Jan. 8th, 2005

lessons

Jan. 8th, 2005 11:02 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Things I have learned from reading [livejournal.com profile] queenmab_223's flist:
  • There's a popular series of books/movies called the Harry Potter series, wherein the main character is a very sexy guy named Snape who has a lot of gay sex.
  • There's a popular sexy actor named David Thewlis, and a lot of people like to discuss every detail of his personal life.
  • A lot of people are really into "Alias" and "Lost." Okay, I actually knew that already. *g*
  • "Forever Knight" is apparently out on DVD.
  • [livejournal.com profile] customers_suck is still going strong, still very high-volume, still finding new ways all the time to amaze, dismay, and disgust.
  • A lot of people put a LOT of time and energy into creating icons based on their favorite shows/actors/characters. Their icons get all fancy and stuff with intricate Photoshop techniques and the application of various profound song lyrics. My poor little "take a picture you like and shrink it down to 100x100" icons are getting an inferiority complex.
  • The aforementioned people post their sets of icons to numerous communities at the same time, causing a lot of flist clutter.
  • Apparently there's still all kinds of Buffy Karaoke that goes on. I highly approve.
  • ETA: Forgot this one: I am old. There are people on LJ who have jobs and lives and write fanfic and stuff, who were born in 1983. I remember 1983. I got a retainer and learned to write cursive. I bet these kids today don't even know what cursive is. Y'all will visit me in the nursing home, right?
In unrelated news, Isaac's latest thing is to go into his room and close the door, then cry because he can't open the door so he's trapped. Then I go open the door and he gives me a look like, "What? I had everything under control." I think he learned that one from the cats.

uh-oh

Jan. 8th, 2005 12:25 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Isaac just took a pen and my checkbook off of my desk and walked off to the other room with them. This can't be good. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
I feel so defeated right now. I am not a patient person. I am not handling this toddler shit very well.

The day started off pretty well. We get up, he refuses his yogurt but then eats it a little later, we play, we look out the window at the snow. Around 11:30 he naps for maybe 20 minutes in my lap after nursing while I sit thinking "Just another minute and I'll put him in the crib." Of course we never get that far because he wakes up.

Whatever, I know it's futile to try to get him to nap more, so I pack up a bunch of unwanted clothing (mostly mine) and we go out in the icky sleet and slush to get to the clothing swap chez [livejournal.com profile] mattlistener and [livejournal.com profile] watercolorblue and Brandi whose LJ-name I don't know (if she has one). We had a really good time at the clothing swap. We didn't get a whole lot of stuff, but I did score a pair of jeans and a flannel nightgown, so that was nice, and we socialized with a lot of cool people, and Isaac was really delightful, charming everyone and playing well with the other kids so I got a little adult-time in.

Then he starts getting fussy (and devours one of the hosts' bananas) so I figure I'll take him home and feed him and try to get him to nap again. We get home around 4:00, but he refuses to eat and starts in with the constant "more boob please!" despite having just nursed a whole bunch like half an hour ago. sigh.

And then it went way downhill. Diary of a Really, Really Bad-Parent Day. Long. With copious profanity. )

I hate today. I hate that it started out so well and I was feeling so good, and now I just feel like the worst crappiest excuse for a mother.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios