthie: (fussing)
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Mmmmmaaaaammmmaaaa.
Ruthie: Bye-bye!
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Mmmmmaaaaammmmaaaa.
Bastian: Mama!
Ruthie: Bye-bye!

In other Ruthie news, have I mentioned her inner drama queen? We've been seeing a lot of her lately. Not really all that inner, actually, lol. When Ruthie doesn't get her way (usually meaning that I've refused to walk around the house holding her hand any longer), she flings herself down on the floor face-down and sobs pitifully, so as to inform the world that she has the meanest mama that ever walked the earth. I feel bad for laughing ;) but well, it's sad and funny all at once. Usually, if I just ignore her, after a minute or so she'll get up and find something to play with and be perfectly fine.

(It reminds me of a video I saw a zillion years ago on America's Funniest Whatever. It showed this little boy, probably around 18 months, throwing a temper tantrum, lying on the floor kicking and screaming. Then the camera pans away and around a corner into the next room. You hear the screaming stop. You see the kid come back into frame. Looks around. Sees the camera. And then he flings himself back onto the floor and resumes screaming. LOL!!! Mind you, this was years before I ever had kids, but it sure was an education for me. As evidenced by how it sticks with me years later, heh.)
mamajoan: me in hammock (bagel yummy)
This morning as I walked through Harvard Square, I was given a free copy of today's Boston Globe. It was part of a promotion to let people know that there's a new Qdoba restaurant in the Square, which opened today. I don't know much about Qdoba except that they make Mexican food and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd is apparently a big fan.

Anyway, so they had taken today's Globe and folded an extra sheet of paper over it, mocked up to look like the front page of the Globe, but instead of actual news stories it had a press release/advertisement for the new Qdoba. And just skimming over it in the last two minutes of my walk to the office, I found at least six errors. :P Some of them were basic, stupid typos of the "should have run a spellcheck" variety ("coummunity", "suport") whereas others were more subtle grammar/punctuation issues (like a quotation without a close-quote at the end). Lame.

Yeesh, if they were going to spend all that money on getting the Globes, putting together this faux front page, hiring people to hand them out, etc., why not spend the extra $30 for an hour of a copyeditor's time? Come on, people.

Also, below the fold there are a couple of other "articles" about Qdoba's activities in the community -- and those are even worse. I couldn't even get beyond the first paragraph of any of them. I think Qdoba owes me a free burrito or something, for the pain they've caused me. ;)

Oh, speaking of which, after I managed to wrench my bleeding eyes past the text, I found a coupon at the bottom of the page -- buy one entree, get one free. Awesome. I sense a burrito in my future. And I don't even like burritos! :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Isaac is currently playing a game that involves standing on my bed, then letting himself fall onto his face, and then going "Owwww!" I fear he's going to find out what happens when you cry wolf. But I think I still know what his real pain voice sounds like. I hope we won't have to find out. ;)

Apropos of nothing, a big pet peeve of mine is "Your call will be answered in the order it was received." A single call can't be thought of as having "order." You need at least two items to have "order." Grump.

Another pet peeve of the moment is those cellphones that act like walkie-talkies. "Push to talk" is, I believe, the marketing-speak for this. They are evil and must be stopped.

Currently I'm doing my best not to think about two news stories of the moment: one, the recent immigration raid that threw 300+ workers (mostly young women) in prison, leaving many children stranded without care -- including a lot of nursing babies. At last check two babies were hospitalized for dehydration due to being separated from their mothers' breasts. And two, the story about the Korean/American skiing Olympian who was recently reunited with his father. (Google "Toby Dawson" for the story.) Both of those stories severely push my buttons as a mom at my current stage of life.

This afternoon my mom leaves for her two-week jaunt to Italy. I'm worn out just thinking about it. ah well. we'll manage somehow.

Ironically, finances are more stressful now after two-plus weeks of work than they were when I was on unemployment. That's because the way the contract works, I invoice them at the end of each month and they have 30 days to pay. So I invoiced on March 1st, but might not see that money until the end of the month -- and even when it arrives, it won't be much because I only worked six days of February. March's check should be hefty, but it won't arrive till potentially the end of April. And my lovely tax refund, which seemed so nice and enormous, starts to look pretty damn tiny once I contemplate making it stretch through the end of March. Sigh. Yet another reason to dislike contracting.

Just to cheer things up a bit, how about some picspam? The kids being silly )

ok, time to go drink about a gallon of water...this baby is sucking me dry
mamajoan: me in hammock (shakespeare hed pastede on)
So [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd and [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic gave me a magnetic poetry set based on Motherhood, which is cool. I can't find my camera, so instead, here is my best attempt at a textual representation of what my fridge looks like right now:

this boy can make laundry exhaust ing

 
motherhood
beautiful
 
between like new
born
mother
always
change


first child every day surprise
 
     know how funny never quiet 

warm little girl cuddle breast
     more than nourish
 

embarrass cook
give up control be happy 

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Survived the chorus concert -- barely. In retrospect, possibly I should have sat out this year. (And definitely should have skipped the after-concert dinner/party, given how tired the kids were, sigh.) I just had too much on my mind and wasn't able to really enjoy the concert. It did go very well (according to everyone), but I was distracted and my singing was definitely not up to par.

I was sort of focused on/obsessing about the fact that it was longer than Ruthie and I had been separated for quite a while. It was six hours, but really, we spend 4 hours apart at least once a week, so it's not THAT much more really, and she was fine, and I was fine (except for some boobular discomfort). And I knew it would be fine, but I obsessed over it anyway. This bodes ill for me returning to work. :( This sentence shall serve as a placeholder for a lengthy post about Ruthie being my last baby and me feeling melancholy about same and wanting to hold onto her babyhood as long as possible.

Other miscellania from the weekend:

On Saturday, after [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic's birthday dinner, we went to the chocolate party chez [livejournal.com profile] teddywolf and [livejournal.com profile] tigerbright, which as always was a lot of fun, and Meta and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd seem to have made some new friends which is always cool. Sunday, we got up early, dropped Ruthie off with grandma, and Isaac and I went to the bagel store where we got 30 bagels for Meta, then rejoined grandma and Ruthie to bring same to Meta, along with the 30 socks that I had gotten him as a gag gift. (I was hoping to come up with something a little cooler to get him 30 of, but socks was the best I could do. I suck.)

Isaac is rapidly increasing his repertoire of words that he can spell (with fridge letter magnets) without any help. I'd say it's up to about 10-15 now. He also has a few words that he can recognize on sight, notably his name, my name, and "the." He's starting to recognize sounds and patterns, telling me, for example, that the words "lanyard" and "bread" are alike because they both end in D, or that "wiggle" and "table" are alike because they end in LE, and so forth. He's getting good at our game where we talk about what is left when you remove letters from one word to make another (e.g., if you want to make "bread" and you take the B out of "bagel", it leaves "agel"). Also this morning I was putting some stuff into a plastic bag that said Market Basket on it (this is a grocery store chain near us) and he told me unprompted that it said Market Basket. Do you realize what this means? My child can read! I'm so impressed. I mean, it's not like he's ready to pick up a book and read it to me, but looking at a set of letters and telling me what they spell counts as reading, dammit.

As for Ruthie, yesterday she actually crawled for the first time! She only went a short way, but still, it counts. And she did it again several times today. She also figured out how to get from on her belly / all fours to a sitting position. AND, yesterday she cut her first tooth. A few months ago I posted here that she had cut her first tooth, but that turned out to have been a false alarm; her upper teeth were visible through the gums but had not actually broken through. They are still there, visible but not through; but now she has one on the bottom that is actually through. If you run the back of your fingernail over her gums, you can feel it going clicky clicky.

Still to come: an update on the heating situation.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
Behind the cut is a fairly large photo of what Isaac has been up to with the alphabet fridge magnets.

Mama, what does 123456789 spell? )

As I was typing this, and he was still trying to spell "lollipop," he came to me and said, "mama, what does L O L spell?" I swear to god I am not making this up.

beware

Nov. 3rd, 2006 10:05 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (cheesecake disaster)
Someone on another forum linked me to this which is a totally addictive, fiendishly tricky word-association puzzle. It is my new obsession. I may not sleep until I solve it. ack!
mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
Still in lieu of the long-overdue update, a brief rant: Isaac got for his birthday a set of 50 nice wooden blocks with letters on them. This past couple of weeks we just finally took them out, and now he is totally into making words with the letters. This, of course, is great! However, the problem is that the letter distribution is wack. At first, all I noticed was that there was only one A -- which is a problem when trying to spell Isaac's name, or "mama" or "grandma," etc.

So today, after Sally took Isaac away, I finally got a chance to line up all the blocks and see the situation.

Of the letters A through J, we have one of each. Of the letters K through Z, we have two of each. Then we have five blocks representing the numbers 0 through 9 (two numbers on each block), and then there's a block with plus and minus signs, a block with times (x) and divided-by signs, and a block with an equal sign (which Isaac calls eleven :) ) and a question mark.

This of course means that we have two Qs, two Xs, and two Zs ... but only one A, E, and I. *headdesk*

I know you'll be shocked to learn that the box the blocks came in says "Made in China." Yeah. Here's a hint, toy-making companies: if you're going to outsource your learning-to-read toys to a country where they don't speak English, you might want to give them some freaking guidance. ARRRGGGHHHH.

I have been googling the company that makes these blocks, with no luck yet. The box says "produced for the Target Corporation" but I don't find these blocks on target.com either. I may wind up looking for an 800-number for Target and just calling them. (I shall also ask the person who gave them to us to confirm that he did indeed get them at Target.) I'm sorry, but this is just bullshit. Two Xs and only one E?!?! WTF!!!!!!!

OK, that rant turned out not so brief after all. *blush*

On the positive side, Isaac is now very good at looking through all 50 blocks and pulling out the I, the A, the C, one of the Ss, and lining them up properly to spell ISAC. I am very proud. (But we have GOT to get us another A soon, before he too deeply internalizes the notion that that's really how you spell his name!!!!!!!!!!!)
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
One of the few words that Isaac still has trouble saying is yesterday, which comes out "lesterday." Last weekend we were at the cottage and Isaac said something about "lesterday" and [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic pointed out that, the previous day, John Lester had pitched for the Red Sox. It was generally agreed that every day John Lester pitches should hereafter be referred to as "lesterday."

Isaac is still a little unclear on the concept of the passage of time, so basically everything that occurred in the past is "lesterday." For example: "Mama, remember lesterday we went to the hossabul and Baby Ruth came out of your belly?" (Hospital is another word that gives him trouble.)

He's also clearly confused about the difference between a nap and an overnight sleep, and it occurs to me that it's not too surprising that a child should have trouble grasping the concept of days when he sleeps twice as often as the average adult. If he goes to sleep and then wakes up, how is he to know whether it's a new day or not? The difference between a nap (from which you wake up and it's still the same day) and overnight sleeping (from which you wake up and it's a new day) is probably not obvious, especially in the summertime when it might be equally light out each time you go to sleep and wake up!

Two other words that Isaac has difficulty pronouncing are vanilla and granola, both of which come out sort of like "lallilla." He likes to eat "lallilla" (vanilla) yogurt, but unlike me, he does not care for "lallilla" (granola) in his yogurt.

Grammatically, Isaac is also a little unclear on certain idioms such as "take a bath"/"give a bath." He will say "we need to take baby a bath." He also says "Baby is taking a big smile!" :D

spamglish

Feb. 19th, 2006 12:38 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
I am coining a new term "spamglish" to describe language found in spam email that was obviously written either by a computer or by someone whose first language is not English.

Tonight brought a prime example: I don't want you to torment yourself any longer, you are owed an highly delicate chronograph! In a spam with subject line, "Make the holidays truly unique." Um, which holidays would those be exactly? The ones that ended almost two months ago? ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (cheesecake disaster)
1. Yesterday after trying to go to work and giving up and going back home, I sent an email saying that I was working from home and also entertaining a fractious toddler. I got a reply from a coworker saying that "fractious" was a great word, though he had had to look it up. Well, it's nice(?) to know that I still have a bigger vocabulary than my coworkers. I guess that makes sense given that I'm the writer in this organization. It's not sad and pathetic like it is when [livejournal.com profile] mishaslair uses words her coworkers don't know, since they are all writers.

2. The other night we (me, Isaac, my mom, brother, and sister-in-law) ordered Chinese food, and at the end of the meal we were all sitting around reading our fortune-cookie fortunes and of course adding "in bed" to the ends. (Everyone does that, right?) None of them was particularly interesting. Then Isaac wanted a fortune cookie ("cracker") so we gave him one, and my mom read his fortune. It said: "Sometimes two small steps are better than one great leap."

There was a short pause while we all contemplated this, and then I said: "...in crib?"

And then my brother threw a fortune cookie at me. ;) But it was worth it. Nyuk nyuk.

3. The other day my mom showed me an ad from the paper which appears to indicate that the Toys-R-Us in Fresh Pond (i.e. the most convenient one to both of us) is closing down. We deduced this based on the fact that the ad said "ENTIRE STORE ON SALE!" followed by a list of item categories and how much they've been reduced by (most toys 30-50% off, diapers 10-20% off, etc.) and then in small print near the bottom it added, "All fixtures on sale!" Dude, if they're selling off the fixtures, it's not exactly going out on a limb to speculate that the store is closing, even if the ad doesn't actually say "Store closing." Anyway, then today there was a post in [livejournal.com profile] cambridge_mass saying that the Fresh Pond movie theater is closing down as well. WTF!!! Fresh Pond is going to be a ghost town with nothing but the Whole Foods to sustain us! I know it's a somewhat crappy location, but geez, what gives?

And this means that the nearest non-artsy first-run movie theater to me will be Assembly Square, which sucks. I don't like that theater. Of course, I almost never go to movies anyway, but still. wtf??
mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
I knew it was trouble when I got back from lunch and had a message from the nurse at my midwives' office saying to call her back. And of course, when I called back, they were closed for lunch. And when their lunch hour was over and I called again and got through, of course, they put me on hold.

But finally I did get to talk to the nurse, and not very much to my surprise, it turns out that I failed the gestational diabetes test. Details on what this means behind the cut. )

In other rage-honing news, I just took two online surveys and they both had ridiculously awful errors. One contained the sentence: "Which of the following beers have you drank in the past month?" It causes me almost physical pain to even copy-paste that here.

The other contained the question: "Which of the following statements best describes you?" and the options were: "a) I am trying to gain weight b) I am not trying to lose weight, so I don't give much thought about what I eat c) I am actively trying to lose weight so I watch what I eat d) I am not trying to lose weight, but watch what I eat because I don't want to gain weight." OK, aside from the awful grammar in "b," where's the option for "I'm not trying to gain or lose weight, but I watch what I eat because I want to be HEALTHY"???? Yeesh.

OK, now I'm totally pissed off and grouchy. Today sucks.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:00 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios