I am lame

May. 22nd, 2003 01:27 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I am boring and have nothing to say. Alas. Also, two-thirds of my chat buddies are off at WisCon. Snif.

I am also 44.18146% geek, which qualifies me as a Major Geek according to this geek test. It's cooler than the other geek test that's been floating around lately. I like it. I'm sad to be less than 50% geek though. :P

Last night I got home from work and sat down to watch the Sox-Yankees game. And then something happened that pretty much never happens -- I fell asleep! In the early evening (okay, 7:30ish, but that's early evening to me)! Only for about half an inning, but still, obviously I must have been REALLY tired. I pretty much never nap. So I went to bed early, although I did wait till the game was over (the Sox lost, snif). Yes, I went to bed early, and I still overslept a little bit, and yet, here it is early afternoon and I'm sleepy again. Sigh. It's a good thing Monday is a holiday, because I'm going to need the rest, especially after our dress rehearsal Saturday and concert Sunday.

Speaking of baseball and being tired, I dreamt that I was a baseball player being sent in to pinch-hit at Fenway Park (but for the visiting team, not the Red Sox). I couldn't decide how to hold the bat -- whether to put my hands side-by-side on its shaft or to interlace my fingers, which felt more right. I managed to hit a little dribbler that fell right in front of the plate, and I ran to first even though of course I was easily thrown out. It was the third out, so I knew I had to get onto the field to play a position, but I didn't know whom I had pinch-hit for. So I was asking someone (maybe my mom?) who had been keeping score, and she said I was playing first base, and I said oh, I need my glove.

So I went into the dugout to search for my glove, and then I heard singing and realized it was the seventh-inning stretch. I went up onto the dugout steps and removed my hat (because I thought the song was "God Bless America") and waited, and then I noticed that people were setting up carnival booth-like things on the field. There was an instrumental interlude, and then the woman who was singing started to sing again, but her microphone wasn't working so no one could hear her. So she gave up, and came over ot the dugout and held out her hand to one of my teammates, and took him onto the field and started leading him among the carnival booths, with the rest of us following. But interspersed with us players there were regular people (fans from the stands maybe?) including a lot of women with little kids. And then I woke up, wondering whether we were ever going to finish the game.

Even my subconscious is boring and lame. ;)

Hello =)

Date: 2003-05-23 02:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] enzie.livejournal.com
Mmmmmmm WisCon. I'm lucky enough to live two blocks from the Concourse Hotel where it's hosted. I'm all bouncy for tomorrow.

I recently dreampt (dremt?) that Derek Jeter was my brother and that we were lost in the Florida everglades. I wonder what my subconscious is trying to tell me?

Date: 2003-05-28 09:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kenboy.livejournal.com
Meant to take that geek test when you linked it, and remembered it today when salon mentioned it.

Both relieved and disappointed to only score 27%.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios