mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I got Isaac some crayons (non-toxic and washable -- I'm not a total idiot *g*) and tried to show him how to use them tonight. He wasn't too interested in drawing, but he did enjoy playing with them. Lately he's intrigued by the notion of holding two items in one hand, and of banging/rubbing them against each other. (When he did decide briefly to try drawing, he used the white crayon, so of course it didn't get him anywhere on white paper.)

Then he discovered that he could put them into his ball tower. D'oh! And then he put a puzzle piece in there, which I got out easily, and I was fiddling with it trying to get the crayons out, and he just grabbed the toy out of my hands so he could put the puzzle piece in again. LOL. I know when I'm beaten.

Then he was standing holding onto me where I was sitting on the floor, and he was putting the crayons on my chest and watching them roll down my boobs and onto the floor. LOL. And then...

and then...

...he let go of me! And stood all by himself for like a whole second!

I was super-excited, because until now he has refused -- he won't even really try standing while only holding on with ONE hand, let alone none. If you try to make him let go of even one hand, he immediately sits down. I've been saying and saying that he can do it but is too cautious to try -- this just proves I was right!

Anyway, then the phone rang and it was my mom so I told her the exciting news.

Later in the evening he did it again -- he was standing by the bathtub waiting for it to fill up, and playing with something, and for a moment he had the toy in both hands and didn't realize that this meant he didn't have a hand holding the tub or me! And of course upon the realization, he went plop on his bum. LOL.

He's really a very cautious and thoughtful boy; he won't usually try anything until he's quite sure how it's going to go. So I'm hoping that now he'll start to realize he really CAN stand and walk on his own and it's going to go okay. :)

Date: 2004-08-27 08:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wyldreamer.livejournal.com
Yay Isaac! Way to go. Him being cautious and thoughtful is not such a bad thing really, even if it means he takes his time with the walking thing, which also isn't that bad of a thing.

I have to keep the bathroom door shut now because Lexie will make her way into the bathroom and stand there smacking the side of the tub because she wants a bath and then try to climb in! Ack! She ignores everything else, she just wants to get into the tub and play.

Date: 2004-08-27 09:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] anotherjen.livejournal.com
That's so cute! I remember being so excited when Ilana started walking. It took me a while to realize that this meant she would be MUCH, MUCH more mobile. Enjoy the wobbly-ness while it lasts. :-)

Date: 2004-08-30 02:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ladyvyola.livejournal.com
Yeah, what [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen said. It's exciting, then suddenly you miss the days of them staying where you put them!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios