mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
So according to [livejournal.com profile] hopemcg, LJ is cool again. I think my humor-meter was broken when I read that FB post from her, so I'm not really sure whether she was being sarcastic/humorous and/or just trying to say that she had made an LJ post and wanted people to read it. ;) But in any case, here I am once again saying that I intend to start posting on LJ again! Will it actually happen? I don't know.

But I did go reading through a bunch of my old LJ entries from late 2007 (I was looking for something in particular but then fell down the rabbit hole) and among other things that this made me think about, I was reminded that I really enjoy re-reading the stupid minutiae of my daily life from x years ago. And some day x years from now I'm going to be sad that I don't have any of those posts from now. So here's an apology to x-years-from-now-me in advance.

I started writing a bunch of long LJ posts in a Google Document with the intention of putting them here and post-dating them. Perhaps I'll even finish that project at some point.

Meanwhile, today's update: Yesterday we had no school because of a predicted snowstorm, which fizzled out. Instead of the 8-12 inches we were told to expect, we got about 2 inches. Of course, the kids were happy to have a day off school anyway, and they basically frittered away the day watching tv and playing video games. I got a bit of work done from home. In the afternoon I had to take them along to a medical appointment; also at the last minute we ended up with one of Isaac's friends coming along, because his parents had to take their elderly cat to the vet to be put to sleep. Fortunately my mom was able to meet us and watch over the kids while I had my appointment, and then we had a whole clusterf*ck of taking Ruthie to Girl Scouts (I should post here about Ruthie's Girl Scouting experience at some point) and not knowing what to do with the boys during that, all of which turned out fairly badly, alas. I blame the weather. Stupid weather.

Today we're back at school and work, thank goodness. It's so cold outside (9 degrees F this morning when I dropped the kids off) that I think Isaac will probably not be able to have his fencing afterschool club, because they usually walk there. I think it's too cold for kids to go out according to school department rules. Alas. Isaac really seems to like fencing (though, to be fair, he likes basically every sport there is).

Ruthie has been complaining of stomachaches and headaches on and off for several days now. I can't figure out whether she's really sick, or having random pains of the type that we adults tend to just ignore, or fishing for attention, or what. She hasn't been eating much -- claiming to feel nauseated, and that her stomach hurts more after she eats -- and has a little bit of a runny nose and cough, but otherwise no other apparent symptoms, so who knows.

And it's supposed to continue being cold for at least the next week or so. Temps in the teens and maybe low 20s are the best we can hope for, apparently. Uggghhhh. I hate winter. :P
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
After several nights in a row of waking up quite soon after going to sleep (like 11:30-midnight, ugh), Ruthie slept this morning until 6:15! ZOMG!

And when she did wake up, she only fussed to herself for a moment before realizing that she could get up out of bed herself and come find me in my bed. So she did that, wearing a huge proud-of-self grin. ;) I think the reason she hadn't done that much sooner is that she was waking up while it was still dark outside. Now that it's lighter in the mornings -- and since she was waking so late (for her) -- she could see better and that probably motivated her to get up on her own.

Anyway, so she got into bed with me and we nursed for about half an hour and then got up. She sure was full of beans this morning, and chattering up a storm.

Oops, I meant to write more on this, but got busy with work and now it's time to go. Ah well, stay tuned for more later!

(BTW you may have noticed / be about to notice that I signed up to have my Twitter posts, called "tweets", automatically posted to my LJ every day. I've been tweeting a lot lately, as I mentioned before, so you'll have that to look forward to. ;) )

fyi

Mar. 20th, 2008 09:56 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (peace)
I am not participating in tomorrow's protest action (whereby, if you haven't heard, LJ users are being exhorted not to post or comment, by way of trying to make a "statement" to the new LJ owners about their recent actions).

I gave it a lot of thought, but it boils down to...I can't see much sense or purpose in protesting the removal of the "Basic" account option. Yes, they did it in a slimy underhanded way, and yes there are many things about the Russian takeover of LJ that bother me and make me nervous...but this protest just doesn't feel like the right way to address it all.

That said, I have a busy day at work tomorrow and might not end up posting anyway. heh. But here are a few tidbits I wanted to mention, in case I don't get the chance:

* today I had a minor panic over the fact that Ruthie's birthday party is Saturday and I hadn't gotten her anything. So I ran out to the toy store (once again the joys of working in Harvard Square!) and got her a book and a cute toy broom, because she looooves trying to sweep with my broom and it is a severe hazard when she swings that handle around. ;) I still want to get her a play kitchen, but no way is that going to happen between now and Saturday, ah well.

* ever since [livejournal.com profile] abbylee confirmed for me that the Cadbury Creme Eggs sold in the US differ from the ones I remember from my childhood, I've been pining for the "real" kind. It seems that as of a few years ago, Cadbury started outsourcing the US production of the eggs to Hershey, which is when the eggs decreased in size and, if you ask me, quality. So I was pondering whether it would be feasible to ask one of my many online pals in Canada or the UK to send me some. But then I remembered, again, that I work in Harvard Square! Where we have Cardullo's! Which sells every conceivable kind of foreign chocolate imaginable, at a ridiculous markup. Anyway, so I went there today and got two "REAL" Cadbury Creme Eggs, with "Made in England" right on them. For $1.19 each, but ah well. Anyway, I haven't tried them yet but shall of course keep you posted. ;)

* Ruthie's constipation trouble is back with a vengeance. :( Luckily her 2-year checkup is next week, and I shall definitely be asking our new doctor to help us out here.

* um, I think there was one more but can't remember it now, oops. ah well.
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
Hee hee, so I have myself on my friends-list, and that means that this morning I got a cheery email from LJ saying "Hi mamajoan, mamajoan's birthday is coming up!" LOL.

Here I am at the office with my lime pie. woohoo! It seems to have set up firmer than the first one I did a couple of weeks ago, so yay for that. At least five of my coworkers brought in pies for Pi Day, and one of them brought two pies, so it's going to be a fun afternoon :)

In related news, big thanks to [livejournal.com profile] hawkeye7 for pointing out that 34 is a Fibonacci number! I continue my string of mathematically-interesting ages after all. Yay!

more later...

umm

Dec. 3rd, 2007 04:00 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
I am deeply confused by this whole "LJ has been sold to the Russians" thing. It just seems so ridiculous that it has to be a big bizarre joke of some sort. And yet...apparently, it isn't. WTF? Anyone?
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Hi! It's still me, the LJ user formerly known as chlaal. Thanks (perhaps) to some of your "votes" for me on the [livejournal.com profile] news post, I was gifted with a rename token from the LJ staff. So I am now [livejournal.com profile] mamajoan!

As I wrote recently, I had been considering a rename for a while. The name "chlaal," which I invented back in high school when I was a silly teenager, increasingly meant little to me and its particular uniqueness had become annoying. Don't get me wrong, it's nice to have a username that is guaranteed never to be taken on any website where you're signing up for a new account...but OTOH people always misspell it and no one knows how to pronounce it, yadda yadda, it just gets tiresome after a while.

In the aforementioned post, I also mentioned that I wasn't sure about switching to a name that defines me purely via my kids. But the more I thought about it, the more it seemed that a) everyone chooses a username that expresses only a small percentage of their selves. I mean, it might be the name of a band you like or a sports team, it might be your astrological sign or your cat's nickname or what your given name means in Sanskrit or whatever; but a username, which can be a maximum of fifteen characters, can never fully capture you in your entirety. So you choose what matters most at the time you choose the name. And b) at this time in my life, when my kids are so little, my "mama-ness" really DOES define me primarily. I mean, I'm many other things, but these days I'm a mama first.

And then, this morning after I found out that I had the rename token, I thought about it some more and realized that "mamajoan" actually does represent an enormous amount of choice in my life. Those of you who are new to my journal may not know that "Joan" was not my given name. I have a different first name on my birth certificate, and Joan is my given middle name; I started going by Joan in approx. sixth grade. And, of course, anyone who has read my userinfo knows that I had my kids as a single-mom-by-choice. So, in some ways, "mamajoan" is like an encapsulation of the person I have chosen to make myself into. And I think that's awesome.

So anyway ... here I am! "chlaal" is dead, long live mamajoan. ;) Love me or leave me! :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
This morning I am home with Isaac because he has an appointment at 11:00 for his 4-year checkup (the scheduling whereof is a whole annoying saga that I shan't recount, at least not now, because I'm trying to put it behind me). So we dropped off Ruthie at daycare and came back home. We had scrambled eggs for breakfast and now Isaac is playing with his floor mat/alphabet puzzle - cum - train (EVERYTHING becomes a train when Isaac plays with it). He has just used the floor mat pieces (approx. 1-foot-square rubberish letters) to spell the word GRAPE and now is "driving" the GRAPE train around the floor. heh.

Isaac is not thrilled about the fact that he's going to be getting shots today (his first since his 18-month checkup if I recall correctly) but I have promised him a trip to Dunkin' Donuts afterward and hopefully that will suffice. I'm a little worried about the actual giving of shots, but well, whatever happens, it'll all be over a couple hours from now. ;) Okay, that wasn't much comfort. ;)

In other news I seem to have acquired several new LJ-friends as a result of my comment on the latest [livejournal.com profile] news post. Hi new LJ-friends! Are you yawning yet? ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Mmmmm. Did I mention yet how much I love delicata squash? Also, squash is fun to say. I'm just sayin'.

I am giving serious thought to renaming my journal 'mamajoan'. I just don't really feel any connection to the name 'chlaal' any more. (Since I know someone will ask, here's a link to a post wherein I explain the meaning, origin, and pronunciation of 'chlaal'.) On the other hand, will I come to regret choosing a name that defines me only through my kids? Must ponder. In my copious free pondering time, of course.

In other redefining-myself news, I've been pining for Stacey and Clinton of "What Not to Wear." I feel like my wardrobe needs a total overhaul and I don't have the money, but more importantly, the know-how to do it. I'm frustrated with my current dearth of pants that fit properly, and with how hard it is to find ones that do. Apparently I'm a weird shape with my belly-pooch and my wide hips and short legs. Jeans seem to come in "just the tiniest bit too tight to be comfortable" and "will sag halfway off my butt" and nothing else. I just wish I had some clue of what kinds of styles I should be buying, and then I could find one place that had those, and I could buy a bunch of them in different colors, and then there I would be. You know? But of course, part of my problem is the utter lack of time for trying things on. Last night I actually left chorus rehearsal an hour early to sneak some jeans-shopping time...tried on five pairs and none of them fit. I ended up buying two sweaters even though I had walked in saying "I'm not going to look at anything except pants." SIGH.

Anyway...just another thing that's on my mind. Stupid clothes. Stupid body. Stupid culture insisting that I cover up the stupid body with stupid clothes. ;)

In totally unrelated news, I tried buying some bubblegum on the theory that the reason I always get the munchies at the office is just my mouth needing something to do. That didn't work out. I chewed for a bit, blew a few bubbles, then my tongue got tired (insert boring lewd joke here) and I tossed the gum and got some pretzels. heh. mmm, pretzels.

update on the preschool situation )

Are my posts the boringest ever? Srsly? Is my life the boringest ever? Discuss. If you're still awake, that is.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
It does occur to me that I could optimize my currently extremely small amount of lj-time if I would just stop it with all the updates of type "...and then we got in the car and drove to the store and bought milk and bananas, then we came home and had lunch and played with legos for a while. Then we were tired so we went to bed." Oh, the endless minutiae! No one reads it, no one cares, it's deathly dull, and if only I stopped doing that kind of posts, I'd have ever so much more time to post Deep Thoughts.

But here's the thing. What am I posted in LJ for, anyway? To get you to feed my desperate need for validation of my insecure inner exhibitionist by running up my comment count? Well, duh. ;) But also, to help myself keep track. To help me remember how things were.

In a practical sense, I can't tell you how often I've used my lj to go back and look up, e.g., when was it that I saw that movie / got that car repair / went to that party / read that book? What did our chorus sing the year Isaac was born? How old was Isaac when he got his first tooth? And all kinds of things of that nature, including milestone/baby-book type stuff that everyone probably always swears they'll never forget, and then does forget.

And in a more quixotic grasping-at-the-straws-of-life sense, it helps me hang on to who I was and what my life was, as it passes into the past, as I live it and put it behind me. In talking to my mom, it often comes out that she doesn't remember very much about the ephemera of my childhood -- the big things, sure, but not the little, not the gestalt of what life is like with a 4-year-old and a one-and-a-half-year-old. I don't want to forget that kind of stuff. But I know I will, so I have LJ to remember for me. In many ways it's probably the same purpose for which people used to use (some probably still do use) actual paper journals, except with comments and keyword search and mood icons.

So the overall point is that I intend to continue to post the daily minutiae; and this post shall serve as a reminder to me, when I forget, that it's FOR me, and there's no need to get upset or feel slighted when those posts don't get much commenting. Also, as a reminder to you, that you can feel free to skim ;) but that I do always love a comment, even if just "wow, you had a busy day!" or similar inanities. ;)

Also, in case I haven't made it clear by the above, I have very little time for LJ lately. I've been skimming my flist like mad, so I've almost certainly missed some stuff, so here's the standard "if you posted something you're desperate for me to read, let me know" that one so often sees.

And now, on with the minutiae! )

I have more, of course, but this post has almost literally taken me an entire day to write, so enough! But I can't resist sharing, before I go, a couple of new pix. Check out my gorgeous girl:


And one that pretty well sums up their relationship right now:


hee hee, awesome.

good night!

bzz bzz

Aug. 3rd, 2007 10:45 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
Mom just came and took the kids away, and I have a ton to do before we leave for our trip. I probably will not post again for a bit -- not sure whether we'll have teh internets in Vermont.

But before I go, lemme just weigh in on the news that LJ is deleting/suspending user accounts again -- the apparent crime being drawing naughty pictures of HP characters. You can see at least one of the offending images, which one of the deleted users has posted on her GreatestJournal, here.

You'll also notice that LJ has quietly changed their code such that deleted accounts, when you use the "lj user=" tag, no longer show up with the little head icon and a line through the name. Now they show up merely in boldface, like so: [livejournal.com profile] ponderosa121 Is this LJ's way of trying to smack people down for using the moniker "Strikethrough 07" to refer to the last round of deletions? Not cool. Seriously, now it's like they're just TRYING to make large swathes of fandom leave.

I'm not even a Harry Potter fan, AT ALL, as many of you know. And yet...if anyone would care to point me in the direction of those tools that let you download/export your entire LJ? I'm going to give serious consideration to abandoning ship. This shit is just not okay.

Gotta go pack now. Laters.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cheesecake disaster)
If any of y'all Harry Potter fans are even reading LJ today, you may be interested to learn that Livejournal has essentially banned all your fanfic.

On the one hand, it's absolutely astounding how stupid their criteria are for deciding what is and isn't allowable. Read the comments on the thread -- they're claiming US law but they can't provide citations; they apparently have no good argument to refute the point that US law does not forbid fiction about underage sex.

On the other hand, their timing is surprisingly cunning. A huge percentage of Harry Potter fans -- the people whose lives are most likely to be strongly affected by this new policy -- are currently avoiding LJ entirely, to avoid being spoiled for the new book. So, by the time those folks come out of their haze on Sunday and decide to check their friend-lists, they'll find...what? a ghost town? their journals already deleted? cease-and-desist orders? Who knows?

All *I* know is, this shit is gonna be hella wanktastic. If I weren't so irritated at the dickwaddery of the LJ folks, I'd probably be laughing my ass off.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Happy Solstice, everyone!

Ruthie update: Last night I squirted some breastmilk into her goopy eye (breastmilk has amazing antibacterial properties, you know -- I use it often for things like that). I also put a little bit into her other eye just in case. Then this morning she woke up with the other eye crusted shut. D'oh! But she managed to get it open herself without my help, and after I got her cleaned up, it was clear that both eyes were a bit puffy/swollen but much less so than the one eye was yesterday.

I went and picked up the erythromicin anyway, and put it in both eyes; she barely fought it at all, which was good. We're supposed to do it 3x/day, so [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd will do it this afternoon and I'll do it again tonight before bed. I may also do another breastmilk treatment depending on how the eyes are looking. As of this morning, though, they were both looking not-so-bad and Ruthie was her normal self, temperament-wise, so I'm thinking it's not going to be a big deal.

Tomorrow [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd and Bastian are leaving to fly down to Arizona and visit her family, so I'll be staying home with Ruthie. I didn't try too hard to find a babysitter, because of the eyes. Hopefully I'll find someone to watch her on Monday though. They're coming back late Monday night.

CSA: This week's haul had stuff other than leafy greens!! We got some turnips, beets, and sugar snap peas! *DROOL* We also got more greens (a new kind of chard, more kale, bibb lettuce, romaine, arugula) and some baby fennel. I am a little scared of the fennel. I have no idea what to do with it. I'm not even sure whether I like it (I hate licorice).

PSA: In case you missed the announcement, LJ will be selling Permanent Accounts for a limited time, starting tomorrow. Here's the news post about that. A permanent account costs $150 and gets you a bunch of nifty features. I already have one, thanks to the LJ Fairy (whom I have a pretty good idea who it is, but I don't know for sure). LJ only does Permanent Account sales once in a blue moon, so if you want one and have the cash, now is your chance!

PSA part 2: For those who knew and loved the late [livejournal.com profile] thamiris (and who could know her without loving her?), you may be interested to know that there's an effort underway to raise money to convert her LJ account to a Permanent account. You can check out the community [livejournal.com profile] tham_preserved for details.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
Sometimes it seems like I go for weeks without interacting socially with anyone other than family (and coworkers, now). So it sure is nice to spend some actual time with other people once in a while -- or, in the case of yesterday and today, twice in a while. :)

Yesterday [livejournal.com profile] whuffle joined me for lunch and we had a lovely chat. One nice thing about LJ is that when you get together with someone you haven't seen in months, you don't have to waste time catching each other up on what's going on in your lives. You already know all that from reading each other's LJs. lol. So it was nice to just sit and talk. Also Whuffle kindly gave me an extra alarm clock that she had lying around, which should solve my snooze-button problem, so yay for that too.

This morning Ruthie and I had a few minutes to kill (after dropping off Isaac at preschool and getting our spiffy new Somerville parking sticker, but before the sitter returned from her Friday-morning commitment) so I decided to pop by [livejournal.com profile] orbitalmechanic's place in hopes of getting an in-person glimpse of the probably not apocryphal Violet. Fortunately for us, they were home, so I can now confirm that Violet is indeed not mythical, and is of course even cuter than all the pictures suggest. And she has a totally adorable round chubby belly! Ruthie has really slimmed down a lot in the last month or so, and it definitely shows. Violet looks so round and chubby next to her. At first Ruthie was not all that excited by Violet, whereas Violet was very intrigued by Ruthie. Then once Ruthie was pretty sure I wasn't going to go off and leave her with these strange new people, she warmed up and wanted to play, but she gets a little rough and Violet was not so much interested in having her face clawed off. ;) heh, baby interactions are fun! ;)

Anyway, so that was cool. yay.

In other news, my sinuses are still REALLY bothering me. It has been over two months since this crap started. I am not amused. It may be time to visit the doctor again. (I did some googling on "natural sinus remedies" and got a lot of fairly wacko pages with pretty obvious agendas to push. One of them was hell-bent on convincing me that ice cream is the source of all my woes. If that's true, then man, am I fucked.)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, Isaac coughed a few more times overnight but never woke up. Around 7am (when my alarm goes off, but an hour before he usually gets up), I heard him crying/whimpering a bit, and I got up, thinking he was awake, but apparently he went back to sleep. So I got all ready for the day and so forth, and by 8 he still wasn't up and I couldn't decide whether to wake him up. I didn't know whether to consider him sick (and thus let him sleep) or assume that all was well (and thus wake him, as I normally would at 8). I booted up the computer intending to post that same dithering here. ;) But as I was skimming my friends-page before posting, he woke up for real.

And he was his normal self. Which is to say, he was groggy and grumpy for the first few minutes but then perked up. He didn't feel feverish, and he only coughed a teeny bit once awake, and his nose only ran a little bit. So, whatever. I got us ready and he had some yogurt and we went off to daycare and work. I hope he's not getting sick, but OTOH, I'm not really sure what to do about the coughing overnight and all that. I already run the humidifier in his room all night and it gets pretty darn humid in there. Maybe I'll run it in the living room this evening while he's playing before bed.

I titled last night's post "kitties and kiddies" intending for it to include a little Cosmo update-age too, but then I got distracted by my worries over Isaac's coughing, so I forgot to put in the Cosmo stuff. Here's what I basically would have said: We have reached the point where I can pull up my shirt and watch the bumps and ripples move across my belly as Cosmo moves. This is endlessly fascinating and never ceases to entertain. Here is a post that I wrote on this topic during my pregnancy with Isaac. I've been going back and reading my LJ posts from that pregnancy (and marking a bunch of them with my "pregnancy" tag for easier finding). It's kind of fun to see what I had to say about the whole thing back then.

But getting back to Cosmo, s/he continues to be very active throughout the day and often at night too. Sometimes I wake up at night and feel him/her moving and think that my waking woke him/her (even though I didn't move or anything), although it seems more likely that actually it was his/her movement that woke me. Anyway, this is supposed to be the most active time -- the period when the baby is big enough to pack a wallop but not yet so big that s/he runs out of room to move around -- and Cosmo is certainly living up to that. Next week we'll be at 28 weeks (the beginning of the third trimester! OMG) which supposedly is when movements start to slow down, but we'll see.

I'm interested to note that I haven't had any dreams about Cosmo per se. Supposedly during pregnancy you have more vivid and intense dreams, although I'm not sure that's exactly true for me because I always tend to have pretty vivid dreams. And I have been having them this time, but not specifically about Cosmo. I feel like by this time with Isaac, I had already dreamt numerous times about what he (or she; I didn't know) would be like. I seem to recall that Chickpea (Isaac's nickname in utero) was male and female in pretty much equal proportions in my dreams. Cosmo, on the other hand, hasn't appeared at all that I can remember. Maybe it's because the having-a-newborn-baby aspect of things isn't as much a mystery to me as it was back then, although of course Cosmo's particular personality (and gender) is still a mystery. Anyway, I still have plenty of time to start dreaming about Cosmo, heh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cheesecake disaster)
I had a dream wherein I wrote a long witty LJ post and then when I hit "submit," I got one of those cryptic LJ errors and my post was gone. I was frantically IMing [livejournal.com profile] xochiquetzl for advice on how to retrieve it, unable to accept the fact that it was lost forever.

This is just sad, people. Even my subconscious has no life! I haven't even had a celebrity sex dream in, like, weeks! Pathetic. Woe is me. My emo runneth over.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, our actual Thanksgiving day was, uh, weird. We pretty much just hung out and then took the bus to Harvard Square and wandered around looking for an open restaurant. The only one open was the kinda crappy Chinese place, so finally we gave up and got kinda crappy Chinese, took it home and ate, then home and bed.

Today, being Black Friday to the rest of the country but Thanksgiving Day to us, much drama ensued but in the end it was a pretty good day. )

Anyway, after all of that, the one cousin left to go back home, and the three elderly relatives are staying at my mom's place, and Isaac and I came home. Tomorrow morning we'll go back over there first thing. Per tradition, on the morning after Thanksgiving, we have waffles for breakfast -- the one day of the year that my mom's waffle iron sees any action. ;)

So that's basically my Thanksgiving report ... tune in tomorrow for the waffle update. ;)

wtf

Oct. 20th, 2005 12:56 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
Why is LJ suddenly telling me that my password is too easy to guess? I've had this password for a while now and it never said this before. Annoying.

I don't think my password is easy to guess. It's a person's name sandwiched around an abbreviation of a word that makes me think of that person. (So as an example, if the person were David and the word were "sarcastic" then my password would be "davsarcid".)

Is LJ just objecting because I don't have any numbers or capital letters in my password, or what? And why balk all of a sudden when it has had no problem with my password for ages? Grump.

edit Guess I could have been a little less lazy and checked the FAQ/support page. It seems LJ has changed their requirements and now you have to have a number or symbol in your password. Well, it was nice of them to publicize this in advance, for cripes' sake. Grumble grumble.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I've posted before about dumb question/option sets on the online surveys I take. So, here I go again. Today's survey topic was kids watching TV. After establishing that I have a child, the survey asked:
a. how much TV my kid watches in the morning, per week. There was no option for "zero." The closest I could get was "7 hours or less."
b. how often my kid watches each of three listed children's programs. At least here there was an option for "never."
c. my opinion of the quality of each of three listed children's programs. The choices were Very Bad, Poor, Good, Very Good, Excellent. There was no option for "I am not familiar with this program."
d. whether I own a VCR. Interestingly, the survey never asked whether I own a TV before it plunged into the aforementioned questions on my child's TV-watching habits.
e. how many times per month I rent a movie. The options were 1, 2, 3, 4, "5 or more." There was no option for zero.

I emailed the survey company outlining these problems. You better believe it. That's just really ridiculously sloppy survey-question-writing, people. Geez.

Okay, now that that's off my chest, here's some more of the interview meme. five questions for me from angledge )

You can still play the interview meme/game if you want. Check out my original post here.

do you?

Aug. 31st, 2005 05:27 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
If you're like me, you check "Joule" regularly to see who on LJ has friended and unfriended you. (To use Joule, just go to http://marnanel.org/joule?user=chlaal but replace "chlaal" with your username.) And if you're like me, when someone unfriends you, you wonder why. (Especially if it's someone you know in RL!) You wonder whether you did something to upset them, or said something on your LJ that pissed them off, or what. Maybe you even click on their username to see whether they made a post about it (like, "I'm unfriending a bunch of people who pissed me off" or "I'm too busy to read my whole flist so I'm cutting down" or whatever). And then you wonder whether you should unfriend them.

And then there are the people who will friend you and unfriend you repeatedly. Why do people do that? I'm not asking rhetorically, I really want to know.

In case you aren't aware, LJ has things called filters. Filters can be used for two purposes: to control who sees your posts, and to control which posts you see on your friend-page. You can set up a "default" filter that controls whose posts will appear when you go to www.livejournal.com/users/[yourname]/friends. So if you get annoyed with a particular person and want to stop reading them for a while -- why not just remove them from your default filter? It's a lot easier than unfriending and refriending. And the beauty of it is, they will never know. Some of you reading this are not on my default filter, meaning I don't read your journals every day. But you can't know who. And everyone's happier that way, don't you think?

I just don't get it. I don't get the constant unfriend-refriend-unfriend game. Why?

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios