A quick rundown of things I've been meaning to post about but haven't gotten around to:
* My maternity pants from gap.com arrived Tuesday and are ridiculously, unbelievably too big. The ones in size 18 are ridiculously loose in the thighs/hips/belly, and about 8 inches too long. The ones in size 16 are just moderately loose, but also about 8 inches too long. This is just silly. It's ridiculous to even contemplate hemming them when they're THAT long. So I'll be returning them, probably to a store because I'm damned if I'm going to pay to ship them back. Grump.
* I found someone to babysit for our chorus concert on Sunday. She's a friend of my mom's, half of the lesbian couple with whom mom went to Uruguay. I hadn't even thought of asking her, even though I know she babysits, because her partner is in the chorus so I just assumed she would want to go to the concert. But when I mentioned to mom in Grace's presence that I still hadn't found a sitter, Grace
immediately said "I'll do it!" And later her partner told me in private that she thought Grace would actually much rather babysit than go to the concert. It's not like she hasn't heard us sing
Messiah a zillion times. So I'm quite pleased, because she's someone I can trust completely and not have to make a leap of faith as I would with a stranger. Now I just have to figure out how to work the whole nap timing thing and when to have her come over, etc....
* I was told that the reason my radiators clank so much is that there's air in the pipes and I need to "bleed" them. Mom showed me the thingie on her radiator that you turn to bleed it. But none of my radiators have anything that looks like that. I am stumped. :(
* I am totally re-hooked on "ER" and it's all
bodacia's fault. Damn you Bo! *shake fist* On the plus side, I'm really only re-hooked on Maura Tierney, my not-so-secret TV girlfriend, so I can fast-forward all the scenes without her in them. ;)
* I bit the bullet and deleted my Season Pass for the "Daily Show." I'm sad, but the truth is, I don't have time to watch it, and I have quite literally about 40 episodes on the TiVo hard drive, eating up all my available space, so it's just getting ridiculous. Maybe someday I'll get that backlog winnowed down and start recording it again. Uh, probably not. But maybe.
* Weather. It has gotten cold and we had a little snow and are supposed to have more tomorrow. I broke out my winter coat. I love my winter coat, but alas, I don't think it's going to make it through this winter. And by "make it" I mean "be able to zip up over my belly." Already it's a little tight, and well, we have a lot more winter to go yet, and my belly has a lot more growing to do. I am sad. I don't know what I'll do if/when I can't zip the dang thing up. Maybe just button it (it has those hook-and-loop buttons so they're looser) and let the middle part of my belly freeze a bit. heh.