Aug. 15th, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
My Left Arm
Every morning before I leave the house I put sunblock on my left arm. I used to just put it on the tattoo there, but now I put it on the whole arm, because of course that's the arm that gets all the exposure during my commute. Even *with* the sunblock, by the end of the summer (like, around now), my left arm is still noticeably more tanned than my right. It amuses me. Trouble is, now sometimes when I'm at the cottage or the beach and I start putting on sunblock, I just do the left arm and then stop. Out of habit, you know? Heh.

My Back
I went back to the chiropractor yesterday after many months' absence because of my health-insurance issues. When she was done poking and prodding, I felt a thousand years old. I stood up and felt things go 'creak, groan, twist.' Augh! I went home, rested a bit, and then walked to an Indian restaurant. (I normally hate eating in restaurants alone, but it was so hot I needed air-conditioning and food that I didn't have to cook.) Then walked home and collapsed. My poor, poor back. But it feels good, it's a good pain, you know? The bones and muscles are unused to being in the proper alignment, and they just need to get used to it again. I have another appointment tomorrow morning. "There's a lot going on here," said the chiropractor, in reference to my back.

Corn
I love corn. And I don't mean "Xena: Warrior Princess" and its ilk. ;) No, I mean corn, the food, you know? Fresh corn on the cob, canned corn (great with pasta or in salad), cornbread, cornmeal pancakes. Yum. I drool just from typing those words. I mean, I *LOVE* corn. Every year at Fourth of July we have corn on the cob, roasted over the grill (it's usually my job to husk it and wrap it in aluminum foil while others do the meat-handling parts of the meal). And it was at July 4th a couple of years ago that Marcia, our family friend who comes to July 4th with her son Brian every year, mentioned a corn festival. They have many varieties of corn, and you can taste them all and then vote for your favorites, she said. My (and my mom's) ears perked right up. "Really," we said, "do tell." It's somewhere in Massachusetts, sometime in August or September, she said, unhelpfully vague. "Wow," said we, "we should totally find out when and where," and promptly proceeded to forget all about it.

But then yesterday Misha mentioned corn and I suddenly remembered the corn festival, and went searching online. I found one in Pittsfield (about 1.5 - 2 hours' drive) but it was Thursday ... er, today ... from noon to 2, so, no. I found one in mid-September that we might try to get to. And then I found one this very weekend, not far at all from my workplace!!

I got insanely excited and emailed my mom, and we're going to go. Whee! I'm wondering whether any of my friends in the area love corn as much as I do, enough to want to come along. :) Mmmm. Corn. *drools*
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
I'm starting to get extra-super-insanely excited for Worldcon. It's two weeks (as of yesterday) till I leave! Whee!

On luggage, a) I found out that the airline does allow you to check two bags as well as have one carry-on, plus they don't count your purse as a carry-on anyway, so actually you could have a total of four bags (two checked, one carry-on, and a purse); and also b) there's a place right near my house that repairs suitcases. I'm gonna take mine by tomorrow morning and see how much they'd charge and how long it would take -- the chick on the phone said it usually takes a week to ten days, which would be cutting it close. If they charge too much or will take too long, I can just say "forget it" and bring an extra bag. I've been thinking of bringing an extra duffel bag, empty (or mostly so) on the way there, just so I'll know that I can buy some stuff at the con, by which of course I mean books. ;)

Anyway, so once I get the luggage thing straightened out, all that's left is to decide how much mundane clothing to bring -- i.e., whether to wear garb the entire con, as I usually try to do, or bring enough mundane clothing to do at least one day (or one outing) away from the con. :) Maybe I need to talk to Laura about what non-con-related activities she has planned, or wants to plan. :)

But, in case I haven't mentioned it recently, *squeeee*!!!!! Thirteen days to Worldcon!!!!! Yay!!!! :)

more legos

Aug. 15th, 2002 04:34 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
I made some more Lego versions of Buffy/Angel and Farscape characters.
check 'em out )
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Hey, [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl, a while back you said there was something you wanted me to get for you at Worldcon, and I can't find that post. What was it again? I'll write it in my Visor this time, I swear. Also, you should post/email/call/carrier-pigeon about whether, when, and where we're going to meet up. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:28 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios