Jan. 5th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Stupid weather.

My financial worries finally motivated me to get off my ass and mail in my stock certificate from my old company. (I had to mail it registered mail with return receipt, which requires a trip to the post office, which is why I hadn't gotten around to it -- if it were as simple as sticking a stamp on it I would have done it by now! I'm not THAT lazy.) It cost $10 to mail but I should get about two grand from it, so that's cool. I just hope they won't drag their feet. My coworker who was a coworker at the old job too already got his check, so at least we know they aren't taking like months about it.

Today my boss told me I'm being given a new project which basically involves cleaning up, formatting, and editing a looonnnnnng document that a coworker has written. It's basically a copyeditor job, but it could be interesting, because it has to do with a big new software product that [very large software company you have heard of] will be putting out later this year. I don't know how much I'm allowed to say about it, hence the brackets. Anyway, it'll either be interesting or mindnumbingly boring. Or possibly a bizarre mixture of the two.

In closing, I thought you might enjoy this photo of me and Isaac that I took last night: clicky clicky ) I believe I shall be making it my new default LJ icon. I'm tired of looking at my current one, cuz the nice sunny summer weather in the background just makes me sad. :P Stupid weather.
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling isaac)
My company's "holiday" party is Friday. I had arranged for one of Isaac's daycare teachers to take him home with her after daycare closes so I could go to the party -- was assuming it wasn't a kid-friendly affair.

But then today in a meeting, a coworker said that his wife is bringing their new little baby, and the CEO was like, "hey, that's cool, if bringing the kids is what it takes for you to be able to come, great," and then our boss mentioned a few other people who had apparently told her they're bringing their kids as well. So I started thinking, hey, I could bring Isaac, everyone will enjoy seeing him and it'll be fun and save me some money.

But it'll also be more of a hassle; I'll have to spend the party chasing him around rather than actually interacting with my coworkers and their spouses; he'll probably get fussy and maybe force me to leave sooner than I'll want to; and who knows if there'll be anything he'll want to eat or if he'll be willing to eat (sometimes when there's a lot of action going on, he refuses to eat even his favorite things).

So then I thought, maybe I'll see if the daycare teacher can come to the party location and watch him there, instead of at her house. But generally if he knows I'm around, he isn't satisfied with being watched over by anyone except me. But the restaurant where the party will be held has an upstairs and a downstairs, so she could take him somewhere he can't see me. But he might still get fussy and disrupt other diners. But maybe if there are other kids around, he'll enjoy playing with them. But but but...!

So I'm not sure what to do. I gotta decide soon, obviously! The teacher/babysitter is going to need to know....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:40 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios