mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Okay, so after my last ranty post I calmed down (not really) and made some phone calls.

Good: Insurance company says they mailed me a check yesterday.
(Bad: nice of them to let me know?)
Bad: I still have to pay my $500 deductible. :(
Somewhat Bad: Body shop says they still need the written estimate that shows what is to be fixed and how much insurance will pay for it. I can bring this by tomorrow, if I find it in my mailbox tonight when I get home.
Really Bad: When asked how long the repairs will take, body shop guy says "we're backed out three weeks." I interpret this to mean it's going to be three weeks before they even START the repairs.

Good: Insurance company says I don't need to get them to authorize more than 3 days of rental, just get the car and the rental place will bill them and it's all taken care of.
Bad: Rental place says they don't have the cheapest grade of car (the one that costs the same amount my insurance company allows). Their cheapest car is $8 more per day than insurance company's allowance. $8/day for three weeks is ... kind of a lot. Especially when I'm already paying my $500 deductible.

Good: Insurance will pay for me to have the car towed to a different body shop.

Good: Body shop #2 (the one I used after my last accident) says they can start working on it immediately. But still need to see the paperwork before they will say how much or how long.
Good: Body shop #2 is a "Preferred" shop according to my insurance, which shop #1 isn't.
Bad: Shop #2 isn't open on Saturday, not even for me to drop off the paperwork. (But they do have a fax number.)

Bottom line:
a. I am scheduled to pick up the rental car tomorrow morning. Still pissed about having to pay $8/day though. What a fucking racket.
b. If I have the energy, and if the paperwork arrives, will take it over to shop #1 tomorrow and verify that they wouldn't even START working on car for three weeks. If so, will tell them to forget it.
c. Monday, fax or bring paperwork to shop #2 and see what they say. If their offer (time and $) is acceptable, tell shop #1 to tow car to shop #2.

Meanwhile, somehow, I have to survive a weekend. I guess I'll be driving to the cottage in the rental, much as I hate that idea; because I don't want to sit around the house all weekend tearing out my hair over this shit.

Meanwhile, there are bills to pay, but that's too fucking bad, 'cause I don't have any money.

Date: 2005-08-26 09:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angledge.livejournal.com
Chalk that up on the List of Reasons [personal profile] angledge Doesn't Miss Owning a Car.

Totally off-topic: would you ever be interested in a stint as a guest mod for the [community profile] ljdq? CV's work schedule usually gets crazybusy in September & I'm gonna need some help running the asylum. I think you'd be great! Whaddya say?

Date: 2005-08-27 01:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Aww!! I'm honored. :) I would love to guest mod, as long as it doesn't include Labor Day, cause we'll probably be away for that.

Hooray!

Date: 2005-08-27 06:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angledge.livejournal.com
Cool, & thank you. I will work around Labor Day - find another guest mod, or just do it by myself.

Do you IM? I'm angledger on AIM, angledge on Yahoo! & MSN, & usually logged in to all three during PST work hours. We should chat about how guest modding works.

Or I guess I could just send you an email with the info.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios