mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
Tonight was full of the things I love about Little League: drama, friendly camaraderie, excitement, laughter, suspense. Oh, and some torrential rain. ;)

It's the final championship round of playoffs, so there was much excitement already. To make things more interesting, we were under a tornado watch(!) and just at the moment the game was supposed to start, it started to rain. But it only rained for a minute and then the game began, with MUCH discussion of the rules about how many outs have to be recorded before the game counts, what happens if it starts to rain in the x inning, etc....

So it came to the 4th inning and Isaac's team was ahead by one run. We knew that the game would be official after 4 innings, so as soon as the 4th was done, we parents started jokingly doing a rain dance. Seconds later, the downpour began. I am not making this up. It rained heavily for several minutes and the umpires cleared the field, but then the rain let up and the game resumed. Then Isaac's team scored 7 more runs so they were ahead 10-2. The rain held off, and we finished the game (6 innings). The other team had beaten us soundly the previous night, so it was good to give them back a bit. ;)

Quite a few other kids from the teams that have already been eliminated, plus their parents, were there to watch the championship games. It was a pretty big crowd and a lot of enthusiasm. After the game was over, Isaac and a bunch of his friends from various other teams started playing pickle (a kid game that is kind of like tag, but with two "its" and a ball). It was a nice friendly atmosphere with parents sitting around chatting, kids playing, the concession stand doing a brisk business, and the gathering clouds turning an ominous yellow color. I ended up driving an extra kid home, and then a very quick stop at the grocery store, and it didn't rain any more, nor did I observe any tornado action, which is fine with me, thanks.

The sky was very dramatic, though. I didn't take any pictures because I didn't think it would be possible to convey the colors, the enormous shapes of the clouds, the way the sunlight was lighting the western clouds in one color palette and the eastern clouds in another...it was really amazing. I see that a lot of my friends did take pictures and have been posting them on FB all evening, so thanks for that. :) Now if only we could have a little bit of rain and thunderstorming, just to break the humidity, that would be great. Phew.

Final championship game tomorrow night!!
mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
In my previous post I wrote about the logistics of last Thursday. It turned out fine, of course. I ended up going with the option that was less logistically complicated but that involved me not seeing the kids for almost a full 24 hours. The babysitter picked them up after school, and since it was a ridiculously hot day, they basically just hung around our house eating italian ice and playing on electronic devices. Which is pretty much what we would have done if I'd been home, except probably with ice cream. Meanwhile, I went to the chorus dress rehearsal, which was also fine.

I also said in my previous post that you shouldn't get me started on Saturday, so now of course I have to post about Saturday. ;) It was pretty ridiculous.

all the gory details )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
After I wrote my previous post about Little League, our final round of playoffs got delayed and delayed because of rain. Stupid rain! :P

Anyway, we finally got underway on Monday; it was to be a best-of-three series, and Isaac's team won the first two games, so the third game wasn't needed and we are the league champions! woohoo! :)

We played against the team of one of Isaac's good friends, so that part was a little awkward, but they played two very good games. In the second game, they were actually in the lead for a couple of innings, which was a bit of a new experience for our team ;) but the boys battled back.

During the second game, the league officials gave us the whole professional-baseball experience: a sound system with an announcer to announce the name of each kid as he came up to bat, and snippets of music in between innings, the whole bit. That was kind of fun. :)

Here's a picture of Isaac holding the trophy:



My mom also uploaded to YouTube a couple of videos that she took during the game.

Before the game, the coach's older son sprayed all the kids with green hair-dye to 'match' their uniforms.

Here's part of the pre-game ceremony where all the players and coaches were introduced. Just like at a "real" professional playoff game! :)

Here are the boys singing along to "Sweet Caroline" (a song that is traditionally played at Fenway Park during the 8th inning)

Post-game victory lap with the trophy!

All in all, it was a very fun experience and I think Isaac got a lot out of it. He's already bugging me to sign him up for fall baseball.... :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
All about our Little League experience this year )

Whew, that got LONG!! But the basic nutshell version is that we have had a good Little League experience this year, overall, and are looking forward to our last few games this week.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
One of the moms in Isaac's class has started this new thing of calling for all-class playdates at local playgrounds now that the weather is improving. Yesterday we went to the second of these and it was great. It's so nice that the kids are big enough now that we can go to the playground and they pretty much play while we parents sit around chatting.

Also, they've been at this playground near our house, which was just completely renovated. I hadn't been there since the renovations; I went there once or twice when Isaac was a toddler, and honestly, the place was kind of skeezy. The playground equipment was ancient and rickety, the sand was full of cigarette butts, the paved parts were cracked and pitted, and well, you just got a bad feeling about it. But now it's all new and REALLY nice. The kids are loving it. And did I mention it's in walking distance from our house? :)

Anyway, so that was fun. I really appreciate any opportunity to socialize with the other parents, since I don't get to do that at morning dropoff any more.

We finally found out which Little League team Isaac is on. He has been assigned to the "Royal White Laundry" team. Apparently all teams are just named for their corporate sponsors now. This kind of makes me LOL. ;) Isaac was a bit disappointed that none of his friends are on his team, but I think it will probably be better off that way actually. We can't WAIT until practices get started. Now that the professional baseball season has begun, Isaac's obsession is picking up steam very quickly. ;)

Over the weekend we also went to the mall to look at refrigerators. Did I mention this already? I think I did. Anyway, it was very confusing. There are way too many options ;) and way too few of the models on display at Sears were certified for the rebate program. (You can get up to $200 back if you buy an Energy Star fridge between April 22 and May 5.) Then I saw that Sears had some used/refurb fridges that still have the Energy Star label, so I thought, well if I buy a refurb and it's discounted, that's just as good, right? So I said that to the Sears salesman who was helping me, and he said that in fact he believes they'll be putting ALL Energy Star fridges on 30% discount starting on April 22nd (Earth Day). So if that's the case, I might just buy it that way and give up on the rebate. I mean, I like the idea of saving another $200, but not if I'm that severely limited in my choice of model, right?

Some ramblings on the pros and cons of various refrigerator models )

Anyway, hopefully that will all work itself out somehow. And then, having bought a new stove a couple years ago and now (maybe) a fridge, I think that means I'm officially a grownup! Drat! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Long time no post, again - oy!

OK, well, we had Ruthie's birthday party a couple weekends ago. It was...well...I guess from Ruthie's point of view it was a success, because she had fun and ate cake and got presents. From my point of view it was kind of a disaster though because none of the people we had invited (other than family) showed up. :(

the disappointing details )

Oh well. Lessons learned.

On the mom front, my mom has finished 5 out of 6 rounds of chemo, and is doing very well. After the first four were done, she started to have some side effects -- ringing in her ears, tingling/numbness in feet -- and so, after much discussion with the various medical people, they eventually decided to switch to a different drug for the last two treatments. This new drug is supposed to be much milder in terms of side effects. I went with mom to the chemo treatment this past Monday; her fifth treatment but the first with the new drug. It seems to have gone well. She is feeling fine so far, *knock wood*. She has been feeling very tired -- the cumulative effect of all the chemo -- so I guess we can hope that from here on out she will slowly regain her energy. The final treatment will be 4 weeks away (well, 3.5 now I guess) and then it'll be time to celebrate!

Baseball season has started up, and Isaac is immediately obsessed. ;) It sucks that so many of the games start at 7pm, which means he only gets to watch a little bit before he has to get to bed. We can TiVo the games for him to watch the next day though. And on nights when there's no Red Sox game, he can watch other games, since I upgraded our cable service and we now get the MLB Channel. Last night he ended up watching the Braves vs. Cubs.

I did sign Isaac up for Little League which begins at the end of this month. He's starting to get excited about it. Several of his friends are also signed up, so I hope that some of them will end up on his team. It should be fun.

Ruthie is still resisting my attempts to finish potty-training *Sigh*. After months of saying that she would start pooping in the potty "when I'm four," she turned 4 and now is saying "when I'm five." Um, no. So I won't go into gory detail on this one ;) but suffice to say it is driving me slightly crazy. ;)

Other than that (and the occasional tantrum ;) ) Ruthie is doing great. She loves to play pretend with any kind of pretend people she can get her hands on. For her birthday, grandma gave her a few Lego people, including one set that has a mini-spaceship/hovercar, a policeman, and an alien. The premise is supposed to be that the alien robbed a bank and the cop chases him on the hovercar -- it even comes with a teeny $100 bill that fits in the alien's hand -- but the first thing Ruthie did after we put it all together was make the cop and alien hold hands, and then insisted on figuring out how to get them both onto the hovercar to ride it together. all together now, "awwwww!" ;)

I just got my tax refund direct-deposited yesterday. I got a whopping $3700!! Wow! I deliberately set my withholdings high when I started this job, because I had spent so much time on unemployment last year and didn't have any taxes withheld from that. I guess I overestimated how much I needed to compensate. ;) woo woo! So I am thinking of using part of the refund to buy a new refrigerator. There's this rebate program starting on Earth Day, April 22nd, where you can get $200 back if you buy an Energy-Star fridge. (There are also rebates for dishwashers and other appliances. But I think this program is only active in MA.) I have to find time to go fridge-shopping in the near future. I may also be using some of that tax refund to travel, but that's a post for another time.

In book-reading news, I have read fifteen books so far in 2010, which I think is great. Some ramblings on some of the books I've read recently )

I could go on and on (ha ha...state the obvious much?) but that's enough of an update for now....
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
Isaac and I were watching a bit of a baseball game from last October that I had saved on the TiVo. It was the one where the Red Sox beat the Angels to clinch the AL divisional series.

I was explaining to Isaac that this meant we had won the first round of playoffs, and we could go on to the next round of playoffs. But, in this particular case, the next round was against the Tampa Bay Rays, and they beat us, so they went on to the World Series and we didn't.

Then I said something like, "and I think they won the World Series..." to which Isaac replied, "Last year? No, they played the Phillies, and the Phillies won."

ZOMG PWNED!

I had no idea that he knew all of that. rotfl.

today

Apr. 25th, 2009 11:08 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Whew, we had quite a day! It was in the low 80s F today, which is very unusual for this time of year, not to mention quite a surprise after a string of days in the 50s. By 9am it was probably around 60 and we went in the back yard for a while. Then we had to go to swimming lessons.

So far we have had four swimming lessons. The first week, both kids had a blast and loved it. The second week, Ruthie was sick so she had to skip, and was very sad about same; but Isaac had a blast again. The third week they both went and were ehh about it. Last week, we got all ready and went, but Isaac protested the whole time, saying he was sick (he did have a bit of a cough). Then we got there and found that it was canceled due to school vacation week. I felt dumb for not having remembered this. *Roll eyes*

So today, Isaac didn't want to go and Ruthie was gung-ho about it; yet when we got there Ruthie kicked up a fuss and refused to go in the water. None of the other four kids in the class showed up today, so it was just my two. Ruthie spent about the first half sitting on the edge of the pool, after which the instructors gave up and brought her back to me. So Isaac basically got a private lesson, which he loved and did great with. I thought it was a funny/ironic portrayal of the difference between the two kids: for Ruthie, having no other kids present made her resistant, whereas Isaac thrived on it.

Anyway, then I took them to grandma's house where they stayed while I went to the second half of chorus rehearsal (grandma having gone to the first half). Afterward, we went to a playground, not the ones we usually go to, because I was bored with them. ;) It turned out to be a good choice because there were a bunch of kids playing baseball (with a couple of dads) and Isaac is totally into baseball lately. So after just a few minutes of hanging around the edges (even after one of the kids said right to him, "you can play with us"!), Isaac let himself be drawn in, and he played with them and had a great time. Meanwhile Ruthie spent the whole time clinging on me, sigh, which is a whole other post really, although she did do a small amount of playing by herself too.

Then we came home and watched the end of a very exciting Red Sox - Yankees game, and then bed.

Admit it, you missed me and my lengthy recitations of what we did today! ;) heh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I've been almost completely absent from LJ lately (maybe you've noticed) - just so busy with everything going on in life, not to mention my newfound PackRat obsession. ;P Anything momentous going on with you? (I'm always kind of amused when people post that, like, "if you posted anything recently that you think I should see, let me know." Are people really going to be like "oh yes, Joan, it's absolutely crucial that you read my LJ entry wherein I described my trip to Target the other day!"? lol)

Also, ragweed season has begun with a vengeance, plus Ruthie has had a bit of a cold and has been sleeping poorly. So I've been tireder than usual, not to mention all the sneezing, sniffling, and hideous sinus headaches. Ugh!

Anyway....

* Isaac's preschool graduation was on Friday. I can't muster up a huge amount of excitement about this because, basically, I hear the phrase "preschool graduation" and my eyes just start rolling. I mean come on. ;) Also it was anticlimactic for me because he's still going to preschool for one more week -- I arranged for him to go there for this week because kindergarten doesn't start till Monday and I didn't have any other solution for childcare for him. So a lot of the other parents at graduation were all like saying their big goodbyes, and I just couldn't get into it emotionally. Still, it was a fun event so whatever.

* Saturday we went to the Aquarium to see the Sharks and Rays exhibit. That was neat. We got to touch some rays, which was cool for the adults at least -- most of the kids wanted no part of it. ;) Then in the evening we had a celebratory dinner in honor of [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd's birthday, which was a few weeks ago but we hadn't been able to get together for it until now.

* Sunday, I took Isaac to Fenway for his "first" Red Sox game. I say first in quotes because he went to a few games with me when he was a baby, but those don't really count. He was SOOOO super excited as you perhaps saw in my Twitter post about it. As we were walking toward the park he kept saying "My first game! My first game!" And he had an absolute blast at the game, even though the Sox lost. He was riveted to the action most of the time, followed the whole game very well and only got a little bit bored a few times. He did great. It was pretty awesome. :)

* Yesterday, being the Labo(u)r Day holiday, we were supposed to meet some of Isaac's friends at the playground near our house, but by the time we got there, they had had to leave due to some misbehavior or something like that. But my mom was there with Bastian, so we played for a while, and then we decided to walk over the bridge and go to a diner for brunch. That was ... interesting. It was me, mom, and the three kids. It was a nice diner, in an old train car from like the 50s, which was cool, and it was the kind of place where the waitress is 60+ and calls everyone "sweetie" and tells, rather than asks, you what you'll have. ;) The kids got pretty antsy, but once the food arrived, they were fine. Afterward there was some juggling involved because we couldn't all fit into mom's car but it was too far to walk. But we made it home eventually.

* Then Isaac didn't nap and Ruthie only napped briefly and then I thought I could get Ruthie back down except that I was nervous to lie down with her because I had just put bread in the oven. So I forced myself to stay awake even though I was beat. And when the oven timer went off, I leapt out of bed, sure it would wake her up, but it didn't and she kept sleeping in my bed. Then I popped a Benadryl and zonked out on the couch. So Isaac had to entertain himself for like a whole hour and a half while we slept. But he did fine. But I was groggy all evening. Note to self, don't take Benadryl except right before bed. Sigh.

* The mouse problem is not solved. I don't want to talk about it. Also we now have a fruit-fly problem in addition. Ugh!!!! It's almost (ALMOST) enough to make me wish for winter. But not really. ugh. winter. :P

Sox game

Aug. 13th, 2008 12:46 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (us at fenway)
Last night was completely ridiculous. I shall attempt to post more about it later. For now, just the summary: Sox scored 10 runs in the first inning. Rangers scored 8 runs in the fifth inning. Final score: Red Sox 19, Texas 17. zomg.

And I got this:


w00t!

kid updates

Aug. 4th, 2008 03:40 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
OK, now I'm at work where I can't do much about the mouse, so I'll distract myself (and you?) with a post about the kids.

what Isaac is up to these days )

What Ruthie is up to lately )

I have more, of course, but that's enough for now....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I'm going to give up on beginning my posts with "zomg I haven't updated in so long, how will I ever catch up, so much has happened," because it's going to get tedious really fast. :( The thing is that I hate doing one-line summaries of stuff that happened when I have the ten-paragraph version in my head begging to come out. But I never get the chance to actually write the ten paragraphs. So then I end up not writing anything at all....

Anyway, so I'm going to try one-lining it for now, and kid myself that I'll come back and do longer versions later. sigh.

stuff what we did this weekend. the short version! really I swear! )

This Thursday I am participating in the JP Morgan Chase Corporate Challenge, which is a 3.5-mile road race for charity, where teams of coworkers sign up to participate together. Before you decide that I've totally lost my marbles ;) let me add that I will be walking, not running, the race; and this is perfectly acceptable for this event. They encourage walkers, in fact, to increase the numbers of people participating. A coworker of mine who's into running has organized our company's participation. It should be fun. Unless it's raining, in which case, it will probably suck. ;)

Also, I have signed up to be a guide at ChaCha.com, thanks to [livejournal.com profile] beetiger who mentioned it on her LJ! ChaCha is a service where basically you can send in a question via text-message, and a real live person, called a Guide, does a web search and texts you back an answer. It's perfect for a situation where you don't have the option of sifting through a bunch of web results yourself -- like if you're out and about, or whatever. You just send your text to 242242 (ChaCha) and the reply comes back usually within a few minutes.

So I signed up to be a Guide and passed the tests, and spent much of the weekend doing it (in the off-moments when the kids were asleep or occupying themselves). The beauty of it is that they don't care if you sign in for ten minutes or five hours at a time, so it's the perfect "second job" for someone like me who can't necessarily commit to a certain amount of time on a regular basis. And, it's FUN! Granted I've had a lot of lame-o questions like "what's your favorite color?" or "is my girlfriend bi?" and a lot of kinda boring logistical ones ("where can I get a motorcycle helmet in Salt Lake City?" "is there a 24-hour car wash on the West Side of Manhattan?") and so forth, but I've also had some really interesting ones and learned some fun tidbits of info along the way. And I've already made $22 in just a couple of days (they pay 20¢ per query).

Anyway, so if you feel the urge, try the service out. Just enter any question and text-message it to 242242. And if you think that being a guide might be your cup of tea, go to ChaCha.com and sign up to take the test. If you do, be sure to put me down as having referred you (p1sces at englishchick dot com). ;)

Heh, for what I said would be the condensed version of the things I wanted to post about, this got a bit long, eh? Well, I'll post more later about stuff I've been reading lately and whether or not I'm going to upgrade my cellphone service and get a new free phone, etc....
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
omg! How did I manage to get to 2:30 the next day without posting RED SOX WIN! WORLD SERIES CHAMPIONS WOOHOO OMG ETC.!!!???

Well, here's the thing. I did stay awake for the game last night. Unfortunately, so did Ruthie...Well, she dozed on and off, but by the time the game ended I was worn out from trying to get her down. So I just fell into bed with her, without even scraping up the energy to post here.

Don't get me wrong, I'm excited! WOOHOO! etc.!! But well, I'm also exhausted. ;) And of course, one has to admit that it doesn't have quite the emotional resonance of a 2004. Heck, I barely even heard any cars honking on my street! There were one or two, but nothing like what it was three years ago.

Still, it's a thrill and I sure hope they'll schedule the parade for this weekend so we can all go. Also this morning I had to forcibly restrain myself from dropping $200 on World Series Champions shirts/sweatshirts for the three of us. (It helps that all the sweats they have are hoodies. I'm not a big hoodie fan. Still....)

Anyway, so yeah, that was awesome. I'm glad the Rockies did put up a fight in the second two games and at least made it interesting -- certainly in last night's game it started to look a lot like they might even win it. Of course, they were ultimately powerless against the juggernaut that is the Sox. But they put up a good fight and I hope they are very proud of themselves. Maybe next year, eh guys?

I'm also on the tail end of a big project at work that's due Wednesday, so no slacking off for me, alas. Gotta get back to it.

confession

Oct. 28th, 2007 09:22 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
You guys, I cannot tell a lie...I fell asleep in the 7th inning. Or was it the 8th? I can't remember. I dozed off when it was 6-5, then I woke up briefly and it was 9-5, next thing I knew it was the wee hours and the late news was doing their "fans gabble incoherently about the game" thing.

Well, if nothing else I guess that proves that the Sox don't need my mojo. snif snif. ;)

I dozed off during Game 2 the other night too. *hangs head*

My hips are killing me from sleeping on the couch. So at least I'm still suffering for the cause! ;)

Oh, but hey, guess what?! I finally got my Wainwright Bank debit card! Less than one week after the day I was told I would finally receive it! And just barely less than two months after I opened the account!

Of course, the card is still nearly useless until I receive the PIN for it, which they send under separate cover. *facepalm* Ah well.

the game

Oct. 27th, 2007 08:53 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (watching the game)
Umm, did I just see someone in the stands with a sign that said "Big Papi Eats Big Boogers"?? Srsly, Colorado, is that the best you can do? That's just sad.
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
There was an article in today's Globe about kids who are Red Sox fans and whether their parents are letting them stay up for the games. In case I haven't mentioned, it really irks me that the damn games all start at 8:30pm. A rant about the timing of games and the statement from a FOX network representative in the aforementioned article that pissed me off. )

In cheerier news, check out this awesome Sox-related parody of Dr. Seuss's "Fox in Socks." Hilarious.
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
With apologies to [livejournal.com profile] meglett and all the other denizens of my ancestral homeland (my mom grew up in Cleveland)...

RED SOX WIN!!!!! GO SOX!!

Look out Colorado!

I can has bed now?
mamajoan: me in hammock (cheesecake disaster)
There's a whole weekend update and shit, but first let me just announce that I am at home right now, waiting for AAA, because my car would not start this morning. This, of course, sucks.

further details on how much this sucks )

Anyway, so here I am, waiting for the tow truck. Siiiigh. I never should have come back from the cottage.

Uh, I was going to go on with the weekend update thingie and then some blathering about baseball (condolences to [livejournal.com profile] lunaris1013 and [livejournal.com profile] plaidder and any other Cubs fans on my flist) and maybe some book talk, but I think I'm running out of steam. Maybe I should go have some lunch before the AAA guy gets here. Wish me luck, i.e., wish me a not-terribly-expensive car repair....

Go Tigers!

Oct. 14th, 2006 09:39 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (watching the game)
With apologies to [livejournal.com profile] cynthia1960 and any other Oakland A's fans, but that was made of awesome. Detroit rules!

also...wtf is that on Scott Spiezio's face??
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
Well, here I am at home by myself. It sure was weird leaving my mom's house without Isaac, and getting into my car and driving home alone. But here I am, whee. Now, if I want to do the smart thing, I will go to bed nice and early to take full advantage of my night off. On the other hand, I could do the dumb thing, and stay up late instant-messaging, playing online games, and working on this week's [livejournal.com profile] ljdq. Anyone care to place a wager? ;)

So, the Red Sox are out of it. Sigh ... I'm sad, but not really surprised. Honestly, we played like crap these last few weeks. I think [livejournal.com profile] maggiesox was right when she said that our boys were simply tired. That last stretch of 30 days in a row with no off-day was just killer. And let's face it, the White Sox are a very good team. They played very well, and we played like crap. I shall be happy to root for them in the next round(s).

I must admit, sad though I am that it'll be months before there's another Red Sox game (and that it'll undoubtedly be a very different team), I'm also kind of relieved to be getting my nights back. Especially considering how, last year, so very many of the games went until midnight and 1am. That was exhausting. Not to mention the fact that I got very little other TV-watching done all summer, since there's a game almost every night! Don't get me wrong, I wanted the Sox (er, the Red Sox) to win; but since they didn't, I'm looking on the bright side.

Anyway, I'm just as glad we didn't go to the game. Seeing another team celebrate on your home field is no fun. Ah well.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios