mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
Yes, I know it's December. But I thought that instead of typing out a whole actual update ;) that I would just copy-paste in a selection of my Facebook posts from November. The primary purpose of this is for me to not lose all the "funny things the kids said/did/wrote" once they scroll too far down my Facebook page. Also, it's a way to preserve my "day in the life" type entries, which I'm not copying all of here, just a selection. There might even be one or two of you who might enjoy reading these....

Our November, in Facebook status )

I also went back and did one of these for October, back-dated. It's here. Not sure how much patience I'll have for going back much further than that, but we'll see....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
(Insert the usual astonished/embarrassed sentence about how long it has been since my last post, here.)

So, a lot to post about, but let's start with: We got a new kitty. It was my big Hanukkah present to the kids (and myself).

all about our new cat )

Anyway, so aside from those minor, uh "logistical" issues, we just love our new kitty. Oh, and this would be where I post pictures, right? Well, if you're my Facebook friend and you somehow managed to miss them, some of the pix are here. And here are a couple more -





(In that first one you can see a bit of her belly which was still naked from being spayed. It has taken a long time for that fur to grow back!)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Last week I took my cat, Grover, to be neutered -- long overdue, since we've had him for almost 3 years now. A combination of lack of funds and lack of getting-around-to-it-ness had kept it from happening sooner. Well, and there was also lack of urgency as a factor, since Grover doesn't go out and thus has no opportunity to encounter girl kitties (with one exception as noted below), and *knock wood* had never seemed to exhibit the tendency of many unneutered males to pee everywhere.

But then my upstairs neighbor Charles let me know that he'd had to put his kitty to sleep because she turned out to have feline leukemia. Charles occasionally had let her into the basement, and Grover occasionally goes there too, so there was a small chance they could have encountered each other down there. I knew that Melita was fixed, so I never worried about it from that point of view.

Anyway, the odds of Grover having been infected by Melita were very small, but I figured it was as good an impetus as any to finally get him to the vet for his shots, general checkup, neutering, and the FeLeuk test.

the saga of the reluctant cat )

I really like the new vet office that I switched to after getting dissatisfied with the old one. For one thing, the location right nearby Ruthie's preschool is very convenient. For another, it's a nice old building that is not at all far removed from having been someone's home in the past. And all the people I dealt with there so far -- the vet, two nurses, and two receptionists -- were women, and all very friendly and competent. So far, so good. And here's hoping that it'll be a year until we have to go back ;) and that by then Grover will have forgotten that he has good reason to hate the cat-carrier. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Hello all my LJ friends! I am sorry to say that I have no idea what is going on with you. I haven't read my friends-list fully in ages. I have it as my browser homepage, and usually what ends up happening is that I open my browser and read whatever happen to be the 20 posts on the first page, and then get caught up into other stuff and never scroll back.

I feel a little weird about how out of touch I'm becoming with (what used to be) my major sources of online community, but well, that's how life is right now. I feel like there's just so much going on and I don't have enough brain to hold it all. Why do things have to keep on, like, happening?!

How am I? I am tired. Oh so tired. I find it hard to believe that I'll ever not be tired. I keep thinking that my life will be great, someday, when Ruthie learns how to sleep through the night. But so far it isn't happening. I feel I need to be doing something to help this along, but I'm too tired to figure out what, and then to commit to it. That's a whole other looonnnng post that I'll likely never write.

Isaac has been sick or "sick" a lot lately, as you may have read in my twitter posts. It has been confusing and frustrating. I'm now of the opinion that he was actually sick the first day (a week and a half ago) and since then has just been tired from school, plus is experimenting with the idea of "if I say my tummy hurts I get special attention." That's my current theory anyway. And yes, I had a talk with the afterschool people about the fact that you cannot just go "oh, he says his tummy hurts, he must be sick, let's call his mom." Dude, he's five. You need to exercise some frickin' judgment here.

Ruthie is doing well, aside from the whole not-sleeping thing. Daycare dropoffs are still iffy, but she's getting better all the time. And she's bursting with funny things to say, some of which I really hope to post here soon.

My mom is in Peru for two weeks. I am not panicking...give me a few more days. ;) Luckily we already have plans for both days of this weekend. Next weekend will be harder as it's a four-day one: Friday there's no school due to "teacher preparation day" and then Monday is Oppressing The Natives Day, oops I mean Columbus Day. ;) Luckily it seems that we already have plans for that Sunday and Monday; and our new babysitter (thanks to [livejournal.com profile] ww1614) will be able to watch Isaac for part of the day Friday, so hopefully we'll make it through. ;)

In case you missed it in my twitters, the other evening we came home to find Grover-kitty playing with an almost-but-not-quite-dead mouse. Yeah, that was definitely not one of my favorite moments in life. Ugh. :( On the plus side, I guess, now I know that Grover can catch a mouse. But then tonight kind of gross, sorry ) so now I get to fret about what to do about that. Argh!

Several family members and close family friends are having severe medical issues right now. This is definitely on my mind a lot lately.

Work is also in a very stressful and challenging (in both the good and the bad ways) phase right now. That's another post I'll probably not get a chance to write.

I guess that's about it in a nutshell. Okay, well, maybe a coconut shell. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Behind the cut is the update I was writing this afternoon before I got "The Call" from daycare. It basically talks about what we did this weekend (not much) and what I've been cooking and reading lately.

the update )

And that's how far I had gotten when Ruthie's daycare called to tell me that she had a 102 fever. Not entirely unexpected, since she had been very runny-nosed for a day or so, and actually we were all very late for school/work this morning because I let her sleep in. She was all wheezy and snore-y from congestion. Anyway, so I went and picked her up, and we had to go past Isaac's preschool to get our car, and I was just going to get the car and go home for an hour (it was 4:15) but Ruthie got all upset, "Pick up my bwuh-zoo [brother]!! I'm-a play wif him!" so whatever, we picked him up too.

Then we went home and both kids were totally bouncing off the walls and I was disgruntled. The way I see it, if a kid's going to make me leave work early and disrupt my whole day, she could at least have the decency to act sick. ;P Also we discovered that the cat had barfed up a hairball on Ruthie's bed, which made quite an impression. She followed him around for a bit going "Don't! Throw! Up! Oday? Oday! Don't!"

And later there was the adventure with the mouse. But this post is already long enough so I'll save that for another post.

In any case, since the daycare has that frickin' 24-hour rule, I can't bring Ruthie back there tomorrow, so I'll have to take the day off. And I just know she's going to be totally chipper and fine and not sick at all, and she'll run me ragged. urgh!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Urgh, where to begin....

Friday, Ruthie was sick. the minutiae thereof )

Anyway, she seemed basically fine this morning so I took her off to daycare as usual and my fingers are crossed.

On Saturday we went out to the cottage with my mom again. [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd and Baz were there, having slept over Friday night, so we played with them and had a cookout and then we all slept over. SK and Baz slept in a tent on the lawn, which they seem to have quite enjoyed (sooner them than me ;) ). Sunday, the kids woke up around 7:30. Or was it 8? I can't remember, because my mom took them outside and let me go back to sleep. Have I mentioned recently how great my mom is? ;) I slept till just about 10am. It was a gorgeous day and we spent the rest of it doing the usual cottage things. Isaac is getting much more confident in the water, splashing and floating on floats and all that kind of thing, which is great to see. Ruthie, of course, has been confident from the beginning. I swear that kid will be the death of me. She just walks right into the water up to her chin and would keep on going if someone didn't grab her! Oy!

Anyway, fun was had by all, and Ruthie and Baz at least were kind enough to take turns engaging in 2-year-old typical behavior, rather than doing it all at once. ;)

Then we packed up and came home, which is always sad. snif snif.

Last week I read The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I must say I was underwhelmed. I'd heard so much about it, but it failed to really affect me the way it obviously did many others. Not really sure why. But I'm still glad I read it, and looking forward to discussing it with bookclub starting tomorrow.

I started in on The Dreams Our Stuff Is Made Of, which has been sitting on my to-be-read pile for ages and the news that Tom Disch (the author) had committed suicide pushed me to grab it. But then at the cottage I felt a need for some fiction, so I also started on A College of Magics by Caroline Stevermer, and I'm about 3/4 through that now and really enjoying it despite the only-average-quality writing and the large number of fantasy cliches. I guess that didn't really sell it, eh? I think I shall actually reserve judgment until I finish the thing. But really, I am enjoying it and eager to see where the plot's going to go.

In other random news, we have decided to try calling our new kitty Grover instead of Chubby. It's hard to tell yet whether that's going to stick, since we're still in that phase where we mostly call him "Chu-I-mean-Grover." But he definitely needs a name other than Chubby, because he's really very svelte.

I think that's all the news that's fit to print for the moment...more to come, one hopes....
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
cooking )

Ruthie and Chubby are formulating an interesting love-hate sort of relationship. Ruthie is SO excited that we have a kitty ("ditty") in the house. She talks about him constantly, e.g. at daycare pickup: "we go home and see da ditty!" and every few minutes "I go see what Tubby doin'!" and first thing upon waking up each morning "Where da ditty?" He spends most of his time hiding either under Ruthie's bed or in the closet in the kids' room; and Ruthie spends WAY too much time trying to get at him. When he's under the bed she crouches on the floor looking in at him and making meowing noises at the top of her lungs. When he's in the closet she tries to get to him (there's a lot of random stuff in the way) going "Hi ditty! Meow! Hi!" and patting at him.

Amazingly, she has yet to be scratched or bitten. Really, she's quite gentle when she actually does get her hands on him -- she just doesn't move slowly enough or speak quietly enough to keep from alarming him. ;)

BUT!!! -- he does come out, especially at night when we're lying down in Ruthie's bed to put her to sleep. He comes out and meows, and sometimes jumps up on her bed to look for petting. Usually I end up shutting him out of the room because having him around keeps Ruthie from being able to fall asleep. But the other night he came on the bed and lay down between us while Ruthie was nursing, and she was sleepy enough by that point that she didn't bolt upright; she just lay there and continued nursing and petted Chubby softly and he put his paw gently on her arm, and she went to sleep. So that was nice. And he has started coming around more often while she's there -- usually looking for petting from me, and tolerating some attention from Ruthie until she gets too excited and then he bolts. ;) Still, it's good progress. Yesterday he came up on the bed while I was changing Ruthie's diaper on it, and she was wiggling all over the place. He even held still for a few seconds of smothering (Ruthie basically draping her entire upper body on his head/neck, her version of a hug) before he fled. ;)

And several times lately we've found Chubby sleeping on, rather than under, Ruthie's bed. So I can see the beginnings of a beautiful friendship forming between them, which is nice.

Ruthie will now occasionally, once in a while, say "Isaac" instead of "ah-goo." It sounds so bizarre and wrong coming out of her! And it makes me kinda sad. I'll miss "ah-goo." On a related note, we've been reading Isaac's book The Night Before Kindergarten and I've been having difficulty explaining to him why the parents are crying when their kids are having fun on the first day of kindergarten. "Their noses, so sniffly! Their eyes red and wet!" says the book. "Why are they crying?" says Isaac. "Uh...they're sad because they have to leave their kids and go to work," say I, lamely. I suck. ;)

ok, time to run, more later
mamajoan: me in hammock (don't panic 2)
Y hello thar livejournal! How have you been? Whassup? Have you missed me? ;) Sorry I haven't been around much. It's been a busy week, and also I've unfortunately discovered this ridiculously addictive Facebook game called PackRat. Don't check it out, srsly, I am warning you. It will eat up all your not-really-copious-at-all free time.

Anyway! How to get caught up? Well, Isaac had a good birthday. He and his grandma took an Amtrak down to Providence and back, about which he was unbelievably excited. Then in the evening we all went out to dinner and he got a couple of gifts. But he'll be getting a lot more gifts tomorrow at his actual birthday party.

And speaking of the party, I am off work today in order to prepare for it! Today's very important to-do list includes:
* mow lawn
* clean house
* shop for supplies
* figure out whether we have enough tables/chairs and if not, what the heck to do about that
* acquire another birthday present, and something for Ruthie
* wrap presents

And more, I'm sure, but those are the most important items. And what have I accomplished so far today?
* drop kids off at daycare/school
* mail bookmooch book
* cook and eat leisurely breakfast
* play PackRat

d'oh. Guess I better get crackin'.

But before that, I'll just spew a bit more update-y goodness behind this here lj-cut. misc updates on kitty, books, food, Ruthie, and who knows what-all else )

I have lots more, of course, but it's time to get off my ass now and start the mowing. Whee!
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
Yeah, so, when I agreed to adopt/foster a new kitty, I conveniently managed to forget about the part where kitties keep you up half the night... *groan*

On the bright side, Chubby is definitely warming up to us! LOL.

I had a really hard time getting Ruthie to sleep last night. I decided to do a slightly early bedtime because Isaac was super-cranky, throwing screaming sobbing tantrums (complete with adolescent-esque "You never listen to me!!") and I realized that he was tired. Bedtimes have been creeping later and later since it stays light outside later, and we've been getting up early, so he's been losing out on some sleep.

So I got us to bed about 20 minutes earlier than usual, but Ruthie just could NOT fall asleep. At one point I thought she was close and I had to get a break, so I told her I'd be right back, and went into the living room. It was very quiet for about 5-10 minutes and then suddenly she started sobbing loudly. I went back into the bedroom and sat down on her bed, and she said, "I NOT YIKE THE WIPERS!!" O.o So I womanfully refrained from LOLing ;) and took her out to the living room to sit on the couch. Then I think she might have nursed to sleep, except that Chubby came along all "oh, I see you are sitting on the couch, this must mean that I can haz petting now!" and Ruthie woke right up. *facepalm* So there ensued about a half-hour of meowing and "Dat a kitty! Whass dat? Dat a kitty! He say meow! Meow! MEOW! Da kitty say meow! His name Chubby! Whass dat? Dat a kitty!" Groan!!

Finally I took Ruthie back into the bedroom, restarted the CD, and again lay down to nurse her on the bed. Chubby continued to make himself known but I petted him with one hand to keep him quiet while bracing myself on the bed with the other; and at last Ruthie fell asleep. Whew.

Then I had to go watch the rest of the wild, ridiculous Sox game; and then I tried to go to sleep, but Chubby made himself obnoxious again. We had the paws in the face, the meowing, etc., etc....climbing all over me in bed, snuggling me for a moment, then jumping up to check out another part of the bed, etc....

I must have fallen asleep eventually, though. And I slept right through Ruthie coming into my bed again, because the next thing I knew it was about 5am and Ruthie was snuggled up with me and Chubby was rustling some papers on my bookshelf. So I sat up and stage-whispered loudly at him to stop it, and he popped out from a pile of papers and meowed all like "what? who, me? what'd I do?" and I was like, "hush!" And I lay back down very carefully, checking to make sure Ruthie was still asleep...and she was...but then as I settled back down next to her, she said, "Meow!" and I was like, oh crap. But she wasn't waking up! She said "meow" in her sleep. LOL!!!!!!

Anyway, long story short, Chubby is making himself right at home. ;) Don't get me wrong, I'm glad that he's getting comfortable enough with me to come on my bed with me, and with Ruthie to not flee as soon as he spots her. I just hope he'll let me get some sleep in the very near future. sigh.

Pictures of Chubby behind the cut )

As you can see, he really isn't chubby at all. I'm thinking of renaming him if the people we got him from don't object.

In other news, this morning I went to register Isaac for afterschool, which turned into a bit of a "thing" because as it turns out the flyer had the wrong date; registration for kindergarteners isn't supposed to start till Monday. But the woman took my application anyway, and it seemed clear that I wasn't the first and wouldn't be the last parent coming in that day. I don't envy that woman the day she'll have had today.

I also noticed that according to my income and household size, I just barely miss the cutoff for a sliding-scale afterschool rate of $99/week instead of $115/week. Ah well. It'll still be a nice big jump down from the $220 that I currently pay for Isaac's preschool.
mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
The good news is that Chubby did start to warm up to me a bit. I worked from home yesterday, as I think I posted, and by the end of the afternoon (i.e., right as I needed to start getting ready to go pick up the kids), he came out from his hiding place and started following me around meowing and begging for petting. So that was good. He hid again through the evening while the kids were around, and came out again after they were asleep -- leapt right up onto my lap on the sofa and head-butted my chin, took lots of petting, then curled up on the couch next to me for a while.

So that was good. But then I made the mistake of assuming that he liked me enough to take medicine from me. ;P Oh, did I mention that they brought him to me with ear mites? They did provide the medicine for it, but I don't know anything about ear mites or giving ear medication to kitties, so I was kind of floundering. I read the not-too-helpful directions on the package and then gave it a try. Long story short, it didn't work out and he returned to his hiding place. *facepalm*

The other bad news is that when I got up this morning, and then even more so when we came home tonight, the place smells really strongly of cat pee. :( He *is* peeing in his box, and I know the smell isn't coming from there because I use Feline Pine litter and it works really well. Plus I put my face right next to the box and sniffed and didn't smell anything. It smells a lot stronger in the hallway, which unfortunately is the once place in the apt where we have a carpet (horrible, scraggly ugly gross carpet that I can't pull up because of tedious details having to do with the construction of the floor).

So I can't track down where exactly he might have peed that I'm smelling, and this is driving me crazy. The people who brought us Chubby did provide some enzyme cleaner stuff, and I sprinkled it liberally all over the carpet, and the smell is definitely getting better, but not entirely gone. This is disheartening because I haaaaaaate that smell so much. I guess the solution is just to dump the stuff in a bucket and mop the entire apt with it, and then saturate the scrap of carpet with it. But who has the time and energy for that??? (answer: [livejournal.com profile] richips hopefully, but that's a whole other post!)

Anyway, I'm reeeeallllly hoping that now that Chubby has discovered his litterbox, he'll stop peeing elsewhere. Sigh.

Aaaaaand that's all the typing Ruthie is going to permit me at the moment.
mamajoan: me in hammock (bagel yummy)
Today I decided to work from home in order to keep Chubby company and hopefully let him get used to me. I had to go to the office for a morning meeting and to get my laptop, so I got back home around 11:30. I found him hiding in a different spot, which I guess is progress, lol, but he hasn't come out to see me since I've been here. Last night after the kids were asleep and all was dark and quiet, he did come out for some scritching and rubbed his face on some of the furniture and me, so that's progress too. And at some point in the night he jumped up onto my bed, then fled when I lifted my head to look at him. heh.

I haven't been doing much cooking worthy of note lately, but I do have a few updates. I just looked back at my 2008recipes tag and realized that I never posted my second lentil experiment from a couple of weeks ago. I can't recall too much of the details except that it involved green rather than red lentils, and whole-wheat elbow noodles, and zucchini, and curry powder. And it was very tasty, although I decided that I like red lentils better than green. Anyway, I'll call that #34.

#35 was this weekend and was muffins from the recipe I usually make, except that this time instead of the milk I used orange juice, and I substituted applesauce for half of the oil, and added lots of cinnamon. So they came out quite fruity, which was nice. I brought them to the pot-luck yesterday at the home of one of Isaac's preschool friends. And I realized afterward that they were actually vegan! It kind of makes me LOL when something I cook winds up being vegan "by accident."

#36 was a new bread recipe that I made last night, out of Mark Bittman's How To Cook Everything Vegetarian. This is called "Sandwich Bread," using the whole-wheat variation, half white flour and half whole-wheat flour. I also proofed the yeast before adding it, which I had never done before. The recipe uses over a cup of milk (the other bread recipe I've been making lately uses a cup of water and just a couple tablespoons of milk) which I guess contributes in part to the fluffiness. Anyway, I was highly skeptical because the dough was SO sticky, but it actually turned out GREAT! It rose a lot (perhaps due to the proofing?) and has a really nice texture and flavor. The book said that the whole-wheat variation would not be fluffy, but I sure didn't find that to be the case. I might have to consider making this my new bread recipe, except that the stickiness issue makes it more difficult to whip together while the kids are playing like I do with the other one. But we'll see.

Anyway, that's the cooking update for the moment. Our CSA will be starting up again next week (yay!) so I'll probably start having lots more recipe updates after that. What do you think are the odds that I can convince the kids to eat kale? ;)

Meow

Jun. 1st, 2008 04:17 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The kitty we are fostering or adopting is here. He is about 1 year old and his name is Chubby, but he is not really all that chubby. I shall take and post some pictures of him, whenever he decides to come out of hiding. He's a little traumatized right now, poor guy. The kids' shrieks of delight and attempts to make friends (read: chasing him around the house) did not exactly thrill him. ;)

The people from whom we acquired Chubby seem a little flaky, although maybe that's just my outside observation of the chaos they're going through trying to place something like 9 kitties. But the original "foster a kitty for a few months until his people find a new apartment" that I was told, seems to have turned into "adopt a kitty! but if you can't keep him more than a few months, we'll find someone else to foster him when the time comes. oh and in a year or so, his original person might be able to take him back again. maybe." And "we'll pay for all his food, litter, and medical care" seems to have turned into "you'll pay for his food and litter, and if you feel like getting him any medical care we'll pay you back some day, if/when we have money." They still say they're going to arrange to have him neutered soonish, but it's all very vague. At least, he has had his rabies shots and since we won't be letting him outside, that ought to be all he needs...but you never know. And I forgot to ask whether he has been tested for FeLuke and all that other stuff. sigh.

(I should say, I don't really mind paying for the food and litter, especially if he's going to turn out to be our "permanent kitty." I'd mind it less if they hadn't originally said they would pay for those things, but whatever.)

But in any case, he seems like a very sweet kitty and I am sure he'll warm up to us in good time. Already he was thinking about making nice with me after I put the kids to nap and it got quiet. He came out from his hiding place behind the kitchen trash can and almost came over to me for snuggles, but then changed his mind. Still, that was progress. And the kids are SO excited. Of course, their excitement is only making things worse from Chubby's point of view ;) but in the end I think it's going to be great.

And now I better get everyone up from nap, since we were supposed to be at a pot-luck half an hour ago....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
* The concert last Sunday went quite well. I hope I shall have a chance to write more about it at some point. (I say that a lot, don't I? sigh.)

* Monday was a glorious day both weather-wise and activity-wise. We spent basically the whole day in the back yard, with six(!) other kids coming over to play at various points. The fabulously wonderful [livejournal.com profile] wneleh was kind enough to bring us an enormous play structure that her kids have outgrown, and my kids and their friends LOOOOOVED it. She brought it over in pieces, and as we were putting it back together, the kids were literally climbing all over it. It was all "Get down from there! Don't crawl through the tunnel until it's hooked up! Climb down off that! Have a little patience!" LOL. Anyway, this thing is teh awesome. I shall post pix at some point. The kids are lovin' it and it's going to be great for Isaac's party.

* However, the lesson learned from Monday is that it's about damn time to buy a new bottle of sunscreen. I acquired quite the sunburn across my shoulders and upper back, and it is rather painful these last couple of days, making wearing my backpack -- or even clothes! -- somewhat uncomfy. d'oh. Fortunately the kids seem to have gotten off easier (though I keep meaning to ask [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd whether Baz got any burned, since he's so much fairer than my kids -- and he was looking quite pink by the time we decided we had better get him inside. yikes).

* Apparently I have agreed to foster for an unknown period of time a kittycat whose people are looking for a cat-friendly apartment (long story). The timing is unclear but it seems we'll be taking custody of "Chubby" within the next few days. I'm excited! and also a bit nervous, but it will all work out somehow.

* Isaac has developed an unhealthy fascination with the Weather Channel widget on my Firefox (it shows little icons in the status bar to tell you the weather for right now, later today/tonight, and tomorrow). He runs over to check it like every five minutes. It is kind of annoying, LOL.

* Ruthie's daycare teacher today said that Ruthie is "such a happy kid," always laughing and cheerful. That was so nice to hear. She is mostly like that at home too, except for the occasional screechy tantrum of course, heh.

* Tonight I made pancakes out of How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. I've made pancakes before of course, but never this simply from a recipe, so I'll count it as number, uh, 32 I think? (edit #33) Anyway I subbed whole-wheat flour and cornmeal for half the flour, and they came out too dense and the kids didn't really like them much, alas. ah well.

* I finished re-reading Stranger in a Strange Land and then read Grammar for the Soul, a totally delightful little book by a guy who is a friend of my mom's and the dad of one of my best childhood friends. It's basically centered around the premise that the grammar we use affects our mindset and attitudes -- and vice versa -- and that by mindfully changing our grammar we can positively affect our mental/emotional state. Okay, it sounds hokey but it's really a fun, witty, engaging, and thought-provoking book. I really enjoyed it (obviously). Highly recommended.

* And now I am reading Imaro by Charles Saunders, which I believe was recommended by [livejournal.com profile] morgan_dhu.

* And of course I have lots more to post about but that's enough for now.

ketchup

Jan. 31st, 2008 04:49 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, my big plan to get caught up on sleep yesterday didn't work out. I tossed and turned and dozed a bit from about noon to 3pm, then gave up and got up. Sigh. Then I washed three sinkfuls of dishes and still had an overflowing sink. More sigh. Then I went to bed early but to no avail -- Ruthie as usual woke up within moments of me getting into bed (this is a talent she has that irritates me to indescribable degree) and then she nursed basically all night long. Argh!!

I am seriously thinking of reneging on my previous (albeit wishy-washy) decision to not night-wean at this time. I have to do SOMETHING, and maybe it would help. Maybe I'd still be up all night every night, but at least I wouldn't be physically depleted by the time the sun comes up? I dunno. I'm just about desperate enough to try almost anything at this point (anything other than CIO, that is. Although in my personal lexicon it doesn't count as CIO if the child cries herself to sleep in your bed, in your arms).

Um, but anyway, let me stop whining for a bit and try to say something not sleep- or money-related.

Yesterday evening my mom got on a plane to go to California to visit her brother and mother. She will be gone until late Monday. So this afternoon at lunchtime I popped over to her house to feed her kitties. And supposedly also to give them some lovin', but they were not interested. I guess they aren't needy enough since mom has only been gone less than a day so far. They were like, "what? who are you? go away." I was like, "Here kitty kitty! Who wants to snuggle!" and they were all, "who does she think she's kidding?" LOL. So I just put down the food and went away. LOL. I'm on to them though. By Sunday they'll be going nuts with the "pet me, PET MEEEEEEE!!!!!" ;)

Tonight there is a parent info session at the school right near [livejournal.com profile] metafrantic and [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd's house. It is from 7 to 9, which is unfortunate timing (i.e., very close to bedtime) especially on a night when I have no babysitting options what with mom being away and our other usual babysitter also unavailable. So I will have to take the kids along, if I go. They'll have childcare there, supposedly, but this will probably consist of a couple of high-school students and a table with some crayons. So that might occupy Isaac long enough for me to chat with a couple of parents briefly, but Ruthie? Nah. I imagine I'll spend most of the time chasing her. I hope I'll at least get a little bit of use out of the session. We'll see. At least the 7pm start gives us time to go home and eat something first. Also one of my coworkers said that some of the other parents on his son's soccer team have kids at this school, and he will try to hook me up with some of them.

In Ruthie news, aside from the horrendous sleep issues she continues to be the cutest and smartest toddler ever, yadda yadda. ;) Her latest thing is covering up her teddy bear with a blanket, and then she lies down next to him and pats his back. Which is just what the teachers at daycare do to get the toddlers to sleep.

oops, I had more but it's time to leave, more later
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Another good, but grueling chorus rehearsal last night. Should I be twisting arms to get y'all to come to our concert? I feel like I always post about it here but none of you ever come. Maybe it's just not your "thang." That's okay too.

I'm pretty much giving up on my idea to try to find someone to bring Isaac to the concert. It's just too complicated (going to be tricky enough finding one babysitter, let alone two) and I don't think he'd get enough out of it to make it worthwhile. Maybe next year.

Speaking of next year, conversations with Isaac about the nature of time )

In other news, a relative of ours is leaving at the end of December to go to Africa for six months on a Fulbright, and is looking for someone to care for her cat while she's away. I sorta kinda told her that we would do it, although we did agree that she'd first exhaust all her other options, particularly in her area (currently lives in Michigan). I'm cautiously excited about the idea of having a kitty again, but also a bit nervous about handling it with the kids -- particularly Ruthie who won't understand that we're "borrowing" this kitty, and who thus might get upset when B. returns from Africa and wants her kitty back. Not sure what to do about that. It could get ugly if she (if we all!) get attached. But we'll see what happens. Maybe B. will find someone else to kittysit and it'll all be moot.

In other other news it is freakishly warm today and there is bright green grass in my backyard. The entire earth is just really confused.
mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
A mom on the SomervilleMoms email list posted that she desperately needs to find a new home for a sweet 6-year-old kitty. Apparently an elderly family member just went into a nursing home and had to give up this cat, and she (the mom who posted this) can't keep her (the cat) because husband is horribly allergic. If they don't find a home soon, they'll take the kitty to Angell Memorial, and since older cats never get adopted, she'll either get euthanized, or live the rest of her life in a cage. :(

Someone please remind me why I shouldn't be getting a new kitty right now? :(
mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
Unbelievably massively adorable kitten picspam courtesy of [livejournal.com profile] anime_heart. Oh Em Gee. KITTENS!!!!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This morning I went and signed all the paperwork for the city heating program. Basically, the city is lending me $4500, so there were all the papers that go along with a mortgage-esque loan. Next up, the contractor has to go to city hall and sign all the papers too, and then we can schedule the work!

Meanwhile my oil tank is nearly empty so I'm going to have to bite the bullet and buy some more oil. It seems a little silly considering how crazy warm the weather has been lately (60F today!!) but it's January, so you know, it could be in the 20s next week. You never know.

In other news, as I threatened promised, here are a bunch of pictures of the kids from over the holidays. With bonus kittypix for those of you who are not so much baby lovers! ;)

pix under here )

Whew! Hope you enjoyed. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
Well, it's done. It wasn't my first time doing it, but it was my first time as the sole decision-maker. It's so hard.

I just feel sad and guilty about the whole thing.

There's not much else to say really.

Bini

Sep. 25th, 2006 10:20 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (bini yawn)
Well, I've made about a zillion phone calls now and had no luck finding a solution for Bini. The no-kill shelters all say they can't take him (or else they just don't return my calls). A couple of them gave me severe attitude about it too, so fuck them. Most were sympathetic though.

No luck with my craigslist posting either. I got one email telling me what a horrible person I am, and one sympathetic message with a few suggestions that unfortunately won't work for us.

So, with sorrow and guilt aplenty, it looks like I'll be taking Bini to be put to sleep, probably on Wednesday evening. I don't feel great about it, but it is what it is.

Bini isn't a very happy camper right now anyway. I didn't mention, but at his vet appointment last week he weighed about 12 pounds, down from 17.5 last April. That's a loss of a third of his body weight in five months! And he isn't grooming himself, isn't eating much, is drinking a ton and peeing a ton. He's hungry and thirsty but nothing he eats or drinks satisfies him, so he's pretty much just listless and unhappy. The subcutaneous fluids that the vet gave him didn't seem to perk him up much either. I feel like the rapidity of his decline says something about his ability to bounce back, the strength of his immune system...or maybe that's just me trying to make myself feel better.

Anyway...so that's the story. sigh. and now I have to figure out how to explain it all to Isaac. double sigh.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 10:18 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios