mamajoan: me in hammock (SW/american pie)
Valentine's Day inspires me to post these two excerpts from well-known works of popular culture. You'll soon see why I choose these two....

The first is from that most famous of romance novels, "Gone With The Wind."

---------------
"Scarlett, you do like me, don't you?"
That was more like what she was expecting.
"Well, sometimes," she answered cautiously. "When you aren't acting like a varmint."
He laughed again and held the palm of her hand against his hard cheek.
"I think you like me because I am a varmint. You've known so few dyed-in-the-wool varmints in your sheltered life that my very difference holds a quaint charm for you."
This was not the turn she had anticipated and she tried again without success to pull her hand free.
"That's not true! I like nice men - men you can depend on to always be gentlemanly."
"You mean men you can always bully. It's merely a matter of definition. But no matter."
---------------

And the second quote is from "The Empire Strikes Back," of course:

---------------
Han: "Come on, admit it, sometimes you think I'm all right."
Leia: "Occasionally...maybe...when you aren't acting like a scoundrel."
Han: "Scoundrel? Scoundrel? I like the sound of that."
Leia: "Stop that."
Han: "Stop what?"
Leia: "Stop that! My hands are dirty."
Han: "My hands are dirty too, what are you afraid of?"
Leia: "Afraid?"
Han: "You're trembling."
Leia: "I'm not trembling."
Han: "You like me because I'm a scoundrel. There aren't enough scoundrels in your life."
Leia: "I happen to like nice men."
Han: "I'm nice men."
---------------
Happy half-price-chocolate day, everyone! ;)

Silliness

Dec. 18th, 2010 02:35 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
Ruthie: "Can you draw me a kangaroo?"
Me: "I don't know how to draw a kangaroo."
Isaac: "I'll do it."
(Isaac takes Ruthie's pen and draws with deep concentration)
Ruthie: "That doesn't look anything like a kangaroo."
Isaac: "It's a hippo waving its arm."
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
...a package of stuff off my Amazon wishlist from [livejournal.com profile] hawkeye7!!

Every December he sends one of these lovely care packages, and every December it takes me by pleasant surprise. :) Particularly this year, when I didn't even open the box for a few days because I've been ordering so much stuff from Amazon, I just assumed it was one of the things I had ordered.

But I finally opened it and thank you so much as always, Ross! ♥

I must say that after opening I thought "wow, this is a lot of stuff even for what he usually sends." Then I discovered that the package included three copies of the same book. LOL!!! I hope you didn't pay for it 3x, [livejournal.com profile] hawkeye7, and if you did, let me know so I can return the extra two and get your money back. Otherwise I'll just pass them along to someone else. :)

In other news, I have SO much wrapping still to do. Oy. And as an atheist Jew getting ready for Christmas, I DO mean oy!! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (censored)
Subject line: "Travel the world and see more nipples with your longer, thicker passport to happiness."
Body of the message: "Get wall to wall women, and twice as many nubile breasts."

hmm, if you had one woman already, then twice as many breasts would only be one more woman. Which isn't exactly wall-to-wall, unless you have an extremely small room. Of course, you could also have one one-breasted woman and replace her with one regular woman. That would be twice as many breasts but still the same number of vaginas, which seems to be defeating the purpose of lengthening your "passport." Meanwhile, if you don't currently have any women at all (which seems likely given the fact that your "passport" is so short), then twice as many breasts is not very many breasts at all.

Mainly, though, I just love the phrase "Travel the world and see more nipples." hee hee.
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
Last Friday some guys came by and installed an enormous new whiteboard in the common space here at the office. This was in response to some of my coworkers saying that they preferred the other side of our office because it has so much whiteboard space for impromptu technical discussions and so forth. (Which in turn prompted some teasing that at one point apparently the developers had "Do Not Erase" written on every whiteboard on that side of the office.)

So we have this beautiful new gleaming whiteboard, which has not yet actually been used for anything. But this morning when we got in, someone had written "Please Do Not Erase!" in the middle of it. LOL.

My coworker J took personal affront to this, grabbed an eraser, and swiped through it. So now it says "Plea ___ Do Not E____e!" hee hee.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Often when one of the kids is being silly, I'll say, "you're a nutcake!" I guess this is my version of nutcase. Sometimes I'll tell Ruthie that she's the "nuttiest nutty cake of a girl" or such silliness. ;)

So the other day I told Isaac he was being a nutcake.
Isaac: No, YOU'RE a nutcake!
Me: No, YOU'RE a nutcake!
Isaac: No, you're a chocolate cake!

yum! ;)

Also, Isaac will now tell Ruthie "you're a little troublemaker!" which, ahem, he may have heard me say to her just once or twice. ;) Lately he's into calling people "cuckoo-head" (and other less adorable things like poopyhead, sigh) and this morning Ruthie started saying "cuckoo." D'oh! LOL. She is certainly learning a very different set of first words than the first child did. ;)

The local free newspaper that gets handed out in the subway had a headline the other day: "Humor can be funny." Well, uh, yes, I suppose that's true. Humor CAN be funny...The article itself was about one of those state-the-blindingly-obvious "studies" finding that when people in an office feel free to joke around with each other, their morale is better and they're more productive. Um, duh?

I still do not know what I'm making for Thanksgiving. This is stressing me out. But it's time to go so I shall post more on that later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (groucho orly)
I had a "lightbulb moment" recently in which I realized why Chris Kimball, of Cook's Illustrated magazine and America's Test Kitchen, looks so familiar. It's because he is the nameless main character in Green Eggs and Ham.

OK, probably I am the only person on the planet to whom this means anything, but lemme tell ya, it was a revelation.

silly spam

Aug. 2nd, 2007 02:50 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
Spam subject of the day #1: "Serious jobs for serious people." This one just makes me think of lolcat. "I are serious cat! This are serious job!"

Spam subject of the day #2: "I failed and still made $94K." Um...yeah, sure you did. *pat pat* Uh huh.

Spam subject of the day #3: "There was laughter, mixed with grunts." What, was someone fucking a pig or something? That's gross, spam people. Srsly.

Spam subject of the day #4: "unruffled scooby snack." 'Nuff said. hee hee.

Spam subject of the day #5: "Say 'I can have sex all night long!'" This one puts me in mind of all our efforts lately to get Ruthie to talk. "Ruthie, say mama! Ruthie, say Isaac! Ruthie, say 'I can have sex all night long!'" heh. OK, that's terrible and wrong, but admit it, you LOL'd.

harry who?

Jul. 11th, 2007 03:15 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
LOL, so yesterday I was leaving the office and walking to the subway station with my nose in a book* as usual. Gradually it filtered into my consciousness that there was a huge crowd taking up the sidewalk. As I walked along the edges of said crowd, it slowly occurred to me that they were waiting in line for the movie theater. I frowned and scratched my head (metaphorically) for several long moments before suddenly going "Ohhh, there's probably some new Harry Potter movie out, right? I vaguely remember hearing something about that."

Ahh, life outside the Pottersphere is lovely sometimes. ;) Some may call me clueless, but I prefer to think of it as bliss. ;)

* The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
Because I purchased or rated Thud by Pratchett and Good Omens by Pratchett and Gaiman, Amazon thinks I would like something called We Won't Budge, which appears to be a memoir by an African man about what it's like to grow up African in Europe.

Ohhhhhkay. *scratch head*

zomg!

May. 21st, 2007 10:14 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
Today's spam subject of the day: "painkiller all over the planet!" OH NOES! Invasion of the Painkillers! ZOMG!

Um, some of you may be familiar with the lolcats genre (pictures of cats with funny captions on) as epitomized by I Can Has Cheezburger.com. Well, I succumbed to the lolz and made a few lolcats of my own. This one is my favorite:



That's Ruthie moments after birth, heh.

You can go here to see the rest of my lolcats/lolbabies. They probably won't make much sense unless you're familiar with the genre and its tropes. I of course think they're screamingly funny. ;)

Yes, it was a long, chilly, rainy weekend, why do you ask?

Nanofic

Apr. 4th, 2007 08:59 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
For the second year in a row [livejournal.com profile] lbmango has declared April to be NanoWriMo, the month in which we all write nanofic -- i.e., extremely short stories. So here's my (first) contribution.


I was in the back yard when Marissa got home from work. "I'm out back," I called when I heard her car door close. A moment later she came to join me.

"What are you doing?"

I shuffled my feet, but there was no way to say it other than just saying it. "I'm teaching the dog to mow the lawn." Louie woofed helpfully from behind the mower.

Marissa shook her head, rubbed her forehead, and sighed. But all she said was, "Louie, inside now. It's dinnertime." The dog hung his head and trotted inside with Marissa and me following behind.

"Sorry," I said like the dork that I am. Marissa managed a smile.

"It's okay. Just trying to help, I know." She glanced into the dining room. "Louie! I keep telling you, forks go on the LEFT!"
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
Stupid Spam: Big New Year's Sale starts now! Now? Your New Year's sale starts on January 30th? O RLY?

Tasteless Spam: molten skyscraper Okay, I know this was probably created by one of those random generators that sticks two random words into a subject line. But still, it's unfortunate. Do *you* think we're ready for 9/11 humor? No, me either.

Silly Spam: It will be easy to sing near my home man Um...okay?
Silly Spam 2: The certain way to save money is to buy Yes, and black is white, war is peace, Britney is classy, etc.
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol)
Fairly frequently, at least once a month or so, I get a phone call from someone asking for "Stephanie." There is, of course, no Stephanie in my household. So okay, Stephanie used to have my phone number and she moved and didn't tell everyone her new number. Annoying but no big deal. Right?

Right. Except ... 99% of the calls asking for Stephanie come from the SAME number on caller ID. Someone named "Charles, P." It's gotten to the point where when I see P. Charles on my caller ID, I get annoyed already. To date, I have not yet gotten up the nerve to actually say something like, "You keep calling! Get the picture! Stephanie went away and doesn't want you to know where she went! Leave me alone!" Seriously, wouldn't you think that after, oh, maybe three or four times, you'd start to remember? Maybe even, you know, write it down? Maybe cross out Stephanie's number in your little black book, or whatever? Srsly!

Anyway, so now it has been a couple of days since the last call, and I'm entertaining fantasies of placing a call back to that number. I see it something like this:

*ring ring*
P Charles: Hello?
Me: Hi, can I speak to Stephanie please?
P: Huh? There's no Stephanie here.
Me: That's what I keep telling you!!
P: ?!?!?!

heh.

in unrelated news, ruthie just tried to nurse on my belly button, LOL
p.s. GIP!
mamajoan: me in hammock (bagel yummy)
Inspired by a recent discussion on [livejournal.com profile] ask_me_anything, and recent banana-related developments in my own life. :)

[Poll #903165]
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
Should, abort fetus weekly slanderous look weeks hosted? Demi geena suck, my special report.
Abort fetus weekly??? I'm gonna go with "no"...that's not even biologically possible.
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie of borg)
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
"Does Ur Sperm a Lot?" Um...no?

Somehow I don't think that the Spamalot/Monty Python resonances were intentional. But I could be wrong.

silliness

Nov. 10th, 2006 11:32 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (ruth smiling 2)
Today's best spam headline: "to fuck is easy. its[sic] VERY easy. Just believe." LOL!!

Yesterday's best spam headline: "fetus fever" I guess that's what we all have when we're ttc, eh?

In other news, Ruthie is currently engaged in a lengthy chat with the tattoo on my left bicep. Who knew it was such a scintillating conversationalist?
mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
"ISAAC INTENSIFYING OVER THE CENTRAL ATLANTIC OCEAN"
Tropical Storm Isaac, that is.

"SOME ADDITIONAL STRENGTHENING IS
FORECAST DURING THE NEXT 24 HOURS... AND ISAAC COULD BECOME A
HURRICANE OVER THE WEEKEND."
Words to strike fear in any mother's heart. ;)

Thanks [livejournal.com profile] rhiacat for the heads-up.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios