mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I had a dream last night, a nightmare you might say, wherein the director of Isaac's preschool and the mom of Isaac's best preschool friend got conflated into one person, who told me that she was moving to Florida. So at the same time I had to deal with the idea of Isaac losing his best friend AND having to find a new preschool for him for the time between now and September. Argh!

Of course, the house where the mom lives is gorgeous and I know they rent it, so in the dream, I was asking her what the rent was and whether her landlord had found a new tenant yet. ;) I have been thinking idle thoughts about moving lately. They are idle because there's no way it's financially feasible right now, but otoh our two-bedroom is already starting to feel pretty small and Ruthie isn't even 2 yet. eek.

Anyway, I mentioned the dream to the preschool director this morning and she kind of went "oh, heh heh" the way you do when someone you barely know tells you that they dreamed about you. ;) Good thing I didn't tell her about that other dream she appeared in a month or two ago. You know, the one where she was a dominatrix trying to make me her sex slave? ;)

In MUCH less prurient news ;) this morning Isaac saw me looking at a picture of Barack Obama online, and asked who it was, so I reminded him of the conversations we've had about the presidential election (particularly on primary day when we went to vote). I showed him a picture of Hillary Clinton and explained that we don't know yet who is going to be the winner (I conveniently omitted mention of the Republican candidates and the whole intermediary step there ;) ) but that we are waiting to find out.

A few minutes later Isaac says, "But mama, when are we going to be the president?" I replied that he or Ruthie might be the president some day, but they need to be grownups first. He looked crestfallen. ;)

In sleep news, Ruthie has now slept in her bed from bedtime until 4am or later, four or five nights in a row. Including until 5:30am this morning! So why am I still so groggy at the office by 3:30pm? Still a lot of catching up to do I guess.

Date: 2008-02-21 09:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mogwar.livejournal.com
Now that kidlet is ten, we've decided we need to start expanding his political education a bit and expose him a bit more to our conservative relatives. Especially after he came home one day and asked his father, "Why are Republicans evil?"

Date: 2008-02-22 06:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mogwar.livejournal.com
Nah, we just had dinner with his grandparents (the liberal side, actually - they live much closer), and let his Grandpa tell the story about his ultra-conservative Republican upbringing, and the day when he was kidlet's age and really mad at his mother, so angry he yelled at her, "You! You! You Democrat!" because it was the worst insult he could come up with. And he didn't understand why she thought it was funny (especially as she'd started considering switching her party affiliation to Democrat by that point - it was her FIL who was the rabid Republican influencing her son).

Date: 2008-02-21 11:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] downwardlashes.livejournal.com
I'll vote for the Isaac/Ruth ticket in 2040!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios