Aug. 26th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
I can't deal! We had another okay-but-not-great night, I did get a reasonable amount of sleep, but I just feel so freaking tired today, and I want to cry just thinking about all the shit I have to do for the weekend. or really, within the next hour and a half because how much can you get done after 5pm on Friday?

To wit, I am talking about dealing with my car. I've been using my mom's car this week and that's been fine, but she's going to want it on the weekend. So I have to figure out whether I need a rental, or really when I need the rental. And then I have to arrange for the rental, and arrange for pickup and delivery and all that. And then if I'm going to have the rental more than 3 days, I have to call my insurance company and have them authorize it.

A RANT about the illogic of the insurance process and how freaking long it takes to get a car fixed )

Obviously this shit is seriously stressing me out. I don't want to drive a rental. I want to go to the cottage this weekend, but my mom is going to stay for Monday, and I can't stay for Monday*, so I can't drive out with her. I don't want to drive to the cottage and back by myself in a rental. I wish I had a friend who wanted to come to the cottage and drive me and Isaac back home on Sunday night. But I have very few friends who even have cars, let alone who have cars and actually answer their phones, let alone have cars and answer their phones and are likely to not already have plans for the weekend that starts in two hours.
* I could take the day off, but I really just don't want to.

sigh.

I guess I'll go call the rental place. I'll just tell them I want to pick it up on Saturday, on account of they're closed on Sunday. Of course, then if I do find someone to come to the cottage on Sunday, the rental will sit on the street outside my house for two days. Talk about pointless. Well, it's the insurance company's money so who gives a fuck.

argh!
mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
Okay, so after my last ranty post I calmed down (not really) and made some phone calls.

Good: Insurance company says they mailed me a check yesterday.
(Bad: nice of them to let me know?)
Bad: I still have to pay my $500 deductible. :(
Somewhat Bad: Body shop says they still need the written estimate that shows what is to be fixed and how much insurance will pay for it. I can bring this by tomorrow, if I find it in my mailbox tonight when I get home.
Really Bad: When asked how long the repairs will take, body shop guy says "we're backed out three weeks." I interpret this to mean it's going to be three weeks before they even START the repairs.

Good: Insurance company says I don't need to get them to authorize more than 3 days of rental, just get the car and the rental place will bill them and it's all taken care of.
Bad: Rental place says they don't have the cheapest grade of car (the one that costs the same amount my insurance company allows). Their cheapest car is $8 more per day than insurance company's allowance. $8/day for three weeks is ... kind of a lot. Especially when I'm already paying my $500 deductible.

Good: Insurance will pay for me to have the car towed to a different body shop.

Good: Body shop #2 (the one I used after my last accident) says they can start working on it immediately. But still need to see the paperwork before they will say how much or how long.
Good: Body shop #2 is a "Preferred" shop according to my insurance, which shop #1 isn't.
Bad: Shop #2 isn't open on Saturday, not even for me to drop off the paperwork. (But they do have a fax number.)

Bottom line:
a. I am scheduled to pick up the rental car tomorrow morning. Still pissed about having to pay $8/day though. What a fucking racket.
b. If I have the energy, and if the paperwork arrives, will take it over to shop #1 tomorrow and verify that they wouldn't even START working on car for three weeks. If so, will tell them to forget it.
c. Monday, fax or bring paperwork to shop #2 and see what they say. If their offer (time and $) is acceptable, tell shop #1 to tow car to shop #2.

Meanwhile, somehow, I have to survive a weekend. I guess I'll be driving to the cottage in the rental, much as I hate that idea; because I don't want to sit around the house all weekend tearing out my hair over this shit.

Meanwhile, there are bills to pay, but that's too fucking bad, 'cause I don't have any money.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios