Feb. 7th, 2003

movement

Feb. 7th, 2003 11:17 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (belly)
The heat was off in my chiropractor's building again this morning, the second time in the past few weeks. Luckily it was a much less cold day outside, so it wasn't as frigid as it was the last time. She turned her space-heater to full blast and it was pretty much okay.

I think her adjustments woke up chickpea, though, because I started feeling all sorts of things while she was working on me. It was pretty uncomfortable lying on my stomach; next time I'll have to ask her either to adjust me while I'm on my back, or see whether it's true that her table has a bit that lets down (as she claims it does but says she's never actually tried it).

Either chickpea calmed down when I got off the table, or I just couldn't feel it as strongly once I wasn't lying on my stomach any more.

It's snowing like crazy out there and half the office has called in sick or to say that they're working from home. I really got get my stuff set up to work from home too so I don't have to drive when the weather is this bad. I wouldn't mind driving in the snow so much, except for that my car is pretty bad at it. It's especially bad when turning and when starting up from a full stop (e.g. at a light). It slips and slides around a lot on the slippery road. I always wonder whether I should shell out for snow tires or something. Sigh.

Anyway, the point was that it's very quiet here at the office and I expect it'll be a pretty uneventful day. Of course, by saying that I've probably doomed myself to having something really *interesting* happen (in the Chinese-curse sense). ;)

Friday Five

Feb. 7th, 2003 03:12 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
In lieu of an actual post, here's the Friday Five. As always, they come from www.fridayfive.org.

1. What did you have for breakfast this morning? If you didn't have breakfast, why not?

I never used to have breakfast, but now that I'm preggers it's a necessity. Usually I have an english muffin with peanut butter, but this morning I had an egg-n-cheese sandwich on a sesame bagel, from Dunkin' Donuts. This sandwich is one of my favorite guilty pleasures. I know it's terrible but I love it.

Oh, and hot cocoa. Yum.

2. What's your favorite cereal?

It changes a lot, but I'll say Corn Chex. I never seem to get tired of them. (I have a list of cereals that I like, and I usually buy whichever one is on sale. But if none of my favorites is on sale, I buy Corn Chex.)

3. How often do you eat out? Do you want that to change?

During chorus-rehearsal season I eat out at least once a week, because we always go for dinner after rehearsal. Other than that, maybe one other time per week, sometimes two. Do I want that to change? Well, in the sense that it's expensive, I guess so, but in the sense that I hate cooking and eating out with friends is fun, no. So, I'll call that a "sort of." :)

4. What do you plan on having for dinner tonight? Got a recipe for that?

Heh. I'll probably just boil up some pasta and put some margarine on it. This is what I eat the vast majority of my evenings. Sometimes I mix a vegetable into the pasta (canned corn is good, or frozen broccoli -- my favorite is canned artichoke hearts but they're expensive so I don't do them too often). Other times I eat a vegetable separately, or *blush* not at all. Lately I've been having more luck with fruits than vegetables.

I like to mix smoked tofu (from Smoke & Fire) into pasta too, but I've been off tofu for a while now due to the whole nausea thing. I'll probably give it a try sometime soon and see whether I can stomach it again yet.

5. What's your favorite restaurant? Why?

I have to pick just one? Oy. I'll say Mary Chung's, in Central Square Cambridge, because they have good food and it's cheap and they're friendly and they only give you chopsticks (you have to ask for a fork if you want one) and they make really good, if strong, Chinese tea. And they have a pitcher of water on each table, but the waitresses will come around with another pitcher and refill your glasses anyway, which just amuses me. Plus we always go to Toscanini's for ice cream afterward, so what's not to like? (The only downside of Mary's is that they're closed on Tuesdays which means we can never go there after chorus rehearsals. Which we *so* would if we could, because it's close to the rehearsal place and it's cheap and good and something everyone could agree on.)

Good thing I ate before taking that quiz, or I'd be pretty hungry now. :)

belly!

Feb. 7th, 2003 07:24 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Yay! I finally have a belly icon that's my actual belly! :)

Behind this cut tag, larger pix of my belly, plus some of the kimonos I bought for chickpea in Japan. Plus, you can click any picture to see the even bigger version. LOL! Am I a geek or *what*?

moderately large pix )
Heh, I'm such a menace with my digital camera. Soon I shall torment you with even more pix! ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Found another WOFster on LJ! Add [livejournal.com profile] retch to the list (the list) and that makes ten! Soon we shall rule the world, mwahahahaha... or at least maybe we'll convince a few more people to read the book. Hint, hint. I think [livejournal.com profile] ladyvyola and [livejournal.com profile] thamiris and [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl would especially enjoy it. Hint, hint.

I also know [livejournal.com profile] retch from college, which makes three of my lj-friends (including [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl and [livejournal.com profile] munoz). :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios