Jun. 30th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
Can anyone help me with this annoying Firefox problem? When I open it and go to my friends-page it doesn't apply my "default view" filter, i.e., it acts like I'm not logged in. If I click the link to my userinfo page, and then from there click the link to my friends-page, then it does the right thing. But that's two clicks more than I should have to do! Any ideas?

thanks!
mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
Freaky Thing #1: Last night as we were leaving daycare I noticed a whole bunch of local news trucks parked in, or trying to get into and out of, the parking lot of the police station. Which by the way is probably about half a mile, or less, from Isaac's daycare. That was odd, so I mentioned it to my mom, adding that they would probably talk about it on the evening news but I would miss it since I get home after 6:30 and am in bed before 11:00. So my mom watched the 11:00 news and emailed me the scoop: it seems that the police station was hit by lightning!! Which must have happened just around the time I was driving past on my way to pick Isaac up! Yow!

All was well though; they brought in a "mobile command unit" and 911 services were not disrupted, says the news report.

Freaky Thing #2: For quite some time now, on the route I drive to get back home from my mom's place, there has been a bicycle attached vertically to a signpost, above the sign, so about 10-12 feet up. And when I say vertically, I mean with the handlebars at the bottom and the wheels above -- i.e., both wheels were fastened somehow to the signpost, one above the other. Bizarre. Every time I drove by, I kept saying to myself, "I have got to remember to bring a camera next time." But today it was gone. :( I'm sad that I didn't get a chance to capture this oddity on film (okay, silicon, it's a digital camera) and also that I will probably never know what the hell that was about.

Freaky Thing #3: Michael Jackson. Okay, that was a gimme, but I thought the post would be better with three freaky things than two. :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I forgot to mention that my brother and sister-in-law are here. They arrived late last night from Arizona (even later than planned, due to the exciting weather) and are staying through next Wednesday, mainly to avoid flying too close to the holiday. We'll all be going to the Sox game on Saturday and then out to the cottage for our traditional July 4th celebrations, to return Tuesday night.

I saw them briefly this morning when I dropped Isaac off at my mom's house. They were asleep when we arrived (it was after all only 8am their time) but Isaac's cheery and not-at-all-quiet voice soon woke them. ;) Isaac was pretty flummoxed when they first came into the room, despite the fact that I had been trying to prepare him for a few days now by talking about Uncle Bart and so forth. Here Isaac was, cheerfully playing with his gramma's-house toys like always, when suddenly these two total strangers* walked in! His expression was priceless as he stared at them :) and when Bart sat down on the floor next to Isaac, he sort of slowly backed away. ;) LOL, not only was it a stranger, but Bart is rather large. Anyway, Isaac warmed up pretty quickly and started showing off his language skilz (it helped that he was REALLY engrossed in his train set, which he hadn't seen for quite a few days).
* they have met, but it was ages ago in toddler time, and I don't think he remembers at all.

Tonight I was thinking of seeing if everyone wanted to go over to the big field near our house, where the city is having its fireworks tonight (weather permitting). I'm a little worried that the fireworks might freak Isaac out; last year they definitely did, and we didn't even go to the field -- it's close enough that we could see and hear the fireworks from our back yard. I'm hoping that this year he'll be better with it since he understands more language and we can tell him it's okay and so forth. Anyway, the festivities don't even start till after 7pm, which is getting pretty close to bedtime, so we might skip it. They're also having a "Family Fun Day" on Saturday which we might go to instead.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios