We got rear-ended tonight on the way home from work. An elderly guy didn't brake fast enough at a light and hit us. Isaac and I were fine, and my car looked fine, but the old guy's car was pretty bashed up. He was wearing a hearing aid and had a handicap license plate, and didn't seem to be understanding/hearing me when I tried to talk to him -- couldn't tell if he was having trouble hearing, or if he was in shock, or maybe both.
Anyway, he got into his car as if to drive away, and I saw some fluid coming out of it, so I gesticulated at him until he got out to look, and I tried to tell him that I thought he should wait for a tow truck, but he said "no, it's okay," and then while I was calling 911 he drove away. !!!!
I had to call 911 twice and the second time I got the state police and they said they'd come. (Un)Fortunately, we were on a corner with a playground, so Isaac of course wanted to get out of the car and play. So I was standing by the playground fence watching for the cops instead of supervising my child while he climbed and slid and all. Ugh, I felt like the worst mom. I wanted to go over to the other parents and say "I'm not an inattentive mom, really, I'm just waiting for the cops."
Then the cops came and I was explaining what happened, and then another cop car came and said that they had gotten a call that the other car was in the parking lot of a supermarket a block down. So we all drove over there (this is where I discovered that my car was making an alarming rattling noise :( ) and there was no sign of the other guy or his car.
Well, at least I had had the foresight to write down the guy's license plate number, so I gave that to the cops and reiterated several times to them that the front of his car was all bashed in and leaking fluid. And they took all my info and said they'll call me. And then I drove home with my car making weird noises the whole way and me expecting it to burst into flames any second, or something.
sigh.
You know, at first I was just worried for the elderly man, that he might have been in shock or his car might explode or something. But now I'm just fretting over the inconvenience to ME. I'm going to have to spend all day tomorrow calling insurance people and getting my car to the mechanic and etc. etc., and it'll probably mean I won't be able to help
anotherjen move like I said I would, and if the car needs work then I might not be able to go to the cottage this weekend, and and and.
And then after the cops said I could go home, I called my mom from the road and broke down crying and begged her to come over. Because Isaac was just all, "juice? walk outside with stroller? want some banana?" and I couldn't deal. So mom came over and fed him and occupied him for a little bit while I went in my bedroom and had a little breakdown. Thank goodness for her. omg.
I still have some more crying to do, but it can wait until Isaac goes to sleep. And speaking of which, damn, it's WAY past his bedtime. must go.