mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, my car is allegedly fixed (again). The mechanic left a message this morning that he had replaced the starter. (to reiterate: HA!) He didn't mention how much it was going to run me, so I get to remain blissfully ignorant for another few hours.

I made an appointment to visit another school on Thursday. Then I emailed my project manager, who has kids in the Somerville system and has been one of my main sounding boards / sources of info during the process, and told him that I will be in late Thursday and that if after that day he hears me thinking about looking at any other schools, he should put the smackdown on. ;)

I remembered one of the other cute things Ruthie does that I wanted to post about. It's when she leaves the room (or goes to the other end of it) and then comes back and announces, "I back!!" LOL, well it loses something in translation but trust me, it is adorable. Also Ruthie has discovered how much fun it is to tickle her brother. ;) Isaac is very ticklish and if Ruthie sees him naked or partially naked (e.g. at dressing/undressing time), she will run over and tickle him while chortling in delight. Then he giggles the helpless giggle of the extremely ticklish, and it's all good. :) Also they are always hugging each other, and how is it that I never have the camera handy at those moments?? yeesh!

When I arrive at daycare at the end of the day and Ruthie runs over to me and I lift her up, she puts her little hands on either side of my face and holds me there and just looks at me for a moment. And then she'll say, "Ruthie's mama!" :)

The subject line is an oblique reference to a technical spec that one of my coworkers wrote, which originally began with a very confusing sentence fragment.

Random poll:
[Poll #1152514]
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Hmm, let's see, what's new?

I am taking off all day tomorrow to go visit three schools for Isaac. I have an appointment for the 9:30 tour at one of them, and can do the others "free-form." I also have an appointment in the afternoon to meet with a doctor who may become our new pediatrician. Ruthie's constipation issues last week have motivated me to get off my ass and try to find a new doctor, especially since it's only two months until Ruthie will be 2 (!) and will need a checkup and so forth.

Also a digression about Isaac, school application, lead tests, and my ongoing dissatisfaction with our current pediatrician )

Anyway. So wish me luck tomorrow with the schools and the doctor.

In reading news, I finally finished Misfortune by Wesley Stace. It was a very odd book. It starts off with a baby being abandoned and left for dead, and then discovered by an eccentric rich man who decides to take the baby home and raise it as his daughter. Just one slight problem -- he neglects to actually look between the baby's legs before declaring it his daughter and giving it a feminine name. Oops. Well, you can sort of foresee the type of hijinks that ensue. The beginning seemed promising, but ultimately it didn't work out for me. There's a big plot twist near the end that I totally saw coming and found rather disappointing, plus the book ends with one of those "jump forward in time several decades and tell us where all the characters ended up" devices, which I think is fairly lame. I've rarely seen that kind of thing done well. Anyway, so overall not the greatest book but I'm still glad that I finished it at last. And now I'm about halfway through Carnival by Elizabeth Bear, which I also am not terribly much enjoying but am finally (now, at halfway through!) starting to give a crap about the characters. So I guess that's good? Am I just cranky these days or what? ;)

misc stuff about the kids, including some cute things Ruthie has been saying )

Also, I can't get over how awesome my new camera is. I love the fact that it's small enough to carry in my pocket, and that it starts up so fast; both of which together mean that I'm experiencing a drastic reduction in the number of missed photo-ops. ;) Where it used to be "oh crap they're doing something cute, where's the camera, quick, run and grab it without disturbing them from the game, turn it on, wait wait wait while it starts up, okay ready...dammit, they're doing something else now :(" now it's "ooh they're doing something cute! pull out camera, turn it on, shoot!" :) Of course, it's not like I've had any time to upload any of those pix, alas, but ah well -- they're there for whenever I get to them. ;)

My mom brought Bastian over the other night and we all had pizza together before she returned him to his rightful home, so I took some pix of Ruthie and Baz interacting, but unfortunately I didn't realize that I had the camera on manual instead of auto, so they all came out blurry. :( Gotta keep an eye on that! It was fun though. Ruthie didn't mind Bastian sitting in her high chair to eat pizza, or playing with "her" (i.e., Isaac's) trains. She got a little wary when he came near her while she was sitting in her special chair (which is also actually Isaac's, LOL, but he's too big for it now) but it was okay. While Baz was in Ruthie's chair she stood next to it saying "Hi Baz!" repeatedly, LOL. And when grandma and Baz were ready to go, both Isaac and Ruthie gave Baz hugs, which was adorable. Baz seemed pretty confused by it all, LOL. He didn't say very much, although I understand that when he's at home he chatters nonstop just like Ruthie does. He did come out with a few babble-sentences that were completely incomprehensible to me but that I'm sure [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd would have understood perfectly, heh.

OK, I think that's long enough for one post, don't you?

hee hee

Dec. 19th, 2007 12:26 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
So today is Wednesday and Wednesday is Isaac's day with his grandma. Today they are at South Station in Boston, where a model-train exhibit has been erected for the holidays, which apparently is endlessly fascinating to Isaac.

I just got an email from my mom, sent via her IPhone, containing a photo (taken with her IPhone) of the aforementioned train setup and the back of Isaac's head. The subject line reads: "We are here. Can't get Isaac to look at me while the trains go by. 'I'm too excited.'" :D

Say what you will about Apple and all the hype, but the IPhone is damn cool. You gotta love technology.

another story about how funny Isaac is about public transportation (and his grandma) )

Isaac's love of buses, trains, and all moving vehicles -- but ESPECIALLY trains -- continues unabated. It's really fascinating to me how long this has held on, even when all the other kids have lost interest in trains and moved on to pirates and dinosaurs. I really do think it's at least partly genetic. At home, no matter what he has to play with, he ALWAYS wants to pretend something is a train: a set of blocks, a string of beads, a pillow, a scarf, a fork, you name it, he's vrooming it around on the floor/table while making train noises. (And being the seasoned subway rider that he is, he makes actual authentic train noises -- not just "choo choo" but actual noises that sound like the various sounds that the MBTA trains make. He can even tell you which one it is, e.g., "this one's a Green Line trolley, see it goes like this" or "this is how the Red Line sounds when it goes around the squeaky bend at Boylston Street.") Once recently when he was complaining that he didn't know what to play with, I said "well what do you want to do?" and he said "I just want to pretend something is a train!" LOL! At least he's somewhat self-aware, hee hee!

And the other night Ruthie spontaneously took hold of a pillow on my bed and pushed it along, while saying, "choo choo!" LOL!!!!! It's genetic all right. Or contagious. ;)

isms

Nov. 7th, 2007 11:01 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (isaac and ruth july 07)
This evening while getting ready for bed, Isaac said "I'm that tired." This clearly is the opposite of "I'm not that tired." hee hee. awesome.

I'm sorry to report that Isaac has also taught Ruthie the word "candy." *facepalm* Oh Halloween, you mixed blessing you. ;)

Today Isaac spent the morning with his cousin Bastian as I may have mentioned earlier. I asked him whether Bastian knows a lot of words. Isaac replied, "no, he wasn't feeling very chatty today."

Ruthie's newest word tonight was "hand." At least I'm fairly sure that's what it was supposed to be. She said something like "gand" while tapping one palm with her other forefinger, and when I said "oh, do you mean hand?" she grabbed my hand and said "mama!" (i.e., mama's hand) Oh so smart! ♥

Ruthie has also started saying "the end" every time I finish reading a book. SO cute.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
(Ruthie trips on something and falls down, about 5 feet away from where Isaac and I are)
Ruthie: *fuss*
Me: Ruthie, what happened?
Isaac: I'll go and see! (Walks two steps toward Ruthie) Ruthie, did you fall down?
Ruthie: Yeah!
Isaac: Oh, Mama, she fell down.

thanks for that news flash...ah my helpful boy ;)

When I arrived at daycare tonight to pick up Ruthie, she was sitting on a little couch, looking at a book, talking to herself ("reading" it to herself). It was so cute. She was so absorbed it took her a few minutes to notice me. And then she jumped up and...went to put the book back on the shelf before running over to me. :D
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
My mom had her back surgery this morning. The doctor called me afterward and said it all went fine -- exactly as expected. That's good to know. She should be ready for phone calls this afternoon, and I'll call and find out whether she's up for visitors or not. Then tomorrow I'll be going to pick her up from the hospital and take her home; and she has a friend lined up to stay the night in case she needs anything.

whew, so that's a relief. Not that I really thought anything would go wrong, but you never know.

In other news, I know I have mentioned how awesome LibraryThing is. But if the idea of entering in all the books you own is daunting (and believe me I understand that -- but personally I found it fascinating and addictive -- call me weird; or maybe call me a closet librarian ;) ), maybe you'd care to join up for the free unpublished books? ;) They have an "Early Reviewers" program whereby they send you free copies of books that are about to be published or have been published fairly recently. They strongly encourage you to write reviews of these books, and writing a review increases your chances of snagging a book from the next round -- but they don't police the content of your review, and if you don't review, it's not like they demand the book back or anything.

Anyway, so I have apparently been selected to receive a copy of Globalistan: How the Globalized World is Dissolving into Liquid War by Pepe Escobar. It sounds interesting, although probably damn depressing too. ;) I certainly look forward to receiving and reading it.

In clothing news, yesterday I stopped into the Gap (there's a Gap in the building where I work and I often walk through it on the way out) and tried on several pairs of super-comfy sweatpants. But alas, the Mediums were just the tiniest bit too tight for office-appropriateness, and the Larges were just the tiniest bit too loose. :( I was bummin'. I tried to talk myself into buying a Medium on the theory that I had my period and thus was bloated so they wouldn't be too tight in another week -- but I wasn't buying it, even from myself. ;) Snif. Oh well, the hunt for properly-fitting pants continues.

In Ruthie news, she has grown very attached over the past couple of months to a teddy bear, which is a blue Beanie Baby with a peace sign on his chest. We call him Peace Bear. She carries him everywhere, chews on his nose a lot, gets mad if you try to take him away at mealtime, and sleeps with him as her comfort object at daycare. Apparently all the other toddlers know that Peace Bear is Ruthie's bear, and if they find him lying around, they grab him and run over to give him back to her. :) Anyway, so I went on ebay looking for a spare Peace Bear (everyone says you should have an extra of your child's comfort object, just in case) and discovered that apparently they are quite popular/common. I scored another one for $5 including shipping. It arrived yesterday. When I first took it out of the package to show Ruthie, she looked very confused, LOL, but then she grabbed it and put both of them into her toy shopping cart and pushed them around for a while. This morning she found the grocery cart again, still with the two Peace Bears in it. She picked up the new one, snuggled him for a moment, put him back, picked up the old one, snuggled him for a moment, and carried him around. :) My plan is to let her play with the new one until he's approximately as beat-up as the old one, and then put one of them away in a drawer somewhere as backup in case of Peace-Bear-related emergency.

In related news, the other day when Ruthie was pushing the grocery cart around and got it stuck in a corner, I said, "do you need some help?" and she said "peez!" ♥ Isaac's 4 and I'm still trying to get him to say "please" unprompted. LOL!!

the good

Aug. 9th, 2007 10:29 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (bagel yummy)
Tonight for dinner we had corn-on-the-cob from yesterday's CSA haul. Oh Em Gee, flist. It was absolutely the sweetest, tastiest corn ever. And I should know, 'cause I am a corn-on-the-cob connoisseur. OMG. I'm drooling just thinking about it. We got four ears and I cooked two, and after we ate, I thought seriously about cooking the other two, but decided to save them for tomorrow.

Isaac proclaimed the corn to be "one hundred yummy." He is into one hundreds lately in case I haven't mentioned. :)

Ruthie loves to chew on a corn cob. I had to pry the gross soggy mess out of her fingers. ;) She would have carried it around with her all night.

Two funny things happened while we were walking back from our car to our house tonight.
* Ruthie was toddling merrily along the sidewalk when suddenly she heard some random rock music blaring from the house across the street from ours, which has construction workers working in it. She stopped short and commenced to getting her groove on. Srsly, she was gettin' down. She has some moves! Oh, if ever there was a time when I wished for a camcorder in my hand! Man.

* Isaac spotted another child, a Chinese boy maybe 3 years old or so, walking toward us with his mom. Isaac was all, "what's his name?" and I said, "I don't know his name, why don't you ask him?" So Isaac says to the mom, "what's his name?" and she says, "Isaac"!! ROTFL! I had to ask her to repeat it, I was so surprised. Her English was not good at all (I tried to ask her where she lives, but no luck) but she quite clearly said that her child's name was Isaac. Too funny. I never met a Chinese Isaac before.
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
Today's spam subject: "Meet women from home!" Yeah, because heaven forbid you should actually, like, leave the house and interact with other human beings in person! ;)

Recent funny conversations with kids:

Isaac: Ruthie, say whoa!
Ruthie: Whoa!
Isaac: Ruthie, say Isaac.
Ruthie: *babbles*
Isaac: No Ruthie, say Isaac!
Ruthie: Bye-bye ghee!
Isaac: No, we're not going anywhere, Ruthie, say mama.
Ruthie: Bye-bye ghee!
Isaac: Ruthie, say waffle.
Ruthie: *babbles*
Me: Ruthie, say antidisestablishmentarianism.
Ruthie: Bye-bye!

[...]

Isaac: Ruthie, say whoa!
Ruthie: Whoa!
Isaac: Ruthie, say whoa!
Ruthie: *babbles*
Isaac: No Ruthie, whoa, say whoa.
Ruthie: *babbles*
Isaac: Ruthie, say Isaac.
Ruthie: Bye-bye!
Isaac: Ruthie, say bye-bye ghee!
Ruthie: Bye-bye!
Me: Ruthie, say 'now we see the violence inherent in the system!'
Ruthie: Whoa!

In related news, while we were in Vermont Ruthie learned to say "ding," as in the noise that the elevator makes when it arrives at a floor. Also known as the noise that the toaster makes when it's done toasting. Whenever she hears such a noise, she runs toward its source, yelling "Ding!" It is too cute. :D

Which reminds me of another one from the other day. I was supervising Isaac's frozen waffle in the toaster, and Ruthie was standing on the floor below, fussing and reaching upward. So Isaac says, "No Ruthie, you have to be 33 before you can use the toaster." hee hee.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Boston.com has what purports to be a photo gallery of Red Sox players and their kids. Actually it's ten pictures of Manny Jr. and Little Papi, and one of Okajima's son. But still, there is much cute to be had. D'Angelo Ortiz (Little Papi) is one ridiculously adorable kid.

I ought to be posting new pix of my kids, but I haven't had time to upload them lately. ah well.

Ruthie was much better yesterday afternoon (I picked her up from [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd early) and evening, and slept better than she had the previous night, but she still wanted to sleep on top of me. So today my back is killing me. I wanted to make an appointment for a massage -- my mom gave me a gift certificate for my birthday -- but I can't find it. grump grump. Maybe I'll just call the chiropractor. Or maybe I'll just pop a bunch of ibuprofen.

I found an article about the fire in my neighborhood. It's typical Boston Herald: i.e., long on rhetoric and short on actual information. But I note it says that the firefighters were there until 1:30am, my goodness. It was around 11, I think, when I saw (and heard) one fire truck laboriously reversing direction on our street, causing traffic to back up in both directions for a few minutes. Oddly enough, some people on the Davis Square lj community said that they smelled smoke, but I never did. Maybe the wind was blowing the other way. Anyway, it sucks for those families that are now homeless. Ugh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
You guys, I got the BEST video of Ruthie tonight! it is freaking hilariadorable! I coined a new word just for it!

I just wish the upload to YouTube didn't make the picture quality so crappy -- I swear it looks a ton better on my computer. :( ah well.

Anyway, behold the awesomeness! )

LOVE!!!!!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Isaac and Ruthie have a new favorite game to play with an empty water bottle. Ruthie pretends to take a sip, then gives the bottle to Isaac. He takes a pretend sip, then gives it back. Then she takes another pretend sip...repeat at great length. LOL! And they both giggle like crazy the whole time. It is awesome.

Ruthie took steps tonight! Unassisted walking! She walked a whole, like, five steps from where I had put her, to the nearest piece of furniture. Then later I put her a little ways from me and she walked 2-3 steps over to me -- several times. woohoo!

I have been semi-obsessively putting my books into LibraryThing. It only lets you put in 200 with a free account, so of course I had to upgrade to a paid account. At $10 for a year it's not exactly breaking the bank. Anyway, I'm up to about 300 books and nowhere near done. I can't explain why it's so addictive; it ... just ... is.

This afternoon I had to pick up Ruthie a bit early so that [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd could take her sister to the airport. We had about an hour before we had to go pick up Isaac. I had all kinds of wacky ideas for what we could do (including, of course, the option of picking him up early too) but in the end we just came home, goofed around for a while, and then decided to walk to preschool rather than drive. It's not far, but it involves a pretty steep hill, and it was cold. So that was definitely my exercise for the day. Then we walked back, of course, with a stop on the bridge to watch two trains go by. Good times.

OK, back to tagging and reorganizing my LibraryThing list. whee!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
First of all, welcome to LJ my mom, [livejournal.com profile] noone_else13! wow, are we an LJing family or what? :)

Next, some cute-kid stories. [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl recently wrote that these are the kinds of things that the parent thinks are completely unbelievably hilarious and adorable, but that everyone else finds completely snoozeworthy (I paraphrase wildly). I, however, refuse to believe that. ;) I KNOW you find my kid stories just as hilarious and adorable as I do! RIGHT? ;)

Last night Isaac told me that sometimes if you're not careful, "some strangers might come and take you to a really scary place!" Apparently, what happens is that "they take you and put you in a car, and take you to a movie!" I should note that as far as I know, he doesn't actually know what a movie is. Or a stranger for that matter. heh. This makes me wonder whether his preschool teachers have been lecturing them about not going with strangers? But who knows with this kid.

Another good Isaac story )

And a Ruthie funny too )

Also, lately Ruthie's babbles have started to sound more word-like. She now babbles strings of consonants that sound like they really ought to be words, though usually aren't. It's pretty funny though. I have got to get some video of that before she starts talking for real.

OK, pump break's over, back to work.

*facepalm*

Apr. 18th, 2007 01:31 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruth frown)
This morning Ruthie took a Kleenex out of the box (always a favorite baby activity -- Isaac used to spend hours ripping tissues into shreds) and put it up to her face and pretended/tried to blow her nose. Repeatedly.

*facepalm*

I know I've been having sinus/congestion issues for a long time, but this is a little much. LOL. At least it's cute. sigh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruth smiling 2)
Yesterday Ruthie stood unassisted for a count of fifteen which is the longest she has done so far. She was standing and leaning against me while playing with a new toy, and didn't realize that she had stopped leaning against me and was just standing while using both hands to examine the toy. Then this morning I saw her leaning against Isaac's toy grocery cart and experimenting with letting go and standing on her own. whoo!

She also really enjoys walking while holding onto someone else's hand with just one of her hands -- although she has no interest whatsoever in trying to push around her walker/pusher toy (Isaac likes to do that one though, LOL). I don't think it'll be long until she decides she's ready to try this walking thing on her own. Also we have a new thing when I want to get somewhere and she's hanging on me: I walk, and she holds onto my ass and walks behind me, LOL.

She has also figured out how to "pop" the balls in Isaac's ball toy (they go down some ramps and stuff, it's cool) and she LOVES this toy. She has a shrieking sort of laugh that she does when she gets really excited, that almost sounds like she's crying. It's pretty hilarious.

She's really into the Eensy-Weensy Spider and will try to do the hand movements along with it. Isaac loves to sing it for her and she watches him intently and tries to copy his movements. Now she'll even request the song by doing the motions!

Just now Isaac was doing his alphabet puzzle and singing a random little song just ad-lib, the lyrics being something like: "oh my silly baby, she's the silliest girl, silly silly girl...."

gotta go, she climbed onto Isaac's bed and doesn't know how to get down LOL
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Today is my mom's birthday. (Happy Friday the 13th!) This morning I dialed her number and put the phone to Isaac's ear, and he carefully listened while it rang, and after she said "hello?" he said "Happy Birthday!!" Then he listened closely and mm-hmm'd while she thanked him and told him how much she's looking forward to the birthday outing we're planning tomorrow.

Isaac mm-hmm'd some more and then said, "now I have to go put on my socks." Hee hee.

Meanwhile Ruthie was celebrating grandma's birthday by pulling all of Isaac's pants and sweaters out of his drawer and tossing them on the floor. Whee! Ah, the simple pleasures of life.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I'm boring myself with all the angst, so you're probably bored too. So here's a more pleasant topic: the kiddos. :)

Isaac
Isaac is three and a half. His current favorite activities are playing with his toy trains (this one never gets old), reading, and doing jigsaw puzzles. More on Isaac )

Ruth
Ruth is ten months old. Her current activities are banging things together, dropping things, and putting things inside other things. More on Ruth )

OK, enough talk -- bring on the pictures! Bunch of new pix of the kids )

Cutest Kids Ever! ♥

potpourri

Jun. 6th, 2006 11:59 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Today's Date
Happy 6/6/6! :) Unlike [livejournal.com profile] jenwrites, I haven't dressed for the occasion...but then again, I'm still in my pajamas. ;) When I do get dressed, perhaps my Sith Academy t-shirt would be apropos.

Isaac's Party
I have been woefully disorganized about Isaac's party, but judging from the RSVPs that I've gotten so far, there are only going to be like three non-family people there anyway, so whatever. But still, if you live in the Boston area and/or will be in the Boston area this Sunday, June 11th, feel free to drop by for Isaac's party between approx. 10am and noonish. It'll be extremely casual. If the weather's nice, we'll be in the back yard; if not, we'll be inside and I'll be utterly freaking out about having actual people see my disaster of an apartment.

Memeage -- the Name Game
I've been having some trouble keeping up with my flist, but I saw that someone tagged me for the "explain your username" meme. (sorry, I'm lame and can't remember who it was) I think I've done this before, but anyway, what chlaal means ) I'm not tagging anyone, but do the meme if you like.

Bookgasms
My mom got me a new bookcase off craigslist. Like any self-respecting geek, I have (or had) way more books than shelf space, but now there's a lot more room to grow. I am happy. I spent a pleasant couple of hours moving books around, rearranging, reorganizing. Maybe I'm weird, but this has always been one of my favorite parts of unpacking after moving to a new place -- the part where you take out the books and put them on the shelves. I enjoy the process of putting them up, and when done, I get a happy from standing and looking at them. Nothing makes a house a home like full bookshelves, if you ask me.

Anyway, so it was a lot of fun deciding which categories of books should go on the new bookcase (in the living room) and which should stay in the bedroom -- sort of literary feng shui. I got a big kick out of putting the queer-studies/sexuality/feminism books next to the pagan/spirituality books, and then putting the Kama Sutra in between, sort of like a top between two bottoms in a literary menage a trois. Hee hee!

So now I have a lot of empty-ish shelf space, which feels a little weird, but I'm not too worried. For one thing, there's the big pile of "to-be-read" books atop one of the bookcases (I don't like to shelve unread books; it feels dishonest somehow), and for another, I'm sure there are many more books hiding in every corner of my apartment, waiting to be unearthed and shelved at my leisure. :)

Meanwhile, like an idiot, despite my bitching about the poor quality of R is for Ricochet, I've started reading Sue Grafton's S is for Silence and already am finding typos and grammatical errors and plot inconsistencies. Grrrr.

Smile!
Right before [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd had her baby, my brother [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and my mom went and bought a digital camcorder. We've been saying for ages that we should have one now that there are three adorable kids in our family; and it would have been nice to have Bastian's birth on camera had it not been a c-section. Anyway, since Bastian isn't doing much lately that can't be captured on still, I've got custody of the camcorder and am taking some footage of Ruthie. Needless to say this makes Geek Mom very happy. ;) Next step, figuring out how to get a clip online. ;)

Cuteitude: Isaac
Isaac's latest thing to say if I'm being too slow for his liking is, "I'll just have to [whatever we're getting ready to do] all by myself." ;) He also told me that when his uncle [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic (who stands about 6'2") gets a little bigger, he can start wearing Ruthie's diapers. ;)

Cuteitude: Ruth
another good picture of Ruth smiling! )
mamajoan: me in hammock (lol!)
Things have been kind of difficult with Isaac the past few days, but in the spirit of focusing on the positive, here are some good things he has said/done lately.

One sweet thing: The other day we were sitting on the couch and I kissed the baby saying "a little kiss for little baby" and then kissed Isaac saying "a big kiss for big boy," and then I said, "everyone gets a kiss!" And I had just started to think, well, except for me, when Isaac leaned over and kissed me on the cheek. Isaac almost never kisses me, so it was nice.

Four funny things from the "be careful what you say around a kid" department:

1. From the other day:
Me: [burps] Excuse me.
Isaac: Good saying, mama!
(we very often say "good saying" to him when he phrases something properly or says please/thank you/excuse me in proper context)

2. This morning, while still in bed, Isaac said: "Look at your eyes blinking! You're such a tired mama!"
(this of course is something I very often say to him, albeit with "a tired boy")

3. This evening while walking home from the playground:
Me: We have to go home and have something to eat, we're hungry.
Isaac: I want noodles!
Me: Oh really, noodles eh?
Isaac: I'm shocked!
(LOL! I almost always say "I'm shocked" when he says he wants noodles...because he always wants noodles.)

4. From this evening during dinner:
Isaac: (fussing over the bread we offered him)
Grandma: Do you want to try this other bread instead?
Isaac: No, I want this bread because I'm really tired!
(he often uses the word "because" and he really isn't quite clear on the concept of what it means...but he gets that it's a connector, anyway, and that's how he uses it.)
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
Just so I don't feel like all I post about lately is money and whining....

Tonight we were sitting down eating dinner, and we had just had a conversation about the fact that Isaac was rubbing his eyes and that this probably meant he was sleepy.

And suddenly he comes out with, "I need a kiss on my cheek and my other cheek." O.o He's never asked for kisses before!

So of course I gave him a kiss on his cheek and his other cheek. Then I sat back down, and then he said, "I wanna give mama a kiss on the cheek and the other cheek." So, needless to say, I got back up and presented my cheeks. :)



Then a few minutes ago we had this exchange:
Me: (sings some nonsense song about "little Isaac boy")
Isaac: (sings my nonsense song but with "little mama boy")
Me: Little mama boy? (laughing)
Isaac: Is mama a boy?
Me: No, mama's a girl.
Isaac: Noooo.
Me: No? Mama's not a girl?
Isaac: No, you're a mama!

:)

mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
Last night I drank a whole glass of milk! Regular milk, not lactose-free! And here it has been more than twelve hours and no negative gastrointestinal consequences!! woohoo!

I'm excited. *g* I had really been suspecting for quite a while that my lactose problem had cleared up, but I didn't have the nerve to test it. But yesterday I was at the store getting milk and I was like, "dammit, the Lactaid milk is so fricking expensive," and I have to get regular milk for Isaac anyway, so I decided to just get that and see what happened. And then last night I was having a bedtime snack and I thought, what the hell. So I drank a glass of it. I figured, TMI! )

I guess it's still possible that my digestive system is just working really slowly and I might yet suffer some ill effects. So I'm not counting any chickens yet. But I'm tentatively optimistic.

In amusing food-related news, last weekend my mom made more of that sweet-potato bread that Isaac loves. I believe I have posted here before about how obsessed he is with it. So we were at grandma's house on Saturday and she gave me some to take home, but I guess Isaac didn't realize that. So on Sunday morning he woke up and was all quizzing me on what he could eat, "do we have yogurt? do we have peaches?" and then "do we have other food?" and I said, "yes, we have sweet-potato bread," and his little face TOTALLY lit up. "We have sweet-potato bread? At our house?? We have it here?" And then "Isaac want some!" Well, no kidding, LOL!!!

Then the next morning he asked for it again and I said "okay, let's go get you some," and he went racing into the kitchen and bounced up and down while I was cutting it. And as I handed him a piece, he said: "I'm excited!" :D

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:11 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios