Jul. 1st, 2005

fireworks

Jul. 1st, 2005 10:41 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Sigh, well the city fireworks started last night right on schedule at 9:15pm. Just as I was nursing Isaac to sleep. He wasn't out yet, and of course the noise and flashing woke him right on up. We live literally about three blocks from the field where they hold the festivities, so it was LOUD. Isaac was all, "whassat???" so I took him out the back door to look (we can totally see the fireworks from our backyard). But after about two bursts he freaked out and started saying "bye-bye" and "back inside" so we went back in, and I held him and rocked in the rocking chair until it was over.

The final climactic volley of fireworks was so loud/strong, it set off a car alarm on our street. Fortunately, it was my car. I say fortunately because this meant I was able to turn it off.

The fireworks ended around 9:35-9:40, and then I had to nurse Isaac all over again; the end result being that he didn't get to sleep till about 10:15. SIGH.

I blame myself, because I knew it was going to happen, and did try to get him to sleep before it started, but obviously didn't try hard enough. Oh well. Hopefully we'll both get to sleep earlier tonight.

Oh, and then at 11:00, just as I was getting into bed, a moving truck pulled up to start unloading into the house across the street. WTF! I almost went out to yell at them, but I didn't because a) I'm sure the people moving in didn't consider arriving at their new home at 11pm to be the ideal scenario either (I doubt they planned it that way, so they had probably already had a frustrating and annoying day/evening) and more pertinently, b) I was in my nightgown. ;) To be fair, once they finished backing up the truck into position, they were pretty quiet. I fell right asleep even though they were unloading right outside my (open) bedroom window. I woke up to pee about two hours later and the truck was still there. Ugh. Sucks to be them!

It's very quiet at the office today. Our two usual Friday status meetings were canceled on account of half the department is out. I predict an early departure for almost everyone.

Happy Canada Day!
mamajoan: me in hammock (OMG!)
The good, or at least entertaining: Article from today's Boston Globe about the supposed "bambino boom," as babies conceived during the Red Sox's World Series win are starting to be born.

The bad: Sandra Day O'Connor announces her resignation from U.S. Supreme Court. Dude, this is not going to be pretty. :(

The just plain weird: Did the President of Russia steal a ring? No, it was a gift. Really, I swear.
If you haven't been following this story (and really, why would you have been?), here's a summary: Robert Kraft, owner of the New England Patriots football team, met with Russian president Vladimir Putin a few days ago. Kraft took off his Super Bowl championship ring to show Putin. Putin looked at it, tried it on, then put it in his pocket. Kraft looked surprised. There followed several days of wild speculation during which many people said that Putin had "stolen" the ring, that Kraft hadn't intended to give it to him but just to show it to him. Finally, Kraft made a public statement claiming that he gave the ring to Putin as a gift after seeing how much Putin liked it. Please, like anyone buys that. We all know that Bob Kraft is sitting there stewing, because what can you say, "Mr. President, please give me back my ring, I didn't mean for you to keep it"? Dude, you don't want an international incident, so he pretty much has to be gracious about it. You can bet he's having another ring made for himself though, boy howdy.

In other News of the Odd, Woman gives birth to 13-pound, 12-ounce baby. Yow!!!!!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:07 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios