Sep. 23rd, 2003

maroons

Sep. 23rd, 2003 01:05 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
So the cable and phone were out, as I mentioned, on Sunday. When I called to report it, the guy said that he would have to make me an appointment to have it fixed even though it would probably be fixed before the appointment because others in the neighborhood had already reported the outage. It was one of those things where they give you a window, so he said they'd send someone on Tuesday between 8 and 11 A.M. I was like, sure, whatever. Then the truck actually came on Sunday night and fixed it, and I totally forgot about it.

Until the guy knocked this morning at 10:30. And he was all, "I'm here to fix your cable," and I was all, "um, they fixed it two days ago." And he looked confused and went away.

I gotta say that much as RCN provides decent actual service (cable TV, modem, and phone), their administration SUCKS. They *seriously* need some better computer systems or something. Did I mention that when I called to report the outage the other night, the guy couldn't find my account when looking it up by phone number? Because, as it turned out, they had my old phone number on file. Now, I've lived here and had this phone number for two and a half years. But that's not the crazy part. The crazy part is that RCN provides my phone service!! They are my phone and cable-TV and cable-modem provider, and yet, in their system, my cable-TV and cable-modem services have the wrong phone number!!!! Is that fucking ridiculous or what?

*shakes head* I swear. Sometimes you gotta wonder how these companies stay in business. Don't even get me started on the guy who was supposed to come and inspect my mom's furnace, (appointment was for "between noon and 4," he arrived at 5:15) or the movers who were supposed to pick up my friend J's stuff to move her cross-country (appointment was for noon, they showed up at midnight). Seriously, do not get me started.

Fussy baby, must run...
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I feel so wretched today. parental angst )

I just wish I knew what makes him so unable to sleep during the day, that he gets so tired all he can do is cry and cry. It makes me so sad for him. :(

And I had been feeling so hopeful this morning, on account of what happened last night )

So it's kind of weird; his nighttime sleeping habits do seem to be getting better and better, but his daytime sleep is practically nonexistent. It makes the days just drag on hellishly. I keep thinking, "if I can just get him to sleep for a little bit, then I can [eat/get some work done/pee/shower/clean the apartment/make the important phone call/etc.]" but the next thing I know the whole damn day has gone by, and that little window of time never appeared. Sigh.

Okay, self-pitying vent over. For now....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios