Feb. 6th, 2007

mamajoan: me in hammock (d'oh!)
My mom was scheduled to have a colonoscopy this morning (yes, send her your sympathy). Since they require you to have someone pick you up on account of the sedation, I am "on call" and was planning to go there around 1:00 based on what she had told me. I called ahead to our favorite bagel store and asked them to save me a couple dozen, since it's right near the hospital and I take any opportunity to stock up on bagels. (The whole-wheat sesame tend to sell out fast.) I told them I'd be there at 1:30ish to pick up....

Anyway, mom called at 11:15 to say that she hadn't even been taken in yet -- her appt was at 10:00 so apparently they're running pretty late. yikes.

Now I'm not sure what to do about the bagels, and in any case, I'm starting to worry a bit that it'll be tight getting back to pick up Isaac from preschool at 5:30, at this rate.

Maybe Ruthie and I will go get the bagels and then go hang out at the hospital? There's a really cool baby/kid store right near there too. Danger Will Robinson!! Danger! ;)

I also need to make copies of my unemployment worksearch records and my "statement," then mail them off. Where the hell does a person go to make copies these days?? It used to be every tiniest convenience store had a 5¢ xerox machine, and now I can't find anywhere for love or money.

also, I have an update ont he preschool food thing, but it'll have to wait.
mamajoan: me in hammock (electric avenue)
Apropos of nothing, check out my new icon that I yanked from someone on [livejournal.com profile] ask_me_anything. Author unknown, which is too bad because I'd love to tell whoever created it that it is teh awesome! :)

Okay, all is well with mom. The procedure went fine and she came out of it just fine except that she's pissed off that the doctor told her she should have another one in 2-3 years (she was hoping he'd say ten or fifteen, or, like, never).

I ended up deciding to go get the bagels at 1:30, which turned out to be the right decision because just as I was getting there, mom called to say she was almost ready to be released. So by the time I got the bagels and drove to the hospital, she was there waiting to hop into the car. The timing worked out great. Except that I didn't get a chance to copy and mail my stuff, alas. I could have done it after dropping mom at home, but Ruthie fell asleep in the car and I didn't want to disturb her. She proceeded to sleep for about Two Hours(!!) and needless to say was quite cheerful after that.

Anyway, so I guess I'll have to find time to copy and mail the stuff tomorrow. I think I have failed to mention that I need to return my Statement ("I have not refused or received any offers of employment....") to the unemployment people by next Monday, the 12th. Hence why I was hoping to get it done today. But I'll go tomorrow and send it two-day mail or something. whatever.

Also, just to remind, tomorrow is my second interview at the place where I interviewed last week, courtesy of referral from an ex-coworker. Interview's at 2. Perhaps before then I'll get around to writing up a few things about last week's interview that I wanted to post about. Perhaps not. Who can say?

Tonight I experimented with tofu marinated in tea. Raspberry Zinger to be specific. Just a weird idea that hit me a week or two ago and I thought I'd give it a try. (I had Lemon Zinger in mind but as it turned out, not in cabinet.) It was, uh, interesting.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:17 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios