mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
You know what I super love, is this new thing where I get menstrual cramps after my period is over. And when I say new, it has been about a year or so now; and when I say super love, you know I don't really mean super love, right?

I feel like I had a few years of basically no cramps at all, after Ruthie was born and after my cycles got back to normal/regular again; and that, of course, was nice. Especially since cramps had been a thing for me my whole adult life. But it had always been a before thing; the cramps were one of the first signs that my period was coming, which I think is normal for a lot of women; whereas now it's this thing where the cramps show up a day or two after the bleeding has stopped. Which is just weird and annoying and makes no sense.

I suppose I shouldn't complain too much. I've also gone from three days of heavy bleeding to generally one day of heavy, with a day or two of spotting on either side. That's an improvement.

I'm not saying I look forward to menopause or anything, but the whole menstruation thing really is such a pain, isn't it? - literally AND figuratively. I feel a little guilty every time I talk to Ruthie about it. Like I should be apologizing to her in advance.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
(Insert the usual astonished/embarrassed sentence about how long it has been since my last post, here.)

So, a lot to post about, but let's start with: We got a new kitty. It was my big Hanukkah present to the kids (and myself).

all about our new cat )

Anyway, so aside from those minor, uh "logistical" issues, we just love our new kitty. Oh, and this would be where I post pictures, right? Well, if you're my Facebook friend and you somehow managed to miss them, some of the pix are here. And here are a couple more -





(In that first one you can see a bit of her belly which was still naked from being spayed. It has taken a long time for that fur to grow back!)
mamajoan: me in hammock (don't panic 2)
Okay I'm way behind on posting, got a lot to catch up on, but I had to take a moment to describe our evening. It was definitely a "truth is stranger than fiction" kind of night, you know, like the kind where if it were a sitcom you'd roll your eyes and go "oh come on!"

the LONG story is under this here cut...click me! )

The bread, btw, was a recipe that I got from two awesome foodie women whom I follow on twitter: Jennifer of injennieskitchen.com (@JenniferPerillo on twitter) and Heidi of 101cookbooks.com (@101cookbooks). Their recipes are here and here, and are basically identical. You take some old-fashioned rolled oats, food process them into flour, combine with all-purpose flour, salt, baking soda, and buttermilk, and voila! bread! The beautiful thing about soda bread -- so called because it uses baking soda as a leavener instead of yeast -- is that it's so quick. You don't need to wait around for hours while it rises like you do with yeast. You just toss the ingredients together and stick them in the oven. I saw this recipe on Jennifer's blog back in January and had it at the back of my mind all this time, and I'm sooooo glad that I finally made it, even with all the craziness. (I did manage to keep it blood-free!) It came out really delicious. Isaac and I shared a slice and then he tried to make off with the rest of the loaf. ;) Soooooo good.

IN SUMMARY, tonight was insane and boy am I glad I'm not a sitcom character.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
The other day I hit a new parenting milestone: I pulled my first tooth! It was Isaac's fifth loose tooth and the first time he ever managed to get up the nerve to ask me to pull it out, so I felt that I needed to "woman up" and overcome my native squeamishness about loose teeth.

the gory details ;) )

In other Isaac news, he has become very interested in geography and the U.S. States. It all started a few months ago when he became aware that each state has its own license plate(s) and that we can see a lot of different states' license plates as we go about our daily lives. It became a game/challenge to see how many far-away states we could find on the cars in our area. Pretty soon he (and I) became expert at recognizing the most common states (i.e., the ones nearest to us) from a distance, just by their color schemes. Toward the end of the summer, as we were going out to our family's summer cottage (an hour's drive) almost every weekend, I started printing out lists of the states, and Isaac would spend the entire drive using tally marks to keep track of how many plates he saw from each state. (I also put the Canadian provinces on the list, since we do occasionally see one of those.) When we went to NYC, he made many jokes about the fact that there were New York license plates everywhere ;) and he was very excited whenever we spotted a Massachusetts plate in New York. :)

Then he became aware that each state has its own design on a quarter, so now he's constantly wanting to look at the quarters in my pocket. Grandma got him a placemat for the kitchen table that has a map of the US, which I think she intended for him to use to learn the states and capitals ;) but of course he decided to pile the quarters onto it, each quarter on its state, which of course doesn't work too well for some of the smaller states. ;) So then grandma gave us a quarter display folio thingie that she bought back when the state quarters were first introduced -- a map of the US with cut-out spaces for you to put the quarters in. Isaac is very pleased.

Meanwhile I also introduced him to the Place The State game, which he is greatly enjoying. And (shh! don't tell him!) he might even be learning a thing or two from it! ;)

Isaac has also developed an interest in football. He enjoyed watching the past two Super Bowls with grandma, but then this summer/fall he started getting more into it. At first I thought it was just a substitute for baseball when that season ended, but it's clear that he actually enjoys football too. It turns out that they have a football simulation game (Madden) on the PSP at his summer camp/afterschool, so he has been playing that and has actually learned a fair bit about the game and the teams and the players from it. (For a while there I was a bit displeased with the amount of time he was spending on the Playstation at afterschool, but the administrator seems to have realized that it was excessive and has put in much firmer limits on it.) Now he wants to watch the Patriots game every weekend, and when there isn't a Patriots game on, he wants to watch whatever other football game happens to be on. ;) I'm actually starting to get moderately interested in it as well -- for years I couldn't at all figure out the game; it honestly just looked to me like they stood around for a while, then they formed up, and then they all jumped on top of each other and the fans cheered. LOL. ;) But now I'm starting to pick up on the basics of how the game works, and it's fun to watch sometimes -- especially when my second-grader has to explain what happened to me. ;) heh.

Don't tell Isaac (shh!) but I'm pondering the idea of getting him the Madden game for the Wii as a winter-holiday present. I keep waffling back and forth on whether this is a great idea or a completely terrible idea. ;)

I could write a lot more about Isaac, but then I'd never get this posted.... ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The other day I had a pelvic ultrasound, for screening purposes; my risk of ovarian cancer is higher since my mom's diagnosis with it last year. I saw my doctor for a checkup a few weeks ago, and it was the first time I had seen her since mom's diagnosis, so I told her about that and she recommended the ultrasound.

I wasn't really worried, because despite my mom having had ovarian cancer, my own risk is still pretty small; I'm pre-menopausal, for example. Still, you can google the symptoms of ovarian cancer, and the problem is that they are mostly like the symptoms of a dozen other things -- and also ovarian cancer tends not to be symptomatic at all until it has progressed pretty far. So by the time the appointment came around, I had pretty much convinced myself not only that I had ovarian cancer, but that it had spread to my brain. (The brain part would explain the headaches, which I'll get to later.)

Of course, most of that wasn't for serious. It's mostly just when I lie in bed at night that I start thinking, "yep, I definitely have cancer and I'm going to die the day before Halloween and not even get to see the kids go trick-or-treating." Then I roll my eyes at myself and try thinking about the bills I have to pay instead and go to sleep. ;)

TMI-y details of the ultrasound )

Anyway...so that was all very fun and exciting. ;) The tech had an excellent poker face, so I knew nothing when I left there. But the doctor's office called this morning to tell me that the results were all normal. All is well with my ovaries. (and if I had any doubts as to whether they are functioning properly, today's delightful bout of menstrual cramps helped me out with that. :P ) I'm still supposed to call the oncology department and schedule a consultation with a doctor over there to discuss whether or how I should be monitored.

Another thing I discussed with my doctor at my checkup recently was these headaches I've been having. I had been thinking of them as sinus headaches, but then I did some googling and discovered that most people who think they have sinus headaches actually have migraines. So I googled migraines and started to think that I might be having those. I don't get a visual aura, but I get a lot of the other classic symptoms: light sensitivity, increased pain when I move my head or eyes, and mental fuzziness/inability to focus etc. So my doctor agreed that they sounded like they could be migraines, and she recommended that I start out by treating it with ibuprofen and caffeine -- the trick is to take 2-3 ibuprofen and a large serving of caffeine as SOON as you start to sense the onset, because if you wait too long it's too late. So I've been trying that and it seems to be working (though I've probably also medicated a few times when it wasn't actually necessary). I'm not sure how concerned I should be that these things seem to be becoming more and more frequent; although I do think they are related to weather changes, so maybe this is just the season for it. I dunno.

One thing I really like about my doctor is that she takes the time to review my chart before seeing me, so she remembers basic details about my life situation and stuff. So she asked me -- completely neutrally and non-judgmentally, which is another thing I like about her -- whether I'm still nursing Ruthie. I wasn't entirely sure what to say, though. At this point Ruthie nurses for literally about 10-15 seconds each night, at bedtime, and nothing is coming out; she just does it for comfort and out of habit. Usually what happens is that I tuck her in and give her a kiss, and then she says "can I please have nursie" and I say rather half-heartedly "remember, you're not going to nursie forever," and she says in her 4-going-on-14 voice, "Until I'm five!" and then I give her nursie for the aforementioned few seconds, until it becomes uncomfortable for me, and then I make her stop and go to sleep.

I'm pretty much fine with this system, really; it's just that I tend to obsess pointlessly over whether or not I should still claim to be breast-feeding or not. There certainly isn't any actual feeding going on. ;) But it doesn't bother me, and it does seem to help her calm down, so whatever. I'm not sure I want to keep doing this until her 5th birthday...which is five months from now...but who knows?

Anyway, to sum up: I just wrote an entire LJ post about my fiddly little medical issues. I am officially a senior citizen. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Isaac's birthday party was on Sunday but I'll get to that in a moment. First I have to post about the tooth drama.

On Friday, his actual 7th birthday, I took him to the Red Sox game. We were fortunate that one of Isaac's friends' parents had tickets to the game that day and when they found out it was his birthday, they gave the tix to us. Wasn't that nice of them?? :)

Alas, drama ensued and we missed most of the game because of a loose tooth. )

So the game was a bust, alas. :( The Sox won, but we barely saw any of it. Oh well.

The tooth remained in Isaac's mouth, extremely loose, all through Saturday. Isaac barely ate all day because he was too nervous about jiggling it. So then he was hungry and cranky. *Eyeroll* He managed to figure out how to eat by the end of the day, though -- just in time to lick the beaters after I baked his cake. ;) Speaking of which, more on the cake later.

Sunday morning, Isaac was horsing around on my bed with Ruthie when something happened to loosen the tooth even further. It was hanging down -- I truly see what people mean when they say "hanging by a thread" -- I couldn't believe it was still managing to hang on. It was ridiculous. Isaac was whining and complaining about it, but he still wouldn't let me pull it out nor would he pull it out himself. He just sat drooling into a cup and complained that it was "not fair" that Ruthie got to lick a beater of the frosting and he didn't. *Massive Mega-Eyeroll*

The trouble is that I'm pretty squeamish about loose teeth (was even when I was a kid) so I wasn't particularly motivated to force the issue. Luckily, I knew that I didn't have to, because my mom was coming over to help get ready for the party. ;) Sure enough, as soon as grandma arrived, she pulled the tooth out (which took almost no effort at all, so loose it was) and then all was well. Huzzah!!

Picture of Isaac with the big gap in his mouth where that tooth used to be )

Then it was time for Isaac's party, and a good party it was. Like every year, I fretted and fretted about the weather -- it looked like rain for sure, so I tried to plan a bunch of indoor activities and hoped like hell that the kids wouldn't destroy my apartment ;) -- but just like every year, I got incredibly lucky and the weather held. It was cloudy and on the cool side, but not actually raining so we spent basically the whole party outside in our back yard. Yay!!!

Isaac and his friends did get a little wild, but it was okay. There were six 7-year-olds and two 4-year-olds (Ruthie and cousin Baz) which was a good number.

We tie-dyed t-shirts for the party activity. I had wanted to do that last year but wasn't sure the kids were up for it -- this year I decided to go for it. Big thanks to my friend Julie ([livejournal.com profile] pedrosmom) for all the tips and info. It went really well. I had everything prepped and ready, and the kids seemed to really enjoy it. Of course, the sad part is that the shirts have to sit in the dye for 24 hours, so I didn't get to see what any of the other ones looked like, other than Isaac's and Ruthie's. I hope the other parents will send me some pix.

Picture of Isaac and Ruthie in the tie-dye shirts that they made )

For the party, I made again the rainbow cake, which I had made for Ruthie's birthday as well. Oops, I just went back and looked and I see that I never posted the pix of Ruthie's cake here. Well, to recap, the basic idea comes from here and what you basically do is mix up the batter for a white cake, divide the batter into six portions, color each portion a color of the rainbow (and you HAVE to use the gel food coloring -- it gets the colors so bright and vivid not like the liquid stuff), then you sploop each color into the pan one at a time, in order (and yes "sploop" is the technical term used by professional bakers), and it bakes up into a rainbow. It looks so cool, as you'll see in a moment. In fact, it looks a lot like tie-dye, so we should really call it tie-dye cake given that we tie-dyed at the party! :) But it's really neat-looking and what the kids really like about it is that you frost it, and it looks just like an ordinary cake, and then you cut it and all your friends go "Wow!"

Anyway, Isaac decided that he wanted white frosting on his cake, not chocolate frosting like Ruthie had. So I was mixing up the frosting and then I thought that it might look kind of boring just all white, so I thought maybe I could use some of the leftover food coloring to make decorations; but as it turned out, the frosting recipe made just exactly enough to cover the cake, so there was none left for getting creative with. ;) But then I was looking at it, and I thought, gee, it's round and white. What's round and white and the object of a deep abiding obsession for Isaac? Duh, a baseball of course!!

So I used chocolate chips and red sprinkles (which I laboriously picked out of the container of multicolored sprinkles) to turn the cake into a baseball cake. I'm very proud of it. :) It came out great!

Pix of my awesome cake )

Phew!!! I could go on and on, but this post is long enough already. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
Ruthie got a haircut a couple weeks ago. This was a big deal: her first haircut ever, at the age of 4! She had been agitating for it for a while, and I decided the time was right. Everyone loooved her gorgeous long curly hair, but it was such a freaking pain to manage. It tangled like crazy and she hated having it combed out. Even bribing with lollipops to get her to sit still had stopped working. I think we were just both tired of it.

So we went and got her a nice short "pageboy"(?) cut. It is so cute. She's getting lots of compliments on it. And the funny thing is, it didn't take me any time at all to get used to her new look. I think that goes to show that it was the right thing.

If you're my friend on Facebook you can go see the pictures there...otherwise, well, I'll get around to posting them here eventually. Maybe.

***

Recently we went to "Family Math Night" at Isaac's school. His teacher is one of the main organizers of the event and it's always a lot of fun. They have all kinds of math-related games and activities. In the gym they had set up bowling, and the gym teacher was keeping a list of names of kids who wanted a turn. Ruthie marched right up to her and announced, "I want to bowl!" The gym teacher looked at her and said, "You must be Isaac's sister!" I thought that was funny. I never thought them to sound very similar but the gym teacher swears they sound exactly alike. (That was before the haircut; but I've noticed that since we cut Ruthie's hair I'm noticing the similarities between her and Isaac a lot more.)

Also at Family Math Night, Ruthie won a prize! They had one of those things where you guess how many items are in a jar. They had about a dozen jars, of different sizes, with different items in them - pretzels, popcorn, golf balls. Ruthie was just enjoying writing her name and random numbers on the papers, but somehow she managed to get the closest guess on one of the jars of popcorn. The prize was -- she got to keep the jar with the popcorn in it! She was thrilled to eat the popcorn she had won. ;)

***

Ruthie has become a fan of Carmina Burana. If you aren't familiar with it, it's a piece of choral and orchestral music by Karl Orff. It's a bunch of songs about secular life, focusing heavily on themes of how fickle fate is and how much fun it is to get drunk and have sex. Orff wrote the music in 1935, but the text is from Latin poems from the 12th century.

Anyway, Ruthie is particularly fond of one passage that goes "Oh, oh, oh, totus floreo, iam amore virginale totus ardeo, novus amor est quo pereo." This translates loosely to "Oh, oh, oh, I am bursting into flower, I am all aflame with my first love, a new love it is from which I am dying." If you think that's probably fairly raunchy, you're getting the idea. So it makes me snicker in a most inappropriate way to hear Ruthie running around singing it. ;) She has trouble with a lot of the Latin words, of course, so tonight she was making up her own words. It went "Oh, oh, oh, no pajamas no..." ;)

***

Every night at bedtime I kiss Ruthie's cheek, which sometimes requires me to first say "Give me a cheek!" if she is pushing her face into the pillows. The other night she moved her head as I was going to kiss her, and I ended up kissing her chin instead.

Me: Okay, I kissed the cheek.
Ruthie: That's not my cheek, that's my chin!
Me: Oh, okay, well here (kisses her nose) There's a kiss for your cheek.
Ruthie: That's not my cheek, that's my nose!
Me: Oh, really? Hmm, well let me try again, here we go - (kisses her forehead)
Ruthie: (amid hysterical giggles) That's not my cheek, that's my forehead!
Me: What? Are you sure? Okay, well this time I'm really going to kiss your cheek. (kisses her ear)
Ruthie: That's not my cheek, that's my thinking cap!

***

Ruthie yelling from the bathroom: "It's 6:30!"
Me, noting that it is actually 7:10: "Okay, if you say so."
Ruthie: "I'm pooping!"
Me: "Okay."
Ruthie: "That's what my watch says!"
Me: "Your watch told you to poop?"
Ruthie: "No! It says 6:30!"

***

Stay tuned for my Isaac update coming soon... :)

oy!

May. 15th, 2010 12:04 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Oh life is just so busy and I want to post here but I don't and then I fall so far behind. augh.

So much has been happening! I shall attempt some bullet points.

* Mom had her last chemo treatment two weeks ago. This weekend we're having a party to celebrate. It's great to have chemo behind us, but now we have to wait and worry and wonder whether the cancer is going to come back. I'm staying positive though. I think everything will be fine.

* I bought a new fridge!! w00t!! I am loving it. I got the kind with the freezer on the bottom, which is great. I love not having to bend over to look for stuff in there. It has only been here a couple of weeks so it's still all nice and clean and shiny-looking. That won't last. ;)

* Isaac started Little League and is loving it. I'm discovering how erratic things can be when you have an all-volunteer organization. *roll eyes* Isaac's coach is not entirely dedicated to the task, shall we say, but a few of the other parents on the team have been stepping up, so it's going okay.

* Ruthie is toilet-trained!!! I am so freaking excited. No more diapers in our house! Well, we still have pull-ups for nighttime, but that doesn't count.

* Ruthie is also starting to read! I spelled some words on the fridge with letter magnets and was very surprised at how easily she sounded them out. This sentence shall serve as a placeholder for a lengthier musing on how different are the learning paths of the first vs. second child, based on parental involvement/attention level. ;)

* Maybe you heard that we had a water emergency here in the Boston area. A pipe burst and we weren't supposed to drink (or wash hands with, or cook with) the tap water for several days. It was an adventure. It made me think deep thinky thoughts about privilege, luxuries, assumptions, all that good stuff.

* I continue to read a lot. My "read in 2010" tag on LibraryThing is up to 21 books. I just finished The Girl Who Played With Fire, the second in the Millennium series, and am on the edge of my seat waiting for the third book, which [livejournal.com profile] ww1614 kindly offered to send me. w00t.

* Stuff is happening at work, but I'm not talking about that right now. Oh, but I will say that I got a cost-of-living raise, which is nice. It only amounts to about 2.5% of my salary, but every little bit helps.

That's about it for now. But I'll close with a few funny things the kids have said lately. )
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie nursing)
Lately I have been experiencing a very novel and unfamiliar sensation, which is summarized in the subject line of this post. Yes, after 6 1/2 years of breast-feeding, I'm finally having to get used to not being hungry again!

Ruthie is nursing less and less these days. Even at a time like this, when we've just gotten home from school/work, so she hasn't nursed all day...she nursed for about a minute and then announced that there was nothing in there, and cheerfully skipped off to do something else.

Lately we go through these conversations every evening, where I remind her that if she nurses during the evening she won't be able to nurse at bedtime because there won't be anything left (and it's very uncomfortable to me if she nurses "dry"). So some evenings she says "I'm not gonna wanna nursie at bedtime!" and I let her nurse and then at bedtime she throws a fit. *Roll eyes* Other evenings she pulls at my shirt and I say "Are you going to wanna nursie at bedtime?" and she stops pulling my shirt and goes away. Man, this stuff is SO much easier with a kid who can actually understand what you're saying.

Of course, we might still go on for ages like this, who knows. It's not as if she's going to wean completely tomorrow (probably). But still...well...there's emotional stuff going on for me.

And physiological stuff too. By which I mean hormones. Oh man, the hormones. There is some wacky shit that goes on when you wean, apparently. It has been the proverbial bumpy ride for a few months now. My periods are all over the map (in terms of spacing and duration), the PMS has been killer, my hair is doing that greasy coarse thing.

And of course, my waistline is expanding. But that's not so much about the hormones. That's about the whole not being hungry thing. Because it turns out to be really hard to break some habits, like the habit of eating like a horse. It turns out that when you're not nursing as much, eating like a horse is not so much of a good idea. It also turns out that (re)learning to stop eating when you aren't hungry, and to plan smaller meals to begin with, is actually pretty hard.

So I've started working on this. I'm trying to be more conscious of it. I'm trying to remember that I don't have to pack my backpack each morning with like four meals' worth of snacks. And that I don't have to bring or buy an enormous lunch. And that if I do happen to wind up with an enormous lunch, I don't have to eat it all. Or I can eat it all and then skip dinner, which brings me back to the beginning of this post. ;) I was just now standing in the kitchen, the kids having decided what they want for dinner, and it hit me that I was so totally not hungry at all (fairly hefty lunch today *blush* -- hey I said it isn't easy to adjust!) that I can probably just not have dinner tonight. Or probably I'll make some veggie to go with the kids' noodles, and I can nibble at the veggie.

Of course, then there's my after-the-kids-are-asleep nighttime chocolate indulgence. ;) Yeah, I guess I'm gonna have to work on that one too. Um, later. ;)

(Meanwhile, I only have two pairs of work-appropriate pants that really fit, which sucks. I really gotta get that belly under control. Or, uh, buy some more pants. *facepalm*)
mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
(Originally posted on Facebook Feb 1st, 2010. Posted here April 1st, 2014; backdated.)

In the car on the way home tonight, out of the clear blue sky Isaac says: "Mama, how does a man put out sperm?"

me, thinking frantically "oh crap, I haven't gotten to this chapter in the parenting manual yet!" replied: "Uh, well, it comes out of his penis."
Isaac, not to be put off by such a blatant cop-out: "Yeah, but how does it come out?"
Me: (babbles something about testicles and when a man gets to be a grownup he can touch his penis in a certain way and then the sperm comes out. OY)
Isaac: "Oh."
Ruthie: "Does Uncle B. have a penis?"
Me: "Well, he's a man, so yes. And so does Cousin B."
Ruthie: (names a bunch of her preschool classmates who are boys)
Me: (acknowledges that all of the above have penises)
Ruthie: "Do you know who else is a boy?"
Me: "Grover." [our cat]
Ruthie: "Yeah, but Grover has a vulva anyway."
Me: "Uh no, Grover has a penis. We just can't see it with all his fur."
Isaac: "You can tell by looking at a dog."
Me: "That's right, if you look at a dog you can see if it has a penis."
Isaac: "Okay, let's stop talking about our privates now."
Me: "Well, we can stop. Or we can keep talking about it if we want to. If you have any other questions, you can ask them."

(thoughtful pause)

Ruthie: "How come some toilets flush all by themselves?"
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Three more days of "freedom" till I start my new job. Yes! I have not yet posted outside of friends-lock, but I got a new job and I start it next Monday.

In keeping with my general policy of not posting anything specific (i.e., potentially incriminating) about work, I shall say little more about it except that it's a big company, the office is in Kendall Square, and I'll be collaborating on a project with three other writers, two of whom are based in Sydney, Australia. So THAT should be interesting. The two Australian writers are here in the States this week, and on Thursday I'm going to the office to meet them and hear a presentation they're giving. Then on Monday I start work for real and hopefully will get to spend a little more time with them before they leave on Tuesday.

And that's all I shall say about that at this time.

I have big plans for my last few days of "leisure," to wit:

* Get a massage
* Buy work shoes
* Tame the weeds in the front yard
* Put more water in the waterbed
* Get a new backpack for work
* Figure out which kid pix to bring to my new office, and get frames for them
* Organize the living room
* Clean the whole apartment (ha, I can dream)
* Straighten out the situation with the health insurance re Ruthie's dog bite (long tedious story)
* Get the kids' fall clothes sorted out and ready
* Burn a bunch of kid pix to CD so I can clear off some space on my camera cards
* Wash my bras
* Load up some music on the new MP3 player I got today at Target (for $10 so I'm sure it's crappy, lol, but whatever)
* go to bed early every night

Okay, I know I won't really get to all that in three days (really two and a half considering my plans to go to the office Thursday) but a girl's gotta dream big. heh.

In other news, our washing machine is apparently kaput. This is highly annoying. I love Brian (my co-homeowner and upstairs neighbor) like a brother, but I just don't think he feels the same urgency that I feel when the laundry facilities are unavailable. It could have something to do with the fact that he, unlike me, has zero potty-training children in his household. Anyway, it sounds like Brian doesn't think he can fix it so we'll probably end up buying a new one. I hope we (by which I mean Brian) get this done soon, because hauling laundry to mom's house is annoying enough when I'm not working, but is going to become a severe pain in the buttocks once I start work.

Oh, and speaking of pains in the anal region, Ruthie is constipated again. ;) I don't actually want to post about that. I just couldn't resist the perfect segue. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
So today was Ruthie's last day at daycare, and tomorrow she starts her new preschool. I feel weird about it all. On the one hand she's been at this daycare two years, and even when you've had as much trouble with a place as I've had there, you still form attachments which are hard to leave behind. OTOH, I know that this new place is going to be great for her, and for me.

The transition will probably be difficult for a bit, but we'll get through it. Ruthie has her brand-new lunchbox and sunglasses, her trusty flip-flops and teddy bear, and her newly blue-painted toenails. She's stylin'. ;)

It has been an eventful period in Ruthie's life. The whole dog-bite thing, the change of school, and she's also in the midst of potty training. a bit of potty talk and wonderings on how the school transition will affect her progress in that realm )

Anyway, her last day at the old place seemed to go fine. We brought cupcakes, and it turned out that another kid brought brownies because it was his last day too, so the kids got all sugared up. ;) At pickup time, all the teachers wanted hugs from Ruthie. The director said "if it doesn't work out, give us a call" which I guess was nice of her to say, even though I think there's a snowball's chance in hell of that happening. ;)

Meanwhile Isaac is going to the YMCA summer camp this week, which is ehh. It's fine, I guess, but most of the counselors are teenagers and there's less supervision than I would hope for. It's just one week so I'm gritting my teeth and going with it. Next week we have Monday and Tuesday off (no idea WHAT we'll do!) then he starts first grade on Wednesday, school Thursday, then off Friday through Monday for the Labor Day holiday, and resume school for real the following Tuesday. Whew! So it's going to be a busy couple of weeks. And on that note I better get to bed! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Our latest adventures in dog-bite aftercare )

In other Ruthie news, yesterday she wore underwear to daycare instead of a diaper, AND she stayed dry in them all day!!! Not a single accident!! I'm so excited. I can almost see the light at the end of the diaper-changing tunnel! :) She still asks for a diaper whenever she needs to poop, but hey, it's progress. Yay!

In unrelated news, I have decided that today's excursion is going to be a test run of the commute for the job that I'm really hoping to get. I'm going to take the bus from Ruthie's soon-to-be-new preschool, to the subway station, and then the subway to my hopefully-soon-to-be-new office, and see how long it takes. Of course, it won't be rush hour, so it's not a perfect test, but at least it'll give me an idea of what the situation looks like. Also, then I'll be right near the mall, where I've been wanting to go this week anyway. I'm going to be optimistic and buy some new work clothes. Or at least try some on. ;)

So anyway, I'm off to do that now. :) More later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (feminist)
Recently [livejournal.com profile] lunaris1013 wrote in her LJ that a woman should not go out in public without a bra if she is over 30, is bigger than a B cup, and has had two or more children. I am sure she's right about this. Still, all three of those things describe me, and I commit that infraction regularly. Am I repentant? I am not. But I have been thinking about this a lot lately.

On bras, furry legs, societal norms, feminism, conformity, and all that good stuff. This got pretty long, not surprisingly. )

Ahh, to be 22 again, when everything was clear-cut and nuance was irrelevant. heh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Wow, Ruthie had such the meltdown at bedtime tonight. I am exhausted. These two statements are related, but perhaps not in the immediately obvious way. I think that both Ruthie and I are suffering some major sleep deprivation due to the current state of our sleeping arrangements.

But I'm too tired to go into detail. heh.

of course, it also doesn't help that I'm fighting off a cold. And I got my period yesterday, way too early. I am very irritated about this. Just when I thought my periods were finally settling into a regular rhythm...But that's a whole other story.

It's a little hard not to laugh when a child is sobbing and blubbering out a completely incoherent "explanation" of what you did to make her cry (something to do with how I was reading the Dora book), but OTOH it's also sad to see a poor kid so, well, sad. And man oh man did she sack out like lightning when we finally lay down!

This week has been school vacation week and Isaac has been going to the "vacation camp" run by the agency that runs his afterschool program. Since vacation camp, unlike school, doesn't require you to arrive promptly at 8:10; and also since it's much closer to Ruthie's daycare, thus shortening the commute; we've thus gotten pretty lax with our mornings. And then with our evenings. All of which is a nice way of saying that I've been terrible about letting the kids stay up too late at night and take too long about waking up in the mornings. We're in for a rude awakening on Monday. I am determined to be better about bedtimes between now and then.

And on that note, I gotta get my own ass to bed soonest.

oops

Jan. 21st, 2009 10:14 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Wow, is it really that long since I posted? ack.

Well, last time I posted, I was afraid that Isaac would wake up barfing in the middle of the night, because he had complained of a tummyache. I'm pleased to report that he did not wake up barfing that night, or any other night since (*knock wood*). He has complained of pain in his tummy a few more times since, but it always seems to pass very quickly, so I don't know. I guess it's probably just gas or something.

As for me, I continued for quite a few days to feel mildly queasy every time I ate. It was really annoying. Then I had a bit of diarrhea one day and since then have been feeling okay again. I guess if that was my version of the virus that's going around (which I hear for some people can involve one day of vomiting followed by up to TEN days of diarrhea) then I'm okay with it!

Did my twitter from the last day of 2008 come through, where I talked about the books I read in '08? I set myself a goal for the year of 40, and read 43, so I'm pretty pleased. I'm going to go for 40 again this year, with a secondary goal of 50 if possible. I've already read 4 books in 2009 and am almost done with the fifth! go me!

(It helps that I now have a lengthy subway ride each morning and evening. Although sometimes much more lengthy than I would prefer -- like tonight when we sat in a station for 10 minutes and then were told to get off the train and had to wait for the next one. Ugh. The MBTA is just teh suck lately!)

I never got a chance to finish up posting about my new recipes in 2008, but uh, I made a bunch of 'em. Most importantly, I found a few that have/will become part of my permanent regular repertoire, which is great. And of course '08 was also the year I started baking my own bread, which continues to bring me a lot of satisfaction.

HEY! How about that big news event of the day yesterday?? President Obama! It still gives me chills! w00t.

Isaac apparently watched the inauguration at school, and his favorite part was "the pictures of the music," meaning the terrible hokey stock-footage of various American landmarks that they showed while Aretha was singing. LOL.

As for Ruthie, I asked her if she knows who Obama is, and she said yes. I said, oh, who is he, and she replied: "The CD!" I eventually figured out that she meant Libana, a musical group whose album "Night Passages" we listen to every night at bedtime. OMG LOL! :D

Oh so much more to post about...so little energy. this'll do for now.

oh, also

Jan. 13th, 2009 11:21 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Right now I'm fighting a sensation of impending doom, brought on by the suspicion/paranoia that we're about to get hit by this horrible stomach bug that's going around. From what I understand, it tends to involve one day of vomiting followed by up to TEN DAYS of diarrhea. Augh!

I myself have been feeling mildly queasy for several days but no major symptoms. Tonight as I was tucking Isaac in, he suddenly started crying and said his tummy hurt. I ran for a bucket, but in another moment he seemed fine and went right to sleep. So, you know, it could have been a gas bubble. Who knows?

I just have a bad feeling about this, is all.

And did I mention that the washing machine is having issues such that currently we can only do a very small load at a time and then must wait several hours before we can do another? Yeah, that's going to work if I have two barfy kids. oy.

On that note, I better get to bed. I really expect to be woken up quite shortly by a barfing kid. Of course, I'd love to be proven wrong. O pessimism, you are indeed a cruel mistress!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
A lot of crap has been going on lately, so here are a few quick positives to throw out.

For one, last weekend we went to Tufts Community Day with [livejournal.com profile] pekmez and Kata, which was a lot of fun; and there was a biology professor from Tufts demonstrating his bees, and he was running a raffle. And I won a free jar of honey from this guy's bees! I'm on a local honey kick lately, so I'm totally excited. I have to go over there and pick it up, hopefully tomorrow.

For another, I've managed to connect with a family at Isaac's school -- their son is in kindergarten but not in Isaac's class but he goes to the afterschool so he and Isaac have played together -- and they live right near Davis Square (where Ruthie's daycare is) and they have offered to pick up Isaac along with their kid, at least occasionally. The mom picked him up on Tuesday and it went great -- Isaac had a great time playing with Eli at their house, and didn't want to leave when I came to pick him up. Today the dad will be picking them up. I'm all excited about this (but also a little nervous trying to figure out whether there'll be anything I can do for them in return). Funnily enough, their 2-year-old is named Isaac! Which could get a little weird, lol. Anyway, so that's very cool. Also there are a couple of other kids Isaac seems to be connecting with, and I've given some of the parents my 411 so we can hopefully set up some playdates.

Also, we received a lovely box of hand-me-downs from an online friend. Three pairs of pants for Isaac, several pairs of pants and sweaters for Ruthie. This is great because Isaac has almost no pants left that a) still fit him and b) have intact knees. ;) They both still need more winter clothing, but every bit helps. And Isaac was totally excited to get a box in the mail with his name on it. :)

Finally, it seems that Ruthie has been using the potty a lot at daycare. This week on Tues and Wed they told me that she didn't pee or poop in her diaper a single time -- she used the potty every time she needed to go! She tells them when she needs to go, and then she takes off her diaper all by herself and uses the mini-toilet they have there. She hasn't been doing that at home (well, the taking off her diaper part ;) ) but I have high hopes. yay!

OK, so those are my four good things for the moment. :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Hello all my LJ friends! I am sorry to say that I have no idea what is going on with you. I haven't read my friends-list fully in ages. I have it as my browser homepage, and usually what ends up happening is that I open my browser and read whatever happen to be the 20 posts on the first page, and then get caught up into other stuff and never scroll back.

I feel a little weird about how out of touch I'm becoming with (what used to be) my major sources of online community, but well, that's how life is right now. I feel like there's just so much going on and I don't have enough brain to hold it all. Why do things have to keep on, like, happening?!

How am I? I am tired. Oh so tired. I find it hard to believe that I'll ever not be tired. I keep thinking that my life will be great, someday, when Ruthie learns how to sleep through the night. But so far it isn't happening. I feel I need to be doing something to help this along, but I'm too tired to figure out what, and then to commit to it. That's a whole other looonnnng post that I'll likely never write.

Isaac has been sick or "sick" a lot lately, as you may have read in my twitter posts. It has been confusing and frustrating. I'm now of the opinion that he was actually sick the first day (a week and a half ago) and since then has just been tired from school, plus is experimenting with the idea of "if I say my tummy hurts I get special attention." That's my current theory anyway. And yes, I had a talk with the afterschool people about the fact that you cannot just go "oh, he says his tummy hurts, he must be sick, let's call his mom." Dude, he's five. You need to exercise some frickin' judgment here.

Ruthie is doing well, aside from the whole not-sleeping thing. Daycare dropoffs are still iffy, but she's getting better all the time. And she's bursting with funny things to say, some of which I really hope to post here soon.

My mom is in Peru for two weeks. I am not panicking...give me a few more days. ;) Luckily we already have plans for both days of this weekend. Next weekend will be harder as it's a four-day one: Friday there's no school due to "teacher preparation day" and then Monday is Oppressing The Natives Day, oops I mean Columbus Day. ;) Luckily it seems that we already have plans for that Sunday and Monday; and our new babysitter (thanks to [livejournal.com profile] ww1614) will be able to watch Isaac for part of the day Friday, so hopefully we'll make it through. ;)

In case you missed it in my twitters, the other evening we came home to find Grover-kitty playing with an almost-but-not-quite-dead mouse. Yeah, that was definitely not one of my favorite moments in life. Ugh. :( On the plus side, I guess, now I know that Grover can catch a mouse. But then tonight kind of gross, sorry ) so now I get to fret about what to do about that. Argh!

Several family members and close family friends are having severe medical issues right now. This is definitely on my mind a lot lately.

Work is also in a very stressful and challenging (in both the good and the bad ways) phase right now. That's another post I'll probably not get a chance to write.

I guess that's about it in a nutshell. Okay, well, maybe a coconut shell. ;)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 10:18 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios