mamajoan: me in hammock (my fandom)
Eons ago, in another lifetime, I used to write fanfic. ;)

I put in a smiley face because I know that some of you probably think of me as a fanfic writer foremost, among the first few phrases you'd use to define me; whereas others will probably be more like "you WHAT?!" And it probably relates to when you met me, of course. But that's not the point of this post.

It's interesting to look back and see how consumed I was by fandom and fanfic for a while, and how abruptly that obsession seemed to die off. And no, it wasn't because of my entering the parenting world, although that probably hastened it along. But that's not the point of this post either.

The other day, out of the blue, I found myself thinking about a fanfic that I had conceived and even started to sketch out but never actually wrote. I find myself coming back to that story and those characters in my head very frequently. It's a story set in the Buffyverse, but not involving many (any?) of the actual characters from BTVS. Yet, it relies heavily on the world-building of BTVS: the concept of the slayer, the watcher, Watcher's Council, and so forth.

I keep coming back to it in my mind, trying to find a way to make it work as a story without relying on the Buffyverse. I feel like if I try to craft a whole new setting for it, it's going to feel impossibly derivative, like people will read it and go "geez, you are SO ripping off Joss." But I don't want to write it as fanfic either. That seems kind of pointless. Are people even still reading, let alone writing, Buffyverse fanfic any more? I guess they probably are, but I feel so removed from that world, it might as well not even exist from my perspective.

The whole debate is moot anyway since I never have time to write. But I can still think about it, can't I?

Nanofic

Apr. 4th, 2007 08:59 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (WTF kitty)
For the second year in a row [livejournal.com profile] lbmango has declared April to be NanoWriMo, the month in which we all write nanofic -- i.e., extremely short stories. So here's my (first) contribution.


I was in the back yard when Marissa got home from work. "I'm out back," I called when I heard her car door close. A moment later she came to join me.

"What are you doing?"

I shuffled my feet, but there was no way to say it other than just saying it. "I'm teaching the dog to mow the lawn." Louie woofed helpfully from behind the mower.

Marissa shook her head, rubbed her forehead, and sighed. But all she said was, "Louie, inside now. It's dinnertime." The dog hung his head and trotted inside with Marissa and me following behind.

"Sorry," I said like the dork that I am. Marissa managed a smile.

"It's okay. Just trying to help, I know." She glanced into the dining room. "Louie! I keep telling you, forks go on the LEFT!"
mamajoan: me in hammock (don't panic 2)
OK, it has been a bit of a while since I posted the first part of this story, so if you need to refresh your memory, part one is here.

Assumptions, continued )

to be continued...
mamajoan: me in hammock (shakespeare hed pastede on)
Bear with me; I haven't committed fiction in quite a while. )

to be continued....
mamajoan: me in hammock (faith)
Well, I don't usually drabble, and in fact I haven't committed fanfic in quite a while at all, but what the hell, a person needs a bit of escape. And [livejournal.com profile] blunaris asked for springtime-lowering-inhibitions-removing-jackets drabble (see her post in which she does in fact express it more coherently than that) so what the hell.

Of course, I'm drabbling in a fandom that apparently doesn't exist except for me, so no one cares, but whatever. *shrug* I've been looking for any excuse to get these two together for, like, months now. Sigh.

John Doe drabble, rated NC-17, m/f, spoilery for tonight's episode )
mamajoan: me in hammock (faith)
Well, being as how I almost never read, let alone write, fanfic any more, I've decided it's time to give up the ghost on the Buffy/Angel/Smallville crossover that I was working on a while back. I know it's going to be Jossed -- possibly already has, since I'm two Angel episodes behind -- and I won't finish it before it gets Jossed, and I sure won't finish it *after*, so, it's just not gonna get finished, is my point.

But since I was so damn proud of the plot concept, I'm going to subject you to a summary thereof. Whether you like it or not. Well, okay, actually, you get to choose whether to click the cut tag or not. :)

it mostly involves Faith and Lex, in case that helps you decide... )

But really, it would have been a great story, full of delicious angst as Lex battled his self-loathing and his residual guilt over the death of the reporter guy, seeing Faith as some sort of symbol of what he both fears and hopes he might become. It would have said all kinds of deep things, it would have shown you how Lex's tragic flaw was letting his need to win Lionel's approval win out over his conscience, not entirely sure whether he was more revolted by what he was doing to Faith or by the fact that he couldn't make himself not do it. Meanwhile Faith, of course, would be busy being unbelievably hot in her own special, unique, homicidal way. :) I don't really ask much of Faith in my fic. Just that she cuss a lot, take no shit from anyone, and ooze sexuality from every pore. It's what makes her so much fun to write. :)

Anyway, that's the summary of my lovely fanfic-that-wasn't, and never will be. Alas. You woulda loved it, I'm tellin' ya.
mamajoan: me in hammock (fire bad)
I couldn't read all that great "Red" missing-scene fic and not try my hand at it too...

Promise Again )
(note: "promise again" is the literal Latin translation of the word "respond")
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This might be the last of the fanfic snippets that I need to exorcise. This one is, "Buffy finds out about Angel and the baby." Takes place after "Doublemeat Palace" but before "Dead Things."
click to read it )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
In case you missed 'em here are the other fic snippets I've already posted in livejournal:
Slashville
one about Faith
Spuffy
That last one also has the blurb about exactly what I mean by fanfic exorcism. :-)

And with that said, let's move on to the next bit, shall we? This one is Spuffy again, a "fill in the gaps" bit that takes place during the opening credits of "Dead Things." Whee. click for smut )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I decided I hate my website so I spent much of the afternoon fiddling with it after we got out of our not-really-all-day meeting. No, don't bother going to look at it; I didn't upload any changes, as I went through several different designs and hated them all. Sigh. Back to the drawing boards.

So, because of that, the Valentine's Day rant that I was going to write will have to wait. (All together now: "aww!") But I'm still going to get started on the other series of posts I wanted to do... if you don't watch Buffy and/or Smallville, bail now.

'Cause after my last two experiments in the world of LiveJournal fanfic'ing, I realized that I can use it to serve another purpose too. See, there are these fanfics that I don't really want to write, but that just won't leave me alone. So I figure I can use lj to, as it were, exorcise them. And then hopefully move on to something else. :)

So this is your last warning. These fics will be: a) un-betaed, b) probably smutty, c) perhaps angsty, d) probably bad, and e) generally spoiler-full for the last few episodes. I'm just trying to get this stuff out of my system, so to speak.

The first one will be "Buffy apologizes to Spike after the events of 'Dead Things.'" You have been warned. click here to read it )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This week's Buffy episode got me thinking about Faith and how much I miss her. And since I'm diving into the world of fic-snippeting on livejournal, why not? By the way, remind me to write a lj entry about past vs. present tense in my fiction.
click for Faithy goodness )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I see that other people post fanfic snippets in their LiveJournals, so why not me? And this is my official first foray into the wonderful world of Slashville. Yay!

With spoilage for last night's (5 Feb. '02) episode, and I'm enough of a spoiler-cop that I'm going to make you click for it:
Click for slashy goodness )

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:24 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios