mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Isaac and his friend Ben have gotten into a lengthy game of sorts over the exchange of birthday presents. It is pretty funny.

It all started back in June when Isaac had a weekday-evening birthday celebration at the movie theater. Several of his friends didn't give him gifts because they forgot to bring them, or their parents didn't want them bringing the gift to school for fear it would get lost or damaged, etc. So the gifts trickled in over the next few weeks. I honestly lost track of who had and hadn't given Isaac a gift yet, and I think eventually he did too.

Then the new school year started, and one day I bumped into Ben's mom, who said something like "by the way, Ben keeps forgetting to give Isaac his gift, but we do have it for him." So I mentioned this to Isaac and told him that he should ask Ben about it. Isaac said, "but isn't it rude to ask someone for a present?" which made me think that I must be doing *something* right with this whole parenting thing. ♥ But I said I thought it was okay given the context.

So, a couple of days later, Isaac tells me that "Ben says that his mom gave you the present." I was like, uhh no she didn't. The next day, again, "Ben says that his mom really swears she gave it to you." At some point I was at the school and Ben actually came up to me himself and said the same thing -- that his mom had given the gift to me. I was quite sure she hadn't. Completely sure. 100% sure...but...well...wait a minute! What if she actually HAD given it to me and I tucked it into my purse and forgot about it? I was so confused.

And then a few days later Isaac announced that Ben had finally given him the present. WTF! So I was relieved that I hadn't had a total brain-fart, LOL.

Over the next few weeks Isaac kept telling me that Ben was still giving him crap about the present. Apparently Ben would come up to him and say stuff like "my mom says she gave your present to some random guy on the street who said he knew your grandma...." LOL

So when it came time for Ben's birthday party, Isaac knew exactly what he wanted to do. He got a card and wrote on it, "Dear Ben, my mom gave your present to your mom, Happy Birthday from Isaac." I had the present (tokens for the comic-book store) and gave it to Ben's mom, instructing her to pretend she didn't have it. She was confused -- apparently Ben hadn't told her about all this -- but agreed to go along.

A few days later I was at the school again and Isaac and Ben were together, and Isaac said "hey mom, Ben still hasn't gotten his present," and I said innocently "oh really? But I gave it to your dad and he put it in his pocket." Ben's dad hadn't heard any of my conversation with the mom, so I figured that would muddy the waters nicely. ;)

Last night, Isaac told me that Ben's mom must have finally decided to cough up the present, because apparently Ben came to school and said to Isaac, "so I was eating breakfast this morning and a portal opened up and some Comicazi gift tokens fell out." And Isaac concocted this whole story about his four-months-from-now self having built a time machine to come back in time and give Ben the present. Hilarious!

I love that Isaac and his friends are developing their own little in-jokes and pranks to play on each other. So fun. Can't wait to see what will happen on Isaac's next birthday. ;)

Today

Sep. 20th, 2014 09:30 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
(crossposted from Facebook)

Today we were at the library first thing, to get the next book in the series Ruthie is reading. She was super pissed the other night when she finished the previous book and we tried our nearby library branch and they didn't have the next one. So we got it at another branch today. I was impressed with how much of a crowd there was waiting for the library to open at 8:55am on a Saturday!

The funniest part of the day was when we went upstairs to the children's room, and just as we emerged from the stairwell, the children's librarian said "Hi Isaac." I turned to my son in amazement, asking, "how did she know your name?" The librarian's jaw dropped. It turned out she had been addressing her coworker, another librarian, who arrived from another direction just as we arrived. Too funny!

The best part of the day was how well the kids behaved when they had to sit through nearly five hours of my chorus rehearsal. I was soooooo pleased with how good (and quiet!) they were. And a number of fellow choristers came up to me afterward to say the same, so yay.
mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
A few recent kid funnies on the eve of the new school year...

1. We had a(nother) chat about reproduction, puberty, etc., and in trying to explain genetics, I said, "you know what genes are, right? Not the things people wear on their legs."
Isaac: "Yeah. The guy in the teapot."
Me: "...whaa...??"
Isaac: "The guy in the teapot!"
Ruthie: "You know, the magical smoke guy!"
Me: "Ohhhhh! No, that's a genie!"

2. The kids came to my office today and at one point Ruthie started climbing the walls...literally.
Me: "Ruthie, please get down. There's no climbing at the office."
Ruthie: "What?! Why does your boss hate climbing??"
Me: "I'm sure he doesn't, but it isn't something people do at the office. It isn't allowed."
Ruthie: "That's crazy. There should be climbing kids everywhere! EV...RY...WHERE. Everywhere you look there should be a kid climbing!"

3. Walking home, Isaac took off his shoe because it was rubbing on a blister on his foot. I cautioned him to look carefully at the sidewalk while he was walking barefoot.
Ruthie: "Why?"
Me: "Because there could be all kinds of sharp things that you might accidentally step on. Not just pieces of glass, but little rocks..."
Ruthie: "Like, what if two ants were having a sword-fight?"
Me: "Exactly! And if you stepped on them, number one it would hurt your foot, and number two, you just killed those ants, NNNNNOOOOOOO!"
Ruthie: "Yeah, that wouldn't be good."
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
A few days ago I was parking my car in a parking lot near the field where I was to meet my mom and the kids for Little League. It so happened that the building I parked in front of houses our veterinarian's office. On the steps of the house next door to the vet's, two little boys were hanging out.

As I got out of the car, one of them called, "Do you have a dog?" I replied no. "Do you have a cat?" I said yes. I then went to open the back of the car to get out Ruthie's bike. Both boys jumped down from their steps and came over to look in the back of my car. Clearly they thought that I had a cat in there (although the vet office was closed at this time of evening). I explained that I didn't have the cat with me at the time. They were disappointed.

"You have a messy car," one of them observed. I agreed that yes, I do. Then he starts quizzing me about the bike. Whose bike is it? What's her name? How old is she? After which he told me how old he was (5) and how old the other kid was (7) and how old his siblings were. Then he asked me how old *I* was and told me how old his mom and dad were. Then the two of them followed me all the way to the corner, chattering away. It was so funny. Ruthie is totally like that with strangers too -- I'm always telling her "you don't have to tell them your life story."

On another recent occasion, we were getting out of our car and walking into our house when three young women approached to ask for directions. This was on Easter Sunday and they were wearing party dresses. They wanted to know where Trull Street was. I was all, "ummm, uhhh, I don't know that street" because I totally suck at street names. (I can navigate fine, mind you. I have a really good sense of direction. I'm just bad at remembering the street names. It's all "that street that's one way the other way" and "that street we take when we go to such-and-so" and "that street where so-and-so's mom used to live.")

So I was awkwardly trying to say that I wasn't familiar with the street, when Isaac pipes up! "Oh, Trull Street, that's the next one over," says he. "You just go up there" (pointing to the big intersection) "and go that way, and it'll be right there."

Then I went inside and Google Mapped it, and sure enough, he was right! wow. who knew??

Briefer kid-funnies:

* Isaac came up to me and rubbed his face against my shoulder. me: "Are you sleepy?" Isaac: "no, I just kicked myself in the eye."
* Ruthie, sitting on my lap, rubbed her eyes. me: "Are you sleepy?" Ruthie: "No, I'm just exhausted." (pause) "What does exhausted mean?"

I was going to write more, but suddenly it's late and I can't remember any of it. heh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
The other night Ruthie looked up at the night sky and said in her imperious way, "Take me to the moon!"
Me: "I can't, honey. I don't have a spaceship."
Ruthie: "Well, then take me to the spaceship station!"

Maybe we should take our next plane ride to Florida and see a space shuttle launch. :) Those of you who remember all the drama around Ruthie's conception will understand why that idea is so funny. ;)

After the above exchange, I attempted to explain that only certain specially-trained people are allowed to go to the moon, and those people are called astronauts. Ruthie had told me, earlier that day, that she wanted to be an artist when she grows up. (Me: "What kind of artist?" Ruthie in her best my-mom-is-dumb voice: "An artist that draws, Mama.") So, upon learning that only astronauts go to the moon, she said, "Mama, I'm going to be an astronaut when I grow up. And an artist."

Okay then. :)

Word Girl

Oct. 19th, 2010 01:32 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Ruthie is absolutely obsessed with Word Girl. This is a show on PBS Kids about a superhero from the planet Lexicon, whose superpower is having a big vocabulary. As you can imagine, I highly approve of this show. ;) Word Girl's alter-ego is a normal 9-year-old girl named Becky, whose parents and annoying little brother apparently don't know that she's secretly a superhero. Also, somehow no one ever seems to notice that Becky has a pet monkey named Bob and Word Girl has a monkey sidekick named Captain Huggyface. ;) Possibly my favorite of the villains is the one called Lady Redundant Woman. ;) Yeah, like most kids' shows these days, it does have some humor thrown in for the adults' sake, which is nice and all.

Anyway, I spent a ridiculous $50(!) on ebay to get Ruthie a Word Girl costume for Halloween, and she is so excited. She wants to wear it all the time. She runs around the house yelling "Worrrrd Up!" (which is Word Girl's signature phrase) and saying that she has crime to fight. Her many teddy bears and other stuffed animals take turns being Captain Huggyface. Ruthie used to call her stuffed animals "my friend" or "my baby" -- now she only calls them "my sidekick." She sits on my lap and says quite seriously, "I really am a real superhero. I have super powers." Then: "I have LOTS of crime to fight this week." Jumping off my lap, "WORRRRD UP!"

Ruthie and Isaac watch Word Girl on tv every day, and it is in fact expanding their vocabularies. They learn several new words in each episode. Ruthie's latest favorite is "stench," which she can't quite say exactly right -- but, more importantly, she can tell you what it means, and use it correctly in a sentence. Needless to say, I think this is great. :)

Yesterday Ruthie was hanging upside down on my chair, as she is wont to do, and we had this exchange:

Ruthie: (using narrator-voice) Can Word Girl touch the floor without touching the floor?
Me: Did you just say "touch the floor without touching the floor"?
Ruthie: That doesn't make any sense.
Me: No, it doesn't.
Ruthie: (narrator-voice) Can Word Girl touch the floor without using her feet?
Me: I bet she can.

Unrelatedly, here's another funny from last night:

(Ruthie and I were eating apples. I had almost finished mine.)
Ruthie: You're way ahead of me.
Me: Well, my apple was smaller than yours.
Isaac: Yeah, and your mouth is bigger.

Gee, thanks. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
Ruthie got a haircut a couple weeks ago. This was a big deal: her first haircut ever, at the age of 4! She had been agitating for it for a while, and I decided the time was right. Everyone loooved her gorgeous long curly hair, but it was such a freaking pain to manage. It tangled like crazy and she hated having it combed out. Even bribing with lollipops to get her to sit still had stopped working. I think we were just both tired of it.

So we went and got her a nice short "pageboy"(?) cut. It is so cute. She's getting lots of compliments on it. And the funny thing is, it didn't take me any time at all to get used to her new look. I think that goes to show that it was the right thing.

If you're my friend on Facebook you can go see the pictures there...otherwise, well, I'll get around to posting them here eventually. Maybe.

***

Recently we went to "Family Math Night" at Isaac's school. His teacher is one of the main organizers of the event and it's always a lot of fun. They have all kinds of math-related games and activities. In the gym they had set up bowling, and the gym teacher was keeping a list of names of kids who wanted a turn. Ruthie marched right up to her and announced, "I want to bowl!" The gym teacher looked at her and said, "You must be Isaac's sister!" I thought that was funny. I never thought them to sound very similar but the gym teacher swears they sound exactly alike. (That was before the haircut; but I've noticed that since we cut Ruthie's hair I'm noticing the similarities between her and Isaac a lot more.)

Also at Family Math Night, Ruthie won a prize! They had one of those things where you guess how many items are in a jar. They had about a dozen jars, of different sizes, with different items in them - pretzels, popcorn, golf balls. Ruthie was just enjoying writing her name and random numbers on the papers, but somehow she managed to get the closest guess on one of the jars of popcorn. The prize was -- she got to keep the jar with the popcorn in it! She was thrilled to eat the popcorn she had won. ;)

***

Ruthie has become a fan of Carmina Burana. If you aren't familiar with it, it's a piece of choral and orchestral music by Karl Orff. It's a bunch of songs about secular life, focusing heavily on themes of how fickle fate is and how much fun it is to get drunk and have sex. Orff wrote the music in 1935, but the text is from Latin poems from the 12th century.

Anyway, Ruthie is particularly fond of one passage that goes "Oh, oh, oh, totus floreo, iam amore virginale totus ardeo, novus amor est quo pereo." This translates loosely to "Oh, oh, oh, I am bursting into flower, I am all aflame with my first love, a new love it is from which I am dying." If you think that's probably fairly raunchy, you're getting the idea. So it makes me snicker in a most inappropriate way to hear Ruthie running around singing it. ;) She has trouble with a lot of the Latin words, of course, so tonight she was making up her own words. It went "Oh, oh, oh, no pajamas no..." ;)

***

Every night at bedtime I kiss Ruthie's cheek, which sometimes requires me to first say "Give me a cheek!" if she is pushing her face into the pillows. The other night she moved her head as I was going to kiss her, and I ended up kissing her chin instead.

Me: Okay, I kissed the cheek.
Ruthie: That's not my cheek, that's my chin!
Me: Oh, okay, well here (kisses her nose) There's a kiss for your cheek.
Ruthie: That's not my cheek, that's my nose!
Me: Oh, really? Hmm, well let me try again, here we go - (kisses her forehead)
Ruthie: (amid hysterical giggles) That's not my cheek, that's my forehead!
Me: What? Are you sure? Okay, well this time I'm really going to kiss your cheek. (kisses her ear)
Ruthie: That's not my cheek, that's my thinking cap!

***

Ruthie yelling from the bathroom: "It's 6:30!"
Me, noting that it is actually 7:10: "Okay, if you say so."
Ruthie: "I'm pooping!"
Me: "Okay."
Ruthie: "That's what my watch says!"
Me: "Your watch told you to poop?"
Ruthie: "No! It says 6:30!"

***

Stay tuned for my Isaac update coming soon... :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
(I see that the twitter auto-posts are on the fritz again. ah well.)

Isaac has gotten really into card games. My mom taught him to play solitaire and now he plays that a lot. He also likes playing Memory (you know, where you turn over two at a time and try to make matches). Ruthie just likes holding the cards and putting them down randomly. ;)

So the other day Isaac made "JAK" with fridge letter magnets, and said, "I know that's not really how you spell Jack. It's J-A-C-K."
Me: "That's right."
Ruthie: "And how do you spell king?"
Me: "K-I-N-G"
Ruthie: "Oh, and how do you spell Senator Kennedy?"

ROTFL! Oh man. They do pick stuff up.

Tonight Isaac asked me when the Charles River's birthday is. You can't make this stuff up, people. (But you sure gotta do some damn fine dissembling when you try to answer!)

Since school started, we have started a new thing that we call "highs and lows." Each evening we all say our most and least favorite thing about the day. It's great for me with Isaac because I can never get anything out of him ("How was your day?" "Fine." "What did you do?" "Nothing.") and I think that, as others have said, questions like that are just too vague. But asking him to say his highs and lows gets some interesting stuff out. For example, on one recent evening he said "my high was playing Chase The Girls at recess." And I was just starting to try to frame a neutral response (deep breath, count to ten, remind self that gender roles at age six are not fraught with the weight of thousands of years of history, etc.) when he added, "I was on the girls' team." !!! LOL!

Anyway, Ruthie is slightly unclear on the concept of the highs and lows. When we first started doing this, she would always name things that we hadn't actually done that day. But now, she's getting the hang of it. Her answer is the exact same EVERY day: "My high was sleeping at naptime. And my low was when I hafted to get up." ("hafted" = had) LOL...I think what happens is that it takes her a long time to fall asleep at her new preschool, so then she's still asleep when the other kids are getting up, and the teachers end up waking her so she won't sleep away the afternoon. We have that problem sometimes at home on weekends too.

I just think it's funny that sleeping is her daily high. ;) Heck, if I had a naptime, it would probably be my high every day too! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
* Isaac's birthday party was this past Saturday. Once again the weather gods smiled upon me and it was a fabulous party. We live a charmed life, people. I hope I shall have time to put together a slightly lengthier post about it soonish.

But first,
* I have two job interviews this week: tomorrow and Wednesday. Tomorrow's is the second interview at the place where I interviewed a few weeks ago (and posted about it here, under friends-lock). Then on Wed it's a different company that is apparently extremely excited about my resume. I'm not extremely excited about them, because they're in Burlington; but if it's my dream job otherwise, I gotta at least check it out. (Also, there's an outside chance they might want to send me to Paris for training!) So, uh, wish me luck, and also, here's hoping my interview clothing will be good enough. Oh and tomorrow's interview starts at 10am and is supposed to run "at least four hours," so they better be planning a lunch break in there somewhere or I shall fall over. And I doubt that makes a good impression.

Also, randomly,
* via [livejournal.com profile] ceo: a naked rugby match in New Zealand is interrupted by a streaker...a fully clothed streaker. LOL! I love New Zealand. ;) Story here with probably NSFW photo of naked men playing rugby.

More later, of course.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
Ruthie had put her doll Baby Betty and her toy dog together in her toy shopping cart. Then she put them both in a cardboard box and covered them with a dishtowel.

Ruthie: Baby Betty is the sister, and Dog is the brother.
Me: Oh, and who's the mama?
Ruthie: They don't have a mama, they only have a dad.
Me: Okay, well who's the dad?
Ruthie: Poppy!
Me: Who's Poppy?
Ruthie: Poppy is the dad!
Me: But...Poppy who?
Ruthie: BIG poppy!
Me: Big Papi is the dad?!
Ruthie: Yeah, Big Papi is their dad!

rotfl! (I guess this is funnier if you know that Big Papi is David Ortiz, a very popular Red Sox baseball player.)

Incidentally, recently my mom found some old dollhouse people from my childhood, and Ruthie took a major shine to one of the toy babies and, oddly enough, the toy dad. She insisted on taking them home, and plays with them a lot. It's fascinating to me! -- we do know one single-dad family, but we haven't seen them in months and I don't think it really registered for Ruthie that theirs is a family without a mom; yet she never role-plays single-mom families...go figure.

Vagaries

Nov. 18th, 2008 06:56 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Some of you may be familiar with this picture that floats around the internet every year at Halloween, of a pumpkin that has been carved to look like it's barfing -- with the pumpkin "guts" (seeds and the orange goop) pulled out through the mouth. Here's an example in case you have no idea what I'm talking about.

Well, apparently someone in the Davis Square area had the idea to do a barfing pumpkin on their front step a couple weeks before Halloween this year. And Ruthie and her little daycare friends saw it one day on their daily walk around the neighborhood. Well, Ruthie just canNOT stop talking about it!!! It's like a month later and we still hear "I saw a sick pumpkin when I was walking with my friends. It was sick because it frowed [throwed] up." And for the past week or so, every day when we're driving to daycare to drop her off, "I don't wanna go to school! I don't wanna go for a walk and see a sick pumpkin!"

Apparently her daycare teachers have been telling her that the pumpkin got all better. And I've been telling her that she's not going to see any more pumpkins because Halloween is over. But it has yet to sink in, because she still keeps talking about the sick pumpkin. A LOT. LOL! Who knew that a barfing pumpkin would make such an impression on a 2-year-old? :)

-----------------------------------------

Got Isaac's first report card today. I find it very difficult to take this seriously because I mean, you know, it's kindergarten! And it has only been what, two months! Yet I still find myself getting annoyed at all the "S"s on his. (They use this ridiculous system where it's "M" for "Meets the standard," "S" for "Shows some progress toward the standard," and "N" for "Not meeting the standard." Or as I'm choosing to think of it for brevity's sake, "Mostly," "Some," and "None." Whatever. Anyway, I have my first parent-teacher conference with his teacher on Thursday, where I shall grill her mercilessly until she cracks under pressure and confesses that indeed Isaac deserves all "M"s and she only gave him some "S"s in a moment of temporary addlepatedness. ;) Or something like that. On the plus side, in the comments section she started off with "Isaac is an absolute joy to have in class..." so at least she has SOME sense. ;) hee hee.

-----------------------------------------

I recently re-read The Handmaid's Tale for [livejournal.com profile] mofic's bookclub. It was interesting. I had only read it once before, and I'm pretty sure that was in high school, not long after it first came out. Clearly, I experienced it very differently as a 34-year-old mom of two than I did back then as a callous adolescent. When I first got started, I didn't even know if I could make it through the whole thing, but I did. It's fascinating to see how much of today's scary society Atwood predicted twenty years ago. But I also feel an odd sense of relief, because I feel like, as scary as the society is that she describes in there, it could never really happen. Maybe. Probably. Right?!

I also recently read Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, which I enjoyed and found very well-written, but I find I don't actually have much to say about it.

I also did a re-read of Terry Pratchett's Wyrd Sisters and decided, on the whole, that it's right to put that on my "read in 2008" list, because I never said that it was a "new to me" list like my 2008recipes list.

So my LibraryThing tag "read in 2008" now has 37 books on it, but it should be 38 because there's one I haven't found yet to add it. That's pretty good considering that I was aiming for 40 in 2008 and it's only mid-November. Right now I'm working on River of Gods by Ian McDonald, which is an enormous tome, so that could take me the rest of the year, lol!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Sorry to be spamming your flist today! Lots to catch up on.

The trouble with the age Ruthie is at, is that if you don't post about "the new cute thing she's doing" in timely fashion, then by the time you get to it a couple days later she's not doing it any more. But I have to post about this anyway because it was so cute for the few days it lasted.

Ruthie went through a phase last week where almost everything she said was prefaced by "I take my binky out and I say...." (binky = pacifier and I hope I've posted here about how she bizarrely decided to take up pacifier use all of a sudden at the age of two-plus. Mostly I'm going with it and hoping it passes quickly.)

Largely this would occur at those times, which are many these days, when she is expressing herself nonverbally and I'm trying to urge her to use words. For example:

Ruthie: (yanking up my shirt)
Me: Ruthie, what would you like to say?
Ruthie: I take my binky out 'n I say, Nursie peez!

or
Ruthie: (whining and fussing while trying to get the box of Cheerios off the shelf)
Me: Ruthie, could you please use some words?
Ruthie: I take my binky out, I say, peez have some Cheerios peez!

By the second day, she had started slurring/eliding the whole thing down to something like "taymybeeoutsay". LOL.

The funniest part is that in 99% of these instances, she did not actually have her binky in her mouth!

We did also have one evening last week when she threw major fits over being asked to use words -- twice! The first time, she wanted to take her sock off and was having trouble with it, so I said, "If you want help taking your sock off, you just have to say 'please help me with my sock.'" This precipitated a lengthy session of screaming, sobbing, stomping, throwing self on floor, etc....until she finally calmed down and said it. Then we went through the whole thing all over again with the Cheerios. Oy! Terrible Twos anyone? Fortunately, most of the time, she's willing to rephrase herself per my coaching.

Whew. Life with a toddler! Never a dull moment, people.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Several of you commented on my Twitter post about Isaac requesting sandals because he didn't want the other kids to see his toenail polish. More detail on that story )

Anyway...the whole thing was kind of upsetting and I guess this is just the beginning of a whole new world. Isaac will be navigating the choppy waters of peer pressure, and I'll have to get used to not being the highest authority in his world any more. Not to mention, he'll be learning about our society's artificially imposed gender norms whether I want him to or not. Sigh.

In Ruthie news, she has been sleeping oddly this week, but it has led to some funny stuff. Two nights ago she woke up when I went to pee, and she came out into the hallway and was standing there looking confused when I came out out the bathroom. I picked her up, and she said, "Not yike the wipers! turn them off!" LOL! It's true that she does not like the windshield wipers in the car (or bus). The noise they make freaks her out.

More misc Ruthie stuff )

And in other news, quickly before I leave the office, I had a lovely lunch today with [livejournal.com profile] whuffle and the adorable 2-month-old Caleb, who slept throughout the entire time -- giving us a nice opportunity to chat, but I was sad to not get a chance to hold the little guy! Oh well. Next time! And insert baby-squeeing here. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Last night Ruthie tucked the bucket of crayons under her arm (this bucket is almost as big around as her torso, so that was a comical sight) and announced, "I goin' to work!" and marched out of the room. Moments later she was back, saying "Hi dize!" ("hi guys") to which Isaac replied, "Hi womans!" hee hee.

This morning Ruthie took her basket (an old Easter basket that someone gave us ages ago, which she likes to pretend is a purse) and put a few items in it and again announced, "I goin' to work!" Well, it's about time she started earning her keep! ;)

I posted the other day about Ruthie asking for "grass and mud" to eat. She continues to do so occasionally. Last night I was getting stuff for dinner out of the fridge, while holding Ruthie, and she announced, "I want grass and mud!" and then corrected herself, "I want grass -- no mud!" So I was laughing, and Isaac said "Ruthie's so funny!" and I said, "yes, she makes me laugh!" and to Ruthie, "You make me laugh!" and then "You make me hug and kiss!" and I hugged and kissed her, and then she said, "You make me fridge!" ROTFL.

Also last night, Isaac asked me to tell him (for the millionth time) the story of how Cousin Bastian came out of Aunt [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd's belly. So I started to tell the story, but then he got impatient and told me to stop before I had finished. But I finished anyway. And then as usual he wanted to go look at the pictures on my computer of me and SK when we were pregnant with Ruthie and Baz. But it was bedtime so I told him we'd do that tomorrow. So we went to put on pajamas, and when Isaac was naked, he stuck his belly waaaaay out and said "I have a baby in my belly!" Then of course Ruthie said "I have a baby in my belly too!" and then Isaac assured me that he was kidding. ;) I told him that I knew that. ;) Then I explained to him (also not for the first time) that he can't have a baby in his belly because he's a boy, but he could be a daddy to some baby some day, if he so chooses. I don't know how much of that sinks in, but he's more interested in the pregnancy and birth part at this point anyway. :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I have a weather widget on my Firefox that displays little icons in the lower right-hand corner of the browser to tell you the weather forecast. It has three icons: one for right now, one for today (if it's the morning) or tonight (if it's the afternoon/evening), and one for tomorrow. Isaac loves to look at them and tell me what they say: "Mama, today it's going to be 63 and cloudy, and tomorrow it'll be 58 and rainy." That kind of thing.

So the other night we were looking at it just before bed, and the "tonight" icon was a full moon. Isaac said "mama, right now it's cloudy and 53, and tonight it's going to be 49 and moony." Obviously that makes lots of sense! When the sun's out, it's sunny; when the moon's out, it's moony. Why not? :)

The other day we were at a playground and I was chatting with another mom while the kids played. Ruthie came running over to me saying something again and again. At first I couldn't figure out what she was saying -- then I realized, it was "Jason Varitek!" (A Red Sox player, for those philistines among us.) LOL, it was too funny. Since then she has been randomly yelling out "Jason Varitek!" at random moments for no apparent reason. It cracks me up. Also once, she yelled "Sean Casey!" LOL!!

♥ ♥ ♥
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Isaac has been full of quotables lately.

1. (We are having fun singing "Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes" with different body parts) "Head, shoulders, knees and penis!"

2. "Mama, on the side of the Cheerio box it says 'Cheerio Aitch.'" (It says "Oh what a difference" but with a cheerio in place of the O in "Oh")

3. During the Red Sox game:
Me: When you get three strikes, then you're out. See that? (instant replay is shown on tv) See, when the umpire makes a fist like that, that means a strike.
Isaac: Umpires suck your blood!
Me: (laughing)
Isaac: They really really do!

4. I had explained that this Monday his school is closed due to Patriots' Day and he will be spending part of the day at his friend L's house. So Isaac is dancing around, jumping up and down, saying "I love Mondays that are holidays! Holiday! Holiday! Holi-holi-holiday! (pause) Mama, what does holla mean?"

5. Whenever Isaac needs to use the toilet he lets me know.
Isaac: I have to go poop.
Me: You have to pee?
Isaac: No! Pee...(drawing a letter P in the air with his finger) Oh...(drawing a letter O)...Pee!(drawing another P)
Me: (lol) You have to pop?
Isaac: Huh?
Me: Never mind, go and poop.
(Normally I would have taken the time to explain about double letters and so forth, but I didn't want to risk an accident. ;) )

Here's a Ruthie-ism, during a diaper change, putting her hand between her legs: "Oothie's peanut!" LOL! I explained that Ruthie doesn't have a penis. I don't think it sank in.

Also one more Ruthie-ism, from the playground:
(Ruthie turning a "steering wheel" that's attached to the climbing structure)
Me: Are you driving?
Ruthie. Yeah.
Me: Cool.
Ruthie: Driving me nuts!

LOL!! And now I am thinking of the old joke about the pirate with the steering wheel in his pants.
mamajoan: me in hammock (i'm in ur box)
meta-lolcat! my favorite kind! WIN.

kid-isms

Feb. 24th, 2008 09:20 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Ruthie is definitely a child who lets you know what she wants. I've mentioned that when she wants to nurse she'll go "sit mama sit!" and shove me into a chair. LOL. Lately she also has side preference. If I offer her the "wrong" boob she'll go "nooo, yuhr one" (the other one) and yank at my shirt in search of the desired boob.

When a child is upset and I comfort him/her, I tend to say "I'm sorry" repeatedly. Ruthie has caught on to the fact that this generally means "you're not going to get what you want," so now it makes her even madder. When she's mad and I say "I'm sorry" she'll yell, "No, no say sowwy!" The trouble is that the sorries are so automatic for me, half the time I find myself saying "I'm sorry" in response to her telling me not to say sorry. *facepalm* How long do you think it'll take her to figure out "I apologize"? LOL

Lately Isaac has been impatient a lot (e.g. asking me repeatedly for milk while I'm in the process of getting a cup and taking the milk out of the fridge and pouring it, etc.) and I've been telling him and telling him to be more patient. So now he will say "I used up all my patience." As of yesterday I have started replying, "well, go to the patience store and buy some more." This morning when I said that, he went over to the kitchen cabinet and said "I'm at the patience store already!" me: "Well, give them your money and ask for some more patience please." So he put some imaginary money in a drawer and then pressed his mouth up against the drawer and then announced that they had given him a piece of paper with more patience on it. Thank goodness ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Whew! It was a long 3-day weekend. heh.

the rundown on our weekend adventures )

Last night I made #14 saag panir from the recipe in High Flavor Low Fat Vegetarian Cooking. It was...interesting. I think something went wrong because it wasn't nearly as wet as I thought it should be. I'm used to saag panir in restaurants being all wet and creamy, almost like a thick sauce with chunks of panir in it. This was more like a pile of cooked spinach with some spices. I'm wondering whether maybe I wasn't supposed to squeeze the water out of the frozen spinach after thawing? The recipe just said "package of frozen spinach, thawed." I assumed that meant I should squeeze it, but maybe not. (Oh, I also omitted the tomato that it called for, which maybe might have made it moister.) It did have sour cream, but not enough to make it really creamy like I thought it should be.

It still tasted fairly good, though not exactly like what I think of saag panir tasting like based on my many restaurant experiences. Every now and then I got a mouthful that tasted exactly right, but mostly it was just a little off, which was odd. The panir that I bought at Whole Paycheck had the right texture and flavor, but also had a weird aftertaste that wasn't so good.

Ah well, so not the most successful dish ever, but I'm glad I gave it a try.

In other cooking news I passed along the Caramelized Tofu recipe to a coworker, who tried it and loved it and passed it on to another coworker. :) I shall have to make that again quite soon. I can't stop fantasizing about it. Have I rhapsodized about that recipe enough here, yet? In case you missed it ;) here's the link again.

ok, that's enough for now, more later.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 08:56 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios