mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
Happy new year! I hope that everyone reading this, if anyone is still reading this, had a pleasant holiday season. We did, overall, but I'll get to that in a moment.

Last night I was reading through some of my old entries, as I often do. Someone on Facebook had asked about birthday parties for 3-year-olds, and I couldn't remember exactly what we did for those with my kids, so I came on here and clicked into my archive from around the time Isaac turned 3. I didn't find a post with details about his party (just a bunch of posts about getting ready for it, and then an "it's over, omg I'm so tired" post afterward), but I fell down the rabbit-hole and went on reading through my entries from that time period for a while.

Mind you, that was a particularly..."active" period in my life, with a lot of stuff going on: adjusting to life with two kids, coming back to work from maternity leave, looking for a new job, and dealing with some upset-tummy stuff that I didn't realize at the time was foreshadowing the eventual doom of my gall bladder. ;) But that's not the point. The point is that whenever I go back and read through my old posts -- wherein I often give extensively (some might say excessively) detailed descriptions of everything we did in a particular day -- I can't help thinking that my ten-years-from-now self is going to be upset to come back and not see those same kinds of entries from now. If the me with an 8- and 11-year-old enjoys rereading what I wrote about life with a 3-year-old and infant, won't the me with a 20- and 17-year-old (yikes) want to read about what my life was like when they were 8 and 11? That sentence was ugly. Please pretend it never happened.

Anyway, so the other night I thought "I'll make a resolution to post a "what we did today" every day for 2015." But obviously that's highly unrealistic, not least because it's already the fifth day of 2015. ;) So I think I'll aim for one post per week and see how that goes.

For starters, let me say a little bit about our winter vacation break that just ended.

Our Winter Break 2014-2015 )

Obviously I could go on and on and on ;) but that's enough for one post. More to come.
mamajoan: me in hammock (work is hell)
This past three days I've been in training on a software tool that our developers use. The training takes place in the same building where I work, on a different floor: the 8th floor, which has just been completely remodeled and redesigned with brand-new training rooms and conference rooms. It is super-slick and fancy. Just stepping off the elevator makes you feel like you're at a whole different company, heh. And the training rooms are very nice, and high-tech, although predictably enough almost everyone in the class had difficulty getting the wifi to work.

I noticed when I went into the women's bathroom on this floor that the toilets are auto-flush and the sink faucets are also automatic, but the hand-soap dispensers are manual. I thought it was kind of funny, because on the 4th floor where my office is it's the reverse -- the toilets and soap dispensers are automatic but the sink faucets are manual, which I've always thought was odd anyway. Why would you go to the trouble of putting in automatic soap dispensers on the sinks but not automatic faucets?

I guess if it's going to be one or the other, it makes more sense for it to be the faucets, because that would be what you touch last; if you use your dirty hand to turn the water on, then wash your hands, then put your clean hand on the now-dirty faucet to turn it off, that would be kind of defeating the point.

At Ruthie's preschool they've taught the kids to use a paper towel to turn off the faucet after washing hands, which is better in the sanitary sense, but worse in the water-conservation sense, alas.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Remember me? ;)

I went on the trip that I posted about here a while ago -- two weeks in Glasgow for training for my job. The kids and I all survived it, but I sure don't want to be separated from them for anywhere NEAR that long again, not for many years yet.

No, I didn't really enjoy the trip. I mean, the training course itself was extremely useful and I learned a lot and am very glad that I did it from that perspective. And yes, I did a few fun things, particularly on the intervening weekend (went to Edinburgh one day, and took a bus tour of the Scottish Highlands the other day -- both times with a coworker who had come along). But mostly it just wasn't fun. I was tired/jet-lagged most of the time; the class was 9-5 and could feel very lonnnnggg -- they pack SO much material into those two weeks! -- and when class ended each day, it was what, 5:30, you get back to the hotel room, and you have a whole evening to kill and nothing much to do with it. That part of the day was the worst for me. It was boring and depressing to sit around the hotel room, trying not to think about the kids, basically just killing time until 11pm (which was when I could call them -- 11pm Glasgow time being 6pm Boston time).

A few evenings I did walk around the city a bit, either by myself or with coworkers, and that was nice. A few times we went out to dinner together which was also nice and was good for killing pretty much the whole evening. And the World Cup was on, which was a huge big deal around there, so I kinda got into that as well.

The kids did fine with all the many people who cared for them during the time I was away. We did Skype chats almost every night, both voice and video. So we stayed in touch and they were basically going about their usual routines most of the time, so they were mostly okay, although Ruthie apparently got tearful after almost every video chat with me.

Then I got back, and we immediately turned around and went out to our family's summer cottage for July 4th weekend. Which was nice, but maybe not the best way for me and the kids to reconnect; and I was mostly useless due to the jet-lag and general exhaustion. So it was good to finally get back home and move back into our usual routines.

Last week we went to Cape Cod with my mom and her brother, my uncle. Mom had reserved a small suite in a resort, through her time-share (long story) so we had basically two rooms with a small kitchen area and two bathrooms, and access to an indoor pool and an outdoor pool and a jacuzzi and, of course, the ocean. ;) The kids had never really spent much time at the ocean (Isaac a little, Ruthie none) so it was a whole new thing and they had a lot of fun. There are a zillion miniature-golf places on Cape Cod, and Isaac wanted to play every one of them...twice! ;)

So today is my first day back to work after the week off, and of course, coming back after vacation sucks. Ah well.

I know I probably say this all the time, but I want to start posting here regularly again. I just have so much that floats through my head -- that is, yes, too long to tweet ;) -- and it has to come out. I feel like I don't do any writing these days, which is kind of crazy considering that it's what I do for a living....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Thanks everyone for the words of support on my post about my mom. (And if you somehow missed it, here it is.) Sorry to go more than a week without updating...!

Mom got out of the hospital last Tuesday and is glad to be home. She's recovering well from the surgery. She even managed to sing in our choir's concert on Sunday, only nine days after surgery! Everyone was amazed to see her there. :) In case you missed it, here is an article in the local paper about our concert, which explains why it meant so much to me and mom. (we are both quoted in the article.)

Anyway, so mom is on the road to recovery and we are all just trying to gear ourselves up I guess for the next step, which will be chemotherapy. :( Apparently with the type of cancer that mom had, chemo can reduce the odds of recurrence from 40% to 20%, which is a really big deal. But it still sucks that she has to go through chemo. We are still in the process of gathering all the info about that.

In other news, yesterday Isaac and I both had performance evaluations. ;) Well, I had a performance evaluation (my new company does them for everyone in December)(I've been here 3 months now so I guess I can stop calling it my "new" job) and I also had a conference with Isaac's teacher. It was my first parent-teacher conference since the beginning of the school year so I was glad to get the chance to talk to her, although there really wasn't all that much to talk about. I mean, Isaac is brilliant and wonderful, a joy to have in class ;) yadda yadda ;) well, I paraphrase ;) but that is basically the gist of it. So that was good to hear and I was glad that she didn't have any "issues" to bring up, except for the fact that Isaac's homework hadn't been getting done, which is totally my fault. *facepalm* I really slacked off for a while on making sure it got done and turned in. I'm cleaning up my act.

As for my performance evaluation, well it's my policy not to talk about work except under friends-lock, but I think it's safe to say that it went fine. Since I've only been working here three months there wasn't a whole lot to say, but it was good to check in with my boss and verify that we both agree as to how things are going. Also, there's my bonus to find out about. It's complicated the way that works, so I won't actually find out until probably sometime next week how much bonus I'm getting. It should be more than a grand, though, so that will be really nice!

I should round things out here by saying something about Ruthie ;) so I'll say that she is doing very well with potty-training, which I'm very happy about, and also that she can write her name, which proves that she is also a genius ;) and is starting to get interested in letters and words and spelling. Not that she can really spell anything yet, except for her name and STOP -- but she loves to pretend. Actually, today she found a word magnet (from the "motherhood" magnetic poetry set that I got a while ago) and asked me what word it was, and I told her it was "him", and then she went and got the three relevant letters from the fridge letter magnets and spelled "him" on the fridge. So I thought that was a pretty big step! Hey if she acquires some real sight words in the next three months I can still tell people she learned to read when she was 3. ;)

Anyway, needless to say that's only a drop in the bucket, in terms of all the stuff I could be updating about...but that's all I have the energy for right now.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
OK, once again I'm behind on posting. This time my reason is that I've been in a training course all week, 9-5. It's interesting and fun, and sometimes frustrating, but always exhausting. Oy.

ANYway...Halloween was a blast. Having it on a Saturday was great. In the morning we went to a Halloween party (thinly disguised as a "fall festival") at Ruthie's preschool, where the kids had a blast. Then to mom's house for nap, where Ruthie and Baz napped together and mom managed to capture a picture of same, which is undeniably the cutest thing ever.

The totally adorable picture )

Then we went to a party at Baz and [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd's house, which was fun, and then home and trick-or-treating. Isaac was a Transformer and Ruthie was a duck, and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd did a great job of painting their faces to go with their costumes, but alas I don't think I got any pictures! :( Oh well.

It was a freakishly warm night, which was nice. The neighbors were all hanging out on their front steps/porches waiting for us. The kids got QUITE the haul of candy. After a while their bags got so heavy that they asked me to carry them, whereupon I decided that enough was enough. ;)

Anyway, so that was fun. And then came the Halloween Witch! (Also known as the Switch Witch, but I don't like that one.)

Have you guys heard of this? I had never heard of the idea until a few weeks ago. Basically the "Switch Witch" is like the tooth fairy, except that instead of taking teeth she takes kids' Halloween candy, and instead of leaving money she leaves a toy. The idea, obviously, is to get them to give up some of their candy. ;)

Well, I wasn't at all sure how my kids would react to this idea, since they both LOVE candy, and especially since I had said they couldn't eat any candy for 5 days before Halloween and then eat as much as they wanted on the day (which my mom always used to do with me and [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and I think it worked out pretty well).

Anyway, so I decided to just give it a shot and see what happened. If they didn't go for it, fine, but it couldn't hurt to try, right?

Our 'Switch Witch' Story )

Whee! So that was fun. We're definitely doing that again next year.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Yeah, so, sorry I haven't posted about the new job. Busy/tired/etc. The short version is, it's going well. Today I actually did some actual work! ;) There's a LOT to learn. The software product we're working with is so complex it makes my head hurt just thinking about it. But that's good! It means job security! ;)

Last night I went to chorus rehearsal for the first time this fall. (The actual first rehearsal was last week but I skipped it since it was also my first day of work.) Our favorite teacher from Ruthie's former daycare was able to babysit, which was great. The kids were happy to have her and there was no crying or fussing when I left. She said they were fine except for a small amount of fussing from Ruthie at bedtime, which is what usually happens, because that's when she realizes that I'm not there to lie down with her.

So Ruthie came into my bed in the middle of the night like usual, and when it got a little light outside she started nursing, and we snuggled and nursed for a while, all nice and cozy. Then at some point the alarm went off and I turned it off and we lay there snuggling, and then Ruthie turned to look at me and said, "I love you." Insert melting mama here. ♥ So I said "I love you too."

And then: "Who will be my mom after you die?"

*facepalm*

So I said: "I'll always be your mom, and anyway I'm not going to die for ages."
Ruthie: "But when you die, you won't be alive."
Me: "No, but you're not going to get another mom. But someone will take care of you."
Ruthie: "Yeah, we'll call 911 and grandma will come and get us."

Okay! Okay! I'm awake! Sheesh. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
I just balanced my checkbook and discovered that Isaac's afterschool program apparently did not cash a check that I wrote to them back in May. This is weird and I'm not sure what to do with it. Also I'm not sure why I'm just noticing this now, since I have balanced my checkbook several times since May! I guess I'll try to give them a call.

I also received in the mail a check from Ruthie's former daycare, with a notation saying simply that it's a "refund." The amount of the check is not the amount of my weekly payments there -- although now that I think about it, possibly it's the amount that my weekly payments were when she was in the toddler room? In any case this is also weird and I'm leery of cashing the check. But I also don't really want to call them. but I guess I oughta.

Speaking of Ruthie and school, her new preschool is going pretty well. She still get super-clingy at morning dropoff time, but that's typical for her. And she's always very cheerful at pickup time, and talks happily about the fun things she did. So I think she's doing well.

And speaking of money stuff, it's uh, under control. ;) I guess maybe I should check my credit card balance before I say that though. ;) An unfortunate downside of starting my new job on the 14th of the month is that I missed the 15th-of-the-month payday so I won't get paid until the last day of the month. But on the plus side, that should be a pretty nice big check. So there's that to look forward to.

And speaking of the new job, it's going quite well so far. I'm completely exhausted, but that's to be expected. The commute is giving me major headaches, which I shall perhaps have to post about sometime soon. But the job itself is looking good thus far. And that's all I shall say about that.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Three more days of "freedom" till I start my new job. Yes! I have not yet posted outside of friends-lock, but I got a new job and I start it next Monday.

In keeping with my general policy of not posting anything specific (i.e., potentially incriminating) about work, I shall say little more about it except that it's a big company, the office is in Kendall Square, and I'll be collaborating on a project with three other writers, two of whom are based in Sydney, Australia. So THAT should be interesting. The two Australian writers are here in the States this week, and on Thursday I'm going to the office to meet them and hear a presentation they're giving. Then on Monday I start work for real and hopefully will get to spend a little more time with them before they leave on Tuesday.

And that's all I shall say about that at this time.

I have big plans for my last few days of "leisure," to wit:

* Get a massage
* Buy work shoes
* Tame the weeds in the front yard
* Put more water in the waterbed
* Get a new backpack for work
* Figure out which kid pix to bring to my new office, and get frames for them
* Organize the living room
* Clean the whole apartment (ha, I can dream)
* Straighten out the situation with the health insurance re Ruthie's dog bite (long tedious story)
* Get the kids' fall clothes sorted out and ready
* Burn a bunch of kid pix to CD so I can clear off some space on my camera cards
* Wash my bras
* Load up some music on the new MP3 player I got today at Target (for $10 so I'm sure it's crappy, lol, but whatever)
* go to bed early every night

Okay, I know I won't really get to all that in three days (really two and a half considering my plans to go to the office Thursday) but a girl's gotta dream big. heh.

In other news, our washing machine is apparently kaput. This is highly annoying. I love Brian (my co-homeowner and upstairs neighbor) like a brother, but I just don't think he feels the same urgency that I feel when the laundry facilities are unavailable. It could have something to do with the fact that he, unlike me, has zero potty-training children in his household. Anyway, it sounds like Brian doesn't think he can fix it so we'll probably end up buying a new one. I hope we (by which I mean Brian) get this done soon, because hauling laundry to mom's house is annoying enough when I'm not working, but is going to become a severe pain in the buttocks once I start work.

Oh, and speaking of pains in the anal region, Ruthie is constipated again. ;) I don't actually want to post about that. I just couldn't resist the perfect segue. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Things have been pretty stressful around here the past few months, not coincidentally coinciding with my dramatic decrease in LJ posts.

To recap:

* In October I got laid off and my grandmother died.
* In November a family friend, a woman my mom's age with kids almost my age, died of breast cancer. And we got bad news about a cousin, also my mom's age (i.e.: way too young), who has pretty bad Alzheimer's.
* Meanwhile hanging over all of this has been the illness of yet another family friend, the mother of my friend Brian who lives upstairs from me. She has a host of serious medical problems including, most recently, breast and brain tumors. Her condition has been up and down a lot in the past month or two.
* Then this month an online friend of mine found a lump in her breast which turned out to be cancerous. She wound up with a semi-urgent mastectomy and now is facing chemo. I find myself hit hard by this one, not least because she was still nursing her 3-year-old and was forced to wean her cold turkey on extremely little notice. I can't even type about it without getting all weepy so I'll leave it at that.

So, things have been difficult. yeah.

I have a policy of not talking about work outside of friends-locked posts. So all I'll say here is that my temporary 3-to-4-month gig is now in its second month and I'm grateful to have the income in this economy, and starting to worry a bit about what's going to happen when the contract is up. Also, the commute is definitely contributing to my stress. On the plus side, I get to sit on the subway and read for a good chunk of time every day. But on the minus side I'm constantly stressed about getting there (wherever "there" happens to be) on time.

The kids, overall, are doing fine. Isaac is loving kindergarten, although as I had feared, he's overtired and emotionally volatile, especially in the evenings. Ruthie is doing fine at daycare and starting to show some signs of toddler stubbornness/disobedience or whatever you want to call it -- ask any mom with older kids and she'll tell you that the "terrible twos" are a myth, that age 3 is really when things got "terrible." And Ruthie will be 3 in a mere two months. Hoo boy.

Anyway...so of course that's only a small portion of what's been going on around here, but I had to start somewhere. I can't even tell you how many fascinating and entertaining LJ posts I've written in my head. You would have laughed, you would have cried, you would have sprained a finger in your haste to click the "leave a comment" link. ;) Oh well.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Thanks [livejournal.com profile] whuffle for pointing out this interesting experiment or test or meme or whatever it is. You listen to 26 little musical clips and try to identify which are played correctly and which incorrectly. Very neat. I got all 26 right, of course. Hey, that degree in music theory has to come in handy at least once per decade, right?! ;)

Also of interest, or LOLworthy, perhaps, is Santa's gmail inbox. hee hee. I love this one.

Also LOLworthy, I thought, was this screen shot that I took of news.google.com earlier today. :)

I just noticed that LiveTwitter hasn't been posting my tweets for the past few days. Well, you haven't missed much. The job is still okay, I still feel like crap, there's construction in the floor above the office which is noisy and not playing nicely with the sinus headache. The kids continue to be adorable and say hilarious things.

I'm disgruntled because I found out that my health insurance via the recruitment agency won't kick in until Jan 1st, contrary to what they had led me to believe; which appears to leave us uninsured for December, which makes me very anxious. But unfortunately I haven't been able to do anything about it yet because I don't have enough voice right now to make a bunch of phone calls.

On the plus side, I got a bunch of unemployment checks (they finally approved me and sent my checks for all the weeks that I was eligible for, all at once) which is good. you know, money. etc.

and now, I gotta get to bed. urgh.

bleah

Dec. 1st, 2008 09:35 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I started the new job today. It went fine I guess. I shall probably post more later, under friends-lock (I always friend-lock posts about work). Mainly, though, I just feel like crap thanks to the cousin who brought us a cold from Wisconsin for Thanksgiving. I am going to bed super-early and hoping I won't be as crappy and cranky tomorrow.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Oh boy. Where to begin?

We went to the cottage over the weekend. It was nice. The weather was perfect and the kids had a blast. Isaac is letting go more and more of his anxiety about the water, which is great. As usual, it was hard to leave and we ended up getting home quite late. d'oh.

Friday was our last day at the old Harvard Square office, which was sad. Also, not surprisingly, it was chaos. Everyone was packing up and so forth. Very little work got done and most people left early. Yesterday was our first day at the new office, and it was somewhat chaotic, but not too bad. Desks and everything were already set up so you could pretty much sit down and plug in and get going -- although the network connections were spotty all day.

The new office is nice enough, I guess. It's big and spacious so the entire company can all be on one big floor together -- which was what our CEO wanted, as opposed to the old office where we were split into two sections of the building, separated by a short hallway. It's a very old building (used to be a twine factory) and we're on the top floor, so we have cool exposed woodwork of the roof -- I don't know what you call them, beams? -- and slanted walls. We also get plenty of sunlight and have a pretty good view of the area.

Getting here is a SEVERE pain in the ass though, unfortunately. Today's only my second day and I already hate the commute with the passion of a thousand suns. I'm going to try some different ways of doing it, but I can already see that they're all going to suck.

the gory details of yesterday's and today's commutes )

So, unfortunately, things aren't going too well in the commuting to the new office sense. And I can only foresee it getting worse instead of better, once Isaac starts school. Sigh.

Just to end the post on a lighter note, though, here's a new Ruthie funny. Lately Ruthie is into saying that she loves things. At dinnertime, "I LOVE spaghetti!" At diaper time, "I LOVE changing my diaper!" We're going to grandma's house, "I LOVE gramma!" You have to mentally hear her voice pitch going up about half an octave on the word "love," lol.

She's also very much into the "why" stage. WTF? I thought this didn't come until much later! She must be precocious. ;) Everything is whyyyyyy? whyyyyyy?

So the other night we're driving home from the cottage and we pass by a miniature-golf course with a little waterfall. My mom and I were like, oh look, there's a waterfall. Ruthie: "Dat's a waterfall?" me: "yep, it sure is." Ruthie: "Whyyyyy?"

There's a brief moment of silence while the adults in the car contemplate how to respond to this essentially unanswerable question.

Then Ruthie pipes up again from the back seat: "I LOVE saying 'why'!"
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The day was off to an inauspicious start when I was rudely awakened by a loud motor noise outside my window that I thought was someone mowing their lawn. At 6:15a.m.?! I got out of bed and threw on my bathrobe and went outside to investigate. It turned out to be at least two helicopters, circling in the air above my general vicinity. I've since learned that there was apparently a big fire at a halfway house not far from where I live, which explains it, and I guess I should just be grateful that I wasn't awoken even earlier by fire trucks or what have you. I dunno. I tried to go back to sleep, but that was pretty futile by that point, alas.

Anyway, on the bright side, everyone in my household seems to be feeling much better today (KNOCK WOOD!!). We got up and got ready and headed off for school and work as usual.

I forgot to mention in my post yesterday that I was worried about what to do when it came time to pick up Ruthie from daycare. It could have been pure coincidence that Isaac threw up just after the car started moving -- or it could have been directly related. I didn't know, but I was worried. But there wasn't a good alternative, so in the end I made him hold a large plastic bowl in his lap and off we went. He was totally fine though. Really, he had been fine within about half an hour after he barfed that morning; he spent most of the day alternately begging me to go outside and play baseball with him, and begging me to give him various not-gentle-on-the-tummy foods, like pizza (ha...NOT) and brownies. (We watched a cooking show about brownies and all of a sudden it was "Let's make brownies for dinner!" I repeat, ha...NOT.) He was more fine than I was! Mind you, I was pretty much fine too, except for being weak and listless from not having eaten. We both had bananas and toast and crackers, and did fine. In the evening Isaac had hummus on bread, and I had a teeny tiny peanut-butter sandwich, and that was fine too. Whew.

I made him hold the bowl again this morning when we drove to preschool, but it was just silly by that point. heh.

Anyway, so now everything seems to be back to normal, knock wood. The kids are back at school and I'm back at work. I even had my morning cup of tea, which I didn't have the past two mornings, and that seems to be sitting fine. I'm looking forward to an afternoon without a splitting caffeine-withdrawal headache! ;) And I'm pondering how adventurous I'm going to feel at lunchtime. My guess: not very.

I'm also feeling much less stressed about work after having come in today and cleared up some misconceptions about my current project. (I thought that the thing I'm working on was supposed to be delivered to a customer tomorrow. It turns out it's supposed to be done in first-complete-draft form tomorrow, which is a VERY different thing. Whew.)

Ruthie tends to be VERY chatty in the first like 5-10 minutes after she wakes up. She sits up in bed and talks a mile a minute. This morning it was something about how she was sitting down in her new daycare room, eating, and other kids were playing, and they ran past her and knocked her over and she hurt herself. But when I started asking questions, suddenly it morphed into an incident at the playground. And then it was "I was swinging at the playground." Oh really? She loves to swing, but I can't really picture one of the daycare teachers taking the time to push Ruthie in the swing for any length of time when they have 15 (or whatever) other kids to keep track of. So I said "who was pushing you in the swing?" and she said "Grandma." LOL. So I'm not sure what happened with that story. Maybe some other kid did knock her down at school. Maybe she dreamed it. Maybe someone knocked her down at the playground. Maybe nothing happened at all. Who the hell knows? She's only 2, she doesn't exactly construct a linear plotline. ;)

Soooo...and how's YOUR tuesday going? heh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
First of all, sorry about LoudTwitter spamming your flist with multiple copies of my "tweets for today." I have a suspicion of why this might be happening, but don't know how to fix it.

Second, apparently only half of the TxtLJ posts I sent today actually showed up. Which explains why it might look a little weird that my first TxtLJ post begins with "Also," ...there was another post before that one. I can't remember what it said now, but it was probably boring anyway so whatever.

Third, just to update on Ruthie, she is peachy. Yesterday she was fine but couldn't go to daycare because of the 24-hour rule, so she spent the morning at home with me, then my mom kindly took her at mom's office for a couple hours so I could go to a meeting, but I was way late to the meeting AND way late to pick Ruthie up, resulting in mom being way late to HER meeting...so it was a bad scene all around. Man, am I glad yesterday is over. Fortunately Ruthie went back to daycare today and was fine.

And finally, here's the funny story from preschool pickup to which I alluded in my previous post. it got a little long )

I am a dork

May. 9th, 2008 03:00 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
We had free breakfast at the office this morning for a company meeting. (I shall post more about the company meeting under friends-lock. Nothing bad took place, but I like to keep all my work-related content under lock.) By the time the meeting was done it was almost noon, and there was tons of food left, so it was also free lunch.

But I ate too much of it and had another of my gall-bladder-related attacks. :( I haven't had one of those in SO long!! I have only myself to blame though. I knew I shouldn't have that last bowl of yogurt with berries and granola (especially after it had been sitting out for hours) but I ate it anyway. It was dumb.

So I got to feeling so nauseated, I decided to leave the office and come home. Of course, by the time I got here, I was feeling pretty much all better. D'oh! But better safe than sorry I guess. oh well.

more later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
OK, so I haven't updated in a few days and now am way behind, woe.

On Wednesday I wrote that I had been foiled in my attempt to take a mental health day, due to important meetings. I thought I might take it Thursday (yesterday). But then later in the day Wednesday there was an email saying that on Thursday we'd have free pizza in honor of the company founder's birthday. So, well, free pizza. Plus there was another meeting, which I could have missed but preferred not to. So I worked Thursday too.

Now it's Friday and I really am taking my day. woo. I am hoping to do a good mix of me-time and productive stuff. I just had a leisurely breakfast and am going to take a leisurely shower, and then tackle the dreaded tax return. Depending how that goes, maybe I'll manage some grocery shopping later on.

OK, time to go get that shower. No, wait!! First I have to mention that on Tuesday I put in the registration forms for Isaac for kindergarten. So at least that's done. The lottery for the program that I put as my first choice (the one [livejournal.com profile] wneleh has been pushing me toward since Isaac was an infant :) ) is next Wednesday, so after that I'll at least know whether we got in there or not. And then the madness can begin! er, continue! whatever!

ok, really going now, more later
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The last couple of days have not been good. I had high hopes for today being much better, since I was planning to take a mental health day; but upon waking up this morning, suddenly realized that I had a meeting today. (Can blame my boss for this one as he neglected to include me on the MS Outlook invitation so it was not on my calendar yesterday when I checked to see whether I could safely take today off. Sigh. That's what I get for being all responsible and shit.)

So I am at the office, my ears hurt (sinus issues, suspect nascent ear infection), and am cranky. Hope to get my mental health day tomorrow.

wah.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
So this coming Friday is the deadline to register Isaac for preschool if I want to enter the lottery for one of the two programs that do admissions by special lottery. And I do want to. So I need to get our stuff in by Friday, which of course I have known about for months and have been saying "I have plenty of time." Except, now, not so much any more.

So last night I decided it would be a good idea to gather all my paperwork together and make sure I had it all, and put it in my work bag, so that on any particular day this week I could hypothetically decide to leave work early or come in late so as to go by the Parent Info Center and put in my application. So I set about digging up the necessary papers.

hijinks ensued... )

Whew. So at last I have everything that I need to go and register us for kindergarten. Now I just have to find the time to do it. This week should be a lot less crazy work-wise than last week was, so it shouldn't be too hard to find a spare half-hour or so.

In other procrastinatory news, remember how this accountant lady my mom knows had agreed to do my tax return for me, even though supposedly she wasn't taking new clients this year? Yeah, well, I procrastinated for so long on filling out the paperwork for her, that now it's too late and she can't do it. :( FAIL. I suck. So I shall be muddling through the tax return on my own, unfortunately. I have no one to blame but myself.

On the cheerier side, I figured out why my spell-checker wasn't working on my work computer after upgrading to Office 2007!! The IT guy here had wrestled with it and was stumped, but I did some googling and found a page that suggested deleting a particular registry key, and I tried it, and it worked! Go me! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Um. So things have been very busy at work this week, and Ruthie has been waking up a lot so I've been going to bed early. Which is why I haven't been posting much.

Anyway, sorry for the somewhat lame-ass April Fool's post the other day. Ah well. BTW, the part about my financial situation being kind of dire was not a joke, unfortunately. Right now I am ostriching that though; too much else going on.

Congratulations go out to: [livejournal.com profile] hardcorewife whose fourth baby and third daughter, Evelyn, arrived last Monday (Ruthie's birthday buddy! :) ), and [livejournal.com profile] queenalia whose second son, Adam, arrived last Friday, and my non-LJ-having friend Amy whose fourth daughter, Hope, arrived last Thursday. Whew! And with [livejournal.com profile] whuffle and [livejournal.com profile] evil_macaroni about to pop any day now, it's just babies busting out all over the place. Must be spring. ;)

In Ruthie news she is starting to be able to identify some letters and numbers. The other day I showed her a letter "S" fridge magnet and said "what letter is this?" and she said "Five!" which I thought was pretty good. :) She also spontaneously identified a Crazy Eights card as "red four" and a letter L as an L. And this morning she counted thusly: "One two three four four five six seven eight nine ten eleven eleven eleven eleven..." LOL. She says "ee-yeh-ven" which I think is just so cute. ;D In other Ruthie news cut for TMI bodily-functions stuff )

Isaac came home from preschool the other day with a band-aid on his finger, which he showed me, and when I asked what happened, he said that they were at the playground and his friend M "tried to bite me." Which apparently means "bit me." Hmm. Upon further conversation he said that M and another kid L were "being mean to me" which apparently means chasing him, and that they were "trying to get me out of the way" and he put his hands up, or something, whereupon M bit him. Well, it's really hard to know what really happened from the way Isaac recounts these things; and I'm certainly hesitant to call it bullying because M and L are basically good kids and are Isaac's friends. It's entirely possible that they were actually playing together just fine and M suddenly decided to bite for no reason. It's also quite possible that Isaac provoked M in some way. Who knows? Anyway, I started to tell Isaac that if M and L were bothering him, he should run and tell a teacher; but before I could even get that out, he said it himself. So at least he knows what he should do, though whether he actually does it will be another question.

OK, back to work, more later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
Last Friday some guys came by and installed an enormous new whiteboard in the common space here at the office. This was in response to some of my coworkers saying that they preferred the other side of our office because it has so much whiteboard space for impromptu technical discussions and so forth. (Which in turn prompted some teasing that at one point apparently the developers had "Do Not Erase" written on every whiteboard on that side of the office.)

So we have this beautiful new gleaming whiteboard, which has not yet actually been used for anything. But this morning when we got in, someone had written "Please Do Not Erase!" in the middle of it. LOL.

My coworker J took personal affront to this, grabbed an eraser, and swiped through it. So now it says "Plea ___ Do Not E____e!" hee hee.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 10:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios