mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
We're in a period right now where weekends are very difficult to manage because Ruthie still very much needs an afternoon nap and Isaac very much doesn't. Up until recently I was getting away with making Isaac lie down for an hour of "quiet time," but that isn't working any more. He simply does not need the downtime and has too much energy to make it work. So we're left with an approx. two-hour chunk of time during which he and I have to hang around the house, being at least reasonably quiet. And he hates it. And it's going to get harder and harder as the weather gets nicer and nicer.

Case in point, today! We went to "Family Fun Day" at the field near our house. The city put up bounce houses, face-painting, rides, games, and so on. The weather was absolutely gorgeous and we were having a great time, for about 45 minutes, until Ruthie hit her "wall" and had a breakdown. I felt very guilty about dragging Isaac away from the fun, but I had no choice. ...Until, at exactly the right moment, I spotted one of Isaac's friends and his parents! And they were fine with keeping an eye on Isaac. So I gratefully brought Ruthie home and she's napping now.

But I cannot count on that kind of serendipity happening every time, so this is something I'm going to have to work harder at planning ahead for. Sigh.

I really look forward to the days when we can stop planning our whole day around naptime. It's just so freeing.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Wow, Ruthie had such the meltdown at bedtime tonight. I am exhausted. These two statements are related, but perhaps not in the immediately obvious way. I think that both Ruthie and I are suffering some major sleep deprivation due to the current state of our sleeping arrangements.

But I'm too tired to go into detail. heh.

of course, it also doesn't help that I'm fighting off a cold. And I got my period yesterday, way too early. I am very irritated about this. Just when I thought my periods were finally settling into a regular rhythm...But that's a whole other story.

It's a little hard not to laugh when a child is sobbing and blubbering out a completely incoherent "explanation" of what you did to make her cry (something to do with how I was reading the Dora book), but OTOH it's also sad to see a poor kid so, well, sad. And man oh man did she sack out like lightning when we finally lay down!

This week has been school vacation week and Isaac has been going to the "vacation camp" run by the agency that runs his afterschool program. Since vacation camp, unlike school, doesn't require you to arrive promptly at 8:10; and also since it's much closer to Ruthie's daycare, thus shortening the commute; we've thus gotten pretty lax with our mornings. And then with our evenings. All of which is a nice way of saying that I've been terrible about letting the kids stay up too late at night and take too long about waking up in the mornings. We're in for a rude awakening on Monday. I am determined to be better about bedtimes between now and then.

And on that note, I gotta get my own ass to bed soonest.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Hello all my LJ friends! I am sorry to say that I have no idea what is going on with you. I haven't read my friends-list fully in ages. I have it as my browser homepage, and usually what ends up happening is that I open my browser and read whatever happen to be the 20 posts on the first page, and then get caught up into other stuff and never scroll back.

I feel a little weird about how out of touch I'm becoming with (what used to be) my major sources of online community, but well, that's how life is right now. I feel like there's just so much going on and I don't have enough brain to hold it all. Why do things have to keep on, like, happening?!

How am I? I am tired. Oh so tired. I find it hard to believe that I'll ever not be tired. I keep thinking that my life will be great, someday, when Ruthie learns how to sleep through the night. But so far it isn't happening. I feel I need to be doing something to help this along, but I'm too tired to figure out what, and then to commit to it. That's a whole other looonnnng post that I'll likely never write.

Isaac has been sick or "sick" a lot lately, as you may have read in my twitter posts. It has been confusing and frustrating. I'm now of the opinion that he was actually sick the first day (a week and a half ago) and since then has just been tired from school, plus is experimenting with the idea of "if I say my tummy hurts I get special attention." That's my current theory anyway. And yes, I had a talk with the afterschool people about the fact that you cannot just go "oh, he says his tummy hurts, he must be sick, let's call his mom." Dude, he's five. You need to exercise some frickin' judgment here.

Ruthie is doing well, aside from the whole not-sleeping thing. Daycare dropoffs are still iffy, but she's getting better all the time. And she's bursting with funny things to say, some of which I really hope to post here soon.

My mom is in Peru for two weeks. I am not panicking...give me a few more days. ;) Luckily we already have plans for both days of this weekend. Next weekend will be harder as it's a four-day one: Friday there's no school due to "teacher preparation day" and then Monday is Oppressing The Natives Day, oops I mean Columbus Day. ;) Luckily it seems that we already have plans for that Sunday and Monday; and our new babysitter (thanks to [livejournal.com profile] ww1614) will be able to watch Isaac for part of the day Friday, so hopefully we'll make it through. ;)

In case you missed it in my twitters, the other evening we came home to find Grover-kitty playing with an almost-but-not-quite-dead mouse. Yeah, that was definitely not one of my favorite moments in life. Ugh. :( On the plus side, I guess, now I know that Grover can catch a mouse. But then tonight kind of gross, sorry ) so now I get to fret about what to do about that. Argh!

Several family members and close family friends are having severe medical issues right now. This is definitely on my mind a lot lately.

Work is also in a very stressful and challenging (in both the good and the bad ways) phase right now. That's another post I'll probably not get a chance to write.

I guess that's about it in a nutshell. Okay, well, maybe a coconut shell. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I feel weird to be so absent from LJ lately, not even reading my flist for weeks on end let alone posting anything of substance. Life has just been SO busy and I have so little energy for...anything.

Maybe at some point I'll manage to write something about:
* Isaac's first week of kindergarten (capsule summary: it went great, he loves it)
* commute and dropoff/pickup issues that are driving me to distraction
* ongoing troubles with Ruthie's daycare
* ongoing troubles with Ruthie's sleeping habits
* financial yadda yadda, blah blah
* work stuff
* books what I been reading (Camouflage by Joe Haldeman, Water for Elephants, Spin by Robert Charles Wilson, among others)
* food what I been cooking (corn chowder most recently)

and so forth.... But don't hold your breath.

I keep thinking that sooner or later Ruthie will start letting me sleep through the night (I'm not picky; a single solid 5-hour chunk per night, consistently, would be awesome) and then I'll magically have more energy for, well, everything. It starts to seem clear that this isn't going to happen unless I take steps to push it along. But I don't have the energy to figure out what those steps are...vicious cycle anyone?
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Whew! We had a weekend, all right!

On Thursday it was ridiculously hot and I baked a whole bunch of stuff and the kitchen was like a sauna. d'oh.

On Friday we drove out to the cottage and it was ridiculously wet/rainy and cool, which was kinda sad. But we still managed to have a nice Fourth of July cookout with mom, [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd, [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic, Bastian, and family friend Brian and his girlfriend. Enormous quantities of food were grilled and consumed. The shortcakes that I had baked on Thursday were made into strawberry shortcake and eaten with gusto. Also mit schlag. ;)

I made some of the shortcakes with Bisquick as usual, but I also made some from scratch, so that's recipe #39 this year for me. Also last night I chopped up some of the leftover grilled tofu from Fourth of July, mixed it with some of the leftover grilled corn (mmmmmmmmm, corn), mixed in some farm-share carrots that I had lightly steamed, sauteed it all up in some oil with salt and pepper, and added balsamic vinegar and chopped farm-share parsley. Yum! So I don't know what to call that, "Independence Day Leftovers and CSA Delight" or something silly like that. So that's recipe #40 for the year. w00t.

Anyway, mom and the kids and I slept over at the cottage Friday night, and Saturday morning we slept super late! Ruthie woke up at her usual 6:30 and was bouncing around on the bed and chattering -- but quietly enough not to wake anyone except me -- and I was lying there thinking sad thoughts of how much I didn't want to get up that early, and then she started nursing again and the next thing I knew it was 9:30!!!!!!!!! ZOMG!!! I could not believe it. Mom and Isaac had also slept quite late.

Saturday was similarly gray and rainy and chilly to Friday, and the forecast for Sunday was more of the same, so we decided not to stay at the cottage. We left around 3pm Saturday, and went strawberry-picking at a farm on the way back (which we always want to do but since we're usually driving past either late at night or in gorgeous weather, we never want to stop). That was fun. We all enjoyed picking our own strawberries. Then we came home and crashed. The kids hadn't napped (on account of the late waking) so they were beat.

Sunday we did not much of anything. We hung out for a while, then we went and played for a while at the water-park near mom's house; went home and napped, got up and puttered around. A slow day. Mom and I were very annoyed that Sunday turned out to be such a beautiful day -- if we had known, we might have stayed at the cottage. Mom actually ended up going back out there Sunday night. (She doesn't work Mondays, so she can stay over.)

So that was our weekend basically. It was a blast! Now we have way too much of the following left over from the festivities:
* watermelon (a whole one, uncut as of yet -- must coordinate with Meta and SK on this one)
* cantaloupe (also a whole one uncut)
* blueberries (none of us really like them, so any amount is too much)
* grilled tofu (I shouldn't have made two packages worth, since no one eats it except me; the meat-eaters occasionally take a bite just to be polite)

We also have way too many mosquito bites, but that's a whole other story....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
ZOMG we had such a busy weekend! I'm including Monday in the weekend because I took it off work due to Isaac's preschool being closed. They're closed all week, but one of his friends' mom agreed to take him for the day today, and my mom will have him tomorrow as usual. So I'm just taking vacation days yesterday and Thursday.

Anyway, here's the bullet-point version of our weekend:
* Saturday morning we went to the movie theater to see "Horton Hears a Who" (read: to kill a couple of hours). It was only Isaac's second movie-theater experience and Ruthie's first, and they both did great.

* Then my mom offered to take the kids at her house for a sleepover. (have I mentioned lately how great my mom is??) So I brought them over to her house and had a little dinner and went home.

* Except that first I went briefly to a concert that a cousin of ours was giving. He plays Klezmer flute, and has a trio with two other people who play Japanese and Irish flutes, so it was pretty interesting. If I hadn't been a walking zombie from sleep deprivation, I probably would have really enjoyed it. And stayed for the whole thing. But I was, so I enjoyed it as much as I could through the haze, and left at intermission.

* Then I had a lovely goofing-off evening and went to bed at 10:30 and slept till 8am (though not without a couple of wakings, alas, but still). And then mom kept the kids until noon!

* And then on Sunday we did random other stuff and it was basically all good.

* Also I baked bread using all whole-wheat flour, instead of half whole-wheat and half white flour. I used this stuff called vital wheat gluten which prevents the whole-wheat bread from being hard and dense like a rock. It came out great. I am very pleased.

* On Monday, Isaac and I went to Fenway Park to buy tickets for a game. Since my mom signed him up for Red Sox Kid Nation, he can get two tickets for a discount, but you have to go there in person to do it. So we go, which takes us like two hours to get there on several buses and subways...and then the ticket office is closed. Just for that one day, because it was the one day that I was able to actually go. ARGH. I was so pissed.

* And then I got talked into buying Isaac a $25 Manny Ramirez shirt at the official Red Sox Gear store. Even though he already has like four Sox shirts. Although admittedly his favorite one is getting too small. But still.

* Though he made up for it later when he put the shirt on and we went out and he said, "Now everyone will see the shirt and think that I'm Manny!" BWAHAHAHA. Just for reference, Manny Ramirez is a large 36-year-old Hispanic man with long black dreadlocks. And Isaac is...uh...not.

* Oh yeah, and did I mention that on Saturday morning I saw A MOUSE in my kitchen? Augh!! Just what I did NOT want to see. I was not pleased. It ran behind the stove, where I know there's a hole leading down to the basement, so after talking it over with a couple of people, I have decided to pretend it never happened and hope that the little guy just wandered in from outside, saw that we have a cat, and wandered back outside again. Ugh!!

Um...so that was the short version. Really! ;) I have more, you can believe it. ;) But that's enough for now.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
Yeah, so, when I agreed to adopt/foster a new kitty, I conveniently managed to forget about the part where kitties keep you up half the night... *groan*

On the bright side, Chubby is definitely warming up to us! LOL.

I had a really hard time getting Ruthie to sleep last night. I decided to do a slightly early bedtime because Isaac was super-cranky, throwing screaming sobbing tantrums (complete with adolescent-esque "You never listen to me!!") and I realized that he was tired. Bedtimes have been creeping later and later since it stays light outside later, and we've been getting up early, so he's been losing out on some sleep.

So I got us to bed about 20 minutes earlier than usual, but Ruthie just could NOT fall asleep. At one point I thought she was close and I had to get a break, so I told her I'd be right back, and went into the living room. It was very quiet for about 5-10 minutes and then suddenly she started sobbing loudly. I went back into the bedroom and sat down on her bed, and she said, "I NOT YIKE THE WIPERS!!" O.o So I womanfully refrained from LOLing ;) and took her out to the living room to sit on the couch. Then I think she might have nursed to sleep, except that Chubby came along all "oh, I see you are sitting on the couch, this must mean that I can haz petting now!" and Ruthie woke right up. *facepalm* So there ensued about a half-hour of meowing and "Dat a kitty! Whass dat? Dat a kitty! He say meow! Meow! MEOW! Da kitty say meow! His name Chubby! Whass dat? Dat a kitty!" Groan!!

Finally I took Ruthie back into the bedroom, restarted the CD, and again lay down to nurse her on the bed. Chubby continued to make himself known but I petted him with one hand to keep him quiet while bracing myself on the bed with the other; and at last Ruthie fell asleep. Whew.

Then I had to go watch the rest of the wild, ridiculous Sox game; and then I tried to go to sleep, but Chubby made himself obnoxious again. We had the paws in the face, the meowing, etc., etc....climbing all over me in bed, snuggling me for a moment, then jumping up to check out another part of the bed, etc....

I must have fallen asleep eventually, though. And I slept right through Ruthie coming into my bed again, because the next thing I knew it was about 5am and Ruthie was snuggled up with me and Chubby was rustling some papers on my bookshelf. So I sat up and stage-whispered loudly at him to stop it, and he popped out from a pile of papers and meowed all like "what? who, me? what'd I do?" and I was like, "hush!" And I lay back down very carefully, checking to make sure Ruthie was still asleep...and she was...but then as I settled back down next to her, she said, "Meow!" and I was like, oh crap. But she wasn't waking up! She said "meow" in her sleep. LOL!!!!!!

Anyway, long story short, Chubby is making himself right at home. ;) Don't get me wrong, I'm glad that he's getting comfortable enough with me to come on my bed with me, and with Ruthie to not flee as soon as he spots her. I just hope he'll let me get some sleep in the very near future. sigh.

Pictures of Chubby behind the cut )

As you can see, he really isn't chubby at all. I'm thinking of renaming him if the people we got him from don't object.

In other news, this morning I went to register Isaac for afterschool, which turned into a bit of a "thing" because as it turns out the flyer had the wrong date; registration for kindergarteners isn't supposed to start till Monday. But the woman took my application anyway, and it seemed clear that I wasn't the first and wouldn't be the last parent coming in that day. I don't envy that woman the day she'll have had today.

I also noticed that according to my income and household size, I just barely miss the cutoff for a sliding-scale afterschool rate of $99/week instead of $115/week. Ah well. It'll still be a nice big jump down from the $220 that I currently pay for Isaac's preschool.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
(Dig my new Ruthie-smiling icon! :D )

I didn't mention yesterday that while Isaac and I were at kindergarten orientation, Ruthie got to spend some quality time with grandma. She was so excited. :) They had a couple of hours together and then grandma took Ruthie to daycare and took charge of Isaac.

I also didn't mention that the night before last Ruthie had a lot of trouble sleeping. :( She came into my bed at 1:30, which is fairly early for her of late, and then she was up around 4:30am tossing and turning and coughing a lot, for about half an hour. We finally did fall asleep again, but then we had to be up again at 7, sigh. so I was pretty tired yesterday. Last night Ruthie again was coughing and had trouble falling asleep, but she did go out around 10(?) and at some point she did wake and come into my bed again, but that's all a blur ;) and we did sleep better than the night before, thank goodness.

Also yesterday I had a subway-riding adventure with a tricycle that a coworker kindly gave us. He brought it to the office on Tuesday but I had ridden the bus that day so I left it till yesterday. Then I still had to take it on the subway with me, from the office to Ruthie's daycare. That was entertaining. I got plenty of funny looks and a couple of people said "aren't you missing something?" :) Ruthie was excited to see the trike, but she didn't want to sit on it and let me push it -- she wanted to push it herself. It has a long handle in the back so a parent can push it. Ruthie's feet can't quite reach the pedals yet, but in another month or two I bet she'll be just zipping along.

I can't remember whether I mentioned here that Ruthie found a pacifier while I was cleaning up, and has claimed it for her own. She carries it around with her, often in her mouth, and although she can go for hours without it, she'll suddenly announce "I need my binky!" and then we have to locate it and she pops it back into her mouth again. It was pretty humorous the first time she tried to nurse with the binky in. ;) Anyway, I think it's kind of odd that she's suddenly so attached to binky after having had no binky for two years, but whatever. I'm going with the flow and hoping it'll be a short phase.

Meanwhile, though, she has taken to telling me that "my binky not for boys!" When I say "well, boys can use binkies if they want to," she goes, "No, it MINE!" LOL. Also this morning I called her a silly girl and she retorted "I not a dirl! I a man!" hee hee.

The other night I took this picture of Ruthie which totally cracks me up.


Mom's shoes: check.
Kid-sized broom: check.
Pacifier in mouth: check.
Hair in eyes: check.
Resigned expression: check.
Power to kill via cute: check! Phear the cute! PH34R IT!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
After several nights in a row of waking up quite soon after going to sleep (like 11:30-midnight, ugh), Ruthie slept this morning until 6:15! ZOMG!

And when she did wake up, she only fussed to herself for a moment before realizing that she could get up out of bed herself and come find me in my bed. So she did that, wearing a huge proud-of-self grin. ;) I think the reason she hadn't done that much sooner is that she was waking up while it was still dark outside. Now that it's lighter in the mornings -- and since she was waking so late (for her) -- she could see better and that probably motivated her to get up on her own.

Anyway, so she got into bed with me and we nursed for about half an hour and then got up. She sure was full of beans this morning, and chattering up a storm.

Oops, I meant to write more on this, but got busy with work and now it's time to go. Ah well, stay tuned for more later!

(BTW you may have noticed / be about to notice that I signed up to have my Twitter posts, called "tweets", automatically posted to my LJ every day. I've been tweeting a lot lately, as I mentioned before, so you'll have that to look forward to. ;) )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I was going to do a longer post, but then it took for-frickin'-ever to get Ruthie to sleep (which is a longer post unto itself) so now I'm just worn out. But: Tomorrow (Weds.) is the lottery for the school that I put as my first choice for Isaac. I'm not sure what time they do the lottery, but it's sometime in the morning because they said I could call in the afternoon to find out if we got in. So think good thoughts for us on that.

And now, bed.

ugh

Apr. 15th, 2008 01:04 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I almost don't even want to post because I'm so mad at myself about the stupid mistake I made on my tax return. I never should have hit the "submit" button at almost midnight. I don't want to talk about it. (I submitted it with a bad address. All the actual numbers are right, including my social security number, so it's probably not the tragedy I think it is. But I'm still pissed.) Nuff said about that.

Last night I dreamt repeatedly about civil-rights issues. I was a crusader trying to convince black people to revolt and stand up for their rights. Confusingly, I was not trying to motivate them to fight for racial justice, but for fairer labor laws. It was weird. I feel like this was my subconscious's way of trying to deal with the tax thing, but it sure is a bizarre coping mechanism. I dunno. It's weird inside this brain sometimes.

On the plus side, Ruthie slept till 5am which gave me plenty of time for dreaming. Then I brought her into my bed and she had a lot of trouble falling back asleep, but she finally did, and when the alarm went off at 7, she was out like a LOG. I ended up letting her sleep till 7:30 because she was so deeply sacked out.

oops, gotta run, more later
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
So yesterday was my mom's birthday and thus recipe #26 of the year for me: chocolate layer cake!! From this recipe suggested by someone on the AP recipe list. It got me all nervous because it needed to bake way longer than the recipe said -- it just wasn't done and wasn't done, and then finally it was. It rose WAY up high out of the two 8-inch-square pans that I used, so probably three would have been better but I don't have three. ;) So, layering it was "interesting" (my first-ever attempt at a layer cake) but it turned out well in the end. As I said repeatedly to everyone who came to mom's birthday dinner, you weren't going to mistake it for anything but a homemade cake...but it looked decent and tasted great, so I call it a success. :)

Oh, and I also get recipe #27 for the frosting, why not? "quick white icing" from Joy of Cooking which is basically just butter, confectioner's sugar, and vanilla. VERY sweet, but fortunately(?) it didn't make enough to cover the cake thickly -- was just barely enough to cover the whole thing, so it wasn't overpowering.

All in all, a success! yay, go me :)

We had a babysitter stay with the 3 kids (mine and Bastian) at mom's house while we went out to dinner, the adults of the family plus a few friends mom had invited. It was nice. Afterward we all went back to mom's house for the cake and to show off the kids to the friends who hadn't seen them in ages. ;) Kara, our lovely babysitter, had come up with a great "project" idea to make pizza with the kids -- she brought some dough and tomato sauce and cheese. I gather they had a lot of fun with it and Isaac ate either four or five pieces of pizza depending on whom you ask. ;)

It was quite late by the time we got home, so we all conked out. Ruthie had only been asleep a half-hour or so before she started coughing a lot, and I was worried that it boded ill for the night, but apparently she never really woke up despite intermittent coughing for an hour or so. In the event, she slept until almost 5am, which was a VERY welcome break for me since the previous 4-5 nights had been up-every-two-hours extravaganzas. *groan*

Conversation on the bus this morning:
Ruthie: Uh-oh!
Me: What's wrong?
Ruthie: (big grin) Uh-oh!
Me: Uh-oh?
Ruthie: Uh-oh mama!
Me: Uh-oh Ruthie!
Ruthie: Uh-oh daddy!
Me: O.o

In other news, a couple days ago I finished Scalzi's The Ghost Brigades which was every bit as good as its predecessor with the exception of a few quibbles (mainly editing-related, like a whole section about the political structure of an alien race in which the word for their highest leader is spelled "hierarch" half the time and "heirarch" the other half) and a kind of eye-roll-worthy sequence at the end where the bad guy takes time to explain his evil plan to the hero in great detail. Haven't these people ever read the Evil Overlord List?? Srsly. But anyway, now I'm very interested to read the third book in the series, The Last Colony. Anyone have a copy they'd like to lend me, hint hint? ;)

BTW if I were Scalzi I would be having a serious discussion with whomever it is at my publishing house that decides what quotes to put on the covers of my books. On the back cover of The Ghost Brigades there's a quote that says (paraphrased) "if Stephen King decided to write science fiction, it might look something like this." That's damning with faint praise if ever I heard it! ;P

Also now I have begun reading Word Freak by Stefan Fatsis, which is nonfic about the world of competitive Scrabble. A coworker loaned it to me and it's pretty interesting. [livejournal.com profile] mofic have you read this one?
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Um. So things have been very busy at work this week, and Ruthie has been waking up a lot so I've been going to bed early. Which is why I haven't been posting much.

Anyway, sorry for the somewhat lame-ass April Fool's post the other day. Ah well. BTW, the part about my financial situation being kind of dire was not a joke, unfortunately. Right now I am ostriching that though; too much else going on.

Congratulations go out to: [livejournal.com profile] hardcorewife whose fourth baby and third daughter, Evelyn, arrived last Monday (Ruthie's birthday buddy! :) ), and [livejournal.com profile] queenalia whose second son, Adam, arrived last Friday, and my non-LJ-having friend Amy whose fourth daughter, Hope, arrived last Thursday. Whew! And with [livejournal.com profile] whuffle and [livejournal.com profile] evil_macaroni about to pop any day now, it's just babies busting out all over the place. Must be spring. ;)

In Ruthie news she is starting to be able to identify some letters and numbers. The other day I showed her a letter "S" fridge magnet and said "what letter is this?" and she said "Five!" which I thought was pretty good. :) She also spontaneously identified a Crazy Eights card as "red four" and a letter L as an L. And this morning she counted thusly: "One two three four four five six seven eight nine ten eleven eleven eleven eleven..." LOL. She says "ee-yeh-ven" which I think is just so cute. ;D In other Ruthie news cut for TMI bodily-functions stuff )

Isaac came home from preschool the other day with a band-aid on his finger, which he showed me, and when I asked what happened, he said that they were at the playground and his friend M "tried to bite me." Which apparently means "bit me." Hmm. Upon further conversation he said that M and another kid L were "being mean to me" which apparently means chasing him, and that they were "trying to get me out of the way" and he put his hands up, or something, whereupon M bit him. Well, it's really hard to know what really happened from the way Isaac recounts these things; and I'm certainly hesitant to call it bullying because M and L are basically good kids and are Isaac's friends. It's entirely possible that they were actually playing together just fine and M suddenly decided to bite for no reason. It's also quite possible that Isaac provoked M in some way. Who knows? Anyway, I started to tell Isaac that if M and L were bothering him, he should run and tell a teacher; but before I could even get that out, he said it himself. So at least he knows what he should do, though whether he actually does it will be another question.

OK, back to work, more later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I had a dream last night, a nightmare you might say, wherein the director of Isaac's preschool and the mom of Isaac's best preschool friend got conflated into one person, who told me that she was moving to Florida. So at the same time I had to deal with the idea of Isaac losing his best friend AND having to find a new preschool for him for the time between now and September. Argh!

Of course, the house where the mom lives is gorgeous and I know they rent it, so in the dream, I was asking her what the rent was and whether her landlord had found a new tenant yet. ;) I have been thinking idle thoughts about moving lately. They are idle because there's no way it's financially feasible right now, but otoh our two-bedroom is already starting to feel pretty small and Ruthie isn't even 2 yet. eek.

Anyway, I mentioned the dream to the preschool director this morning and she kind of went "oh, heh heh" the way you do when someone you barely know tells you that they dreamed about you. ;) Good thing I didn't tell her about that other dream she appeared in a month or two ago. You know, the one where she was a dominatrix trying to make me her sex slave? ;)

In MUCH less prurient news ;) this morning Isaac saw me looking at a picture of Barack Obama online, and asked who it was, so I reminded him of the conversations we've had about the presidential election (particularly on primary day when we went to vote). I showed him a picture of Hillary Clinton and explained that we don't know yet who is going to be the winner (I conveniently omitted mention of the Republican candidates and the whole intermediary step there ;) ) but that we are waiting to find out.

A few minutes later Isaac says, "But mama, when are we going to be the president?" I replied that he or Ruthie might be the president some day, but they need to be grownups first. He looked crestfallen. ;)

In sleep news, Ruthie has now slept in her bed from bedtime until 4am or later, four or five nights in a row. Including until 5:30am this morning! So why am I still so groggy at the office by 3:30pm? Still a lot of catching up to do I guess.
mamajoan: me in hammock (bagel yummy)
Last night I wanted to use up the leftover couscous from my couscous-and-grated-zucchini dish from the other day. I thought I'd just do the same thing again but with a larger grate. In the end though, I made enough modifications to the recipe that I'm going to call this a new one, #13. (Six and a half weeks into the year I've already made 13 new recipes. Go me!)

I call it #13 "Colorful Curried Couscous." And here's the recipe in case anyone here cares. )

I tried to go really easy on the cayenne, especially since it was a brand-new bottle so I knew it would be potent. It still came out pretty spicy though. Isaac tasted it and said it was too spicy and needed to drink a lot of milk. ;) Ruthie ate several bites and didn't seem to mind the heat (and the way she's been eating lately, several bites is practically a four-course meal).

The subject line on this post refers to the fact that after cooking the above, I got all excited and ran right off to vegweb.com to submit this recipe, only to get a server error when I clicked on the "submit" button. :( I'm still getting the same error today on a whole other computer, so it can't be just me. Snif, anyway I've emailed them and hopefully they'll straighten it out. It was going to be my first submission! woe!

um, and speaking of woe, last night was another all-night nursing extravaganza, so that's about all I've got for ya, sigh. brain = fried.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The sleep thing continues to be a plague on our house, although last night I was more disciplined about going to bed almost immediately after the kids were asleep, and ended up getting about 5 hours' sleep before Ruthie woke up at 3am. woohoo.

Unfortunately it seems that Ruthie's and my sleep woes are spilling over onto Isaac, who has been acting very tired lately. :( This morning he was so tired that after we had been up a few minutes, I was in the process of putting together kid lunches and wondered where he had gone, and discovered that he had gotten back into his bed!! I think he woke up last night at 3am when Ruthie was crying "mama mama" (I had to go pee before I fetched her and she got fairly worked up about this). Sigh. So I can add that bit of guilt on to all the rest of it.

Ruthie herself has moved into full-blown toddler land here a month and a half shy of the "official" beginning of Terrible Twos. We have been having such temper tantrums over the stupidest little things -- which is all new territory for me because Isaac never really pulled this stuff. You should have seen Ruthie screeching yesterday just outside her daycare, when we had just left, and she didn't want to walk to the car nor did she want me to carry her there. (She wanted to go to the bus stop. But we weren't taking the bus because we had our car.) She was all, screech screech BUS! and I was all, "no, car, you have to walk there or I'll carry you" and then she was all, screech NO NO NO SCREECH! And I was like, dude, it is fricking ten degrees out here, can we just take this tantrum inside? heh.

Last night I made the Caramelized Tofu again and it was just as delicious as the first time, albeit rather messier due to several kid-related issues that intervened while I was cooking it. (and it only takes like ten minutes to cook, so that was a hectic few minutes.) It still tasted great though. The kids again refused to eat it. I made mac-n-cheese for them. Ruthie refused to eat that too. Then she threw a fit when I gave her rejected bowlful to Isaac. *roll eyes*

Last night Isaac told me that he has an imaginary friend named Tinker whose birthday is April 16th and he will be eight on that day. Tinker shares a birthday with [livejournal.com profile] plaidder apparently. I have no idea where that came from. Isaac also claims that a lady named Ann-Marie has been coming to his preschool and teaching them songs. I am not sure what to think of this either. Ann-Marie is almost the name of the mom of one of his friends, but he insists that this is a different Ann-Marie. ohhhhkay...???

In other news the financial situation is getting a little dire -- and that's not even taking into account the tax stuff (about which I still don't know anything because I haven't had a chance to fill out all the paperwork that the accountant sent me). I am apparently still trying to recover from the December holiday season, during which I went overboard and bought way too much stuff for the fam. I sent a chunk of last week's paycheck to the credit-card company and then realized that it leaves me with just barely enough to pay the mortgage and the daycare bills between now and the next paycheck. So I ended up charging this week's groceries on the credit card. oops.

I jokingly say that I need a sugar daddy. But then I go on craigslist and look at the "m4w" listings, and there are ads there from men saying that they are seeking a single mom to "adopt" and be the financial benefactor of. Which just seems kind of skeezy to me. Am I wrong? I mean, there's gotta be some form of sexual obligation involved, right? I'd love to believe in the idea of a man who has extra money lying around and decides to gift it to some deserving young (okay, youngish in my case) mom who doesn't have enough. But it's just a little bit hard to believe, especially when he chooses craigslist as the venue for locating her. ah well.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I know you are all bored of seeing yet another post from me about how tired I am. So I shall not go into too much detail. I shall just say that today was the worst day yet. I keep thinking I've reached the end of my rope, but then I find I have new ends to reach. I guess this means I am frayed. How apt.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, we survived yesterday. It wasn't the best day ever, but we got through it with minimal drama, which I think is the best that could be hoped for considering how it got started.

I'm not sure what happened last night. I "lost" a few hours somewhere. We were doing the whole "no nursie when it's dark outside" thing, which makes Ruthie furious so she alternately screams and sobs, and then falls asleep for brief periods, etc. -- and at some point I woke up and looked at the clock and it was about 2:45am, and then some time went by and I looked again, expecting to see something in the neighborhood of 3:30, but instead it was 6:30. So I'm not sure what happened there; possibly I actually got a few hours of sleep? Hard to say. ;P

(I certainly slept at least a little bit, because I remember bits and pieces of a very odd dream involving [livejournal.com profile] dchenes and also something about my kids being trained as witches. buh?)

I did manage yesterday to make two new recipes! cooking update )

I also finished reading The Sunday Philosophy Club which was okay, and now am reading the next installment of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series.

Then this morning there was some car-related drama )

Oh, and I don't think I mentioned that on Saturday while we were riding the bus all over creation just because Isaac wanted to ride the bus (insert massive rolling of eyes here), a guy tried to give Ruthie this ridiculous bright-pink stuffed animal. I think it was supposed to be a puppy. The guy was saying something about how he bought it for his daughter but now he and his ex-wife were having a spat. I said he should save it to give to his daughter. He said he isn't allowed to see her any more. So then I just said that we already have way too many stuffed animals (which is true) and thanked him, but no thanks.

Anyway, that was weird and uncomfortable. And I'd like to say I feel for the guy, but really, offering a stuffed animal to some random toddler on the bus? Is it just me or is that kind of creepy?

On the same bus ride, there was a little girl about Isaac's age who asked me if she could "see" (i.e., hold) Ruthie's teddy bear. I told her I didn't think that was a good idea. Ruthie can get kind of freaky if someone else tries to play with her bear.

Ruthie's way of saying "noodles" sounds to me exactly like "nursie," which is confusing. Isaac swears that they sound like two totally different words to him. (Have I mentioned that often lately I have to ask Isaac to translate what Ruthie is saying? I generally am pretty good at understanding Ruthie's words but sometimes when I can't, Isaac can.) Isaac has also started asking me how he said various things when he was a baby. I guess I started this recently by telling him that when he was a baby he called noodles "noo-noos." Now he'll randomly ask, "mama, how did I say marker when I was a baby? How did I say cheerios when I was a baby? How did I say box that the crackers came in when I was a baby?" LOL.

I lose

Feb. 3rd, 2008 12:33 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Two nights of attempted night-weaning down and I'm about ten times more tired than I was a few days ago when I complained about being so tired I couldn't function. The two-hour chunks I was getting when we nursed throughout the night are looking pretty attractive right now.

I don't know what to do tonight. On one hand I know that I need to be consistent and stick with it through more than just two nights if it's going to have any chance of success. On the other hand I still have to be able to function!! And preferably without losing my temper at the kids every five minutes!

The whole "we don't nurse when it's dark outside, nursies need to sleep, we'll nurse when it gets light outside" thing is working moderately well -- there's been some crying and some angry screaming and arching of back etc., but not more than a few minutes at a time and Ruthie does fall asleep. But she then wants to sleep on top of me and is so restless, tossing and turning all night, flopping from one position to another, and waking me each time of course. So she's just about as badly-off today as I am, except for the advantage of youth (whereas all I have is the advantage of caffeine). And no one around today to bail me out -- there's some kind of big sporting event going on today, maybe you've heard something about it?

(in the midst of all this, I get a call from Isaac's friend's mom, asking me if I'm going "to Arlington for the party" because she wants help finding it -- I hesitated, the phone equivalent of giving her a blank look, and she immediately realized she had made a faux pas -- we weren't invited to this particular birthday party. Not that I care, because I don't much like the kid and Isaac seems indifferent to him, but the other mom was clearly mortified. ah well.)

anyway gotta go moderate a sharing issue -- send strength plz

ketchup

Jan. 31st, 2008 04:49 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, my big plan to get caught up on sleep yesterday didn't work out. I tossed and turned and dozed a bit from about noon to 3pm, then gave up and got up. Sigh. Then I washed three sinkfuls of dishes and still had an overflowing sink. More sigh. Then I went to bed early but to no avail -- Ruthie as usual woke up within moments of me getting into bed (this is a talent she has that irritates me to indescribable degree) and then she nursed basically all night long. Argh!!

I am seriously thinking of reneging on my previous (albeit wishy-washy) decision to not night-wean at this time. I have to do SOMETHING, and maybe it would help. Maybe I'd still be up all night every night, but at least I wouldn't be physically depleted by the time the sun comes up? I dunno. I'm just about desperate enough to try almost anything at this point (anything other than CIO, that is. Although in my personal lexicon it doesn't count as CIO if the child cries herself to sleep in your bed, in your arms).

Um, but anyway, let me stop whining for a bit and try to say something not sleep- or money-related.

Yesterday evening my mom got on a plane to go to California to visit her brother and mother. She will be gone until late Monday. So this afternoon at lunchtime I popped over to her house to feed her kitties. And supposedly also to give them some lovin', but they were not interested. I guess they aren't needy enough since mom has only been gone less than a day so far. They were like, "what? who are you? go away." I was like, "Here kitty kitty! Who wants to snuggle!" and they were all, "who does she think she's kidding?" LOL. So I just put down the food and went away. LOL. I'm on to them though. By Sunday they'll be going nuts with the "pet me, PET MEEEEEEE!!!!!" ;)

Tonight there is a parent info session at the school right near [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd's house. It is from 7 to 9, which is unfortunate timing (i.e., very close to bedtime) especially on a night when I have no babysitting options what with mom being away and our other usual babysitter also unavailable. So I will have to take the kids along, if I go. They'll have childcare there, supposedly, but this will probably consist of a couple of high-school students and a table with some crayons. So that might occupy Isaac long enough for me to chat with a couple of parents briefly, but Ruthie? Nah. I imagine I'll spend most of the time chasing her. I hope I'll at least get a little bit of use out of the session. We'll see. At least the 7pm start gives us time to go home and eat something first. Also one of my coworkers said that some of the other parents on his son's soccer team have kids at this school, and he will try to hook me up with some of them.

In Ruthie news, aside from the horrendous sleep issues she continues to be the cutest and smartest toddler ever, yadda yadda. ;) Her latest thing is covering up her teddy bear with a blanket, and then she lies down next to him and pats his back. Which is just what the teachers at daycare do to get the toddlers to sleep.

oops, I had more but it's time to leave, more later

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios