Oct. 7th, 2005

whew

Oct. 7th, 2005 10:09 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
Well, the tickets are out of my hands (literally) and I now have $200 in cash sitting in my pocket. (Is it weird to be nervous about having that much cash on my person?)

I sold them to my boss -- actually my boss's boss's boss if you want to get technical about it; he's the founder of the company and the guy who personally hired me for this job (I used to work with him at our previous job). I reminded him that the game's at 4 so he'll have to leave the office early to get there. He said he has to leave extra early to pick up his daughter. I didn't realize he was taking his daughter to the game; that's excellent. I believe she's about 9 or 10. I think they will both enjoy the game a whole bunch. I hope it's a good game for them.

I feel a bit sad about it, but OTOH, there will be other games. Hell, there will most likely even be other playoff games. I'm still going to leave work a little early today, get Isaac, and go to my mom's place. We'll watch the game together, and then mom said I can leave Isaac there and go home. It'll be Isaac's second ever sleepover away from me. I am looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow. I NEVER get to sleep in. So yay for that.

It turned out that I don't get Monday off work (I thought we did get it -- I'm pretty sure we got it last year?). I'm having to take it as a vacation day, because daycare is closed. That's okay though. We're going to go to the cottage, probably for the last time this year. It's getting too cold to spend many more nights there, and pretty soon my mom is going to have to have the water turned off so the pipes won't freeze.

My Cat Lovers Against The Bomb calendar is so politically radical, it refuses to even acknowledge Columbus Day. In that square, it simply says "Three-Day Weekend." This makes me smile. :)

In other calendar news, happy Desmond Tutu's birthday to you all.
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
Well, here I am at home by myself. It sure was weird leaving my mom's house without Isaac, and getting into my car and driving home alone. But here I am, whee. Now, if I want to do the smart thing, I will go to bed nice and early to take full advantage of my night off. On the other hand, I could do the dumb thing, and stay up late instant-messaging, playing online games, and working on this week's [livejournal.com profile] ljdq. Anyone care to place a wager? ;)

So, the Red Sox are out of it. Sigh ... I'm sad, but not really surprised. Honestly, we played like crap these last few weeks. I think [livejournal.com profile] maggiesox was right when she said that our boys were simply tired. That last stretch of 30 days in a row with no off-day was just killer. And let's face it, the White Sox are a very good team. They played very well, and we played like crap. I shall be happy to root for them in the next round(s).

I must admit, sad though I am that it'll be months before there's another Red Sox game (and that it'll undoubtedly be a very different team), I'm also kind of relieved to be getting my nights back. Especially considering how, last year, so very many of the games went until midnight and 1am. That was exhausting. Not to mention the fact that I got very little other TV-watching done all summer, since there's a game almost every night! Don't get me wrong, I wanted the Sox (er, the Red Sox) to win; but since they didn't, I'm looking on the bright side.

Anyway, I'm just as glad we didn't go to the game. Seeing another team celebrate on your home field is no fun. Ah well.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios