mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
It does occur to me that I could optimize my currently extremely small amount of lj-time if I would just stop it with all the updates of type "...and then we got in the car and drove to the store and bought milk and bananas, then we came home and had lunch and played with legos for a while. Then we were tired so we went to bed." Oh, the endless minutiae! No one reads it, no one cares, it's deathly dull, and if only I stopped doing that kind of posts, I'd have ever so much more time to post Deep Thoughts.

But here's the thing. What am I posted in LJ for, anyway? To get you to feed my desperate need for validation of my insecure inner exhibitionist by running up my comment count? Well, duh. ;) But also, to help myself keep track. To help me remember how things were.

In a practical sense, I can't tell you how often I've used my lj to go back and look up, e.g., when was it that I saw that movie / got that car repair / went to that party / read that book? What did our chorus sing the year Isaac was born? How old was Isaac when he got his first tooth? And all kinds of things of that nature, including milestone/baby-book type stuff that everyone probably always swears they'll never forget, and then does forget.

And in a more quixotic grasping-at-the-straws-of-life sense, it helps me hang on to who I was and what my life was, as it passes into the past, as I live it and put it behind me. In talking to my mom, it often comes out that she doesn't remember very much about the ephemera of my childhood -- the big things, sure, but not the little, not the gestalt of what life is like with a 4-year-old and a one-and-a-half-year-old. I don't want to forget that kind of stuff. But I know I will, so I have LJ to remember for me. In many ways it's probably the same purpose for which people used to use (some probably still do use) actual paper journals, except with comments and keyword search and mood icons.

So the overall point is that I intend to continue to post the daily minutiae; and this post shall serve as a reminder to me, when I forget, that it's FOR me, and there's no need to get upset or feel slighted when those posts don't get much commenting. Also, as a reminder to you, that you can feel free to skim ;) but that I do always love a comment, even if just "wow, you had a busy day!" or similar inanities. ;)

Also, in case I haven't made it clear by the above, I have very little time for LJ lately. I've been skimming my flist like mad, so I've almost certainly missed some stuff, so here's the standard "if you posted something you're desperate for me to read, let me know" that one so often sees.

And now, on with the minutiae! ;)

Yesterday was a red-letter day in the Life of Ruthie's Mama. It was the first time Ruthie actually called out "Mama!" when I walked into the daycare room at the end of the day. Look, I know I've said and said that it didn't bother me that she wasn't calling me mama yet...but you didn't actually believe that, did you?? Please.

Anyway...I won't recap the entire weekend. It was fairly low-key. We did stuff. On Friday night we did go to the birthday party and it was annoying for me in various stupid ways, but Isaac was oblivious to all that and had a good time, so, you know, whatever.

I think I mentioned here that mom's coworker Kara offered to cut me a deal on babysitting to be my regular Monday-night babysitter so I can go to chorus rehearsals. Anyway, so that's working out. She came again this Monday and I had a good rehearsal and the kids had a good time with Kara. They really like her a lot and she's great with them, so that's fairly awesome.

I'm STILL reading Beggars in Spain. I'm almost done though. I started to like it a bit more once it stopped focusing so heavily on the one main character I didn't really like.

My insurance company still hasn't straightened out the billing mess they made when they misapplied my payment (credited me for having paid less than I had). Ugh. And the new bank I signed up for hasn't sent me new checks yet, and when I called to ask when I'd get those and my new debit card, they claim to have no record of me having applied for a debit card. Double ugh.

I got my period, only 37 days after the last one. I guess this means I'm regulating, sigh.

I have more, of course, but this post has almost literally taken me an entire day to write, so enough! But I can't resist sharing, before I go, a couple of new pix. Check out my gorgeous girl:


And one that pretty well sums up their relationship right now:


hee hee, awesome.

good night!

Date: 2007-09-20 04:27 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] brina-is-sassy.livejournal.com
For the record, I personally find your entries about everyday life to be refreshing and fun to read. In a world where people tend to forget the small stuff (or at least give it very little meaning), I really do enjoy seeing someone who posts about the little moments that make up our lives. I could be alone, but I doubt it. I would comment more often but I sometimes feel like it would be sort of an invasion, it's your life, it doesn't always need commenting. Does that make sense at all? I hope I don't sound crazy.

I also enjoy the posts where you are able to get more deep though, so I hope you'll get more chances to write those in the future.

Oh, and I always love some good picspam! Ruthie's hair is ADORABLE!

Date: 2007-09-20 12:03 pm (UTC)
ext_85699: (CaseyRyder)
From: [identity profile] shelbecat.livejournal.com
It's funny - your posts are the ones I make sure to read every word of. There are people on my flist probably writing grand adventures about their deepest thoughts and I'm all about Joan and the kids and what Isaac ate for lunch.

Seriously.

I guess it's the similarities with raising a small child, and I wish I had used my journal to chronicle more of Casey's young life. I could start (and I do sometimes), but there's always something else to write about and I usually let that take precedence.

I guess all I want to say is that I do read it. All of it. I just probably never comment because it seems mundane as well.

Date: 2007-09-20 12:05 pm (UTC)
ext_85699: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shelbecat.livejournal.com
AND THAT'S CASEY'S SWEATER!!!!!!!

(I think?) SO COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have to find a pic.

Date: 2007-09-20 12:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mofic.livejournal.com
I usually read your daily life posts and always find them interesting when I do (the times I don't are when my daily life precludes reading my friends page.) I do agree that writing them for yourself is reason enough, though.

And Ruthie has gotten to look so much like you!

Date: 2007-09-20 03:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] vanessa-musing.livejournal.com
Ruthie looks so grown-up and so very cute :) Love your posts, always.

Date: 2007-09-21 01:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-macaroni.livejournal.com
Ruthie is *adorable*. What a sweet grin...

Date: 2007-09-21 03:51 am (UTC)
azurelunatic: "Are you challenging my ingenuity?"  (Bujold)
From: [personal profile] azurelunatic
This is about why the subtitle of my LJ is "nearly a prosthetic memory".

Date: 2007-09-24 09:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velcroswench.livejournal.com
Holy smokes!! Ruthie has gotten so big! Man, I gotta start reading LJ more often! :) And just like you, I'm going to be using it to remember...because my memory is shite. :(

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios