Feb. 13th, 2005

good news?

Feb. 13th, 2005 09:20 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I know I haven't posted here about politics much lately, mostly because I've been trying not to think too much about it, because it's so damn depressing. But I'm really heartened by the news that Howard Dean is the new chairman of the Democratic Party. I think this is a really good thing and I have high hopes for his leadership. Yay Howard!

Isaac woke up at 5:30am and I was thinking, "so much for that sleeping well and long thing I posted to LJ about," but then when I took him into my bed to nurse, we both fell asleep again. That never happens any more, so I was surprised, but glad. We woke up again around 7:30 and ended up getting out of bed around 8. So I feel pretty well-rested, which oughta last till about, oh, 10 or so. ;)

In other good news, after a conversation with my mom I realized there were a few things I had forgotten to deduct on my taxes -- notably the real-estate taxes on my house -- which looks to be increasing my refund from $450 to almost $700. So yay for that. Now the thing left to do is figure out how much the old computer that I donated to my chorus would be worth, so I know how much to deduct for it. What would you pay for a PowerMac 7200 running System 7.x at 120mHz with a 500MB hard drive, monitor, keyboard, mouse, and external modem? Be gentle.... ;)
EDIT: I forgot that the computer also had a G3 accelerator card!! Which I think I paid $300 for, or thereabouts, around 3 or 4 years ago. That's probably worth more than the whole rest of the computer itself, LOL...
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling isaac)
When Isaac drops something he says "uh-oh" and then its name, e.g. if he drops his fork "Uh-oh fork" or if it was my fork "Uh-oh big fork." He also uses this construction if he can't find something, e.g. "Isaac, where are your shoes?" "Uh-oh shoes!"

So this morning we were playing on the bed and he stood up and then fell on his butt, and said, "Uh-oh little boy!" LOL!!! :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Bit that annoys me: took an online survey that asked if I have any children "under 11 months old or younger." Umm, what would be younger than "under 11 months old"?? An embryo maybe? :P It's called proofreading, people.

Bit that amuses me: a bumper sticker "Inquire Within." Deep!

Bit that amuses me #2: During a "Queer Eye" episode one of the guys referred to the straight guy's home as a shithole, and it was bleeped, but the closed-captions said "shithole." Usually when there's bleepage, the captions will reflect it, like "your home is a ----hole" or "your home is a [bleep]hole." I just think it's really funny when they go to the trouble of bleeping but not of notifying the closed-caption people. Hee hee.

Bit that I'm proud of: I actually cooked tonight! I'm ashamed to admit how long it has been since I did any kind of cooking other than "boil water, add pasta and powder, stir" or similar. But tonight I actually made a stir-fry. I used frozen veggies, a suggestion that came as a true revelation to me -- it may sound dumb but it really never occurred to me. And one of the main reasons I don't stir-fry more often is the time and energy of chopping up all those veggies. So yay for pre-chopped frozen veggies! I fried up some tofu in oil and tamari, then tossed in the veggies, added garlic and ginger. (Not enough, as it turns out -- note to self, more spices.) At the last minute I discovered that my brown rice was infested with bugs :( so I had to make basmati, which was the only other kind of rice I had, and that was a little weird but okay. Isaac refused to taste the tofu and veggies, alas, so he had plain rice. Silly boy.

Anyway, it was yummy and I felt probably way prouder of myself than necessary. ;) I really want to get into the habit of cooking more, for any number of reasons. So I feel hopeful that this is a first step. So yay me.

Bit that wasn't meant to be cryptic but probably is anyway: A lot of big stuff has been happening in my life lately that I just haven't had the time to compose an LJ entry about. I want to get to it but haven't managed it yet. Hopefully soon.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios