mamajoan: me in hammock (us at fenway)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Well, the Red Sox game last night was pretty much teh awesome. It had a little of everything: two very popular players returning for the first time after lengthy absences due to injury; some big hits, some big mistakes by the opposing team (incl. a fielder dropping an easy pop-up, and a pitcher walking four batters in a row); a pair of brothers facing each other for the first time (one as a pitcher, the other as a batter); and of course, the enormous roar of delight from the crowd when the left-field scoreboard showed us that Tampa Bay had come back from a 5-0 deficit to lead the Yankees 6-5. (Aside from the awesomeness of that moment itself, it was also pretty funny to see the Red Sox pitcher on the mound whirling around from side to side in confusion, wondering why the crowd had suddenly burst into cheers in between pitches.) And of course, the Sox won the game, and the Yankees lost their game, so the Sox's magic number is down to 3 and things are getting pretty exciting here in almost-the-playoffs land.

The biggest downside of the game was the people sitting behind us: four overly beered-up men in their 40s who were extremely loudly playing some sort of game that reminded me of Calvinball (in that the rules appeared to be made up on the spot and changed at whim). Apparently it involved each of them "claiming" one of the players on the field, and then based on what that player did at his at-bat, the fan in question gave to or received from his friends a certain number of dollar bills. It definitely sounded like they were making up the rules as they went along, because it was like "No, it's one buck if he grounds out and two if he grounds into a double play" and then it was "Your guy walked, you owe me a buck" and then it was "If your guy gets a hit, you get a dollar, but if he's Japanese, you get fifty cents," or who knows what the fuck. Every other batter, the main guy was like, "That's my guy!" and demanding dollars from the other guys and claiming to be keeping careful track of who owed what -- yeah right.

It would have been funny if -- well, okay, it kind of was funny, but it would have been funnier and less annoying if they hadn't been SO LOUD, and if the guy sitting directly behind me had had any respect for my personal space. Seriously like every thirty seconds he was bumping my shoulders with his knees, his hands, his plastic cup of beer. Okay, he was a big guy and the seats at Fenway are small, but STILL. Come on. [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic is a large individual, and yet I'd venture to guess that *he* doesn't constantly invade the personal space of the people sitting in front of him when he goes to Fenway. :P

Also, the guy spilled beer all over my seat at one point and then copped a 'tude when I bitched at him about it. And one of his friends said, "actually, he peed," which I'm sure he THOUGHT was funny. Seriously it makes me wonder if people like that wake up the next morning and think, "omg, I said WHAT to some poor random chick who was just trying to watch the game??" Probably not though. On the plus side, after my mom finally got fed up and asked them to keep it down, the other three guys did make an effort to be quieter about it, and to shush their obnoxious friend. With limited success, but at least they tried.

Oh, and one more thing before I let it go. ;) Note to all fans of baseball anywhere and everywhere: When a foul ball comes sailing in your general direction, and you yell, "I got it!", this is only a teeny little bit funny...the first time. The second time, even less so. And by the third time, it's not funny at all any more -- just sad. Find a new schtick, STAT.

After the game was over and most people had left and we were gathering up our stuff to leave, I saw something fall from the upper deck of seats and land a few rows ahead of me. I thought it was a baseball, so I ran after it. It turned out to be a cellphone. I looked up and saw a woman waving at me; she signaled that she'd meet me down below on the lower level, so mom and I went there and looked for her, but couldn't find her. I eventually turned the phone in at the service desk. I hope she got it back. (Funny: When I picked it up, I said "oh, I thought it was a ball," and my mom thought I said "I thought it was a bomb." So she was like, "you thought it was a bomb, and you ran TOWARD it?" LOL! Not likely!)

Alas, as much fun as the game was, I'm not sure it was worth getting home at 11:30 and getting to bed at midnight...especially since Ruthie woke me up at 2:30 and then again at 6:15. siiiiigh. And today appears to be a really bad allergy day, after a couple of not-so-bad-at-all days in a row lulled me into a false sense of security. ARGH. Why is there no antihistamine that works??

Um, but to sum up: fun game. w00t.

Later, a post about how many things are going on this weekend and next, and how I continue to not be multiple people so shall have to decide which ones to skip. :(

Date: 2007-09-27 03:16 pm (UTC)
ext_100364: (Default)
From: [identity profile] whuffle.livejournal.com
Poke poke... Are we having lunch today? Call my office 6174955346 when you get this if its before 1pm. I think 1pm is the latest I can hold out before NEEDing food.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios