mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I don't even know where to start when it comes to "bringing this journal up to date," ha ha, so I'm going to ramble a bit about books I've read recently.

Belatedly last week I tried to update my "read in 2026" tag on LibraryThing, but I'm not entirely sure that I remembered everything I've read so far -- and there are some books I can't quite remember whether I read them in January or December so I didn't add them. But the tag currently has 19 books in it, which is pretty good for the end of March even if I'm not missing anything.

(Nine of those 19 are by T. Kingfisher aka Ursula Vernon, whose work is my latest intense obsession, but that's a topic for a different post)

A lot of those were rereads; I've been on a rereading spree over the past year or so and have reread a whole bunch of books/series that I hadn't read in a long, long time. Some of which were quite literally gathering dust on my shelves (*blush*). Among other things, I reread the Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold, the Ancillary series by Ann Leckie, the Jumper series by Stephen Gould, and the delightful "Sorcery and Cecelia" series by Patricia Wrede and Carolyn Stevermer. It has been SO interesting to discover how much, or in many cases how little, I remember about books that I loved in the past!

But the ones I'm going to talk about here are the Kestrel series by Kate Ross, because in that reread I had the unique experience of reading a book where I remembered one particular huge plot twist very clearly, while at the same time remembering absolutely nothing else about the plot!

This got long-ish so here's a cut. Is it still good etiquette to use cuts for long posts? Also, I'm trying really hard not to spoil much, because you should really read these books. )

I think my next series rereads are going to be the Russell/Holmes mysteries by Laurie King and the Temeraire dragon series by Naomi Novik. Those should keep me occupied for a little bit -- maybe even until the next Murderbot book comes out? (My intense obsession with Murderbot is probably yet another topic for another post....) Meanwhile I *am* also reading some new-to-me stuff, and of course recommendations are always welcome!

Today

Sep. 20th, 2014 09:30 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
(crossposted from Facebook)

Today we were at the library first thing, to get the next book in the series Ruthie is reading. She was super pissed the other night when she finished the previous book and we tried our nearby library branch and they didn't have the next one. So we got it at another branch today. I was impressed with how much of a crowd there was waiting for the library to open at 8:55am on a Saturday!

The funniest part of the day was when we went upstairs to the children's room, and just as we emerged from the stairwell, the children's librarian said "Hi Isaac." I turned to my son in amazement, asking, "how did she know your name?" The librarian's jaw dropped. It turned out she had been addressing her coworker, another librarian, who arrived from another direction just as we arrived. Too funny!

The best part of the day was how well the kids behaved when they had to sit through nearly five hours of my chorus rehearsal. I was soooooo pleased with how good (and quiet!) they were. And a number of fellow choristers came up to me afterward to say the same, so yay.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
We had quite a busy holiday weekend.

In which I nostalgically revisit the days when I used to post every little detail of our lives on livejournal ;) )

Yesterday, which was Monday, the July 4th holiday, Isaac suddenly developed a burning need to acquire the second book in the Captain Underpants series. I bought him the first book, I think last year on his birthday, but he has had nooooooooo interest in it whatsoever. Not even when a lot of his friends were tearing through the series. Not even when he devoured the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, which are at least somewhat similar. Nope, he refused to even touch Captain Underpants. But all of a sudden a couple of weeks ago he picked it up and read it. And as I said, yesterday he decided that he must have the second book. He wanted to go to the library and get it. I explained that the library was closed for the holiday. He pouted. Then he wanted to go to the bookstore and buy it. I let him look up the bookstore himself to see if it was open. Perhaps alarmingly ;) , he was able to use my computer to navigate to portersquarebooks.com all by himself, with no help from me. But he couldn't find the place where it said that they were closed on July 4th, so I found that for him, and he pouted some more.

So I said we could order the book on Amazon, and since I have Amazon Prime, it would arrive by Wednesday. He accepted that idea, so we went to Amazon and found that we could order books 2, 3, and 4 together for $80, or a boxed set of the first 5 books for $20. Even Isaac could see that the latter made more sense, so we ordered the boxed set.

To reiterate -- we placed the order on Monday, July 4th, the holiday. I didn't pay for expedited shipping; you get free 2-day shipping automatically with Amazon Prime. But the books arrived today -- the very next day!! Amazing.

And Isaac has already almost finished the second book in the series. Good thing we didn't order just that one! ;)

More to come...

oy!

May. 15th, 2010 12:04 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Oh life is just so busy and I want to post here but I don't and then I fall so far behind. augh.

So much has been happening! I shall attempt some bullet points.

* Mom had her last chemo treatment two weeks ago. This weekend we're having a party to celebrate. It's great to have chemo behind us, but now we have to wait and worry and wonder whether the cancer is going to come back. I'm staying positive though. I think everything will be fine.

* I bought a new fridge!! w00t!! I am loving it. I got the kind with the freezer on the bottom, which is great. I love not having to bend over to look for stuff in there. It has only been here a couple of weeks so it's still all nice and clean and shiny-looking. That won't last. ;)

* Isaac started Little League and is loving it. I'm discovering how erratic things can be when you have an all-volunteer organization. *roll eyes* Isaac's coach is not entirely dedicated to the task, shall we say, but a few of the other parents on the team have been stepping up, so it's going okay.

* Ruthie is toilet-trained!!! I am so freaking excited. No more diapers in our house! Well, we still have pull-ups for nighttime, but that doesn't count.

* Ruthie is also starting to read! I spelled some words on the fridge with letter magnets and was very surprised at how easily she sounded them out. This sentence shall serve as a placeholder for a lengthier musing on how different are the learning paths of the first vs. second child, based on parental involvement/attention level. ;)

* Maybe you heard that we had a water emergency here in the Boston area. A pipe burst and we weren't supposed to drink (or wash hands with, or cook with) the tap water for several days. It was an adventure. It made me think deep thinky thoughts about privilege, luxuries, assumptions, all that good stuff.

* I continue to read a lot. My "read in 2010" tag on LibraryThing is up to 21 books. I just finished The Girl Who Played With Fire, the second in the Millennium series, and am on the edge of my seat waiting for the third book, which [livejournal.com profile] ww1614 kindly offered to send me. w00t.

* Stuff is happening at work, but I'm not talking about that right now. Oh, but I will say that I got a cost-of-living raise, which is nice. It only amounts to about 2.5% of my salary, but every little bit helps.

That's about it for now. But I'll close with a few funny things the kids have said lately. )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Long time no post, again - oy!

OK, well, we had Ruthie's birthday party a couple weekends ago. It was...well...I guess from Ruthie's point of view it was a success, because she had fun and ate cake and got presents. From my point of view it was kind of a disaster though because none of the people we had invited (other than family) showed up. :(

the disappointing details )

Oh well. Lessons learned.

On the mom front, my mom has finished 5 out of 6 rounds of chemo, and is doing very well. After the first four were done, she started to have some side effects -- ringing in her ears, tingling/numbness in feet -- and so, after much discussion with the various medical people, they eventually decided to switch to a different drug for the last two treatments. This new drug is supposed to be much milder in terms of side effects. I went with mom to the chemo treatment this past Monday; her fifth treatment but the first with the new drug. It seems to have gone well. She is feeling fine so far, *knock wood*. She has been feeling very tired -- the cumulative effect of all the chemo -- so I guess we can hope that from here on out she will slowly regain her energy. The final treatment will be 4 weeks away (well, 3.5 now I guess) and then it'll be time to celebrate!

Baseball season has started up, and Isaac is immediately obsessed. ;) It sucks that so many of the games start at 7pm, which means he only gets to watch a little bit before he has to get to bed. We can TiVo the games for him to watch the next day though. And on nights when there's no Red Sox game, he can watch other games, since I upgraded our cable service and we now get the MLB Channel. Last night he ended up watching the Braves vs. Cubs.

I did sign Isaac up for Little League which begins at the end of this month. He's starting to get excited about it. Several of his friends are also signed up, so I hope that some of them will end up on his team. It should be fun.

Ruthie is still resisting my attempts to finish potty-training *Sigh*. After months of saying that she would start pooping in the potty "when I'm four," she turned 4 and now is saying "when I'm five." Um, no. So I won't go into gory detail on this one ;) but suffice to say it is driving me slightly crazy. ;)

Other than that (and the occasional tantrum ;) ) Ruthie is doing great. She loves to play pretend with any kind of pretend people she can get her hands on. For her birthday, grandma gave her a few Lego people, including one set that has a mini-spaceship/hovercar, a policeman, and an alien. The premise is supposed to be that the alien robbed a bank and the cop chases him on the hovercar -- it even comes with a teeny $100 bill that fits in the alien's hand -- but the first thing Ruthie did after we put it all together was make the cop and alien hold hands, and then insisted on figuring out how to get them both onto the hovercar to ride it together. all together now, "awwwww!" ;)

I just got my tax refund direct-deposited yesterday. I got a whopping $3700!! Wow! I deliberately set my withholdings high when I started this job, because I had spent so much time on unemployment last year and didn't have any taxes withheld from that. I guess I overestimated how much I needed to compensate. ;) woo woo! So I am thinking of using part of the refund to buy a new refrigerator. There's this rebate program starting on Earth Day, April 22nd, where you can get $200 back if you buy an Energy-Star fridge. (There are also rebates for dishwashers and other appliances. But I think this program is only active in MA.) I have to find time to go fridge-shopping in the near future. I may also be using some of that tax refund to travel, but that's a post for another time.

In book-reading news, I have read fifteen books so far in 2010, which I think is great. Some ramblings on some of the books I've read recently )

I could go on and on (ha ha...state the obvious much?) but that's enough of an update for now....
mamajoan: me in hammock (reading)
I don't want to talk about yesterday's election here in MA. Let's just skip it, okay? Thx.

I wrote the other day that I've already read 5 books in 2010. I thought I'd try to write just a little brief thing about each one. I wanted to start with the most recent, which was Free-Range Kids by Lenore Skenazy. You may have heard of her; she caused a huge controversy a couple of years ago when she wrote a column about letting her 9-year-old son ride the NYC subway by himself. People called her "the worst mother in America" and similar delightful things, which prompted her to start this sort of "movement" which she calls Free-Range: the idea that it's okay, even beneficial, to give your kids some freedoms.

So the book talks about how America got to this place now where parents are afraid to let their kids do anything at all unsupervised, take any risks. Parents who drive their kids to school even though it's a short walk -- or worse, drive them to the bus stop! Parents who put helmets and kneepads on their babies while they're learning to crawl and walk. Parents who won't even let their kids play on the lawn because they could be abducted or who knows what. Skenazy debunks all this stuff by talking about how truly astronomically unlikely these things are, and delves a bit into the psychology of how we came to be so fearful (hint: blame the media), and offers some suggestions for how each of us can work on being a more Free-Range type parent. She writes in a friendly, witty sort of way, which is also how she writes her blog and Twitters (which in turn is what got me interested in reading the book).

So I enjoyed reading her book, but I fear that it's kind of preaching to the choir. I don't think there are really going to be all that many parents who pick it up and go "OMG she's so right! I must completely change my way of parenting starting today!" Maybe some people who are sort of on the edge will benefit from it, I guess. I personally did appreciate all the research and statistics she quoted, to show that kids are pretty safe nowadays, as well as the information about how they do things in other countries. (One thing that stuck out for me was that in modern-day Germany, a kid at the age of three is considered old enough to go down to the corner bakery to pick up the day's bread. Alone! I think about my 3-year-old Ruthie, and...well, yeah. I can just barely see it, if we lived in a more suburban type area, and if I didn't have to worry about having Child Protective Services called on me.) I also found it interesting to learn that in all of recorded history there is not a single actual substantiated case of a child being poisoned by Halloween candy by a stranger. And those are just a couple of examples.

Anyway, good book. And the others I've read so far this year are:
* Julie and Julia by Julie Powell, which I felt a little embarrassed reading on the subway because I don't want people to think I'm just jumping on the bandwagon now that there's a movie out. I kept wanting to yell "I've had it on my Amazon wishlist for years! I swear!" ;) It was pretty good and now I'm interested in checking out the movie at some point.
* One Amazing Thing by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, via the Early Reviewers program at LibraryThing.com. An interesting story of people trapped in a visa office after an earthquake, telling each other stories of why they are trying to go to India.
* In the Company of Cheerful Ladies by Alexander McCall Smith. What can I say, the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series continues to delight. I never want it to end! And yes, I want to see the TV show too, which my mom has seen some of and says it's great. Some day I'll get around to that.
* Sorcery and Cecilia by Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer, one of those books I've had on my wishlist for ages, and now that I finally read it I'm wondering why I waited so long!

And now I am reading Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro.

Hmm, I was going to talk about other stuff in this post too, but it got long so I'll save it for another time.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Mom started chemo last Monday. So far, knock on wood, it seems to be not-too-bad. She basically seems to have had one day of feeling like utter crap, then a couple days of feeling moderately crappy and very tired. By today, six days later, we spent the day at her house and she seemed fine. I mean we only did calm quiet stuff -- she spent a lot of time sitting and watching football with Isaac -- but I think from the kids' point of view she was pretty much her usual self, which I hope was reassuring for them.

Isaac has been having some "behavioral issues" at home and school, which I wonder how much of it is related to worry about his grandma. I don't really know what to make of that or do about it. She still has five more chemo treatments, three weeks apart; and if this first time is any indication, she's not going to be able to spend the Wednesdays with Isaac that he's used to, at least the first one after each treatment -- I think that if all goes as it has been going, she'll be fine for the next two Wednesdays, but that still means that every third one is going to be different and that will be hard for him. :(

Anyway, getting back to mom, so I really hope that this first cycle is indicative of how it's going to be each time. Because, although the couple of bad days did suck, they were nowhere near as bad as they could have been. Of course, that's easy for me to say since I didn't actually experience them! -and maybe mom is downplaying it for my benefit, but I don't think so. So, keep your fingers crossed that the rest of chemo will go equally smoothly, and will fly right by and be over before we know it. Oy.

In other news, it's January 17th and I have already read five books in 2010. Go me! :) Also I don't think I mentioned that I started reading chapter books with Isaac, a chapter or two per night. We read James and the Giant Peach and Pippi Longstocking and now we're starting on Alice in Wonderland. Isaac is really enjoying it. Ruthie OTOH has no patience for it, alas, but she has to suffer through it anyway. heh.

OK, enough for now.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Happy New Year! I'm not going to do an actual "2009 in review" post, because those are boring (sorry, but they are). Let's just say that it was quite an eventful year for me, in good and bad ways. Of course, it drew to a close with me getting a good new job and my mom getting cancer, so that sort of sums up the whole thing, in a way.

On another note, I ended up with a total of 43 books read in 2009, which, funnily enough, was also my total for 2008. I might have made it to 44 if not for Ruthie getting sick last week. I had to spend most of the day on Tues and Wed at home with her, which was not exactly conducive to reading. ;)

I did almost no reading at all during the time I was unemployed in 2009, which was about 4-5 months. So it's kind of amazing to think how many I might have read if I had been employed that whole time! Of course, during Jan-April, I got a lot of reading done because I had a longer subway commute -- eight stops from Davis to South Station, whereas now I just go four stops from Davis to Kendall. So, we'll see what shakes out for 2010. I hope to make it at last to 50 books, which should be doable. I've already finished one book in 2010: Julie and Julia which I've had on my wishlist for probably two or three years now. I was annoyed to find that they had made it into a movie, because that makes me look like I'm jumping on the bandwagon when I'm reading it on the subway. In fact, yesterday a guy at the bus stop actually asked me whether I had seen the movie. Siiiigh. Oh well. It was a pretty good read and I am interested in seeing the movie now. It might be fun.

In other new year / holiday news, I got us a Wii for [insert December holiday here]. So far it's a pretty big hit. Isaac is LOVING the sports games, especially the tennis, baseball, and golf. He really gets moving when he plays the tennis, which is what I wanted from the Wii -- to help us get out some of our cabin-fever energy during the winter. Toward that end I also got Dance Dance Revolution yesterday, although both kids hated it on first look -- perhaps because it was just me dancing and them watching ;) -- or maybe because they wanted to be playing A Boy And His Blob.

[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd got me A Boy And His Blob, or "boy and blob" as we call it in our household. It's an adventure/puzzle type game where you are a little boy who travels around various worlds (sort of vaguely Mario-style, with jumping over things, running, avoiding monsters, etc.) with your pet blob. The blob is an alien creature that came to earth to find you to help him. You feed the blob various jelly-beans which transform him into various different useful tools, like a ladder, parachute, jack, etc. So, the puzzles in each level are about figuring out which beans to use on the blob in order to get through. Along the way you collect treasure chests and there are various different kinds of monsters that you have to kill or avoid.

Anyway, it's a lot of fun, and challenging. Some of the puzzles are quite tricky to figure out. Isaac is enjoying that aspect of it, discovering the thrill of how good it feels to figure it out and get it right -- especially when he suggests something and I say "I don't think that will work" but then it does. Which happens entirely too often. ;) Ruthie mostly just likes watching, and occasionally I let her push the button that makes the boy call the blob or give him a hug. (Sometimes the blob gets scared and you have to hug him to calm him down. Really. It's cute. ;) ) Occasionally they get scared -- there's one particular type of adversary that Ruthie really doesn't like and she gets upset whenever we encounter one of those. Also, after every ten levels, you have to fight a huge monster in order to progress to the next world (this is called a "boss level") and those big monsters terrify both the kids. Literally they are both in tears hiding their faces when we get to that point. So I end up finishing those levels after the kids go to bed. ;)

So that has occupied a lot of our time lately. We're almost through all the levels, which I'm glad about because I'm thinking that after we finish it we can take a break. ;) Although I'm sure the kids will want to go right back to the beginning and start over again! oy. ;)

OK, I have more but this is long enough for now ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (reading)
You know how sometimes you read a book that's so damn good, you just want it to go on forever? And as soon as you finish it, you want more? You rush right off to find out whether there's a sequel?

Yeah, so what really sucks is finding out that not only is there no sequel, but that the book was in fact the last one the author wrote before she tragically died at a far-too-young age. :(

If you've seen my tweets you may have already guessed that I'm talking about Fledgling by Octavia Butler. I finished it this morning and damn, that book rocked my socks. I already knew it was sad and tragic that Octavia died too soon, but now I'm even more bummin'.

I want to write a whole long post about this book, all the things it has to say about race and sexuality and human relationships, and what a genius she was to accomplish all that in a vampire story...but it's late and I still have bread to bake, ack. So it'll have to wait. But in the meantime, get yourself a copy of this book! What are you waiting for? Go!

effluvia

Mar. 26th, 2009 09:54 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (reading)
Eons ago (well, sometime before 2004), I was at a Worldcon (that's the World Science Fiction Convention to you mundanes) and someone handed me a free book. This happens frequently at Worldcon, which is one of the many things to love about it.

Anyway, I had never heard of the author, but I read a few pages and it failed to grab me so I set it aside.

Years went by, and then a week or two ago I was looking for something to read while I waited impatiently for the fifth [livejournal.com profile] naominovik book to arrive, so I picked up the aforementioned free book again. This time I got farther into it, and managed to plow through the whole thing. The book, by the way, is The Ill-Made Mute by Cecilia Dart Thornton.

You know, sometimes you read a book that's so well-written that you don't even mind that the story itself is not really all that interesting or original. Conversely, sometimes a story can be so gripping that you can overlook writing that's maybe not the best.

And then there are those times when neither of those apply, and yet, you keep reading. Why? Who knows?

This is not a bad book. The story is somewhat cliched but with a few interesting twists. But man oh man, if there isn't a word for the scifi-fantasy version of purple prose, we'll have to invent one just for Cecilia Dart-Thornton. Oy.

Try this excerpt on for size:
Here where the sun never shone, a bone-coldness permeated -- the intense frigidity of stone that had never quickened to the touch of the day-star. Yet even though the river flowed somewhere high above, no dampness reached out clammy fingers or slid weeping down the walls. The air was not dank or musty or tinged with the odors of subterranean centuries -- soil, stone, roots, pale, soft-bodied things that hid from light -- instead it was as sweet as the free and blowing airs of the upper world, which carried the scnet of flowers and leaves and the subtle freshness of clear skies.
Oy. Or this:
"Fair device!" he exclaimed, his eyes alighting upon the container of blueberries. "This horn is wrought more cunningly than any I have seen." He picked it up, turning it in his hands. Berries scattered like beads of lapis lazuli. "Its aspect is antique," he murmured to himself, "yet it is as unblemished as if newly made. Such curious and exquisite craftsmanship! Methinks this is some family heirloom, perhaps fashioned during the Era of Glory."
I say again OY. And the entire book is like that -- nearly 500 pages (hardcover) of that kind of language. It's unbelievable really. It started to take on a kind of morbid fascination, as I kept wondering whether she could really keep it up throughout the entire book. And indeed, she could.

And then the dang book ended without wrapping up the whole plot! I knew it was the first of a trilogy, but sheesh.

So now I find myself in the interesting position of wanting to know what happens, but not wanting to actually READ the other books. I wonder if I can just read the Amazon reviews and learn enough to satisfy my curiosity. heh.

In related news, my "read in 2009" tag on LibraryThing now contains fifteen books. Go me! :)

Also, completely randomly, here's a muffin recipe. )
mamajoan: me in hammock (reading)
My "read in 2009" tag on LibraryThing is up to 8 books, shortly to be 9. I read six in January! Well on my way to another 40-book year. :)

Books I have read thus far in 2009:

* In the Garden of Iden and its sequel Sky Coyote by Kage Baker. It's a long story, but I have been waiting to read these two books for literally years -- maybe a decade. (I SAID it's a long story.) And they did not disappoint! I've gotta get hold of the rest of the sequels. Huge thanks to [livejournal.com profile] hawkeye7 for sending me the first book.

* Bonk by Mary Roach is a sometimes hilarious, sometimes horrifying romp through the weird world of sex research throughout the ages. Highly entertaining. Her Stiff (about the weird world of mortuaries) is on my to-read-very-soon pile.

* The Last Colony by John Scalzi was, I must say, a disappointing end to (what started out as) a great series. I felt the book was just weak overall, and with an enormous plot point left dangling unresolved, which drives me nuts. Possibly this would be resolved in his Zoe's Tale which takes place in the same universe, but I dunno.

* Three Cups of Tea is nonfiction about this guy Greg Mortenson who made it his life's work to build schools for girls in Pakistan. It's a fascinating story, and certainly an uplifting subject, but the writing style made me want to throw things.

* The Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon is a near-future scifi story about an autistic man who is offered the chance to undergo treatment that might cure his autism. So right away you're thinking "Flowers for Algernon" but it's not really like that at all. It's quite a moving story and gives you lots to think about. I'd recommend it.

* The Milk Memos was written by two moms who worked at IBM and met each other while pumping their breastmilk in the lactation room at work. It's all about the life of a working, breastfeeding, pumping mom. I wish I had had this book back when Isaac was first born and I started back to work. I'm definitely going to be making it my new standard gift for any woman I know who gets knocked up and is likely to be returning to work. It does a great job of covering all the usual (but not often talked about in "mainstream" parenting books) pitfalls and issues of the working-and-pumping mom, with lots of humor and compassion. Really good stuff.

* And last but definitely not least, His Majesty's Dragon by Naomi Novik: another book I've been wanting to read for ages. Thanks [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd for giving it to my mom so I could borrow it! ;) I can't recall who first recommended this series to me, but whoever it was and whatever s/he said, it convinced me that this would be a dragon book I'd actually like. ;) And they were so very right! Normally I avoid dragon books like the plague, but here's the perfect exception. I'm almost done with the second in the series now, which will be my #9 for the year. :) w00t!

anyway, so there you have it -- my reading list so far for the year. :) More to come!

oops

Jan. 21st, 2009 10:14 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Wow, is it really that long since I posted? ack.

Well, last time I posted, I was afraid that Isaac would wake up barfing in the middle of the night, because he had complained of a tummyache. I'm pleased to report that he did not wake up barfing that night, or any other night since (*knock wood*). He has complained of pain in his tummy a few more times since, but it always seems to pass very quickly, so I don't know. I guess it's probably just gas or something.

As for me, I continued for quite a few days to feel mildly queasy every time I ate. It was really annoying. Then I had a bit of diarrhea one day and since then have been feeling okay again. I guess if that was my version of the virus that's going around (which I hear for some people can involve one day of vomiting followed by up to TEN days of diarrhea) then I'm okay with it!

Did my twitter from the last day of 2008 come through, where I talked about the books I read in '08? I set myself a goal for the year of 40, and read 43, so I'm pretty pleased. I'm going to go for 40 again this year, with a secondary goal of 50 if possible. I've already read 4 books in 2009 and am almost done with the fifth! go me!

(It helps that I now have a lengthy subway ride each morning and evening. Although sometimes much more lengthy than I would prefer -- like tonight when we sat in a station for 10 minutes and then were told to get off the train and had to wait for the next one. Ugh. The MBTA is just teh suck lately!)

I never got a chance to finish up posting about my new recipes in 2008, but uh, I made a bunch of 'em. Most importantly, I found a few that have/will become part of my permanent regular repertoire, which is great. And of course '08 was also the year I started baking my own bread, which continues to bring me a lot of satisfaction.

HEY! How about that big news event of the day yesterday?? President Obama! It still gives me chills! w00t.

Isaac apparently watched the inauguration at school, and his favorite part was "the pictures of the music," meaning the terrible hokey stock-footage of various American landmarks that they showed while Aretha was singing. LOL.

As for Ruthie, I asked her if she knows who Obama is, and she said yes. I said, oh, who is he, and she replied: "The CD!" I eventually figured out that she meant Libana, a musical group whose album "Night Passages" we listen to every night at bedtime. OMG LOL! :D

Oh so much more to post about...so little energy. this'll do for now.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I just posted this book review on LibraryThing.com and thought I'd post it here too. It's a review of Any Given Doomsday by Lori Handeland. This book will not actually be published until November; I received a copy of it thanks to LibraryThing's Early Reviewers program.

This book is part of a genre that I'm not too familiar with, which I believe is called paranormal romance: romance novels with supernatural stuff thrown in. I guess we have "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" to blame/thank for the popularity of this genre. I'll freely admit to being a Buffy fan, but when it comes to reading, I tend to prefer hard scifi.

All that is just to say that I'm not very familiar with the genre so I don't know how this book stacks up against others of its ilk. But it definitely borrows heavily from the "Buffy" paradigms. I'm not saying that Joss Whedon should be on the phone to his lawyers right now, but there are a LOT of similarities.

Lengthy Plot Summary here. Massive spoilers. Also lots of snark. )

The bottom line is that this book is not my cup of tea. The writing is of acceptable quality - not great, but Liz does get off a few good one-liners that got me smiling - the plotting is fast-paced, the paranormal stuff appropriately creepy, and the sex scenes fairly steamy. But the whole thing just feels kind of hackneyed. There's nothing new here, from a literary perspective, and the sex stuff just seems gratuitous and, as I said above, borderline offensive. But again, I'm speaking as one who has thus far intentionally avoided this entire genre, so take it with a grain of salt. If this genre is your thing, you will probably enjoy this book, and its sure-to-be-multiple sequels.
mamajoan: me in hammock (reading)
No news from the doctor yet about Ruthie's condition. I shall keep you posted. (really!)

Meanwhile, here's a rundown on some of the books I've read recently. )

My total books read for 2008 is now up to 33! Go me! :) My "Read in 2008" tag on LibraryThing.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Behind the cut is the update I was writing this afternoon before I got "The Call" from daycare. It basically talks about what we did this weekend (not much) and what I've been cooking and reading lately.

the update )

And that's how far I had gotten when Ruthie's daycare called to tell me that she had a 102 fever. Not entirely unexpected, since she had been very runny-nosed for a day or so, and actually we were all very late for school/work this morning because I let her sleep in. She was all wheezy and snore-y from congestion. Anyway, so I went and picked her up, and we had to go past Isaac's preschool to get our car, and I was just going to get the car and go home for an hour (it was 4:15) but Ruthie got all upset, "Pick up my bwuh-zoo [brother]!! I'm-a play wif him!" so whatever, we picked him up too.

Then we went home and both kids were totally bouncing off the walls and I was disgruntled. The way I see it, if a kid's going to make me leave work early and disrupt my whole day, she could at least have the decency to act sick. ;P Also we discovered that the cat had barfed up a hairball on Ruthie's bed, which made quite an impression. She followed him around for a bit going "Don't! Throw! Up! Oday? Oday! Don't!"

And later there was the adventure with the mouse. But this post is already long enough so I'll save that for another post.

In any case, since the daycare has that frickin' 24-hour rule, I can't bring Ruthie back there tomorrow, so I'll have to take the day off. And I just know she's going to be totally chipper and fine and not sick at all, and she'll run me ragged. urgh!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Urgh, where to begin....

Friday, Ruthie was sick. the minutiae thereof )

Anyway, she seemed basically fine this morning so I took her off to daycare as usual and my fingers are crossed.

On Saturday we went out to the cottage with my mom again. [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd and Baz were there, having slept over Friday night, so we played with them and had a cookout and then we all slept over. SK and Baz slept in a tent on the lawn, which they seem to have quite enjoyed (sooner them than me ;) ). Sunday, the kids woke up around 7:30. Or was it 8? I can't remember, because my mom took them outside and let me go back to sleep. Have I mentioned recently how great my mom is? ;) I slept till just about 10am. It was a gorgeous day and we spent the rest of it doing the usual cottage things. Isaac is getting much more confident in the water, splashing and floating on floats and all that kind of thing, which is great to see. Ruthie, of course, has been confident from the beginning. I swear that kid will be the death of me. She just walks right into the water up to her chin and would keep on going if someone didn't grab her! Oy!

Anyway, fun was had by all, and Ruthie and Baz at least were kind enough to take turns engaging in 2-year-old typical behavior, rather than doing it all at once. ;)

Then we packed up and came home, which is always sad. snif snif.

Last week I read The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I must say I was underwhelmed. I'd heard so much about it, but it failed to really affect me the way it obviously did many others. Not really sure why. But I'm still glad I read it, and looking forward to discussing it with bookclub starting tomorrow.

I started in on The Dreams Our Stuff Is Made Of, which has been sitting on my to-be-read pile for ages and the news that Tom Disch (the author) had committed suicide pushed me to grab it. But then at the cottage I felt a need for some fiction, so I also started on A College of Magics by Caroline Stevermer, and I'm about 3/4 through that now and really enjoying it despite the only-average-quality writing and the large number of fantasy cliches. I guess that didn't really sell it, eh? I think I shall actually reserve judgment until I finish the thing. But really, I am enjoying it and eager to see where the plot's going to go.

In other random news, we have decided to try calling our new kitty Grover instead of Chubby. It's hard to tell yet whether that's going to stick, since we're still in that phase where we mostly call him "Chu-I-mean-Grover." But he definitely needs a name other than Chubby, because he's really very svelte.

I think that's all the news that's fit to print for the moment...more to come, one hopes....
mamajoan: me in hammock (don't panic 2)
Y hello thar livejournal! How have you been? Whassup? Have you missed me? ;) Sorry I haven't been around much. It's been a busy week, and also I've unfortunately discovered this ridiculously addictive Facebook game called PackRat. Don't check it out, srsly, I am warning you. It will eat up all your not-really-copious-at-all free time.

Anyway! How to get caught up? Well, Isaac had a good birthday. He and his grandma took an Amtrak down to Providence and back, about which he was unbelievably excited. Then in the evening we all went out to dinner and he got a couple of gifts. But he'll be getting a lot more gifts tomorrow at his actual birthday party.

And speaking of the party, I am off work today in order to prepare for it! Today's very important to-do list includes:
* mow lawn
* clean house
* shop for supplies
* figure out whether we have enough tables/chairs and if not, what the heck to do about that
* acquire another birthday present, and something for Ruthie
* wrap presents

And more, I'm sure, but those are the most important items. And what have I accomplished so far today?
* drop kids off at daycare/school
* mail bookmooch book
* cook and eat leisurely breakfast
* play PackRat

d'oh. Guess I better get crackin'.

But before that, I'll just spew a bit more update-y goodness behind this here lj-cut. misc updates on kitty, books, food, Ruthie, and who knows what-all else )

I have lots more, of course, but it's time to get off my ass now and start the mowing. Whee!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
* The concert last Sunday went quite well. I hope I shall have a chance to write more about it at some point. (I say that a lot, don't I? sigh.)

* Monday was a glorious day both weather-wise and activity-wise. We spent basically the whole day in the back yard, with six(!) other kids coming over to play at various points. The fabulously wonderful [livejournal.com profile] wneleh was kind enough to bring us an enormous play structure that her kids have outgrown, and my kids and their friends LOOOOOVED it. She brought it over in pieces, and as we were putting it back together, the kids were literally climbing all over it. It was all "Get down from there! Don't crawl through the tunnel until it's hooked up! Climb down off that! Have a little patience!" LOL. Anyway, this thing is teh awesome. I shall post pix at some point. The kids are lovin' it and it's going to be great for Isaac's party.

* However, the lesson learned from Monday is that it's about damn time to buy a new bottle of sunscreen. I acquired quite the sunburn across my shoulders and upper back, and it is rather painful these last couple of days, making wearing my backpack -- or even clothes! -- somewhat uncomfy. d'oh. Fortunately the kids seem to have gotten off easier (though I keep meaning to ask [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd whether Baz got any burned, since he's so much fairer than my kids -- and he was looking quite pink by the time we decided we had better get him inside. yikes).

* Apparently I have agreed to foster for an unknown period of time a kittycat whose people are looking for a cat-friendly apartment (long story). The timing is unclear but it seems we'll be taking custody of "Chubby" within the next few days. I'm excited! and also a bit nervous, but it will all work out somehow.

* Isaac has developed an unhealthy fascination with the Weather Channel widget on my Firefox (it shows little icons in the status bar to tell you the weather for right now, later today/tonight, and tomorrow). He runs over to check it like every five minutes. It is kind of annoying, LOL.

* Ruthie's daycare teacher today said that Ruthie is "such a happy kid," always laughing and cheerful. That was so nice to hear. She is mostly like that at home too, except for the occasional screechy tantrum of course, heh.

* Tonight I made pancakes out of How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. I've made pancakes before of course, but never this simply from a recipe, so I'll count it as number, uh, 32 I think? (edit #33) Anyway I subbed whole-wheat flour and cornmeal for half the flour, and they came out too dense and the kids didn't really like them much, alas. ah well.

* I finished re-reading Stranger in a Strange Land and then read Grammar for the Soul, a totally delightful little book by a guy who is a friend of my mom's and the dad of one of my best childhood friends. It's basically centered around the premise that the grammar we use affects our mindset and attitudes -- and vice versa -- and that by mindfully changing our grammar we can positively affect our mental/emotional state. Okay, it sounds hokey but it's really a fun, witty, engaging, and thought-provoking book. I really enjoyed it (obviously). Highly recommended.

* And now I am reading Imaro by Charles Saunders, which I believe was recommended by [livejournal.com profile] morgan_dhu.

* And of course I have lots more to post about but that's enough for now.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Another weekend come and gone. alas.

Saturday morning was notable for Ruthie waking up with her face covered in blood. She has recently discovered the joys(?) of picking her nose, and tends to cause some bleeding, but this was definitely the most extreme yet. I cleaned her up and, later after we had fully woken up, I clipped her fingernails as short as I could get them. Of course I'm also working on teaching her not to pick her nose, but that's a longer-term project.

Later in the day Isaac was getting dressed, and he went naked into the bathroom to pee, and came out again saying "Look mama, I'm bleeding!" It turns out that he was not in fact injured at all; he just thought that would be a funny thing to say. *headdesk* That's okay. I didn't need those last ten years of my life anyway. Groan!

Aside from that, on Saturday we took an excursion to the toy store to get gifts for two of Isaac's friends. It could have been a five-minute drive, but we chose to go by bus, which meant it took about half an hour going and more like an hour coming back. But the kids loved it. ;) I figured it would be a good trip to do by public trans. because they would consider it entertainment, and I've been reading so much about carbon footprints. And anyway I'm tired of driving everywhere.

Anyway, so that was fun and we also got a set of toy pots and utensils for our play kitchen. Now all we need is some play food.

On Sunday we went to the birthday party for Isaac's two preschool friends who share a birthday. It was pretty fun. Unfortunately it was pouring rain so we were all stuck inside -- about 15 kids and about the same number of parents. It was chaos. Utter chaos I tell you! But the kids had fun and no blood was shed, so I'd call it a success. ;)

I finished reading Walk to the End of the World by Suzy McKee Charnas, which was definitely not what I had been expecting. When I picked up a scifi book written in the 1970s by a female author, I figured it would be subversive, but I sure wasn't expecting hot boy-on-boy action in maintext! Yow! That was some good stuff. ;) Unfortunately it ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, so I shall be racing right out to see if I can lay my hands on a copy of the sequel.

And yesterday I started reading Stranger in a Strange Land, the classic Heinlein masterpiece, which I have of course read several times, but the last was quite a few years ago. [livejournal.com profile] mofic chose it for our book club for this month, and it should be interesting. I'm quite looking forward to the re-read.

I had a dr appointment this morning that was mostly uneventful )

Oh, I also did some cooking this weekend, but this post is already pretty long and I have a lot of work, so I'll write about that later.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:00 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios