Jul. 20th, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Thanks to all for the good wishes. Isaac is feeling fine (in fact, he felt pretty much fine yesterday too; the fever didn't really seem to be bothering him nor did the little bumps). The doctor wasn't really sure that what he has is coxsackie; his symptoms weren't exactly right, but she felt that it was at least a related type of virus, and it's moot because whatever it is, there's not much to be done except wait it out. The doctor did look in his ears just in case he had an ear infection, and luckily he did not, but he was VERY mad about having his ears looked in. He screamed and screamed. :( Luckily he cheered right up as soon as it was done.

Then this morning I took him to daycare and discovered that they weren't going to accept him back until he had been fever- and Tylenol-free for 24 hours. Which they had failed to mention to me yesterday, so I was pretty mad, but what can you do. So I took him to the office and he hung out here until noonish and then I took him back to daycare. grump.

Anyway, he does seem fine. By this morning the bumps were almost all gone. You really have to look for them now (except for a couple on the tops of his feet which I think get aggravated by crawling). He didn't feel warm and mood-wise was completely himself. So I'm hopeful that he'll be okay and I won't be getting another call from daycare.
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
I finished reading The Da Vinci Code and, as many of you predicted, I hated the rest of it just as much as I hated the first 75 pages or so. I could go on and on at great length about how much this book sucked, but I'll sum it up thusly: The author is a terrible writer and the plot was full of holes. I do think there's merit to educating the general mainstream public about the history of the Catholic Church, particularly its offenses against the goddess-worshipping religions that it subsumed, and there was a mildly interesting story buried in there somewhere, but at base it was just bad. And it's not nearly as ground-breakingly feminist as the author apparently thinks it is.

Ahem. Like I said, I could go on at length, but I won't. Really. Well, not now, anyway. ;)

So then I read Kill Two Birds And Get Stoned by Kinky Friedman, which was another disappointment. I usually love the Kinkster's stuff, albeit in a politically-incorrect guilty pleasure sort of way, but this one was just pointless and unpleasant. Alas.

And now, to take those two bad tastes out of my literary mouth, I'm reading Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde, which is the sequel to his The Eyre Affair, which I read last year and really enjoyed. If you liked Connie Willis's To Say Nothing of the Dog (which I LOVE), you'll like Fforde's stuff, and vice versa.

oops

Jul. 20th, 2004 03:04 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Thanks to [livejournal.com profile] lasayla for unwittingly reminding me that I wanted to invite pretty much anyone who reads this LJ to my housewarming party. ;) It's this Saturday the 24th starting around 2pm. There will be grilling (of food, not witnesses) and probably booze and munchies and backyard games of some sort. Email me for the address and stuff if you're interested. (chlaal at livejournal will work if you don't have my "real" email addys.)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:07 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios