Dec. 9th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Grump. It couldn't have waited one more day?

Ah well. I got up this morning, checked out the windows and watched the Weather Channel for a bit, and decided to come to the office, despite the fact that about 75% of my coworkers had already emailed in saying they were staying home. I based my decision on the facts that a) the forecasters were saying the worst of the snow would be between 11am and 1pm, so there should be enough time for plows to clear the roads before the evening rush hour, and b) I really didn't want to sit around the house all day trying to entertain Isaac. Plus the more minor consideration of c) we had left Isaac's boots at daycare so if we had stayed home, it would have been hard to go outside and play in the snow and d) if I take him to daycare, someone else gets the joy of cleaning up/drying off after he plays in the snow. ;) I'm just glad that my daycare doesn't follow the local school system in terms of closures, because the schools are closed today.

Anyway, the commute in wasn't too bad, and all my coworkers who opted to stay home have been mercilessly mocked. ;) And the CEO bought pizza for those of us who did show up, so we wouldn't have to go out in the snow for lunch. Yay for free pizza.

Got back to my desk after lunch to find a voicemail from daycare saying they want to close at 4 and I should call back and let them know if that's possible for me. I tried calling back several times and got voicemail, which presumably means they're still calling other parents. I'll keep trying. Leaving at 4 would be fine by me.

*headdesk*

Dec. 9th, 2005 03:22 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
Okay, I was an idiot. I never should have listened to those weather forecasters. Now according to everyone on LJ in the Somerville area there's thunder, lightning, and white-out conditions. And I have to leave in ten minutes and drive into that maelstrom. I was dumb to listen to the stupid forecasters and their stupid "oh it'll all be gone by 1pm" crap. Fine, if this turns out to be my last LJ post before I die in a horribly snowy accident in the next two hours, you can all mock me for being an idiot, okay? Are you happy now?

*grumble* Stupid goddamn fucking WEATHER!! Remind me again why I don't live in fucking Bermuda!!!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Yep, we made it home and did not in fact die. It took about 2 hours from the time we left daycare, so we got home right at 6.

the long detailed version of tonight's commute )

And then it was just another mile or so home, and ohmygod was I glad that there was a parking space open right across from our house. OMG. I need like a three-hour hot bath and a three-hour massage after that commute. It wasn't all that bad in the grand scheme, but it was just so tense and so much longer than usual. Also I really hope I don't catch a cold from sitting in the car for two hours with wet legs and feet. Basically from the knee down I was soaked: jeans, socks, boots. Whee.

So, in all, it could have been a lot worse, but that ain't to say it was fun or anything. Urgh. Stupid winter.

[livejournal.com profile] candle_light, I'm sorry I didn't see your post before I left work, because I might well have taken you up on it! Thanks for offering anyway.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios