Feb. 7th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Uhhh. I forget what I already posted about. d'oh. I know I forgot to mention that on Saturday, at one point we heard a bunch of sirens and Isaac got all excited, "fire truck! fire truck!" -- then I realized that they were right outside on our street. We went out on the front porch and there were FOUR fire trucks parked on our street, one right in front of our house. With the lights flashing and everything. Isaac was in little-boy heaven, LOL. Anyway, there was no smoke and I don't know what was going on, but after a few minutes the trucks all drove away ("Bye-bye fire truck!") so I'm assuming it was either a false alarm, or nothing serious. I dunno.

Yesterday, my mom watched Isaac while I went to a movie. Back before Isaac was born I had a little tradition along with [livejournal.com profile] jenwrites and The Intrepid Melissa(tm) of going to see a chick-flick on Super Bowl Sunday. Jen was busy yesterday but Melissa and I revived the tradition. We saw "Finding Neverland," starring everyone's favorite pirate, Robin Williams as Popeye. No, wait, I mean Johnny Depp. ;) It wasn't my first choice, but Melissa was really into it, and I'm always happy to feast these tired eyes on the Deppster, so why not. I'm not sure, in the end, whether it was really suitably chick-flicky (too much testosterone, not enough romance? But certainly with some droolability and much schmaltz, so maybe it balances out) but still, it was mostly enjoyable. Although I did discover that very mildly spoilery )

Anyway, then Melissa and I hung out a bit, and then I went back to my mom's place and we got Chinese and watched the first half of the Super Bowl. I guess it kind of defeats the point of Chick-Flick Sunday if the movie is over before the game even starts *g* but oh well. I'm not really into football, but I've been watching it a little bit over the last few years and it's certainly fun to watch a big important game. Plus, the commercials. I really liked the FedEx/Kinko's one with Burt Reynolds and the dancing bear, and also the Diet Coke(?) one with Carson from "Queer Eye." :)

Then at halftime I took Isaac home and put him to bed, which took several hours *sigh*, and watched the rest of the game thanks to the miracle of TiVo, and didn't get myself to bed till midnight. *groan*

And now it's Monday and here I am in my new office again, whee. I stopped off at the post office and picked up an actual paper copy of the 1040, and did it out by hand, and discovered to my dismay that the online thingie was right: my refund is about $450. I guess I should be happy about the $450, but it's a lot less than the $2000-3000 that I was kind of expecting, so it's a little hard to swallow. :( Now I have to decide whether to shell out the $8 to the online thingie to do my e-filing for me. I'm thinking it might be worth it to avoid the paperwork wrestling and to get my refund asap. hmm, I wonder how much my state refund will be?

Anyway, that's the current State of the Joan.

psst, Ryan!

Feb. 7th, 2005 12:34 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (faith)
Psst, [livejournal.com profile] xochiquetzl!! This week's LJ Daily Questions ([livejournal.com profile] ljdq) want to know whether you're the good twin or the evil twin. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Have you ever paused to think about someone, and realized that you really didn't know why you considered them a friend? You didn't have much in common with them, didn't really enjoy spending time with them, didn't care about their life or what they thought about stuff, etc.? It can be really hard to come to that realization, just because you get into a rut with thinking of someone as a friend and rarely rethink that. It's easy enough to stop considering someone a friend when they do something horrible to you, but a lot harder to do so just by thinking about it.

(FTR, this isn't about any current situation in my life. Just some random musing on stuff that happened quite a while ago.)

Some of Isaac's latest accomplishments and cutenesses )

That's enough for now; more later of course.
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
driving meme )
mamajoan: me in hammock (cool dude)
One of the names I considered for Isaac was "Jonah" but I rejected it because it rhymes with my name. I thought it would sound weird, "hi, I'm Joan and this is my son Jonah." So, now that I have an Isaac, if I theoretically had a second son, would it still be weird to name him Jonah?

[Poll #433119]

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios