mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie smiling may 08)
[personal profile] mamajoan
(Dig my new Ruthie-smiling icon! :D )

I didn't mention yesterday that while Isaac and I were at kindergarten orientation, Ruthie got to spend some quality time with grandma. She was so excited. :) They had a couple of hours together and then grandma took Ruthie to daycare and took charge of Isaac.

I also didn't mention that the night before last Ruthie had a lot of trouble sleeping. :( She came into my bed at 1:30, which is fairly early for her of late, and then she was up around 4:30am tossing and turning and coughing a lot, for about half an hour. We finally did fall asleep again, but then we had to be up again at 7, sigh. so I was pretty tired yesterday. Last night Ruthie again was coughing and had trouble falling asleep, but she did go out around 10(?) and at some point she did wake and come into my bed again, but that's all a blur ;) and we did sleep better than the night before, thank goodness.

Also yesterday I had a subway-riding adventure with a tricycle that a coworker kindly gave us. He brought it to the office on Tuesday but I had ridden the bus that day so I left it till yesterday. Then I still had to take it on the subway with me, from the office to Ruthie's daycare. That was entertaining. I got plenty of funny looks and a couple of people said "aren't you missing something?" :) Ruthie was excited to see the trike, but she didn't want to sit on it and let me push it -- she wanted to push it herself. It has a long handle in the back so a parent can push it. Ruthie's feet can't quite reach the pedals yet, but in another month or two I bet she'll be just zipping along.

I can't remember whether I mentioned here that Ruthie found a pacifier while I was cleaning up, and has claimed it for her own. She carries it around with her, often in her mouth, and although she can go for hours without it, she'll suddenly announce "I need my binky!" and then we have to locate it and she pops it back into her mouth again. It was pretty humorous the first time she tried to nurse with the binky in. ;) Anyway, I think it's kind of odd that she's suddenly so attached to binky after having had no binky for two years, but whatever. I'm going with the flow and hoping it'll be a short phase.

Meanwhile, though, she has taken to telling me that "my binky not for boys!" When I say "well, boys can use binkies if they want to," she goes, "No, it MINE!" LOL. Also this morning I called her a silly girl and she retorted "I not a dirl! I a man!" hee hee.

The other night I took this picture of Ruthie which totally cracks me up.


Mom's shoes: check.
Kid-sized broom: check.
Pacifier in mouth: check.
Hair in eyes: check.
Resigned expression: check.
Power to kill via cute: check! Phear the cute! PH34R IT!

the icon is adorable

Date: 2008-06-05 08:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lightningrose.livejournal.com
but your photo might yield an even better one... don't be MESSING with my paci!

Date: 2008-06-05 09:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] algernon-mouse.livejournal.com
Wow. In that icon, I can see a lot of you.

Date: 2008-06-05 09:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] downwardlashes.livejournal.com
She looks so much older in your icon! Ah!

Date: 2008-06-05 10:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hardcorewife.livejournal.com
Coughing at night with no other symptoms, is an indication for asthma. If you have tried giving her cough syrup and it doesn't go away - this is more than likely the culprit. Wouldn't hurt to get her checked out.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios