mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling isaac)
[personal profile] mamajoan
My company's "holiday" party is Friday. I had arranged for one of Isaac's daycare teachers to take him home with her after daycare closes so I could go to the party -- was assuming it wasn't a kid-friendly affair.

But then today in a meeting, a coworker said that his wife is bringing their new little baby, and the CEO was like, "hey, that's cool, if bringing the kids is what it takes for you to be able to come, great," and then our boss mentioned a few other people who had apparently told her they're bringing their kids as well. So I started thinking, hey, I could bring Isaac, everyone will enjoy seeing him and it'll be fun and save me some money.

But it'll also be more of a hassle; I'll have to spend the party chasing him around rather than actually interacting with my coworkers and their spouses; he'll probably get fussy and maybe force me to leave sooner than I'll want to; and who knows if there'll be anything he'll want to eat or if he'll be willing to eat (sometimes when there's a lot of action going on, he refuses to eat even his favorite things).

So then I thought, maybe I'll see if the daycare teacher can come to the party location and watch him there, instead of at her house. But generally if he knows I'm around, he isn't satisfied with being watched over by anyone except me. But the restaurant where the party will be held has an upstairs and a downstairs, so she could take him somewhere he can't see me. But he might still get fussy and disrupt other diners. But maybe if there are other kids around, he'll enjoy playing with them. But but but...!

So I'm not sure what to do. I gotta decide soon, obviously! The teacher/babysitter is going to need to know....

Date: 2005-01-05 10:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] obsessedmuch.livejournal.com
I say go to the party as planned, enjoy yourself and don't stress over something that you had already made arrangements for. You are allowed to have grown up time to relax is, you will go home in a good frame of mind, and you and Isaac can have some fun later.

Lar gives permission. *signs virtual permission slip* Go on. :)

Date: 2005-01-06 02:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
hee hee, thanks for the permission! :) That's pretty much what I decided to do as I pondered it on the way home last night. It just wouldn't be as much fun for either of us if he came.

Date: 2005-01-05 11:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] candle-light.livejournal.com
Since you already have a good childcare plan in place, I'd go to the party by yourself. From personal experience, you really won't be able to connect with the adults there if you have Isaac anywhere around. Even if he's not physically with you every moment, he will distract you. Also, this wasn't planned to be a kid oriented party. Would Isaac have any fun? Will you have to provide all the fun he does have (thereby distracting you even more)?

Date: 2005-01-06 02:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
Thanks, that's pretty much the conclusion I came to when I thought about it some more. I have the opportunity to get some adult interaction here, might as well use it! :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:33 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios