Aug. 27th, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
This is a haiku.
A meta-haiku, in fact.
A haiku is this.

logistics

Aug. 27th, 2004 02:34 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I'm trying to figure out the logistics of what to do with Isaac next week during Worldcon. Here are the bullet points:

* I'm taking Wed, Thu, and Fri off work to attend the con. Isaac never goes to daycare on Thursdays -- my mom watches him -- so Wed and Fri are the main issues. (I figure I'll worry about Sat and Sun later, heh.)
* There aren't really very many con events on Wed, but there's registration (which I agreed to volunteer for) and my out-of-town congoing buddies L&A will want to do some sightseeing which I'd like to accompany them on if possible.
* If I were to drive Isaac to daycare (which is near my office) and then drive myself back to the con, it would take at LEAST an hour and a half for the whole trip. And then I'd have to go back and pick him up again later -- another 1.5 hours.
* I still have to pay for the whole week of daycare even if I don't bring him in.
* Folks who are coming from out of town (e.g. L&A, [livejournal.com profile] retch, and other con-going friends) will want to see Isaac. However, I don't know whether he has the stamina for an entire day of con-going activities. I certainly don't think it's reasonable to expect him to sit still/quietly through very many panels.

a lot more blathering about this topic. feel free to skip it. )

Ugh, so many factors to consider! *head spins* Must keep repeating to myself: this is supposed to be FUN. This is my vacation! It will be FUN! FUN, I say! Whew.

thin skin

Aug. 27th, 2004 04:45 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
I considered deleting the troll's cruel comment from my last post, but I think I'll leave it there, at least for a little while, in case anyone wants to have a look at it and marvel at the asshole-ishness.

It's amazing how much a piece of random, apparently pointless vitriol can hurt one's feelings.

Nice going, anonymous asshole. You made a grown woman cry. I bet you're happy now, you disgusting little piece of shit.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I got Isaac some crayons (non-toxic and washable -- I'm not a total idiot *g*) and tried to show him how to use them tonight. He wasn't too interested in drawing, but he did enjoy playing with them. Lately he's intrigued by the notion of holding two items in one hand, and of banging/rubbing them against each other. (When he did decide briefly to try drawing, he used the white crayon, so of course it didn't get him anywhere on white paper.)

Then he discovered that he could put them into his ball tower. D'oh! And then he put a puzzle piece in there, which I got out easily, and I was fiddling with it trying to get the crayons out, and he just grabbed the toy out of my hands so he could put the puzzle piece in again. LOL. I know when I'm beaten.

Then he was standing holding onto me where I was sitting on the floor, and he was putting the crayons on my chest and watching them roll down my boobs and onto the floor. LOL. And then...

and then...

...he let go of me! And stood all by himself for like a whole second!

I was super-excited, because until now he has refused -- he won't even really try standing while only holding on with ONE hand, let alone none. If you try to make him let go of even one hand, he immediately sits down. I've been saying and saying that he can do it but is too cautious to try -- this just proves I was right!

Anyway, then the phone rang and it was my mom so I told her the exciting news.

Later in the evening he did it again -- he was standing by the bathtub waiting for it to fill up, and playing with something, and for a moment he had the toy in both hands and didn't realize that this meant he didn't have a hand holding the tub or me! And of course upon the realization, he went plop on his bum. LOL.

He's really a very cautious and thoughtful boy; he won't usually try anything until he's quite sure how it's going to go. So I'm hoping that now he'll start to realize he really CAN stand and walk on his own and it's going to go okay. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios