mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Each school day, I'm supposed to provide each child with a snack. They have designated snack time during the school day, and I don't know about anyone else's kids but mine definitely need a snack to keep them going. (They also get an afternoon snack at afterschool, which is provided by the afterschool organization.) When Isaac was in first and second grades, the system was that each kid/family had to provide snack for the whole class once a month; I later learned that this was a quirk of that particular teacher (whom Isaac had for two years because that's how it works at our school), and in most of the rest of the school, each kid is just supposed to bring his/her own snack each day.

So every day I pack a snack, and it's not terribly onerous because, on the Venn diagram of things my kids are willing to eat / things I consider acceptable / things that are allowed at school (i.e., containing no nut ingredients) / things we usually have on hand, the intersection is pretty small. Of course, it isn't too surprising that my kids sometimes complain/observe that other kids' parents send junkier snacks than I do -- some kids apparently get Oreos or what have you; I only do something junky once in a while, usually when I run out of healthier snacks and am in a pinch. ;) Mind you, my "healthy" snacks are still borderline junky in most cases; I'm talking e.g. a Nutrigrain bar, a packet of those bright orange crackers with cheesy filling, or chewy fruit snacks -- I buy Clif Kids brand fruit twists, because the ingredients are basically just fruit (no added sugar), but admittedly they still taste very sweet.

Ruthie reports quite frequently that she shared her snack with friends/classmates. In particular, she often shares with her best friend (who shares with her too), and she also often shares with another child, who, from what she says, rarely has a snack of his own. It's always "I shared my snack with so-and-so because he didn't have anything." This kid is from a family that has three kids at the school -- in first, second, and third grades -- and they are, let's say, not wealthy. On one occasion I was helping Ruthie pack up her backpack at the end of the day, and a fruit twist fell out, and the boy happened to be there and said "Can I have it? I love those things," and I said, which I always tell Ruthie to say but I doubt she does, "you should ask your mom to buy you some." And he replied, "oh, she doesn't have any money." Now, I hesitate to read too much into this, because I can easily envision Ruthie saying the same thing, parroting back something that I might have said -- "no, I'm not buying that, it's too expensive" / "I'm not paying my money for that" / "I don't have the money for that." These particular fruit twists can be hard to find; they aren't in any stores around here except Whole Foods, and not even all of the WF stores in this area carry them (I buy them on Amazon) so I can easily imagine a busy mom saying no, especially if her kid comes home with only a vague description of the item, and it isn't something she's familiar with. Is she going to go hunt down what it is and where to get it based on "I want the snack that some other kid always has"? Probably not.

Still, my impression is that the statement was close to true; like I said, as far as I can tell, the family doesn't have much money to spare. And while I also don't put a ton of faith in Ruthie's claim that this kid "never" has snack, or that she shared with him on any given day because "he didn't have a snack" (maybe he had one but liked Ruthie's better, etc.), nevertheless it's potentially possible that he sometimes doesn't have a snack because of finances.

So I have mixed feelings about all of this. Among my first reactions is annoyance/resentment, as in, "it's not my job to provide snack for someone else's kid" / "if everyone wants to share my kid's snack then she won't get any herself" (Ruthie often describes breaking off pieces of the fruit twist to share around) / "parents who send in junky snacks make it harder for all of us." Of course, then I also feel guilt/sympathy about the kid with no snack. And I feel pleased/proud that Ruthie likes to share -- albeit I know that she mostly does it for the attention, not purely out of altruism, but still. I want to encourage that.

My solution in this particular moment was to buy a big box of those Nature Valley crunchy granola bars and give it to the teacher, as a donation for her to keep around for any occasion when a kid doesn't have a snack. She was very appreciative, and I feel better. Now I can tell Ruthie that if her friends pester her to share her snack, she can direct them to the teacher. Of course it still doesn't solve the "what someone else has is more attractive than what I have" problem, but since Ruthie generally likes her snack, and *ahem* isn't shy about expressing herself ;) , I'm not too worried about that. I still worry a little that she may feel pressured to share, but there isn't much I can do about that except talk to her about it and make sure she knows it isn't her job to feed everyone ;) and then trust in her natural assertiveness.

Sometimes this stuff can really feel like a minefield.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
A few weeks ago I was nostalgically reading through some old LJ entries and had a moment of insanity or something ;) where I decided that I was going to start doing again what I call "detail-blogging," you know, like I used to do, where I post every little thing about what we did each day.

So I started writing up a description of the weekend that had, at the time, just passed...and of course it got really long, and then I had to get back to work, so I saved it without posting and said I'd finish it later. But of course I never did. So yeah, I don't think I'm going to be going back to regular detail-blogging, much though I might kinda want to.

But here is a random listing of some stuff that has been going on lately:

* Ruthie finished kindergarten (back in June) and started first grade. It's going very well. She loves school and has made some good friends. She also started taking dance lessons this fall. She's in a combo ballet/jazz dance class. She seems to like it pretty well. Of course, she's mostly just in it for the leotard and ballet shoes. ;)

* Isaac finished third grade and started fourth grade. There's a lot going on with that. In fourth grade they start swimming lessons; all 4th-graders throughout the city are taken by bus once a week to the one school that has a pool. So every Friday we have to remember to pack Isaac's bathing suit and towel in his backpack. Also in 4th grade they can start instrument lessons, and Isaac chose the violin. So one day a week he has to remember to bring the violin to school. Unfortunately, that also happens to be Friday. So our Fridays are pretty "stuff to remember"-heavy. Fortunately, I've gotten permission from my boss to work from home on Fridays, so I'm not feeling as rushed in the mornings with the pressure to get to the office by a certain time. The swimming lessons only run through the end of November, after which it'll just be the violin we have to haul in (in the snow...if we get any snow this year...oy).

* Over the summer we joined the Open Air Circus, and both kids learned how to walk on stilts. They had a great time. We tried to buy stilts for them from the circus's stock, but they didn't have any in the right sizes, so we're hoping they'll do another stilt-making workshop soon. At those, they provide the materials and instructions and help you make your own stilts. Both of my kids will want them for sure. We've recently had opportunity to stilt-walk in some parades and events with the OAC people, and the kids love the attention that they get from it. I personally was amazed at how quickly they both picked it up! Isaac by the second lesson was walking around like it was nothing. Ruthie is still a little wobbly, but she can get around. I wouldn't mind trying it myself at some point, make a fool of myself I'm sure ;) well, I'll probably have that opportunity when the circus starts up again next summer.

* I went to the dermatologist for my regular 2-year mole check, and she decided to biopsy one spot. It's a good thing we have people who are trained in this stuff, because to me it looked the same as any other freckle on my body (I have quite a few). It turned out to be benign/noncancerous, but now she wants me to come back every 1 year instead of 2. I also had a thyroid ultrasound a few months ago when I started to have some pain in my throat. The doctor decided that it was just a little bit inflamed probably from a mild virus, but she wants me to come back for a repeat ultrasound in December. (It was difficult trying to explain on the phone, when I made the appointment, what my complaint was. Me: "I have a pain in the front of my neck." Nurse: "You mean your throat?" Me: "Well, yes, but like on the outside of my neck." Nurse: "So you have a sore throat." Me: "No. I know what a sore throat is. If I had a sore throat I would just say that." *eyeroll*)

I guess it's kind of sad that I have all kinds of interesting stuff to post about the kids, but when I try to think of what I can post that's actually about me, all I come up with is my random medical stuff. When did I turn 85 and not notice it? Sheesh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
We're almost two months into the school year and it's going swimmingly so far!

all the exciting details )

Isaac

Oct. 6th, 2010 11:45 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
At Isaac's afterschool the theme for this month is darkness and each kid was supposed to write a sentence beginning with "When it's dark I think about..." Isaac wrote "When it's dark I think about basicly nothing because I go to sleep. I have nothing in my head. It is too dark to." LOL. He does tend to be rather literal. ;)

More miscellaneous stuff about Isaac )

I could go on and on about my boy :) but I think that's enough for now. But I'll leave you with this fantastic picture that I managed to take of him at the playground recently. I just love it.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:57 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios