May. 22nd, 2003

I am lame

May. 22nd, 2003 01:27 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I am boring and have nothing to say. Alas. Also, two-thirds of my chat buddies are off at WisCon. Snif.

I am also 44.18146% geek, which qualifies me as a Major Geek according to this geek test. It's cooler than the other geek test that's been floating around lately. I like it. I'm sad to be less than 50% geek though. :P

Last night I got home from work and sat down to watch the Sox-Yankees game. And then something happened that pretty much never happens -- I fell asleep! In the early evening (okay, 7:30ish, but that's early evening to me)! Only for about half an inning, but still, obviously I must have been REALLY tired. I pretty much never nap. So I went to bed early, although I did wait till the game was over (the Sox lost, snif). Yes, I went to bed early, and I still overslept a little bit, and yet, here it is early afternoon and I'm sleepy again. Sigh. It's a good thing Monday is a holiday, because I'm going to need the rest, especially after our dress rehearsal Saturday and concert Sunday.

Speaking of baseball and being tired, a baseball-themed dream )

Even my subconscious is boring and lame. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
I have a question for those of y'all who have experienced bandwidth theft (and I know that applies to many of y'all on my friends-list). I just discovered that someone has taken one of my photos of Hawaii (which I posted on my website) and used it as a background image on his/her website. Now, although I've never actually had this happen before, I've seen enough of y'all go through it that I knew what to do, so I immediately replaced it with a very ugly image that simply says "i steal bandwidth." Heh, it sure makes his/her site look ugly. ;)

My question to y'all is: would you have emailed the person first? Said something like, "um, hello, you're stealing bandwidth and you didn't ask permission, you really oughta stop"? Or just gone straight to the evil punishment? Should I email the person now that I've replaced the image, and explain myself, or just leave it at that? Is there an "etiquette" of punishing bandwidth thieves? ;)

How I found this out is a somewhat entertaining story. It all started with a post that [livejournal.com profile] bethbethbeth made earlier today, which prompted me to look at my web-logs which I hadn't done in a while.

A digression to explain that: Before "weblog/blog" meant online journal, it meant the log file that your website's server keeps, a complete record of which files on your site were accessed, and by whom, and where they came from (that is, what website had a link which they clicked to get to your website). Reading this log can be a lot of fun, because if someone accesses your site via a search engine, like Google, the referrer URL will contain the search term that they typed in. For example, if you go to Google and search for "pervert mutant hobbit sex," and you click one of the links that the search gives you, and the link takes you to my website*, then I can see in my logs that you were searching for "pervert mutant hobbit sex." Keep that in mind next time you Google!
* not that you would ever find pervert hobbit sex on my website, mutant or otherwise!

Anyway, like I said, it had been a while since I looked at my web-logs, so I checked 'em out today, and it's as entertaining as always. A lot of people are getting to my site by searching for the word "tattoo" and various other words that describe my tattoos, such as "black cat" or "pisces" or "breast." People are still doing searches on names of various Xena and Star Trek characters about whom I have written erotic fanfic. At least one person found my Xena fanfic by asking ask.com, "why is semen sticky?" (I *so* don't want to know the story behind that one.) I'm slightly alarmed by how many people are searching on "pregnancy pictures" and if they're looking for masturbation purposes I really don't want to know about it. ;P

Anyway, the point of [livejournal.com profile] bethbethbeth's post is that if you use a filter on your LJ friends-page, and then you click a link on that filtered page, the webmaster of the link can see the name of your filter. So, for example, if you had me on an LJ filter called "idiots" and you used that filter to read one of my entries that contained a link to my website, and you clicked that link, then I would be able to see in my web-log that you had put me in a group called "idiots." (Also, you wouldn't necessarily have to click a link. If I had posted, in my LJ entry, an image that was hosted on my website, the mere act of your browser loading the image would cause an entry in my web log.) Just something to think about when you choose names for your friend-filters. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (my fandom)
Sorry to spam your friend-list. Not very sorry. Just a little. ;)

This is hilarious. But only if you hate Dubya. ;)

And also, gacked from [livejournal.com profile] musesfool, a goodbye-to-Buffy survey/poll thingie. Does not contain spoilage for the series finale. )

BTW, no one has commented on my new Buffy icon. Snif! I know it sucks, but at least it's a good concept, right? Wah! </passive-aggressive>

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios