Well, my big plan to get caught up on sleep yesterday didn't work out. I tossed and turned and dozed a bit from about noon to 3pm, then gave up and got up. Sigh. Then I washed three sinkfuls of dishes and still had an overflowing sink. More sigh. Then I went to bed early but to no avail -- Ruthie as usual woke up within moments of me getting into bed (this is a talent she has that irritates me to indescribable degree) and then she nursed basically all night long. Argh!!
I am seriously thinking of reneging on my previous (albeit wishy-washy) decision to not night-wean at this time. I have to do SOMETHING, and maybe it would help. Maybe I'd still be up all night every night, but at least I wouldn't be physically depleted by the time the sun comes up? I dunno. I'm just about desperate enough to try almost anything at this point (anything other than CIO, that is. Although in my personal lexicon it doesn't count as CIO if the child cries herself to sleep in your bed, in your arms).
Um, but anyway, let me stop whining for a bit and try to say something not sleep- or money-related.
Yesterday evening my mom got on a plane to go to California to visit her brother and mother. She will be gone until late Monday. So this afternoon at lunchtime I popped over to her house to feed her kitties. And supposedly also to give them some lovin', but they were not interested. I guess they aren't needy enough since mom has only been gone less than a day so far. They were like, "what? who are you? go away." I was like, "Here kitty kitty! Who wants to snuggle!" and they were all, "who does she think she's kidding?" LOL. So I just put down the food and went away. LOL. I'm on to them though. By Sunday they'll be going nuts with the "pet me, PET MEEEEEEE!!!!!" ;)
Tonight there is a parent info session at the school right near
metafrantic and
sandykidd's house. It is from 7 to 9, which is unfortunate timing (i.e., very close to bedtime) especially on a night when I have no babysitting options what with mom being away and our other usual babysitter also unavailable. So I will have to take the kids along, if I go. They'll have childcare there, supposedly, but this will probably consist of a couple of high-school students and a table with some crayons. So that might occupy Isaac long enough for me to chat with a couple of parents briefly, but Ruthie? Nah. I imagine I'll spend most of the time chasing her. I hope I'll at least get a little bit of use out of the session. We'll see. At least the 7pm start gives us time to go home and eat something first. Also one of my coworkers said that some of the other parents on his son's soccer team have kids at this school, and he will try to hook me up with some of them.
In Ruthie news, aside from the horrendous sleep issues she continues to be the cutest and smartest toddler ever, yadda yadda. ;) Her latest thing is covering up her teddy bear with a blanket, and then she lies down next to him and pats his back. Which is just what the teachers at daycare do to get the toddlers to sleep.
oops, I had more but it's time to leave, more later
I am seriously thinking of reneging on my previous (albeit wishy-washy) decision to not night-wean at this time. I have to do SOMETHING, and maybe it would help. Maybe I'd still be up all night every night, but at least I wouldn't be physically depleted by the time the sun comes up? I dunno. I'm just about desperate enough to try almost anything at this point (anything other than CIO, that is. Although in my personal lexicon it doesn't count as CIO if the child cries herself to sleep in your bed, in your arms).
Um, but anyway, let me stop whining for a bit and try to say something not sleep- or money-related.
Yesterday evening my mom got on a plane to go to California to visit her brother and mother. She will be gone until late Monday. So this afternoon at lunchtime I popped over to her house to feed her kitties. And supposedly also to give them some lovin', but they were not interested. I guess they aren't needy enough since mom has only been gone less than a day so far. They were like, "what? who are you? go away." I was like, "Here kitty kitty! Who wants to snuggle!" and they were all, "who does she think she's kidding?" LOL. So I just put down the food and went away. LOL. I'm on to them though. By Sunday they'll be going nuts with the "pet me, PET MEEEEEEE!!!!!" ;)
Tonight there is a parent info session at the school right near
In Ruthie news, aside from the horrendous sleep issues she continues to be the cutest and smartest toddler ever, yadda yadda. ;) Her latest thing is covering up her teddy bear with a blanket, and then she lies down next to him and pats his back. Which is just what the teachers at daycare do to get the toddlers to sleep.
oops, I had more but it's time to leave, more later
no subject
Date: 2008-02-01 12:26 am (UTC)I guess my point is, there's only so much of you to go around, and maybe it's fair to decide how you're going to allocate it?
no subject
Date: 2008-02-01 01:03 am (UTC)Long story short, you won't hear it from me if you put your foot down and teach Ruthie how to get through the night without nursing. It helped for us to offer Eleanor a (securely closed!) sippy cup because she did get genuinely thirsty during the night.
no subject
Date: 2008-02-01 01:07 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-02-01 01:06 am (UTC)Without really thinking about it, we night weaned Caspian while I was pregnant. I was worried about him wanting to marathon nurse all night when the baby came, and we also saw that on nights when he didn't nurse, he slept wonderfully. But the only way we could do it was by having Plato take over. I bet Ruthie would adjust to it quickly if you had some kind of night servant to distract her away from the boobs :P
no advice, just a statement
Date: 2008-02-02 01:56 pm (UTC)