Jun. 29th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (d'oh!)
Well, four of y'all said I should eat the partially unwrapped chocolate bar and four said I shouldn't, so I know it will come as little surprise that I ate it. ;) And I'm still alive more than twelve hours laters, so I think it was probably okay. BTW, in case I didn't make it clear, it wasn't like the whole thing was unwrapped and exposed -- it was just one little corner. Anyway, I survived.

In other news, very belated happy birthdays to [livejournal.com profile] hopemcg and to [livejournal.com profile] aelf's little girl.

Speaking of other people's kids, I was looking at some of the toddler t-shirts from the bag of hand-me-downs that we got from [livejournal.com profile] candle_light's Isaac, and found myself thinking, "naah, these are way too big for my Isaac," and then I tried one of them on him and realized that in fact they fit him just right. O.o I guess I need to recalibrate my inner sense of how big he is!

And speaking of other people's kids some more, a huge enormous congrats to [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl and [livejournal.com profile] the_misha on the, uh, conception and gestation of their sprog! I'm so excited for them. Although I am going to have some difficulty referring to it as a "kitten" as they are doing, since that's the term still being used by [livejournal.com profile] shelbecat even now that her kitten has a name....

And speaking of nomenclature (okay, Worst Segue EVER!), I am highly amused by the following language on my Application for Residential Exemption tax form: The undersigned being aggrieved by the failure to receive a residential exemption on real estate situated at: _________________ for fiscal year: _2006_ hereby applies for such an exemption. I like that. I don't even have to tell them that I'm aggrieved; they already have that info right there on the paperwork! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I still haven't gotten around to typing up everything that happened last weekend, and the longer I wait, the more boring it seems in retrospect ;) so I'll try to sum up briefly.

Thursday was notable for an early-morning walk up the bridge with Isaac, where the construction workers told us when a train was coming and seemed greatly entertained by Isaac's enjoyment of same. I was intrigued by watching them dismantle the bridge with their large noisy machinery, but Isaac bored of that within moments so we went to the playground. Later, the guy from the car insurance company came by to pick up my old carseat and the receipt for the new one. Except, they hadn't told him what he was supposed to do; I guess they just gave him my address and a description of my car. So I came outside and he was taking pictures of my car and going, "where's the damage?" *roll eyes* I explained that the damage was already fixed and carseat replacement yadda yadda. He was confused *g* but he took some pictures of the old carseat and the receipt for the new one, and then took them with him. I still haven't gotten a check from them, but it's been less than a week so I'm not panicking yet.

Friday as I may have mentioned I took the day off work because Isaac's orthopedist appointment was at noon. We took the opportunity to go to our favorite bagel place and then went briefly to a nearby playground. It was unbelievably hot. We then went to meet grandma for lunch, as the hospital where she works is right next door to the one where our appt was. Did I mention it was fucking hot? And I was in a pissy mood because of the heat, the difficulty parking, and (although I didn't realize it at the time) PMS. Anyway, we had a quick lunch with gramma, and then we walked (in the HORRIBLE FUCKING HEAT) over to the other hospital for our appointment.

I shall cut the description of our orthopedist appt for your friend-list-streamlining pleasure, for it is long and ranty. )

So, as you may have gathered, that really annoyed the crap out of me *sigh* but at least it was over. Then we went home and napped and had a pretty good rest of the day.

Saturday, we got up bright and early and headed out to Walden Pond with gramma. It was supposed to be super-hot that day so we wanted to get an early start. Good thing too, because we got there at about 9:35 and they closed the beach at like 9:36. We just barely got in under the wire. We had a nice three hours hanging out on the beach; Isaac was cranky, but he did eventually sit at the edge of the water putting rocks in his bucket and dumping them out (repeat ad nauseum) while my mom and I took turns sunbathing and swimming. When we left the beach it was a nasty surprise -- it feels nice and cool down by the water, but then you go back up into the "real world" and discover just how hot it is! Ugh! So then gramma took Isaac to her place for a nap, and I went back to my place and napped, and in the evening we went to Friendly's to "rent some air-conditioning" as [livejournal.com profile] jenwrites puts it. Isaac was busy playing with the crayons, totally oblivious to the food, until the mac-n-cheese that I ordered for him arrived. Then he lit up like a candle, yelling "Noo-noos!" (noodles) and dug in. LOL.

Sunday, we went over to [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen's new place, which was lovely (and air-conditioned *g*) and then foolishly decided to walk to the Wild Oats, Jen and me walking, pushing strollers with our kids in them, in the supposed-to-be-cooler-than-the-previous-day-but-actually-just-as-bad weather. I think it was like 95 with 95% humidity or something. The walk isn't far, but the heat made it terrible! I almost melted. By the time we got back to Jen's place I was ready for my nap. We hung out a little bit more and then went home and napped. In the evening we went up to our bridge again and it was totally gone! (Recall I wrote above that they were dismantling it on Thursday.) The footbridge is still there, but the big ancient rusty bridge is totally gone. Wow!

So that's our long weekend in a nutshell. Whew! And that was the SHORT version!

also

Jun. 29th, 2005 04:05 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (the bird 2)
Gacked from numerous people on my flist:

If, as you live your life, you find yourself mentally composing LJ entries about it, post this exact same sentence in your LiveJournal.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios