mamajoan: me in hammock (ruthie of borg)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Ruthie's only real word so far is "bye-bye" (with accompanying wave of hand). She really likes saying it, although she's not quite 100% clear on the concept. Sometimes after a round of bye-bye she's still surprised and upset when you, like, go away. The other day when I was dropping her off, I put her in [livejournal.com profile] sandykidd's lap and walked to the door and said "bye-bye!" and Ruthie's hand started waving automatically, and she said the saddest little "bye!"

When we're in the car she likes to say bye-bye to all the pedestrians we pass. She's very excited that I finally turned her carseat forward-facing; she has a whole new perspective on the world.

I've been trying to get her to say "mama" but so far every time she tries, it comes out as bye-bye. This can lead to some hilarity.
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Ruthie, say mama!
Ruthie: (fussing, reaching for me)
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Yeah, we know you know who she is, can you say it?
Ruthie: (fussing)
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Mmmmmaaaaammmmaaaa.
Ruthie: Bye-bye!
[livejournal.com profile] sandykidd: Mmmmmaaaaammmmaaaa.
Bastian: Mama!
Ruthie: Bye-bye!

In other Ruthie news, have I mentioned her inner drama queen? We've been seeing a lot of her lately. Not really all that inner, actually, lol. When Ruthie doesn't get her way (usually meaning that I've refused to walk around the house holding her hand any longer), she flings herself down on the floor face-down and sobs pitifully, so as to inform the world that she has the meanest mama that ever walked the earth. I feel bad for laughing ;) but well, it's sad and funny all at once. Usually, if I just ignore her, after a minute or so she'll get up and find something to play with and be perfectly fine.

(It reminds me of a video I saw a zillion years ago on America's Funniest Whatever. It showed this little boy, probably around 18 months, throwing a temper tantrum, lying on the floor kicking and screaming. Then the camera pans away and around a corner into the next room. You hear the screaming stop. You see the kid come back into frame. Looks around. Sees the camera. And then he flings himself back onto the floor and resumes screaming. LOL!!! Mind you, this was years before I ever had kids, but it sure was an education for me. As evidenced by how it sticks with me years later, heh.)

Date: 2007-06-16 03:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] orbitalmechanic.livejournal.com
V. usually sits down and folds forward so her face touches her feet. And sobs. It's awesome. Mostly she gets bored if you go away.

Date: 2007-06-16 03:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] radegund-lj.livejournal.com
One time I was at the airport in Moline IL waiting to fly home from visiting my sister, and I noticed this family in the waiting area with mom, dad, older brother and younger sister. Brother offended Sister in some way, and Sister broke out in wails. However Mom and Dad were distracted and failed to notice. Sister promptly stopped crying, relocated herself to within parental range, and resumed her boo-hoos. ;)

Date: 2007-06-16 06:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] techn0goddess.livejournal.com
I know exactly which video you are talking about. I love that kid! :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios