Sep. 19th, 2007

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
It does occur to me that I could optimize my currently extremely small amount of lj-time if I would just stop it with all the updates of type "...and then we got in the car and drove to the store and bought milk and bananas, then we came home and had lunch and played with legos for a while. Then we were tired so we went to bed." Oh, the endless minutiae! No one reads it, no one cares, it's deathly dull, and if only I stopped doing that kind of posts, I'd have ever so much more time to post Deep Thoughts.

But here's the thing. What am I posted in LJ for, anyway? To get you to feed my desperate need for validation of my insecure inner exhibitionist by running up my comment count? Well, duh. ;) But also, to help myself keep track. To help me remember how things were.

In a practical sense, I can't tell you how often I've used my lj to go back and look up, e.g., when was it that I saw that movie / got that car repair / went to that party / read that book? What did our chorus sing the year Isaac was born? How old was Isaac when he got his first tooth? And all kinds of things of that nature, including milestone/baby-book type stuff that everyone probably always swears they'll never forget, and then does forget.

And in a more quixotic grasping-at-the-straws-of-life sense, it helps me hang on to who I was and what my life was, as it passes into the past, as I live it and put it behind me. In talking to my mom, it often comes out that she doesn't remember very much about the ephemera of my childhood -- the big things, sure, but not the little, not the gestalt of what life is like with a 4-year-old and a one-and-a-half-year-old. I don't want to forget that kind of stuff. But I know I will, so I have LJ to remember for me. In many ways it's probably the same purpose for which people used to use (some probably still do use) actual paper journals, except with comments and keyword search and mood icons.

So the overall point is that I intend to continue to post the daily minutiae; and this post shall serve as a reminder to me, when I forget, that it's FOR me, and there's no need to get upset or feel slighted when those posts don't get much commenting. Also, as a reminder to you, that you can feel free to skim ;) but that I do always love a comment, even if just "wow, you had a busy day!" or similar inanities. ;)

Also, in case I haven't made it clear by the above, I have very little time for LJ lately. I've been skimming my flist like mad, so I've almost certainly missed some stuff, so here's the standard "if you posted something you're desperate for me to read, let me know" that one so often sees.

And now, on with the minutiae! )

I have more, of course, but this post has almost literally taken me an entire day to write, so enough! But I can't resist sharing, before I go, a couple of new pix. Check out my gorgeous girl:


And one that pretty well sums up their relationship right now:


hee hee, awesome.

good night!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios