banks suck

Feb. 7th, 2008 06:16 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I am irritated at Wells Fargo right now.

My mom suggested that I look into refinancing my mortgage since the interest rates are (or were, until today) on the low side. So last night I went to the Wells Fargo website to check it out. They hold my mortgage currently so I thought it would make sense to start there.

Well, their website clearly said that you can call about refinancing up until 11pm, which I thought was great. I can't make personal calls at work (zero privacy in the office) and at night it's very difficult -- I tend to get five- or ten-minute windows of time, so I try to make my calls then, and I get tetchy if people want to call *me* during the evenings because I can't predict when my window will be.

So I called. And after punching in all my info, I get routed to an answering-service lady who says she will take my info and have someone call me back. Well, as I just said, that's not what I want. I want to talk to someone when I call, because when I call is when I can talk! I explained this to the lady, not terribly patiently, and she of course said nothing much because what could she do? She did say that she could make a notation in the file saying what time to call me. So, okay, begrudgingly I asked her to put in that they should call me after 6pm.

You won't be too surprised, I guess, to learn that at 4:45 a guy from the Boston office of Wells Fargo left me a message saying "gee, I see here on your message that I should call you after 6pm, but I can't do that, so here's my number if you want to call me."

Grrr!!!!!! Why does the fricking website say that you can call until 11pm if you can't actually get a person on the line at that time?! Argh. I am pissed.

By contrast, today I filled out an online form at Countrywide Mortgage saying that I was interested in refinancing, and I said to call after 6pm, and the guy from Countrywide called at 6:10. And after talking to me for about thirty seconds (long enough to find out what my current rate is and what I'm looking for in a refi), he cut to the chase and told me that refinancing is not going to be worthwhile for me right now, because the rates aren't enough lower than my current rate. I liked that he didn't try to bullshit me or sell me something regardless. He offered to put me on a list to get an email if/when the rates go down again, so I said yes, and then he bid me goodnight.

So, from my albeit brief experience, Countrywide gets a big thumbs-up. And Wells-Fargo can bite my shiny white ass. :P

Date: 2008-02-07 11:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] metafrantic.livejournal.com
Remember that Wells Fargo was the bank that gave someone in Vegas a loan on MY social security number and a fake name back in 2001. I've had to deal with them a few times over the years, and I've yet to have a single good experience with them.

Date: 2008-02-08 12:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wneleh.livejournal.com
For all the sh*t they get in the media, I've also had good luck with Countrywide when it comes to this sort of thing.

Date: 2008-02-08 03:08 pm (UTC)
ext_100364: (Default)
From: [identity profile] whuffle.livejournal.com
Want the contact info for the mortgage guy that we really love at Nationwide???? He's fantastic!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios