May. 21st, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
I tried to post thought on the Buffy finale last night, really I did. But there was this whole thing where LJ wouldn't load. :P

I think I liked it overall. Yeah, it did feel rushed, tying up way too many loose ends in way too short a time, but mostly it worked. I think [livejournal.com profile] obsessedmuch put it best when she wrote, "It didn't go out with a bang to me, though. It kind of just waved bye and slipped off into the crowd." But, like, in a good way. I didn't cry, but then, I didn't really expect to.

I'm going to do an lj-cut for spoilers, but first, since everyone else is doing "goodbye to BTVS" lj-icons, I thought I'd share mine. I suck at icon-making, so if anyone wants to try improving on this one, please feel free. Here's the icon:

It makes more sense if you're aware of the whole "my fandom" trend in LJ icon-making. ;) And, of course, if you remember the end of "The Gift." Big thanks to [livejournal.com profile] debchan for the screen-cap!

On with the Chosen spoilers. )

I'm sure I have more to say that just isn't coming to mind at the moment, so expect more posts from me later in the day/week. :)

onward

May. 21st, 2003 02:07 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Apparently I don't actually have to write any more about the Buffy finale, because [livejournal.com profile] taraljc pretty much summed it up. Read her post. Especially the first few paragraphs.

In other news, I had a prenatal appointment this morning and the midwife said to me, "you're just sailing through this [pregnancy]." It feels strange to say, but she's really basically right. I've had an assortment of normal, to-be-expected problems, but none has been really severe and I've pretty much just dealt with it. Everyone keeps telling me how good I look. I personally think that I look basically the same as always, except with a big round tummy and bigger boobs.

speaking of boobs...potential squick )

Anyway, other than that the prenatal appointment was fine. All our vitals are fine, and chickpea gave a big kick/wriggle when the midwife was feeling to see whether she was head-down (she was) and we both laughed. And then we talked about cheery topics like SIDS and breast infections. ;) She asked me how I'm getting my protein since I'm a vegetarian. I told her tofu and cheese mostly. She said that was fine and lectured me (mildly) on the importance of protein at this point, when chickpea's brain is growing apace.

Digressing further, I've been kind of regretting giving up my ticket to tonight's Red Sox-Yankees game. My mom could only get standing-room-only tickets and I didn't feel that I'd be able to stand for an entire game. But the excitement of this series (the first three-game series of the year between these two teams) has been really intense and now I'm thinking it might have been nice to go anyway. On the other hand, tonight's supposed to be chilly with a strong chance of rain, so I'm probably better off watching the game on TV. Ah well.

Sleeeeepy. Need caffeine. Wah.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios