Oct. 28th, 2004

No Words

Oct. 28th, 2004 12:46 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
There are no words.
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
A new day has dawned!

The Red Sox Won The World Series and the world didn't end!

I just watched a recap of the game on ESPN and I'm laughing and crying at the same time. I still can't believe it actually happened. Please don't pinch me!

dude

Oct. 28th, 2004 05:09 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (us at fenway)
Man, am I tired. I just dozed off in the bathtub a few minutes ago *blush* and now I'm super-pruney. ;) Of all the many, many reasons to be happy about the Sox win, one that should not be discounted is the fact that now we get to go to bed at a reasonable hour again! I SO need to catch up on my sleep. groan.

It's hard to focus or concentrate on anything today. W00T!! I'm still so totally jazzed!

And I know it's difficult to understand, for those of y'all who aren't into it, why something like baseball is so huge in the psyches of otherwise rational-seeming people. ;) I've been mulling over a lengthy post to try to explain it, but for the moment I'll just say that when you spend your entire life hoping and dreaming and fantasizing about something, but never actually expecting it to happen, always knowing deep down inside that you're going to die without having seen it ... and then it does happen? Wow. That is a cataclysmic moment. That is a huge paradigm shift. That is a realignment of your entire self-image and a seismic readjustment of the culture in which you exist. Sound silly? That's okay, you don't have to get it. Just smile and nod and move on.

Oh, and yes, it is just a game. But also, no it isn't.

It's going to be an interesting weekend around here. We have some elderly relatives coming up for an event (scheduled weeks ago, when who knew?) and they'll be staying at my mom's place. And my brother has decided that he has to fly up for the victory parade (even though he has no money, but apparently he scraped together enough for a plane ticket). So we'll all be having dinner together tomorrow (Friday) night, and then on Saturday the old folk will head off to their event and the rest of us will be going to the parade.

And I guess it looks like I'll be blowing off Isaac's daycare's Halloween party, which is scheduled for Saturday morning. I'll be sad to miss it, but HELLO, the Red Sox won the World Series! These are not normal times we are living in, people!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios