mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Yeah, so, when I agreed to adopt/foster a new kitty, I conveniently managed to forget about the part where kitties keep you up half the night... *groan*

On the bright side, Chubby is definitely warming up to us! LOL.

I had a really hard time getting Ruthie to sleep last night. I decided to do a slightly early bedtime because Isaac was super-cranky, throwing screaming sobbing tantrums (complete with adolescent-esque "You never listen to me!!") and I realized that he was tired. Bedtimes have been creeping later and later since it stays light outside later, and we've been getting up early, so he's been losing out on some sleep.

So I got us to bed about 20 minutes earlier than usual, but Ruthie just could NOT fall asleep. At one point I thought she was close and I had to get a break, so I told her I'd be right back, and went into the living room. It was very quiet for about 5-10 minutes and then suddenly she started sobbing loudly. I went back into the bedroom and sat down on her bed, and she said, "I NOT YIKE THE WIPERS!!" O.o So I womanfully refrained from LOLing ;) and took her out to the living room to sit on the couch. Then I think she might have nursed to sleep, except that Chubby came along all "oh, I see you are sitting on the couch, this must mean that I can haz petting now!" and Ruthie woke right up. *facepalm* So there ensued about a half-hour of meowing and "Dat a kitty! Whass dat? Dat a kitty! He say meow! Meow! MEOW! Da kitty say meow! His name Chubby! Whass dat? Dat a kitty!" Groan!!

Finally I took Ruthie back into the bedroom, restarted the CD, and again lay down to nurse her on the bed. Chubby continued to make himself known but I petted him with one hand to keep him quiet while bracing myself on the bed with the other; and at last Ruthie fell asleep. Whew.

Then I had to go watch the rest of the wild, ridiculous Sox game; and then I tried to go to sleep, but Chubby made himself obnoxious again. We had the paws in the face, the meowing, etc., etc....climbing all over me in bed, snuggling me for a moment, then jumping up to check out another part of the bed, etc....

I must have fallen asleep eventually, though. And I slept right through Ruthie coming into my bed again, because the next thing I knew it was about 5am and Ruthie was snuggled up with me and Chubby was rustling some papers on my bookshelf. So I sat up and stage-whispered loudly at him to stop it, and he popped out from a pile of papers and meowed all like "what? who, me? what'd I do?" and I was like, "hush!" And I lay back down very carefully, checking to make sure Ruthie was still asleep...and she was...but then as I settled back down next to her, she said, "Meow!" and I was like, oh crap. But she wasn't waking up! She said "meow" in her sleep. LOL!!!!!!

Anyway, long story short, Chubby is making himself right at home. ;) Don't get me wrong, I'm glad that he's getting comfortable enough with me to come on my bed with me, and with Ruthie to not flee as soon as he spots her. I just hope he'll let me get some sleep in the very near future. sigh.





As you can see, he really isn't chubby at all. I'm thinking of renaming him if the people we got him from don't object.

In other news, this morning I went to register Isaac for afterschool, which turned into a bit of a "thing" because as it turns out the flyer had the wrong date; registration for kindergarteners isn't supposed to start till Monday. But the woman took my application anyway, and it seemed clear that I wasn't the first and wouldn't be the last parent coming in that day. I don't envy that woman the day she'll have had today.

I also noticed that according to my income and household size, I just barely miss the cutoff for a sliding-scale afterschool rate of $99/week instead of $115/week. Ah well. It'll still be a nice big jump down from the $220 that I currently pay for Isaac's preschool.

Date: 2008-06-06 07:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] downwardlashes.livejournal.com
Sooo cute! And yeah, I saw the picture and was like, "Wait, that cat isn't chubby. Huh?"
Maybe he needs a buddy to snuggle and play with? It's sort of a hard decision to make when one cat is difficult enough to deal with of course.

Date: 2008-06-06 07:48 pm (UTC)
azurelunatic: Vivid pink Alaskan wild rose. (Default)
From: [personal profile] azurelunatic
If you haven't seen the Mean Kitty song, you probably should...

Date: 2008-06-06 11:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aelf.livejournal.com
What a pretty cat!

Date: 2008-06-07 02:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ima-omi.livejournal.com
Cute cat. Definitely more of a Svelte than a Chubby. ;)

Date: 2008-06-07 06:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thinking-lotus.livejournal.com
aw! what a lovely young tom! he looks very cuddly.

my experience with young cats is that if you want them to behave themselves and let you sleep, you need to keep them out of the bedroom. because they will wake you up.

the downside is the meowing and scratching. try to put them where you can't hear, in a space with toys, litter, food and water, and always let them in to be with you when you are awake enough to play with them.
Edited Date: 2008-06-07 06:06 am (UTC)

Date: 2008-06-07 10:53 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] victoriacatlady.livejournal.com
What a pretty cat. He doesn't fit his name at all, though. "Slinky" might be closer, or (from his behaviour) "Smurgles." ;->

shorten Chubby to HUbby?

Date: 2008-06-11 04:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lightningrose.livejournal.com
Which yields endless amusement possibilities for confounding the remaining telemarketers who will ask for man of the house....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios