mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
If I had a dollar for every time I said, over on LJ, that I was determined to start posting regularly again...

Still, maybe Dreamwidth will get that started again for me. Who knows?

I love going back and reading old LJ entries about my daily life from 5, 10, etc. years ago. And I often think that 10-years-from-now-me will be disappointed in how sparse it becomes at a certain point. It's not that I don't have anything to say...!

But also, the kids are reaching the point where they're aware of the fact that I post about them on social media, and they want to have more say in what I say, which is fair. So I'll probably be pretty circumspect about that for the most part.

Here's my minutiae for today: I bought plane tickets for us to go to Nashville in August. We're going there to see the total solar eclipse. The path of the eclipse cuts diagonally across the continental US (see map here) and we chose Nashville based on a) a place we've never been and b) a reasonably short plane ride.

I made the hotel reservation a while ago - actually ended up at a hotel about 20 miles outside of Nashville, because even though I called almost a year in advance, most of the places within the city were already booked up. This eclipse is serious business! There are people who make it their hobby to travel around the world to wherever an eclipse is going to be visible (we have a cousin who does this) and obviously people are super excited about this one, because a total solar eclipse that's visible from the continental US is pretty rare.

Anyway, so I found a decent-looking hotel outside of the city, and we'll rent a car, so we can decide where to go for eclipse viewing on the day itself, depending on whims and the weather forecast and all of that.

When I made the hotel reservation I wasn't really sure how many extra days we'd want, so I made it from Thurs to Wed (the eclipse is on Mon, Aug 21). But then the plane flights were cheaper for Wed-Wed, so I called the hotel to see if we could add another night to our reservation. They said yes, so I did that and then got the plane tickets. Only $915 for four round-trip flights (me, the kids, and mom), which is a good price. And yes, the price differential for the plane tickets - for all four of us - more than offsets the cost of the extra night at the hotel.

Now we just need to make the rental car arrangements, and we'll be all set for that trip.

Of course, before any of that, the kids and I are going to Ohio for my college reunion - just two weeks from now - but that's a whole other post I suppose.

and more

Mar. 9th, 2010 10:31 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Oh yeah! Here are a couple of other things I wanted to post about that didn't make it into my previous post.

Ruthie's birthday is two weeks away and I have been obsessing about her party, i.e.: where to have it. I never really thought about the difference between an early-spring birthday like Ruthie's and a late-spring/early-summer birthday like Isaac's. So far I've been able to have all of Isaac's parties in our back yard (*knock furiously on wood*) but I can't assume that Ruthie's birthday, in late March, will be good enough weather for that. So I did a lot of calling around to various places that host parties, and there were some interesting options, but when it comes right down to it, I just couldn't seem to justify spending $200 to rent a place for a 4th-birthday party. So my mom said we could have it at her house, and I guess we're going to do that although I'm highly skeptical about the wisdom of having six or more 4-year-olds running around. I mean my mom's place isn't that big! But OTOH I had all my birthday parties there when I was a kid, and we managed that somehow, so I guess somehow it will work out.

I can see that I'm going to be going through this same dilemma every year, though. Oy!

As for me, I'm tired and lazy and fat. :P I might have posted here about how I've been gaining weight as Ruthie's nursing frequency has been rapidly decreasing. I'm trying to be more careful about my eating, and getting in a bit of exercise (this should get easier as the weather improves) but I still feel sooooo tiiiired. I started taking an iron supplement, and then I forgot about it and stopped taking it, and I think it has made a difference. So I'm starting to take it again. I hope something works at some point.

I feel discouraged because all around me I see other parents doing creative stuff (not related to their work, I mean) and I do nothing. I don't even sing any more. (I dropped out of chorus for this cycle because I couldn't find a reliable babysitter.) I feel like I ought to have more energy and impetus for more non-parenting, non-work stuff than I do. I know it's self-defeating to cover myself in shoulds, but it's hard not to sometimes.

Last week Isaac had homework to write down three things that happened today, three that happened yesterday, three from last week, and then three things that will happen tomorrow and next week. He started off by saying, "well, I like to play Wii every day," so he wrote "play Wii" on all five spaces. Then for tomorrow he wrote "turn this in" (meaning the homework) and for next week he wrote "have homework." My kid is so meta! ;)

Ruthie can write her name and several other words. Recently we went to the zoo, and later that day she brought me the fridge magnet letters Z, O, and another O, and said, "I had fun at the this!" Also yesterday she told me that she's ready to start kindergarten. Alas, she has to wait another year and a half. Oh well.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This weekend the kids and I went to the bed store in Inman Square to look at bunk beds. I have pretty much decided that I'm going to get them a bunk bed in the near future. bed blather )

The other fun things we did this past weekend were a trip out to the farm from which we have our CSA, and the monthly meeting of the local SMC (single moms by choice) group.

At the farm, we picked beets and carrots and parsnips and leeks. The parsnips took a lot of digging so we got very dirty. The kids especially enjoyed picking the carrots, which are easier than parsnips (they mostly just pull right out, except where the ground is particularly hard) and more recognizable. We got there at noon and thought we'd spend an hour and ended up staying until 3. It was another freakishly warm day so the conditions were perfect. We had a blast and got lots of veggies for the upcoming weeks/months. Ruthie also enormously enjoyed climbing on the tractors. She is quite the little daredevil! After the first couple of times when I had to help her get up and then down again, she figured out how to do it herself and was up and down like a monkey.

As for the SMC meeting, it was the group's 25th-anniversary celebration, so they had made a special effort to get former members to come back. (I guess that once your kids get past a certain age you stop getting much value out of a group like this, since it tends to focus so heavily on the getting-pregnant process and then pregnancy and baby/toddler stuff. But it does seem like the "older" members have mostly stayed in touch with each other and formed lifelong friendships, despite no longer being active in the group.) So there were moms there whose kids are teenagers or even in their 20s, and all the way down to moms with teeny babies, or pregnant bellies, and of course some women who are still trying to get pregnant or even still in the process of deciding whether to do it at all. There were also a fair number of kids in Isaac and Ruthie's age range, so after the usual initial period of shyness, they both got into playing with the other kids and had a great time. It was a lot of fun. It was cool to hear the older members talk about life with teenagers ;) and about what it was like for them in the beginning, and the lessons they have learned, etc., much of which already sounded pretty familiar to me, but still.

Anyway, so that was lots of fun and the kids got SO sweaty from running around and wrestling with the other kids. And did I mention we had basically gone there straight from the farm? So we were covered in dirt and mud, and now sweat, lol. So we went home and had a quick bath before bed (and I had a much less quick shower after the kids were asleep ;) ).

To sum up: Super-fun weekend, but soooo exhausting. Phew!

OH! And did I mention that I somehow got roped into taking away the leftover cake from the SMC meeting! They had gotten an absolutely enormous cake, and only half of it was eaten, and I happened to mention that I had chorus rehearsal tonight, so they were like "no really, take the cake. PLEASE." LOL, so I took it and will bring it to rehearsal. The part that's left is the middle part that still says "Happy 25th Anniversary SMC" on it, so I imagine I'll have some 'splainin' to do tonight. :) That could get interesting. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
So we're going up to Vermont this weekend. A couple of old family friends have a place up there and have been trying to get us to come up and ride on this train, the Green Mountain Railway, which is an old-fashioned railroad with the old iron engines and goes along what's supposed to be an incredibly scenic route. Isaac is still pretty well obsessed with trains so I think it'll be fun. I was hesitant about Ruthie, because it'll probably be a long-ish ride for her and she'll get bored; but I couldn't really see not bringing her (especially since it would mean ME missing it!) so we're bringing her, and I'll cross my fingers.

(Recent experiences taking the kids - separately - on the Boston subway has really highlighted how different they are in the area of train interest. Isaac sits completely still, almost, and looks out the window the entire time - whether the ride is one stop or ten. Ruthie gets bored and horrendously fidgety after about one stop.)

Anyway, so we'll leave on Saturday, stay the night at Sally's place, go Sunday morning to the Montshire Museum of Science which is supposed to be great, then ride the train, stay another night, and come back Monday. We're on pins and needles waiting for MLB to announce the time of Monday's Red Sox playoff game, because mom has tickets!! We need to know whether we should be rushing back from Vermont (if the game starts at 1 we'll have to leave fairly early)! As of right now they still list the game time as TBA. So frustrating!

Ahem, but I digress.

I think it'll be a fun trip. I hope the drive won't be too bad (about three hours - we plan to go at Ruthie's naptime) and the weather won't be too cold. ;) I think the kids will have a lot of fun. Staying at someone else's house is always fun, and Sally and her husband Bill love to spoil the kids. ;) Plus, you know, just plain something different is nice.

Also, right down the road from the science museum is the King Arthur Flour store, bakery, and baking school! I'm so excited and soooooo hoping that things will work out such that I'll get to spend at least a little time in there. ;) I bet it smells fucking fantastic in there. ;) It looks from their website like they have lots of free samples and stuff, which the kids should like. ;) BTW did I mention that I've been on hiatus from baking bread? My last few loaves came out really bad and I got frustrated. Combining that with the fact that it was too hot to turn on the oven (for a brief period in late August ;) ) and that I've been soooo busy and stressed with the new schools and new job, etc., ...so I decided to take a break and buy bread for a couple of weeks instead of making it. Except, of course, the bread you buy is so inferior. So I might be going back to it soonish.

(On a slightly related but very tangential note ;) I picked up a container of Earth's Best organic/natural/trans-fat-free "buttery spread" recently, and the kids (and I) have been LOVING it. I was really surprised by how good it tastes. The nutritional content, in terms of fat, calories, and so forth, is actually extremely similar to that of Land-O-Lakes margarine, which is what we usually use -- but that stuff has trans fats and this stuff doesn't. Of course, the Earth's Best also costs a lot more. But dang, it's good.)

Anyway, where was I?? OH YEAH, our trip to Vermont. So anyway, uh, we're doing that. Should be fun. w00t.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Three more days of "freedom" till I start my new job. Yes! I have not yet posted outside of friends-lock, but I got a new job and I start it next Monday.

In keeping with my general policy of not posting anything specific (i.e., potentially incriminating) about work, I shall say little more about it except that it's a big company, the office is in Kendall Square, and I'll be collaborating on a project with three other writers, two of whom are based in Sydney, Australia. So THAT should be interesting. The two Australian writers are here in the States this week, and on Thursday I'm going to the office to meet them and hear a presentation they're giving. Then on Monday I start work for real and hopefully will get to spend a little more time with them before they leave on Tuesday.

And that's all I shall say about that at this time.

I have big plans for my last few days of "leisure," to wit:

* Get a massage
* Buy work shoes
* Tame the weeds in the front yard
* Put more water in the waterbed
* Get a new backpack for work
* Figure out which kid pix to bring to my new office, and get frames for them
* Organize the living room
* Clean the whole apartment (ha, I can dream)
* Straighten out the situation with the health insurance re Ruthie's dog bite (long tedious story)
* Get the kids' fall clothes sorted out and ready
* Burn a bunch of kid pix to CD so I can clear off some space on my camera cards
* Wash my bras
* Load up some music on the new MP3 player I got today at Target (for $10 so I'm sure it's crappy, lol, but whatever)
* go to bed early every night

Okay, I know I won't really get to all that in three days (really two and a half considering my plans to go to the office Thursday) but a girl's gotta dream big. heh.

In other news, our washing machine is apparently kaput. This is highly annoying. I love Brian (my co-homeowner and upstairs neighbor) like a brother, but I just don't think he feels the same urgency that I feel when the laundry facilities are unavailable. It could have something to do with the fact that he, unlike me, has zero potty-training children in his household. Anyway, it sounds like Brian doesn't think he can fix it so we'll probably end up buying a new one. I hope we (by which I mean Brian) get this done soon, because hauling laundry to mom's house is annoying enough when I'm not working, but is going to become a severe pain in the buttocks once I start work.

Oh, and speaking of pains in the anal region, Ruthie is constipated again. ;) I don't actually want to post about that. I just couldn't resist the perfect segue. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Our latest adventures in dog-bite aftercare )

In other Ruthie news, yesterday she wore underwear to daycare instead of a diaper, AND she stayed dry in them all day!!! Not a single accident!! I'm so excited. I can almost see the light at the end of the diaper-changing tunnel! :) She still asks for a diaper whenever she needs to poop, but hey, it's progress. Yay!

In unrelated news, I have decided that today's excursion is going to be a test run of the commute for the job that I'm really hoping to get. I'm going to take the bus from Ruthie's soon-to-be-new preschool, to the subway station, and then the subway to my hopefully-soon-to-be-new office, and see how long it takes. Of course, it won't be rush hour, so it's not a perfect test, but at least it'll give me an idea of what the situation looks like. Also, then I'll be right near the mall, where I've been wanting to go this week anyway. I'm going to be optimistic and buy some new work clothes. Or at least try some on. ;)

So anyway, I'm off to do that now. :) More later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Tomorrow I have an appointment to visit the preschool that my nephew Bastian goes to, with thoughts of moving Ruthie there.

The preschool is very close to Isaac's school (which in turn is VERY close to where Baz and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd and [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic live) so it would be convenient. It's also WAY cheaper than the place where Ruthie is now; and from what I've heard, SK and Meta seem very happy with it, which is more than I can say for how I feel about the place where Ruthie is now. The best I can really say about Ruthie's current place is that it's convenient to the subway station and there's one teacher we really like. But given the high rate of turnover there, who knows how much longer that latter will be true?

So I'm going to look at this other place and am already fantasizing about how lovely it would be to have my two kids so close together for dropoffs and pickups. And then it occurred to me to wonder whether this preschool also has an afterschool program for school-age kids. So I asked, and they do! They bus from Isaac's school (and several others) to their location. So I could put Isaac in that program and then pick up both my kids from the same place in the evenings! I may pass out just from imagining it. ;)

Of course, there would probably be some resistance from Isaac, since he likes his current afterschool program quite well (and is right now attending their summer-camp program). And I know basically nothing about this other program, except that it exists (the woman I talked to is the preschool director so she doesn't know much about the afterschool) so I'd have to look into it some more. But it definitely bears looking into. Having to go to two different places for pickup every evening is the bane of my existence (when I'm working).

The money's starting to run low, and as I approach the three-month mark of this period of unemployment, I can't help thinking resentfully of all those enormous checks I've written to Ruthie's current, somewhat crappy daycare. If I had been more on the ball, I should have looked into Baz's preschool three months ago, but ah well.

(And if you're wondering why I didn't just take Ruthie out of daycare when I stopped working, well, for one thing being alone with me all day would probably have driven her insane ;) and for another, if you withdraw, or even reduce your days, you lose your slot; so I would have been screwed if I'd gotten a new job soon and needed to put her back in full-time care. Yeah, it sucks.)

Anyway, perhaps nothing will come of it, but we shall see.

Day One

Apr. 27th, 2009 09:48 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Here I am on my first day of "scheduled" unemployment. I am determined to enjoy at least the first few days. ;) Oddly enough, though, what I plan to enjoy about it is cleaning! I've basically let the apartment go for the past couple of weeks since I knew I would have lots of time on my hands. Now I'm actually excited, to a bizarre and perhaps pathetic degree, about all the cleaning I want to do. ;) Possibly I may need to downgrade my expectations of what I can get done in any given day. ;)

Anyway, I got the kids to school, came home and had my caffeine, then set a timer to allow myself a short period of goofing off on the internet. ;) Look at me being all organized and shit! ;) Then I'm going to make a to-do list and try to prioritize it according to the actual order in which the things should be done, rather than from what I want to do most to least. ;) heh, we'll just see how that goes, shall we? ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Hello all my LJ friends! I am sorry to say that I have no idea what is going on with you. I haven't read my friends-list fully in ages. I have it as my browser homepage, and usually what ends up happening is that I open my browser and read whatever happen to be the 20 posts on the first page, and then get caught up into other stuff and never scroll back.

I feel a little weird about how out of touch I'm becoming with (what used to be) my major sources of online community, but well, that's how life is right now. I feel like there's just so much going on and I don't have enough brain to hold it all. Why do things have to keep on, like, happening?!

How am I? I am tired. Oh so tired. I find it hard to believe that I'll ever not be tired. I keep thinking that my life will be great, someday, when Ruthie learns how to sleep through the night. But so far it isn't happening. I feel I need to be doing something to help this along, but I'm too tired to figure out what, and then to commit to it. That's a whole other looonnnng post that I'll likely never write.

Isaac has been sick or "sick" a lot lately, as you may have read in my twitter posts. It has been confusing and frustrating. I'm now of the opinion that he was actually sick the first day (a week and a half ago) and since then has just been tired from school, plus is experimenting with the idea of "if I say my tummy hurts I get special attention." That's my current theory anyway. And yes, I had a talk with the afterschool people about the fact that you cannot just go "oh, he says his tummy hurts, he must be sick, let's call his mom." Dude, he's five. You need to exercise some frickin' judgment here.

Ruthie is doing well, aside from the whole not-sleeping thing. Daycare dropoffs are still iffy, but she's getting better all the time. And she's bursting with funny things to say, some of which I really hope to post here soon.

My mom is in Peru for two weeks. I am not panicking...give me a few more days. ;) Luckily we already have plans for both days of this weekend. Next weekend will be harder as it's a four-day one: Friday there's no school due to "teacher preparation day" and then Monday is Oppressing The Natives Day, oops I mean Columbus Day. ;) Luckily it seems that we already have plans for that Sunday and Monday; and our new babysitter (thanks to [livejournal.com profile] ww1614) will be able to watch Isaac for part of the day Friday, so hopefully we'll make it through. ;)

In case you missed it in my twitters, the other evening we came home to find Grover-kitty playing with an almost-but-not-quite-dead mouse. Yeah, that was definitely not one of my favorite moments in life. Ugh. :( On the plus side, I guess, now I know that Grover can catch a mouse. But then tonight kind of gross, sorry ) so now I get to fret about what to do about that. Argh!

Several family members and close family friends are having severe medical issues right now. This is definitely on my mind a lot lately.

Work is also in a very stressful and challenging (in both the good and the bad ways) phase right now. That's another post I'll probably not get a chance to write.

I guess that's about it in a nutshell. Okay, well, maybe a coconut shell. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Today is Isaac's preschool graduation day! I was planning to take Ruthie to daycare so that I could give Isaac my full attention during the party and ceremony. But, today Ruthie is a little sick -- very hoarse, very snotty, ever-so-slightly warm to the touch. So I think on the whole it's best to bring her along to graduation. Better that than getting a call in the middle of the festivities telling me to come and get her. Ah well.

On the plus side, this means I don't have to pack her lunch. ;) On the other hand, it also means I have to pack lots of spare clothes and diapers and towels -- there's a water-sprinkler play area at the park where graduation is held. I have no doubt that Ruthie will be soaked within moments. ;)

More later!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This was supposed to be about the situations at both kids' childcare places, but the part about Ruthie got too long and I need to rewrite it to be coherent ;) so I'll just post this part for now.

Isaac's preschool gave me a "progress report" which I guess is the last one he will get. It basically said that he is brilliant, helpful, and an all-around great kid, which of course I knew. :) At the end it said something like "Isaac is a wonderful, helpful, amazing kid and we will really miss him." Okay, maybe they say that for every kid, but I can fool myself. ;)

I'm frustrated with the school system, though, because of the lack of communication. All to do with when school starts, and what to do about gaps in childcare coverage the first week of September. )

Anyway, I understand that this kind of egregious lack of communication / lack of consideration for the needs of working parents is par for the course with public-school systems, and I should just get used to it and live with it. I suppose I will, over time. But for now, I'm feeling extremely pissy about it. :P

more to come....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Yesterday I did the JP Morgan Chase Corporate Challenge which I think I posted about here recently. It's a road race for charity where you sign up in teams from the same company. A bunch of my coworkers ran it; I walked. I was the only one walking from our company, because some people had to go on a business trip and missed it.

It was fairly fun in terms of a friendly atmosphere and all that, except that I was not adequately prepared to walk 3 miles. (The course is usually 3.5 but they shortened it due to construction.) In my head, 3 miles was like just a short little walk that you don't need to do anything for. In reality, at least some light stretching in advance would probably have been a good idea. Urgh. Also I had cramps all day yesterday and today. Stupid girly hormones. They say exercise is good for cramps, but that hasn't been my experience. :P The only things that seem to help are ibuprofen, chocolate, and TMI, not necessarily in that order.

So now I am extremely sore and wondering what the heck I was thinking. Oh well, it was fun and all for a good cause. But I'm sore. Did I mention sore? And soooooo tired. yow.

I had another tempest-in-a-teapot related to doctoring. I called to make an appointment for Isaac's 5-year checkup (yes, I didn't call until two weeks AFTER his birthday, because I am Slacker Mom) and the lady at our new doctor's office -- where Isaac has not actually been seen yet -- told me that they had not received his records from our old pediatrician. But they had received Ruthie's, which seemed odd. Anyway, I found this very annoying since the last thing I wanted to be doing was making a bunch of angry phone calls to doctors' offices. But before I got around to doing anything about it, the new doctor's office called back this morning and left me a message saying that in fact they DO have Isaac's records. I'm guessing that they had stuck his records in some drawer marked "Records for people who aren't actually our patients" and the woman I spoke to the other day didn't think to look there for them. I dunno. Anyway, so that's all good except that now I have to prepare Isaac for the possibility of getting shots at his checkup. alas.

Next week Isaac's preschool is closed and I am having to take time off work because I was Slacker Mom when it came to trying to arrange an alternative. However, another mom from the school did kindly offer (after I dropped some strong hints ;) ) to take Isaac for Tuesday, and my mom will take him on Wednesday as usual, so it turns out I'll just have to miss Mon and Thurs, so that's okay. I dunno what we'll do, but we'll think of something. I'm sure Isaac would be happy to just ride the subway with me all day long. ;)

I'm pulling out my hair about the upcoming weekend too. It's supposed to be thunderstormy all weekend long, which is disappointing. We've been having a LOT of thunderstorms lately and we are getting pretty sick of the inside of our house. Am I desperate enough to try taking a 5-year-old and a 2-year-old to a movie theater? Only time will tell! stay tuned! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (don't panic 2)
Y hello thar livejournal! How have you been? Whassup? Have you missed me? ;) Sorry I haven't been around much. It's been a busy week, and also I've unfortunately discovered this ridiculously addictive Facebook game called PackRat. Don't check it out, srsly, I am warning you. It will eat up all your not-really-copious-at-all free time.

Anyway! How to get caught up? Well, Isaac had a good birthday. He and his grandma took an Amtrak down to Providence and back, about which he was unbelievably excited. Then in the evening we all went out to dinner and he got a couple of gifts. But he'll be getting a lot more gifts tomorrow at his actual birthday party.

And speaking of the party, I am off work today in order to prepare for it! Today's very important to-do list includes:
* mow lawn
* clean house
* shop for supplies
* figure out whether we have enough tables/chairs and if not, what the heck to do about that
* acquire another birthday present, and something for Ruthie
* wrap presents

And more, I'm sure, but those are the most important items. And what have I accomplished so far today?
* drop kids off at daycare/school
* mail bookmooch book
* cook and eat leisurely breakfast
* play PackRat

d'oh. Guess I better get crackin'.

But before that, I'll just spew a bit more update-y goodness behind this here lj-cut. misc updates on kitty, books, food, Ruthie, and who knows what-all else )

I have lots more, of course, but it's time to get off my ass now and start the mowing. Whee!
mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
We are going to leave fairly shortly for our family's summer cottage and I'm slightly apprehensive, as I always am before I make the drive for the first time any year. The more so because it's supposed to be 95F today (as it was yesterday) and my car's air-conditioning does not seem to be working so well. Mind you, we can manage with the windows open, but I'm worried about the car overheating. yikes. Plus the drive home tonight could be interesting, between the intersection of bedtime and Sunday-evening traffic....

Anyway, Isaac's birthday isn't for a few more days yet, but the nostalgia (if you can call it that when the memories aren't all good) has already begun. Through a strange twist of fate calendar, this year the days line up the same way they did the year he was born, i.e., he was born on a Wednesday and his birthday is on a Wednesday again this year.

So -- five years ago today, Sunday, June 8th, 2003, I was in the hospital, anxious and scared, and jittery from the drugs they had given me to stop the contractions (terbutaline makes your heart race). It was still six weeks until my due date and the notion of having a preemie had never, never entered my mind until these past twelve hours; the pregnancy had been almost completely uneventful up until this point. By this time in the morning, 8:45am that Sunday, I had already been at the hospital for about 7-8 hours and it would be another 24+ before I was able to go home, on strict bedrest. I didn't know that at this time, of course. I thought I might be having a 6-weeks-early baby any minute now. It was fairly terrifying.

Of course, in the end it all worked out. We managed to convince Isaac to stay in and cook for another three days, and he, of course, came out pretty healthy for a 5.5-week-early preemie, and, of course, here we are five years later and all that is a distant memory. More distant for some than others, obviously. ;) But I doubt I'll ever forget the tension of that day. It's unbelievable how quickly things can turn around, in any direction.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I know I need to post about the Children's Museum trip today (capsule summary: way fun but we stayed SO LONG OMG and got home way past naptime and yikes) and other stuff, but it's late and I'm tired.

I gotta say though -- I found my camera!! *whew* I know that doesn't mean much to you but believe me, I was really freaking out not being able to find it. In the end it was in my backpack even though I had looked there four times and not found it. Whatevs! It turned up and that's what matters.

Tomorrow is Mother's Day and I'm planning to meet up with a fellow SMC (single mom by choice) who recently posted about feeling lonely and isolated as a SMC with a baby. So I felt I should reach out to her, especially since she had emailed me a while back (when she noticed that we were both on the SMC list and also the SomervilleMoms list) and I didn't reply back then because I suck. So after her lonely post, I emailed her and apologized for not having written sooner and invited her to hang out with us on Mother's Day. So that's the plan for tomorrow. Also I gotta bake bread and hopefully get some laundry in. Here's hoping Ruthie sleeps well, because she only had a short nap today and she is soooooo cranky and clingy when she doesn't get enough sleep. On the plus side it's supposed to be good weather tomorrow and a playground trip is always popular.

In other news of randomosity, I finally got caught up on "How I Met Your Mother" and may I just say, spoilery? for the ep like three eps ago? ) lol, this show rules.

ok, time for chocolate and bed. in that order.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Yesterday:


Eating our mac-n-cheese in the sun. With no jackets or sweaters on! ZOMG! It was like 70F and gorgeous. hooray. Oh April how I love you. Oh my backyard how I love you. woo.

Yesterday was a pretty good day, except for the part in the evening when I'm pretty sure I heard Isaac say the f-word. *facepalm*

As for today, a big Happy Birthday going out to my mom! *confetti* We baked the cake last night -- I should say "I baked" since the kids didn't help at all ;) -- and we'll be frosting it this morning before we head over. w00t. My first cake. aww.

LOL, Isaac's reading my post as I type, and he just decided that "ZOMG" spells "zooming." hee hee.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Ruthie's party was definitely a success! yay! We had five two-year-olds, two four-year-olds, five moms, three dads, and two grandmas. :) And zero Big Incidents of fighting/refusal to share or whatnot. Okay, it was mild chaos the whole time, but still, fun was had! :)

Ruthie scored some good gifts, including her personal favorite, a baby doll from grandma. (She very much needed a doll judging from how much time she has been spending playing with the one at grandma's house!) Grandma got a pretty realistic-looking one, which comes with a bottle, and grandma also got Ruthie a doll-size stroller. She LOOOOOVES it all. She is pushing the baby around everywhere, giving it bottles, snuggling it. She is so happy. I tried to get her to give the doll a name, but she insists that its name is "baby." *roll eyes* ;)

I forgot to give goody bags to the first few people who left *facepalm* but otherwise it went off quite well. [livejournal.com profile] orbitalmechanic I shall perhaps show up on your doorstep with a completely ridiculous delivery, and as for [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd, Baz can get his today at grandma's house.

After the party we went to Trader Joe's and bought, among other things, a frozen pizza, which I cooked when we got home and, wonder of wonders, all three of us ate it. If only you knew how rare that is!

This morning I made recipe #18 "Simple Muffins," based on this recipe from vegweb.com although I made some modifications: using cow milk instead of soy milk, adding some spices and some flaxseed meal. It came out quite well and is, true to the title, very simple to throw together. I'm probably going to make another batch to take to Ruthie's daycare tomorrow for her "real" birthday celebration. The recipe this morning made 11 muffins but I could make them a little smaller and probably eke out 15. There are 15 kids in the Toddler 2 class, so I figured I'd try to bring 20 muffins and that way the teachers can partake as well, if they so choose.

This afternoon we're going to a pot-luck at Isaac's friend Lucas's house, and his mom told me that as the token vegetarian (she did not actually use the word "token" ;) ) that I should bring some kind of vegetarian delicacy. At first I felt like "oh the pressure!" but then I remembered that this is a kid-friendly event and any fancy kind of vegetarian thing I might make would be unlikely to be eaten by a bunch of non-veg kids. Or even veg kids, knowing how picky some can be. ;) So instead I'm going to put hummus and cukes and lettuce on tortillas, roll it up, and slice into "coins" or pinwheels. I've never actually tried that, but the theory is sound ;) so it oughta work, hopefully. I'll keep you posted ;)

Oh yeah, and the other night I finished The Secret Life of Bees which I quite enjoyed despite the eye-roll-worthy adolescent angst stuff ;) and yesterday I started Archangel Protocol by Lyda Morehouse, which I picked up a while ago based on [livejournal.com profile] xochiquetzl's recommendation (read: zealous insistent pimping ;) ).

whee!
mamajoan: me in hammock (d'oh!)
Man, do I suck at this party planning/preparing thing. It's a damn good thing Ruthie is only 2 and won't care. OTOH it's less than three months till Isaac turns 5 so maybe I should start planning his party now. *facepalm*

In adorable-r news, Ruthie has stopped randomly yelling "Happy birthday Mama Joan!" and now randomly yells "Happy birthday Oothie!" :D

Bed now. Big day tomorrow. urgh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (bagel yummy)
Last night Isaac and I made #15 Luscious Lemon Polenta Cake which is basically a lemon pound cake with cornmeal. It was not really so much "luscious" as "lousy." Really, it was like every comedian's routine about a kitchen disaster ever, rolled into one. LOL! Fortunately I hadn't hung my hopes on it too much, so I was able to laugh it off.

Note to self: When recipe includes things like separating eggs and "fold gently with a rubber spatula," do not attempt recipe beginning at 7pm on a Sunday.

The thing had pretty good flavor, but it came out with the edges/outside overcooked and dry, and the center fused into a solid mass with really awful, unappealing texture and "off" taste. I think I didn't beat the eggs enough, or I folded too vigorously, or who the heck knows what. It's hard to think when you have one kid repeatedly asking "Can we eat the cake yet?!" and the other standing naked in the middle of the kitchen howling because the noise of the electric mixer scared her. heh.

Anyway, on the plus side, I have a spiffy new nonstick loaf pan that I bought for this purpose, so now I can entertain myself by looking for other ways to use it.

In other food news -- have I mentioned Pie Day here yet? A coworker and I jointly decided (well, he claims it was my idea, I claim it was his) that March 14th, Pi Day, should be Pie Day at the office and we are encouraging everyone to make a pie and bring it in for everyone to enjoy. We set up a page on the internal wiki (well of course we did -- we're geeks, aren't we?!) for people to sign up and say what kind of pie they're going to bring. I tentatively signed up for Key Lime Pie, which really would be what [livejournal.com profile] mofic calls Lime Pie In the Style Of Key Lime Pie. ;) I have never made a lime or key lime pie before, but [livejournal.com profile] mofic makes it sound pretty easy. I bought two graham-cracker crusts this weekend, and I'm planning to make it this weekend as a test run. whee!

Tonight is the first rehearsal for our chorus's spring concert. It will be the final concert for our beloved music director who is retiring after like 18 years, so everything is pretty fraught. But to stay on the food-based theme of this post, sopranos are supposed to bring snacks tonight which is part of why I had wanted to make the lemon cake; so now I'm snackless. I do have a bottle of juice I can bring and some plastic cups which are always in demand. I'm also in charge of setting up, managing, and then cleaning up the snack area for tonight; usually this other chick does it and I'm her faithful sidekick / right-hand woman / Girl Monday, but tonight she can't come so I have been deputized. Maybe that lets me off the hook for actually bringing something. But probably not. d'oh. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Lately every time I ride the subway with Isaac and we hear the loudspeaker say "No smoking please," Isaac asks me what smoking means. This is surprisingly difficult to explain without visual aids. I am sure he has seen people smoking in public, but it just doesn't register with him since it's such a nonevent in his life. I feel like I should be making more of an effort to edumacate him on those occasions when he asks, but you know, it just isn't an issue for us right now. Except that he asks me every time. Probably he will continue asking until he gets a satisfactory answer. I've been thinking that maybe the next time we're out in public and I see someone smoking, maybe I should point it out to him and then I can reference it the next time he asks on the subway. I dunno.

The most recent time was on Wednesday when we were en route to grandma's house so I told him he should ask grandma. In retrospect this was probably a stupid thing to say, but my internal reasoning was a) he's about to spend the entire day on the subway with grandma so it will probably come up again, and b) maybe grandma will have better luck thinking of a good way to explain it than I'm having. Although I fear that if anyone had overheard me saying "ask grandma" they must have thought I was one of those awful moms who don't want to sully themselves with any of the "difficult" conversations. ugh. ah well.

Things are interesting at work this week. Not in the sarcastic sense, really. I'm actually working on some stuff that's actually interesting. Is it sad that I need to specify so carefully when I'm not being sarcastic? ;)

In health news, I feel better today and am about 80% sure that the tiny bit of lingering nausea I feel is a combination of a) psychosomatic and b) hunger. "The guys" at work are going out for lunch today at the Border Cafe (Mexican restaurant next door to the office) and I'm trying to decide whether to go. On the one hand, I love social lunches w/coworkers. On the other hand I'm not crazy about the food. On the third hand I don't have any better ideas.... But at least I feel well enough that I'm not just saying "urgh, sick, must not eat mexican food."

I haven't posted about reading in a bit. That's because I've been working my way verrrrry slooooowly through The Omnivore's Dilemma. It's one of those books that you have to really concentrate on, which means that I can't get through more than a few pages in the time that I'm on the subway going to work, which means that it's taking me a long time to get through it. But it's definitely very interesting and thought-provoking. And I'm finally within sight of the end: only about 70 pages to go (that's about 3-4 workdays' worth, lol, but there's a three-day weekend coming up).

This morning I got email from Baskin-Robbins telling me that it's only a month until my birthday. I am aware of this, thanks. ;) I've been pondering what I want to do for it, but it will probably be low-key. I'm going to a concert with my mom the night before, and will probably not do too much on the actual day (a Sunday) and then will probably take a vacation day for the Monday and stay home and veg out. That's about as ambitious as I get these days. ;)

Meanwhile if my birthday is a month away, that must mean Ruthie's birthday is five weeks away, so I gotta figure out what to do about that too. At 2 she doesn't exactly need a whole huge party, but we gotta do at least something. Must ponder.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:11 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios