mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
And new video!



lol! :)

zomg lol

May. 14th, 2008 10:38 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I am so in love with this video of Ruthie that I took yesterday!



lol!!!

three more short videos under the cut. including one that y'all Red Sox fans are gonna love :) )

zomg teh cute! ♥
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Day started out promisingly enough. We went shoe shopping, my daughter picked shoes with fire trucks on them and my son picked shoes with hearts. (However it turned out that the heart shoes cost $45 whereas the ones with deep-pink stars were $25 so I managed to talk him into stars instead.)

Then we went to head out, newly shod, for our next adventure, and...the car wouldn't start. *facepalm*

Insert several hours of related annoyance here. Sigh.

Oh well. On the plus side, glad I decided to do the shoe shopping first. How much worse would it have been to break down in the parking lot of Market Basket with a trunk full of groceries? Don't answer that. And hey! At least I get to wait till Monday to find out how much this latest car thing is going to cost me. groan!

In less whiny news, I forgot to post yesterday that I uploaded a new video of the kids to YouTube. I'm too tired to dig up the embed link right now so I'm gonna make you work for it. click here to watch Isaac and Ruthie sing a duet.

Now if you'll excuse me, I gotta scrape something up for dinner on account of we didn't get to the aforementioned grocery shopping.

Oh, and btw? is it just me, or are they making Cadbury Creme Eggs smaller than they used to? anyone?
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I just found out that Dreamhost offers video embedding functionality, and it seems to be less lossy than YouTube, so: a test behind this here lj-cut )

If that didn't work, try clicking here.

videos

Jan. 16th, 2008 10:13 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
videos from my new camera )

Still can't figure out why they look so nice and sharp on my computer, then so fuzzy on youtube...ah well....
mamajoan: me in hammock (jew santa)
Go watch right now! Srsly. I mean it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Fe11OlMiz8

still to come later: a recap of our bus-in-the-snow odyssey to pick up Ruthie from daycare. It was an adventure. We survived, obviously ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
This video just made my day about ten thousand times better. OMG LOL.

misc

Sep. 14th, 2007 04:46 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
1. Last night was "interesting" on the sleep front. On the plus side, I got a solid five-hour chunk of sleep for the first time in ages. On the downside, I did that sleeping on the couch while Ruthie slept in the bed. Oh well, it's a start.

2. Early happy birthdays to [livejournal.com profile] big_al81 (tomorrow) and [livejournal.com profile] mofic and [livejournal.com profile] anime_heart (day after tomorrow)!

3. Congrats to [livejournal.com profile] hawkeye7 -- that's Doctor [livejournal.com profile] hawkeye7 to you -- on the completion of his Ph.D.!

4. In case you missed them, here are a few videos that are making the rounds lately: the one with the really sweet parenting song to the tune of Pachelbel's Canon, and the one with Christopher Judge (an actor on "Stargate"; in this video, during a Dragon*Con panel, he learns what furries are), and the one with Kathy Griffin (wherein she receives an award and tells Jesus to "suck it"). Also, since OK Go! rules and their lead singer is teh hott, this is possibly my favorite episode of the Colbert Report evar. I love it. "Why can't awesome be what music executives say it is?" Bwahahaha.

5. So we are going to this birthday party tonight, as I posted about before. I'm still disgruntled about the whole thing, but whatevs. *roll eyes* I talked to the mom last night and she said she has just acquired some kind of new-fangled DVD player intended for use outdoors, so she's planning to put on some movies starting at 7. What planet are these people living on? Do other people's 4-year-olds really stay up late enough in the evening that they can start a movie at 7pm? I know it's Friday and all, but yeesh. Most nights, by 7:30 Isaac is starting to fall apart and have meltdowns from tiredness -- and that's nights when he hasn't just spent an hour or two running around with his friends and ingesting sugar. I dunno. Maybe I'm just a fuddy-duddy or something.

6. I am still reading Beggars in Spain and it is really irritating me. I'm finding it really hard to believe that this thing won both the Hugo and the Nebula. Was it a slow year or something? Okay, sorry for the snark. I'm probably just being cranky. I should at least finish the thing before I bitch too much.

7. I did that "career matchmaker" meme that everyone's going on about. I neglected to copy my results, but I do recall that Technical Writer was #4 on the list.

8. Work is interesting lately. In the good way! More on that later, maybe, if I get a chance.

OK, gotta run now.
mamajoan: me in hammock (omgwtflol 2)
You guys, I got the BEST video of Ruthie tonight! it is freaking hilariadorable! I coined a new word just for it!

I just wish the upload to YouTube didn't make the picture quality so crappy -- I swear it looks a ton better on my computer. :( ah well.

Anyway, behold the awesomeness! )

LOVE!!!!!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I uploaded three new videos! They're all from Ruthie's birthday party. Much hilarity is involved. Includes Ruthie having a huge amount of fun with her balloon, and taking her first taste of birthday cake (cupcake, but who's counting?), and then "sharing" her balloon with Baz. hee hee.

Here are the links:
Cupcake Time!
Ballooooooon!
Ballooooon and Baz!

And all three videos are embedded in this post, behind the cut! )

Whee, technology is fun! ;)

In other news, I haven't mentioned that on the same day we had Ruthie's party, I donated 25 ounces of breastmilk (almost everything I had in the freezer) to another local mom with a newborn who couldn't nurse. I hooked up with her via the milkshare list, and she came to pick it up and was very grateful and even brought Ruthie a little birthday gift, which was sweet. Afterward, it occurred to me that my 25 ounces, which took over a month to accumulate, was probably barely one day's worth for the little guy. But whatever, I hope it did him some good.

And I was hoping that the donation would help me with the emotional/psychological process of letting go of pumping, but so far not so much. More on that later I guess.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Yes! Another video! This one's priceless. It's Ruthie trying to wake Isaac up from his nap. He is so going to kill me for this one someday.



Yes! More pictures too! Come on, you know you want 'em, even though you never comment to tell me how cute they are, hint hint. ;)
Pictures of Isaac's haircut (during and after) and Ruthie eating, drinking, and being merry )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Media Post!

1. If you have a few bucks to spare, please consider buying a t-shirt to support Pandemonium. Pandemonium is a sci-fi/fantasy/gaming bookstore here in the Boston area, which has served the geek community well over the past 18 years and recently moved to a larger space. This allows it to host things like gaming nights and author signings; unfortunately, it also means the shop is in financial trouble. For a mere $20 you get a t-shirt and the pleasure of knowing that you're supporting a wonderful small business. (And they'll ship shirts anywhere!)

2. Here's a video I took of the kids playing the other day. :D


3. For Xmas, I gave my mom a framed 8x10 copy of this photo:

(click for larger)
which is her and Isaac at the ocean last September. I love this photo! I could stare at it for hours. Anyway, I've also entered it into Smithsonian Magazine's photo contest, so wish us luck with that. :)

4. I was listening to the MP3 of "Rock the Casbah" that [livejournal.com profile] rainbow_goddess so kindly provided, and it inspired me to go on YouTube and seek out the video for same. So I found it, and watched it, and Ruthie was riveted! LOL. After it was over, she started bouncing in my lap, like she was dancing and asking for more. :)

5. hmm, I need a Geek Mama icon of some sort.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:11 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios